RT Daily Blog

What's The Best Book Cover Of The Month? Take The Poll!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 04, 2012 | PERMALINK

We had fun culling through all the covers of this month's new releases to pick our ten favorites. But which cover will you vote as the very best? Last month you chose City of Lost Souls by Cassandra Clare. Will another Young Adult tale win this month or has one of our other choices caught your fancy? Take a look at our top ten covers of June 2012 and then cast your vote in the poll at the end of the post!



Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
16COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Series Saturday: The Harlequin Medical Romances Of June 2012

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 02, 2012 | PERMALINK

This month romance and healing collide in the four new titles from Harlequin’s Medical Romance imprint. Readers will spend several delightful hours deep in the hospital drama — with fingers crossed that these couples will get their HEAs!

Author Abigail Gordon's latest heroine Laura thought that the hardest thing she would ever have to do is let her beloved husband, a top oncologist, go so that he could put his career first. But is she brave enough to accept that he's back in their life and wants a Marriage Miracle in Swallowbrook?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Weekly Web Wrap Up 6/1/2012

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 01, 2012 | PERMALINK

After recovering from our Memorial Day off, this week was full of cover chats on the RT Daily Blog. We took an in depth look at the cover of the Fifty Shades parody, Fifty Shames of Earl Grey, as well as Jaci Burton's smoking new cover and the cover of Eloisa James' upcoming historical release.

Here's what else you missed on the RT site:

***

ROMANCE: What do BFFs Victoria Alexander and Mariah Stewart's books have in common? Find Out Here >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Morgan And Whitney Dish: Anne Hope's Soul Bound

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 01, 2012 | PERMALINK

Anne Hope’s Soul Bound is the last in our month long e-book Dishes, so we are ending with a paranormal tale that will have readers up all night. Hero and heroine Jace Cutler and Lia Benson seem mismatched his unusual supernatural heritage inspires those around him to sink into a deep and self-destructive depression, while she is a doctor devoted to helping others. Now, we all know what they say about opposites attracting, but with a pack of rogue part-angels on their heels, will Jace and Lia even get a chance to explore their feelings (and the passion that connects them)? Read on to find out ...

Whitney: The RT reviewer was right on when she said that Soul Bound will appeal to Sherrilyn Kenyon’s fans. I also think followers of Shannon K. Butcher will have a new favorite with Anne Hope. 

Morgan: I agree! Butcher, Kenyon and Hope have lots of great things in common, especially their delicious dark and dangerous heroes. In the case of this book, Soul Bound, readers are introduced to Jace Cutler. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cover Chat: The Ugly Duchess By Eloisa James

BY Whitney Sullivan, MAY 31, 2012 | PERMALINK

I’m a fairy tale fanatic. (It’s no secret that Beauty and the Beast is my absolute favorite. I mean, in the Disney version, monster or not, he gives the girl a library. A library, ladies and gentlemen, a library. Case closed, heart melted, what I wouldn’t give.) But I don’t just like the mainstream tales of royalty in disguise and magical high jinks. Give me some Snow White and Rose Red, rock me an adaptation of The Wild Swans or The Twelve Dancing Princesses.

So clearly, I’ve been watching Eloisa James’ fairy tale-inspired books with an eager eye. James started out on the more well known princesses, however, slowly but surely she’s working her way toward the lesser known characters and I can’t get enough of these books. She’s just announced that book four in the Happily Ever After series will be The Ugly Duchess and Iet me tell you, fellow romance lovers, this book looks like a solid gold winner.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
11COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Artist Carrie Ann Schumacher Crafts Dress Out Of Romance Novels

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 31, 2012 | PERMALINK

We love it when people get creative with their books. But our latest discovery of re-purposed romance novels truly left us breathless. It's a stunning gown, hand-crafted entirely from the pages of romance novels. We immediately reached out to the piece's creator, Carrie Ann Schumacher, to get more information. Today the artist shares the very personal story behind the dress and how the project — like any good romance novel — moved from the spark of an idea to something truly beautiful.

When I came across a box of 50 free romance novels at the library where I was working, I initially had no idea what I was going to do with them. But something within them spoke to me, and I knew I had to take them. Otherwise, I would wake up with a brilliant, life-changing idea and be devastated that I didn’t have them. So naturally, into the trunk of my car they went.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

A Visitors Guide To Violet Hill: A Tour Through The Fictional Town Of The Drake Chronicles By Alxyandra Harvey

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 31, 2012 | PERMALINK

Alyxandra Harvey’s Drake Chronicles is one of the best new paranormal series available. "You haven't met vampires until you've met Harvey's Drake family, but expect to fall in love with at least one — if not all of them — by the time you are done reading," warns RT's Whitney, "this series is addictive!"

With four full-length books out so far, a handful of novellas available online and a legion of fans eagerly anticipating the series fifth, which is coming out soon, we asked the author to give us a tour around her vampire-infested town. Lucky for us, the author did one better ... today readers can get a look at Violet Hill through the eyes of Hunter Wild, one of the many vampire hunting (and vampire dating) kick butt heroines of this intriguing series. Take the guided tour of Violet Hill, check out the map of must-see spots and then take a look at the *Web Exclusive Review* of Bleeding Hearts all before Blood Moon hits stores next month!

HUNTER WILD'S VISITORS' GUIDE TO VIOLET HILL


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cheaper By The Dozen - This Week's Hot E-Book Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 31, 2012 | PERMALINK

One of our favorite features of the e-revolution is the sheer amount of books you can pack into such a tiny digital device. But what do you do when the growing number of new reads causes your wallet to shrink uncomfortably? Shop the e-book deals, of course! In this column we highlight some of our favorite book buys that will cost you less than a medium-sized coffee. 

Historical Romance

Sweet Release by Pamela Clare

   

Get It For Free >>

 

Contemporary Romance

Husband Hunting 101 by Rita Herron

Get It For Free >>

 

Young Adult

Foolish Games by Leah Spiegel   

Buy For 99 Cents >>

         


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Why I Cannot Wait For The 2013 Novel River Of Stars By Guy Gavriel Kay

BY Janine Johnston, MAY 30, 2012 | PERMALINK

Sometimes a book comes along that I am simply itching to get my hands on, one I absolutely cannot wait to crack open. Guy Gavriel Kay’s upcoming fantasy, River of Stars, certainly makes this esteemed list. Although the book won’t be out until 2013, it already has me dreaming of what I will find between the covers.

If you happen to know nothing about this esteemed author then let me give you a one-second taste of his genius: He was a writer who J.R.R. Tolkien’s son tapped to help complete The Silmarillion after the fantasy master’s death. (‘Nuff said, right?)

Kay is also known for his own works of fantasy and science fiction, and is perhaps best known for his alternate history fantasy stories. Most of these are set in Europe. However in recent years he’s taken his unusual view of the past to a new locale: China.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Science Fiction
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Talking Trailers: Arrow And Beauty And The Beast Premiering This Fall

BY Whitney Sullivan, MAY 30, 2012 | PERMALINK

It’s the truth, my dirty little secret is out. I am one part reader and one part TV-loving fiend. And when I’m not neck-deep in a romance novel, YA books are my diversion of choice. So you better believe that I am keeping a very close eye on the new television shows that are coming to the CW this fall. We first reported about Arrow and Beauty and the Beast in our upcoming screen adaptation round-ups. But now that the television show’s first 30 second trailers are live, I’m taking them apart to chat about exactly what I think we will find when these shows start airing next season.

So what do you need to know about Arrow before you watch the trailer? It’s an adaptation of the story of the comic book hero Green Arrow (aka Oliver Queen), a billionaire who has grown a social conscience. But The CW’s Arrow is younger than the comic hero, hotter than the comic hero and rather than being inspired by his one-time job as mayor of the city where Green Arrow makes his home, Arrow spent five years shipwrecked on a tiny island.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST