RT Daily Blog

May 2012: Which Self-Published Story Is Right For You? Take The Quiz!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 23, 2012 | PERMALINK

There’s no denying it, self-publishing is booming and the result is an enormous amouts of great books ready for readers. Each month in the RT magazine we take a look at some of the authors and titles in our new “Self-pub Hub” column and in our review sections. But with so many books, how do you choose which one to try first? Well, now you can take our simple quiz and we’ll help you figure out which new self-published book from this month’s issue is your next read!

***

I like a book that is filled with:

A) Long-hidden secrets

B) Everyday challenges

C) Revenge plots

D) Supernatural adventure

 

You never know when you might need:

A) A pair of rain boots and an umbrella, so you are ready for any storm

B) A bike, so you can get away from it all

C) A laptop with a 4G wireless connection, so you are always connected

D) A book of spells, so you can use your special abilities

 

Your celebrity idol is:

A) Diane Lane

B) Kate Hudson

C) Michelle Rodriguez

D) Amanda Seyfried

 

Your always fall for a hero that:

A) Has a problem his buckets of money can't fix

B) Is hard-working and steadfast

C) Has a code of honor that is black and white

D) Believes in doing his duty, no matter the personal cost

 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview: Paula Quinn

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 22, 2012 | PERMALINK

Historical romance author Paula Quinn has just released Conquered by a Highlander, the fourth book in her popular Children of the Mist series. All four books received a rating of RT Top Pick! In today's interview with RT's Morgan, the author reveals how she uses real-life politics and religion in the series. Quinn also lets us in on why this new release is very close to her heart. And then don't miss your chance to find out what's ahead for this talented writer. (If you were wishing for more Highlanders, you might get your heart's desire!)


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Five Questions With Elizabeth Lowell On Hew New Release Beautiful Sacrifice — With Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 22, 2012 | PERMALINK

Elizabeth Lowell is one of the undeniable queens of romance, having written everything from historicals to contemporaries and beyond. In recent years she’s made her writing home straddling the line between mystery and romantic suspense. However, her latest novel, Beautiful Sacrifice, places her firmly on the romance side of the divide. Today we snag five minutes (and five questions) with the incomparable Lowell on Beautiful Sacrifice’s release date! Plus, learn how you can snag your own copy of Lowell's new release at the end of this post!

***

From the outside, it seems like Beautiful Sacrifice heroine Lina, the professor, is the brain and hero Hunter, the security expert is the brawn. But your characters are certainly more complex than this. Besides her intelligence and his protective instinct, what do you consider your characters' greatest strengths?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
22COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

On The Shelves Tuesday 5/22/2012

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 22, 2012 | PERMALINK

Here's a look at the titles we love that hit shelves this week.

Historical Romance

THE TAMING OF A SCOTTISH PRINCESS

"A quick-moving, dramatic plot populated with memorable characters, witty and humorous dialogue and sizzling sensuality makes this her best yet — a tale to reread."

CONQUERED BY A HIGHLANDER

"While fascinating as a romance, it also delivers a message about moral courage. Definitely a keeper."

IF THE SLIPPER FITS

" ... [Drake] kicks off The Cinderella Sisterhood with a tale filled with gothic overtones, sensuality, sprightly dialogue, emotion, an engaging cast and a beautiful pair of perfectly fitting slippers."

ONE NAUGHTY NIGHT

"McKee sweeps readers into an enthralling story with memorable characters, a powerful plot and plenty of passion ... "


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Author Karen Kelley And Demon Destiny Talk Stealing Souls In Where There's Smoke

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 21, 2012 | PERMALINK

When your only shot at survival is stealing a soul, then it is best to get down to business. But just how do you go about reaping a soul? Author Karen Kelley's newest heroine Destiny from Where There's Smoke may not be the best person to ask since she is so new to the game. As a demon-in-training, Destiny has been saddled with a dark assignment: she can't return to hell unless she brings back one fresh soul with her. In today's guest post, the author shares a bit about Destiny and then the heroine herself explains exactly why she has targeted one good looking cowboy to seduce and lead back to the underworld (or at least that's the plan...)

Destiny is a wannabe demon, but what's a girl to do when she’s kicked out of Hell and only has a week to steal a soul — or else? And why did they tack on or else? She’s already been sent to Hell once. At least she was there. For Destiny there’s only one thing she can do, she heads straight for the sinfully corruptible looking cowboy sitting at the bar and let me tell you — all hell breaks loose!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

RT's Superhero Reading List

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 21, 2012 | PERMALINK

With The Avengers movie cracking the $1 billion mark in just over two weeks, superheroes are "super hot" right now. And if Iron Man, the Hulk and Thor have you wishing for more musclebound heroics, we are here to help with some great adventure romance stories featuring cape-d, sometimes spandex-ed and mostly masked heroes and heroines who will have you dreaming of extraordinary feats …

 

 

Thief of Shadows

by Elizabeth Hoyt

Meet the Superhero: The Ghost of St. Giles

Why You Need To Know Him: He’s “Batman in Georgian England.”

Some Backstory: The Ghost has played an important part in Hoyt’s Maiden Lane series but now the man behind the mask gets his happily ever after … or does he? It’s a story about finding love right under your nose (and sometimes right under a mask) in this July release that was rated an RT Top Pick!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Forewords: The Books Before The Buzz

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 21, 2012 | PERMALINK

With our column, Forewords, we let readers know the latest book news about some of the web team's most-anticipated upcoming releases across the genres — just as the projects are announced!

NEW SERIES ALERT

Mystery - Stephanie Bond takes on two estranged sisters as the heroines of her upcoming books. The Two Guys Detective Agency series will follow the Guy sisters, who set aside their differences to invest in a struggling PI agency in a strip mall. We look forward to seeing if working together will help these two siblings bridge the gap that’s formed between them — of if being co-workers will simply drive them further apart.

Young Adult - For Sarah Zettel’s next historical adventure, she tells the story of an orphan who assumes the identity of a lady-in-waiting. But there’s a reason this series is called The Palace Intrigue Diaries. Nothing is as it seems: the original lady-in-waiting was murdered, the court is full of spies and the young artist who has caught our heroine’s eye may be her only ally — or her enemy. We can’t wait for the drama, lucky for us it will begin in Fall 2013 with Scandal’s Daughter!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Weekly Web Wrap Up 5/18/2012

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 18, 2012 | PERMALINK

This week we remember romance author Monica Jackson, who passed away unexpectedly on Wednesday. Our thoughts are with her family and friends during this difficult time. 

***

HISTORICAL ROMANCE: Want to go inside Julia Quinn's A Night Like This? Get The Look >>

ROMANTIC SUSPENSE: Evonne Wareham talks her debut romance. Meet The Author >>

INSPIRATIONAL: Candace Calvert gives us a dose of medical drama. Learn About Her New Series >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Dawn And Janine Dish: Wolf Hills By Bianca D'Arc

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 18, 2012 | PERMALINK

We continue our month of Dishing about e-books with RT reviewers Dawn and Janine's discussion of Bianca D’Arc’s latest digital tale, Wolf Hills. Rated an RT Top Pick! erotic romance, the author’s new story is a thrilling addition to her sexy, paranormal Brotherhood of Blood series. But unlike previous entries that focused on vampires, the hero of Wolf Hills is a powerful Alpha werewolf named Jason Moore who recognizes his mate is detective Sally Decker — but he’ll have a hard time convincing her that he’s more than vacation fling material!

Dawn: I absolutely, positively love a strong heroine and Sally Decker more than meets my requirements. She’s a police detective from San Francisco and she will make you want to be a more kick-butt woman.

Janine: So true, Sally certainly inspires me. She doesn’t flinch in the face of criminals, knows how to fight when necessary and is not shy about pulling her weapon (with the intent to fire it) if the situation calls for it.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview: Editor Chris Keeslar

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 17, 2012 | PERMALINK

Chris Keeslar planted his publishing roots as an editor at Dorchester Publishing, where he spent many years working with authors including Marjorie M. Liu, Victoria Alexander, Lynsay Sands and more. Now, Keeslar is spearheading the new Boroughs Publishing Group, an e-book house, where he will continue his practice of taking chances and discovering new author voices. RT's Morgan got a chance to talk with Keeslar about his new endeavor and find out what Boroughs is looking for and how authors can submit their manuscripts. So what does Boroughs want? Keeslar shares that an author's vision is key, and while he's partial to urban fantasy and paranormal romance stories, he wants books that give their hero and heroine a happily ever after. Ultimately, romance is near and dear to this editor's heart, and we can't wait for what's on the horizon for Boroughs.

Boroughs Publishing Group Is Looking For Manuscripts >>


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST