RT Daily Blog

Authors Christina Henry And Chloe Neil Run For Charity - And Chocolate!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 29, 2012 | PERMALINK

Urban fantasy authors Christina Henry and Chloe Neill will run the Hot Chocolate 5K in Chicago, on November 4, 2012, to benefit the Ronald McDonald House charity. Chloe and Christina will run for both a good cause — and for chocolate, as the post-race party features tons of goodies sponsored by Ghirardelli. Today the authors share their stories behind what motivated them to run — and what running has to do with how they write their novels. 

***


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

N.K. Jemisin's Recipe For How To Make A Religion For A Fantasy Universe

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 29, 2012 | PERMALINK

Fantasy fans know that a well-built world is crucial for an irresistible story. And author N.K. Jemisin always immerses readers into new and interesting worlds. The author's recent Dreamblood books tell the tale of Gujaareh, a nation torn apart by war in which the Gatherers, priests of the dream-goddess, are responsible for ensuring peace. Reviewer Natalie Luhrs boasts that "Jemisin excels at worldbuilding and the inclusion of a diverse mix of characters makes her settings feel even more real and vivid," and part of her excellent worldbuilding is her intricately crafter religion. Today the author reveals her "recipe" for whipping up a religion fit for a fantasy universe.

The folks at RT asked me to describe how I came up with the Egyptian-flavored religion in the Dreamblood books. The straightforward answer is, simply: I made it up. There's some Jungian dream theory in there, a little Egyptian religion, and a whole lotta "Yeah, this sounds cool, let's try that." But that's not much of an explanation, and since I was making dinner while writing this, I thought I'd try a different tack to explain what was involved in the "making it up" process.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Science Fiction
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Meet Choc Lit Publishing And Learn How You Can Be Part Of Their "Tasting Panel" Of Romance Readers

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 29, 2012 | PERMALINK

What's better than chocolate? Choc Lit, a UK-based romance publisher that recently began offering their books in North America! We recently reported on their contest to find the next American romance star, and we are now taking an opportunity to get to know this romance publisher from across the pond better by interviewing Choc Lit's Marketing Consultant Luke Roberts. 

***

Can you tell readers a little about Choc Lit publishing? (i.e. When did it start? What is the focus of the company? What kind of books can readers expect?)

I’ll do my best. These are some good questions and I could waffle on for hours over a pint of beer or two in a nice London pub. But I will try to stick to the point, as you are no doubt busy people with lots of interesting things to do. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Share Your High School Prom Photos With Hope Ramsay And Win Big! — Updated With Winner Photos

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 29, 2012 | PERMALINK

Were you the high school prom queen? Neither was author Hope Ramsay, and we certainly weren't!

High school may not have been our best four years but we’ve come a long way since then. However, we haven't forgotten our special night of too much hairspray, sequined dresses, spiked punch and a date with two left feet. 

Now that we can look back at our youth and laugh (or, at the very least, cringe minimally), we want to see your prom photos: the good, the bad and the ugly in all their glory!

Post your high school prom photo as a comment on Hope Ramsay's blog here and Hope will choose two lucky readers to receive a $25 Sephora gift card — because it's never too late to make up for that bad neon blue eye shadow decision — the winners will also each receive and a copy of her latest small town contemporary romance, Last Chance Beauty Queen

 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Morgan And Whitney Dish: Elizabeth Hoyt's Thief Of Shadows

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 28, 2012 | PERMALINK

Thief of Shadows, the new Maiden Lane historical romance from Elizabeth Hoyt, brings together a worldly widow and a virtuous schoolmaster as they attempt to save a foundling house for orphans in one of London’s most notorious slums. But, as sparks fly between this unlikely pair, all is not as it seems. The proper teacher, Winter, hides a dark secret — he moonlights as the Ghost of St. Giles, a legendary crime fighter who is intent on putting an end to the evil that is preying on young girls in his neighborhood. But with his work at the charity, and his mission at night, is there any time left for falling in love?

Morgan: Welcome everyone to Elizabeth Hoyt’s Thief of Shadows where we meet at the Ladies’ Syndicate for the Benefit of the Home for Unfortunate Infants and Foundling Children.

Whitney: Let’s just pause for a moment, that is quite a mouthful! But the HFUIFAC —

Morgan: Gesundheit!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview: Veronica Roth

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 28, 2012 | PERMALINK

YA author Veronica Roth stole our hearts with last year's Divergent series starter. The book, by the same name, won the 2011 RT Reviewers' Choice Award for best Young Adult protagonist. Roth recently released book two, Insurgent and so we're pleased to bring you this RT-exclusive interview with the author to give you a special insider's look at the series. Roth sat down with RT's Elissa during the 2012 RT Booklovers Convention to go in-depth about this popular series. The author talks about the factions (and the factionless) and delivering the same kind of emotional high stakes in book two, or a situation that will put Tris in the middle of what Roth calls, "a big, exploding kablooie of awful." Plus, the author chats about why she'd make a horrible Dauntless faction member and shares which question fans ask her the most. (Hint: It has to do with one very intriguing character we all love!)


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cheaper By The Dozen - This Week's Hot E-Book Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 28, 2012 | PERMALINK

One of our favorite features of the e-revolution is the sheer amount of books you can pack into such a tiny digital device. But what do you do when the growing number of new reads causes your wallet to shrink uncomfortably? Shop the e-book deals, of course! In this column we highlight some of our favorite book buys that will cost you less than a medium-sized coffee. 

Historical Romance

The Wild One by Danelle Harmon

    

Buy For 99 Cents >>

 

Contemporary Romance

Slow Summer Kisses by Shannon Stacey

Buy For $1.50 >>

 

Young Adult

Clockwise by Elle Strauss   

Get It For Free >>

         


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Where To Submit Your Manuscript: June 2012

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 27, 2012 | PERMALINK

Aspiring authors, we know that it can be disheartening to look out into the abyss of potential publishing houses and only see the same old phrase, “no unsolicited manuscripts accepted.” These days many of the major publishing houses rely on their ties with literary agents and in-house promotions to find new authors. But don’t despair; today we’ve come up with a list of ten places — from off-the-beaten path publishers to special back doors of the big-name houses — that would welcome your query letter, manuscript or submission. 

***


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Andrea Cremer On Her New Release Rift And An Exclusive Cover Reveal Of The Sequel Rise

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 27, 2012 | PERMALINK

Andrea Cremer has dazzled YA fans with her Nightshade series, which follows the supernatural adventures of Guardian wolf shifter Calla and her human love interest Shay. But for readers who are curious about the origins of the magic that fills the Nightshade books, Cremer has penned the Nightshade prequel Rift, which takes place hundreds of years before the first Nightshade book. Today the author shares how Rift ties into the Nightshade series, what readers can expect from the prequel and we give you an exclusive first look at the cover of Rift's sequel, Rise!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
19COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Beauty & The Book: Paper Passion Purfume

BY Whitney Sullivan, JUNE 27, 2012 | PERMALINK

If you are anything like me, you’ve spent many years with your nose stuck in a book, and are proud of it! A true book lover is a master at sniffing out a good read — sometimes literally.

In this age of e-books, it's worth it to take time and remember that one of the perks of print books is that they come with their own special set of scents, from “public library on a hot day” to “bookstore on new release Tuesday” and to the smell we’re all most familiar with “book I’m reading right now.” But sometimes I wish that I could sport one of these book lover scents as a way to show off my reader pride. A simple way to say, "do you like books? If so, come sit by me!"

It seems that my wish has been answered, because now there's a new fragrance that will allow readers to easily identify each other. It's the aptly titled Paper Passion. And although it's not on shelves yet, so I can't tell you exactly what I think makes up it's scent. Here's what it's rumored to smell like:

“Paper Passion has evolved into something quite beautiful and unique. To wear the smell of a book is something very chic. Books are players in the intellectual world, but also in the world of luxury.”


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST