RT Daily Blog

Magazine Extras: Authors Share Their Least Favorite Parisian Moments

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 15, 2012 | PERMALINK

In our July 2012 issue, we loved talking to five authors who’ve featured Paris in their books, and generally we got very enthusiastic answers about the City of Light. But we wondered if there was a dark side to their experiences in the city. So we asked Eloisa James, Laura Florand, Cara Black, Joanna Bourne and Anna Davis, who all have recent releases set in Paris, this question: Was there any point where Paris let you down or didn’t deliver? Did you have a “bad day,” Parisian style?

***

Eloisa James, whose memoir Paris in Love discusses her year abroad in Paris:

Oh, yes. I did have a very bad day—and my whole family experienced it with me. It was my son’s 16th birthday, a day that included our only encounter with that famous movie staple, the “Rude French Waiter.” It was hilariously awful, and I can’t help thinking with some satisfaction that I got my revenge in print.

Laura Florand, author of The Chocolate Thief:

Oh, yes, often! It rained pretty much my entire first year there and people really did seem quite rude to someone coming from a small town in the South who had spent her previous time overseas on a friendly tropical island. And as a young female on my own, the level of harassment was well beyond the scope of anything I knew how to deal with at first. In fact, when Cade Corey in The Chocolate Thief pushes someone into the Seine, it’s my little creative revenge. When you come from a small town where smiling is the de facto interaction with everyone, there’s a steep learning curve to dealing with a city like Paris. But ... it has the most delicious chocolate and pastries in the world, among many other moments of gustatory bliss, and that makes up for a lot. As does the Seine at night.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Larissa Ione On Readers, Authors and Wiener Schnitzel At The First Annual LoveLetter Convention

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 15, 2012 | PERMALINK

Book conventions aren't just for readers. For a writer, these events can be a unique, fun-filled experience — especially when a convention takes you overseas! Today we follow author Larissa Ione as she attends the first ever LoveLetter Convention in Berlin. Hosted by the German LoveLetter magazine, Ione shares with us what it was like attending, as well as some photos and tips for those who may want to go next year!

This year I had the awesome opportunity to attend the first Annual LoveLetter Convention in Berlin, Germany, and now that it’s over, I’m already looking forward to the next one.

The fact that I’m looking ahead to another LoveLetter convention says something about the event, because conferences tend to bring out the terrified wallflower in me. But early on the first day, when one reader told me that she and some friends had come all the way from Italy just to see me, I was so grateful and overwhelmed that my nervousness faded away. In fact, they were more nervous than I was – one lady said that her friend was near tears and shaking too hard to even come in the room to meet me. I wish I’d had a nice glass of wine for the poor friend, but we settled for hugs, and a few minutes later, I had new friends who I’ve shared emails with since. It was a wonderful way to soothe the nerves and start a conference!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
4COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Morgan And Whitney Dish: Along Came A Duke By Elizabeth Boyle

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 14, 2012 | PERMALINK

One dedicated country spinster’s life changes forever when she suddenly inherits a fortune — and a fiancé. But Miss Tabitha Timmons never guessed that her life would change all over again when Along Came a Duke  Duke of Preston, that is. What will happen to this mismatched pair? Whitney and Morgan investigate this very question when they Dish about Elizabeth Boyle's newest release. 

Morgan: The author sets up the story very nicely on the very first page:

There was no indication whatsoever that on this day, Miss Tabitha Timmons would not only find herself betrothed, but also fall madly and deeply in love.

And not necessarily with the same man.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cheaper By The Dozen - This Week's Hot E-Book Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 14, 2012 | PERMALINK

One of our favorite features of the e-revolution is the sheer amount of books you can pack into such a tiny digital device. But what do you do when the growing number of new reads causes your wallet to shrink uncomfortably? Shop the e-book deals, of course! In this column we highlight some of our favorite book buys that will cost you less than a medium-sized coffee. 

Historical Romance

Lord of Vengeance by Lara Adrian (writing as Tina St. John)

Buy For 99 Cents >>

 

Contemporary Romance

Just The Way You Are by Barbara Freethy

Get It For Free >>

 

Young Adult

Anna Dressed in Blood by Kendare Blake

   

Buy For $2.99 >>

         


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

BEA 2012: How To Publish With Amazon's Kindle Direct Publishing And CreateSpace

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 13, 2012 | PERMALINK

This year at BookExpo America one of the newest publishers on the block — Internet giant Amazon — was making waves. Not only were they all over the showroom floor, accessible to readers and authors alike, during the convention Amazon’s indie publishing arm hosted a panel specifically for authors. During the seminar, Amazon Community Outreach Product Manager Thom Kephart gave writers a look inside of Amazon’s self-publishing ventures.

With so much going on at Amazon, it was great to get easy-to-understand breakdown of the two indie publishing services — CreateSpace and Kindle Direct Publishing — and take a look at some of the perks of using the Amazon publishing tools.


Authors who have self-published with Amazon share their success stories with audience members at BEA 2012

So what is the fundamental difference between CreateSpace and KDP? Kephart explained that it’s very simple. CreateSpace is a tool that allows authors to self-publish print books. While KDP allows authors to self-publish e-books.

Kephart started the panel with a look at some of the many reasons that authors may want to opt for one of the retailer’s self-publishing, or what they call indie publishing, options. He explained that there are four prongs to the perks of using either Amazon’s CreateSpace or KDP options to get your book into the hands (or onto the e-readers) of book lovers.


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog, E-Book
4COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Why John Scalzi's Redshirts Is A Must-Read

BY Elisa Verna, JUNE 13, 2012 | PERMALINK

Have you ever finished a book that was so good, you didn’t quite know exactly how to explain the magnitude of its awesomeness, or convey how much joy it brought you, but you do know that you’ll be peddling it to everyone from your garbage man to the random lady on the bus? That is exactly how I feel about sci fi author John Scalzi’s most recent release Redshirts, a comedic spin on popular space opera tropes. The morning I finished the story, I bought my boyfriend a digital copy, which he promptly read over the course of a few hours. Maybe he devoured the book because he’s preparing to start the Every Star Trek Ever project and reading a deconstruction of “bad” science fiction stories seemed fitting, or maybe it’s because Scalzi’s latest sci fi is, at the very least, an immensely fun adventure (and at the most, effing brilliant). I’m going to go with the latter.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Science Fiction
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Debut Young Adult Authors At BEA 2012

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 13, 2012 | PERMALINK

There’s a new class of YA (and middle grade) authors in town, and they blog over at The Apocalypsies. This group of over 100 debut authors all have their first books coming out in 2012, and during BEA several of these authors hosted a fantastic event with sweets, book treats and more! 

Each author was presented to the crowd with a look at their book

As they are such a large group of bloggers, not everyone was in attendance. But there were a large group of new writers representing the Apocalypsie authors. And each author on hand had a chance to be introduced to the audience and chat about their upcoming book.

This group was as big as it was diverse. These authors' novels feature contemporary issues and fantasy adventures, meanwhile between other covers readers can expect to find mystery and paranormal elements. There's literally something for everyone in this set of books from the Apocalypsies.

These novels are also written for many different types of readers. RT's Whitney shares, "There are middle grades that are good for advanced eight- and nine-year-olds to twelve-year-olds, and on the other end of the reading list, there are stories that will be a good fit for slightly older YA readers, such as Sarah J. Maas' Throne of Glass."


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
4COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Spoiled: Molly Harper On Her Newly-Announced Series

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 13, 2012 | PERMALINK

Author Molly Harper is known for her lighthearted, fun paranormal tales about sexy supernatural men and the women who love them. But stories of vampires and werewolves aren't the only ones Harper pens. She debuted her first contemporary romance back in 2010, and recently broke the news that she will be returning to the side of romance that has fewer fangs and less fur with a brand new series! We're anxious for the first in Harper's yet-to-be-titled digital-first series, releasing this December, and asked the author to share a little bit about what readers can expect.

***

It was just announced that you have a new contemporary romance series coming from Pocket. Can you give readers a short summary of what they can expect from these books?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, Romance
11COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

June Mainstream Overview

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 12, 2012 | PERMALINK

Mainstream readers can always look forward to a wide spectrum of stories that are published in their genre, from light beach reads to serious stories. In this month’s genre roundup, we take a look at three books bound by the theme of friendship and find out what new multicultural mainstream tales are hitting the shelves. You can also check out a video interview with author Mingmei Yip about her Asia-set stories. And then we preview one upcoming read with a look at a just-announced new project!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mainstream
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Author Interview: Margaret Stohl And Kami Garcia

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 12, 2012 | PERMALINK

YA fans are no strangers to Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl's co-written Beautiful Creatures series. The harrowing Southern Gothic tale filled with magic and intrigue has captured readers hearts and has climbed in popularity, so much so that it's currently being transformed for the big screen! We interviewed Kami Garcia about the Beautiful Creatures film back in August, but since we're so anxious for what's next in the Caster Chronicles, we caught up with the authors at this year's Teen Day at the RT Booklovers Convention! RT's Whitney got the details on what fans can expect from the upcoming film adaptation and what's ahead for each of the authors.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
8COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST