RT Daily Blog

Cheaper By The Dozen - This Week's Hot E-Book Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 16, 2012 | PERMALINK

One of our favorite features of the e-revolution is the sheer amount of books you can pack into such a tiny digital device. But what do you do when the growing number of new reads causes your wallet to shrink uncomfortably? Shop the e-book deals, of course! In this column we highlight some of our favorite book buys that will cost you less than a medium-sized coffee. 

Historical Romance

Confessions at Midnight by Jacquie D'Alessandro

    

Buy For 99 Cents >>

 

Contemporary Romance

Love Will Find A Way by Barbara Freethy

Get It For Free >>

 

Young Adult

The Mayfair Moon by J.A. Redmerski

Buy For $2.99 >>

         


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Get The Look: Liz Carlyle's The Bride Wore Pearls

BY Morgan Doremus, AUGUST 15, 2012 | PERMALINK

I have been following Liz Carlyle’s St. James Society series since the very first book, 2010’s One Touch of Scandal. Learning about the secret St. James Society and its members, who protect England using inherited extrasensory skills, has been amazing. We get the best of two romance worlds — great historical locals and manners and also a good dose of paranormal mysticism.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Oh, Baby! Literature Inspires Today's Hottest Baby Names

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 15, 2012 | PERMALINK
Have baby, need name

According to Nameberry, a popular online baby name guide, the hot trending names of 2012 have a surprising source: Good, old-fashioned books. This year’s crop of bouncing bundles of joy are taking names from a variety of page-turners; from the ever-influential Bible to the more recently published Hunger Games trilogy.

From the popularity of TwiGames (Twilight and Hunger Games) we get the female name Senna and its male counterpart, Cinna. Senna is one of Twilight’s sparkly vamps, while Cinna makes his own sparkles as a Hunger Games stylist.

Considering the reach of the Hunger Games, which recently hit the big screen in March, it should come as no surprise that it helped to influence another entry on the list with the roman-sounding name, Decimus. Most of the names in the book harken back to Ancient Rome: Cinna, Seneca, Claudius, etc. The name Decimus, explains Nameberry, is usually given to the tenth child as it derives from the Latin word for ten, decem.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Inside The Issue: October 2012

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 15, 2012 | PERMALINK

The October issue of RT BOOK REVIEWS will be in stores soon, and here are some of the stories you can look forward to reading ...

Rev up your engines as Julie Ann Walker gives us a special look at her latest Black Knights, Inc. novel, Rev It Up. Plus, our favorite steampunk authors are tightening their corsets, cleaning off their goggles and telling us why they love dressing the part! Meanwhile, from shark shifters to robots, we spotlight the most unusually sexy heroes of romance. Then, Jasper Fforde gives us a peek inside The Last Dragonslayer. And finally, we preview what's to come for the 30th annual RT Booklovers Convention in Kansas City!

There's all this and more between the pages of the October 2012 issue of RT BOOK REVIEWS. You can also SUBSCRIBE NOW and get access to RT's Bonus Content coming next week. Until then, here's a sneak peek at the October issue's Table of Contents!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Foreign Affairs: Book Covers From Around The World

BY Morgan Doremus, AUGUST 14, 2012 | PERMALINK

Judging a book by its cover. We all do it. However, what we may not think about is how our cultural bias affects which covers we are attracted to. For example, while trolling the Internet (something I do way too much of) I came across the German covers for the Fifty Shades trilogy. Featuring close ups of some very feminine looking flowers, these covers are a far cry from the dark, stark U.S. versions.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
4COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

On The Shelves Tuesday 8/14/2012

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 14, 2012 | PERMALINK

Here's a look at the titles we love that hit shelves this week.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

From Page To Screen: Upcoming Film And TV Adaptations

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 13, 2012 | PERMALINK

Readers who also love to go to the movies or curl up in front of the TV have several reasons to cheer. Recently there has been a surplus of news about upcoming projects that will adapt favorite reads into movies and TV shows — and in some cases, the process will go in the opposite direction. Find out which of these adaptations are making our TBS (To Be Seen) List!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Forewords: The Books Before The Buzz

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 13, 2012 | PERMALINK

With our column, Forewords, we let readers know the latest book news about some of the web team's most-anticipated upcoming releases across the genres — just as the projects are announced!

NEW SERIES ALERT

Historical Romance - To scare away the good-looking man who has won her house in a game of chance, the heroine of Emily Greenwood’s A Little Night Mischief plays the part of a ghost in the first book of the Mischief series. We won’t be saying “boo!” to this read! Release date: TBA.

Romantic Suspense - In the first of Katie Reus’ new series about NSA agents, a woman finds herself Targeted after she stumbles upon a deadly plot concerning terrorists and a lethal virus. Paired with an agent, they rush to stop the would-be mass murderers before it’s too late. It must be contagious, because we’ve already caught the fever for this hot book. 

PIQUING OUR CURIOSITY


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cover Chat: Frost Burned By Patricia Briggs

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 13, 2012 | PERMALINK

It will have been two years since the last Mercy Thompson title hit the shelves when the seventh in the series, Frost Burned, is released in March 2013. Fans are rabid for news of the New York Times bestselling series and its fierce coyote-shifting heroine, Mercy. Since its inception in 2006 with Moon Called, author Patricia Briggs’ creation has thrilled readers and made its way up book lists.

With an enthralling character like Mercedes “Mercy” Thompson it’s easy to understand the appeal of the series. She’s the ultimate Ms. Fix-it: By day she’s a Volkswagen mechanic, but at night she’s usually taking care of whatever danger has crossed her path. Mercy’s a Native American who has the power to shift, at will, into the form of a coyote. In the series she’s taken on a number of otherworldly creatures, and her latest venture found her — finally! — married to her mate, handsome werewolf Adam.

But, as usual, things aren’t smooth sailing in Mercy’s little corner of Washington. Straight from the author’s website, we found this telling little tidbit:


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
6COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Series Saturday: Unusual Occupations

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 11, 2012 | PERMALINK

You can find whatever you're looking for in the world of series romance. Want a story that's short and sweet? Head to a Harlequin American. On the hunt for a hero with paranormal prowess? Nocturne's new releases are sure to please. Serious about seeking a sheik? It's Harlequin Presents or bust. But what do you do when you are in the mood for a story that seems like it could happen to you, but with some extra spice thrown in? That is definitely a Blaze moment! And you're in luck because this month there are not one, but three fantastic tales heroines who are average, in all ways but two: first, they have a fantastically unusual day jobs and second … they are about to find themselves in an extra steamy love story! Read on to see which women with interesting occupations are headed toward Happily Ever After ...

***

Meet The Heroine: Rachel Howe

How She Spends Her Day: She’s a goat farmer


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST