RT Daily Blog

On The Shelves Tuesday 8/21/2012

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 21, 2012 | PERMALINK

Here's a look at the titles we love that hit shelves this week.

Historical Romance

BY STARLIGHT

"[Garlock] imbues each story with a classic American aura while creating a touching, realistic plotline peopled by authentic characters."

HOW TO DISGRACE A LADY

"Book one of Scott’s new, deliciously sinful Rakes Beyond Redemption trilogy is riveting, enthralling and humorous."


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Christi Barth's Heroine Ivy On Planning For Love

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 20, 2012 | PERMALINK

Christi Barth's new contemporary romance, Planning For Love, treats readers to a tale of unsuspecting romance when wedding planner Ivy Rhodes falls for handsome videographer Bennett Westcott. But after a one-night stand leaves Ivy thinking Bennett is afraid of commitment, the two are thrown together to work on a wedding reality TV show. Now Ivy and Bennett must decide if there's any future for their own "I dos."

We love the idea of a wedding planner finding her own HEA. And we were curious to know what Ivy has learned about marriages and romance after all of her time spent planning other people's nuptials. So we went to Ivy herself to debunk commonly held perceptions about The Big Day. We now leave the blog in the capable (and expert!) hands of Ivy Rhodes:

Thanks to my reality television show, Planning for Love, many of you know that I’m Chicago’s premiere wedding planner. Which means you can trust me to kibosh some stale wedding traditions.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Romance
8COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Checking In With Maya Banks' Kelly Group International - With Giveaway

BY Dawn Crowne, AUGUST 20, 2012 | PERMALINK

Maya Banks’ legion of dedicated fans grew even larger when the author introduced her Kelly Group International romantic suspense series in 2010. KGI is a private special ops security force that is sent in when others fail. But making enemies out of the most dangerous terrorists in the world is not without its price — darkness and violence haunts all of the Kelly brothers, which often means that the women in their lives are put in peril. Most of the time these ladies are saved by their guys, but what I love about these women is their will to survive. However, their experiences are not without consequences. Banks doesn’t let these ladies off this easy or whitewash the abuse they suffer.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cover Trend: The Tattoo Takeover

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 20, 2012 | PERMALINK
A few years ago, there was quite a bit of discussion on the omnipresence of tattoos on paranormal romance covers. This seemed to start with Jacqueline Carey's 2002 Kushiel's Dart and proliferate from there. (For an overview of this trend, check out this excellent video Urban Fantasy Book Cover Parade by SciFi Guy.) While the popularity of tattoos on book cover art has never gone away, recently we have been noticing some very interesting uses of inked art. 

***

First up is Patricia Briggs' Urban Fantasy character Mercy Thompson. The only woman we know with both a lower back tramp stamp and a forward facing tramp stamp! 

 

 

Next up is the full back tattoo, which makes us ask: Is bigger always better?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Forewords: The Books Before The Buzz

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 20, 2012 | PERMALINK

With our column, Forewords, we let readers know the latest book news about some of the web team's most-anticipated upcoming releases across the genres — just as the projects are announced!

PIQUING OUR CURIOSITY

Historical Romance - Tracy Brogan takes on the Scottish brogue in Highland Surrender, a tale of clan intrigue and romance set amongst a plan to kill the king. Plot details are still unknown, but we are hoping for some great political intrigue as well as action packed scenes highlighting the Scots’ fury in this upcoming read.

Romantic Suspense - A woman running from her past in Rita Herron’s Dying to Tell is forced to confront it, and the love she’d left, when her twin sister faces charges of murder. Let’s hope her mirror image is innocent! Release date: TBA

Contemporary Romance - He’s a writer who can’t write and she’s an heiress with lots of money — Adrianne Wood’s Badlands Bride will bring us the tale of this odd couple in November 2012.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Weekly Web Wrap Up 8/17/2012

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 17, 2012 | PERMALINK

Did you spend your whole week with New York's Finest Rebel?

Here's what you missed on the RT site:

***

HISTORICAL ROMANCE: Three new historicals with a thrilling twist. Get Adventurous >>

SERIES ROMANCE: Heroines with usual occupations grace these recent releases. She Does What? >>

CONTEMPORARY ROMANCE: A Lisa Kleypas novel is being adapted for television. Read On >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Tweethearts: Tweets We Loved This Week

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 17, 2012 | PERMALINK

The Internet is full of hilarious gems and memorable words of wisdom from the masses. Authors, readers and publishers on Twitter are no exception and continuously put smiles on the faces of Twitter users daily in 140 characters or less. We've started compiling out favorite Tweets. Here are some of the standouts of the week:


We are thinking it might take some time before Erin Nicholas and her daughter can look at each other without blushing. So maybe the wine is a good idea. 


If animals could talk, we're not sure we'd want to know what Jaye Wells' dog would've said in that moment.


Next trend: Baby Raves.


But can we still hope that they'll pay for dinner?



Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Morgan And Shawna Dish: Julie Ann Walker's Hell on Wheels

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 16, 2012 | PERMALINK

Debut author Julie Ann Walker is revving up our motors with her hot new series, Black Knights Inc. She brings to light an ultra-top-secret covert organization that works undercover as a custom motorcycle shop — and the hunky agents who staff it. The first book of the series, Hell on Wheels, wastes no time burning rubber and garnering rave reviews. Nate tried, and failed, to save his partner Grigg while on a dangerous mission. On top of the guilt that Nate feels, he has the added responsibility of protecting Grigg’s sister, Ali, from unknown enemies. Even though Ali has known Nate for years, they have never gotten along. But some forced closeness has the two reconsidering their animosity. When caring turns to lust and lust into love, will past secrets and present enemies tear this couple apart?

Morgan: I’ve heard such great things around the office about Julie Ann Walker’s debut, I was beyond excited to snag a copy. And I have to say it - all that praise? Well deserved.

Shawna: Yup, this is a romantic suspense that delivers. Fast-paced, action packed and full of characters that I came to care about.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
6COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Three New Historicals To Get Your Heart Racing

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 16, 2012 | PERMALINK

Do you love historical tales that throw in thrills and chills? Then you’ll love this month’s new releases! There is not one, but three stories that turn on the scare-factor while getting you in a “days of yore” mindset. Take a look at the books we think will satisfy your craving for a fright, and then let us know which one will have you rushing to the bookstore!

 

 

 

Deception by Kris Kennedy

Where It Is Set: Medieval England

Who You’ll Root For: Heroine Sophia and hero Kier put their past problems behind them as they team up, pretending to be a wealthy shipping magnate and her employee. They're setting out to retrieve a book whose contents could destroy the balance of power in England.

What The Big Bad Is Up To: There’s a secret association that is determined to hold onto the book at all costs and wouldn’t mind taking Sophia out of the picture — for good.

Why This Is A Must-Read: RT’s Senior Reviewer Kathe calls this story “a winner” noting that there’s witty banter, high-octane adventure and characters who will capture your imagination — all rolled into this “marvelously atmospheric medieval romance.”

Read The Review >>

     


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
4COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cheaper By The Dozen - This Week's Hot E-Book Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 16, 2012 | PERMALINK

One of our favorite features of the e-revolution is the sheer amount of books you can pack into such a tiny digital device. But what do you do when the growing number of new reads causes your wallet to shrink uncomfortably? Shop the e-book deals, of course! In this column we highlight some of our favorite book buys that will cost you less than a medium-sized coffee. 

Historical Romance

Confessions at Midnight by Jacquie D'Alessandro

    

Buy For 99 Cents >>

 

Contemporary Romance

Love Will Find A Way by Barbara Freethy

Get It For Free >>

 

Young Adult

The Mayfair Moon by J.A. Redmerski

Buy For $2.99 >>

         


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST