RT Daily Blog

The Sweet Life On The Big Screen: What's Next For Francine Pascal's Sweet Valley Saga

BY Elissa Petruzzi, JULY 24, 2012 | PERMALINK

For a generation of women, Elizabeth and Jessica Wakefield were it. Their blonde hair, their size-six frames, their high jinks — we loved everything about them. Which is why the twins’ recent resurgence, thanks to creator Francine Pascal’s 2011 sequel Sweet Valley Confidential: Ten Years Later, as well as her current e-serial, The Sweet Life, has been greeted with such excitement.

Seeing Jessica, Elizabeth and the gang navigate their 20s has been tons of fun, but if you’d prefer a throwback to the old days, look no further than Diablo Cody’s upcoming film adaptation of our favorite twins, which Pascal told us all about at the recent RT Convention in Chicago.

“Diablo has been a fan for years,” Pascal said. “When we first met she was so nervous. I just loved her. She’s got humor, wit and heart.”

Cody’s adaptation focuses on the plot of one of the best Sweet Valley Highs (if we do say so ourselves), No. 7, Dear Sister — where Elizabeth, after a motorcycle accident, awakens from a coma behaving like her erstwhile twin Jessica. “She becomes more Jessica than Jessica!” Pascal laughed.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
8COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Inside The Issue: September 2012

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 24, 2012 | PERMALINK

The September issue of RT BOOK REVIEWS will be in stores soon, and here are some of the stories you can look forward to reading ...

Angie Fox takes readers inside her new paranormal trilogy, starting with Immortally Yours. Plus, we discuss why fairy tale romances still capture our hearts after all these years. M/M romance is hotter than ever, and we share why readers can't get enough. Meanwhile, historical romance author Nicola Cornick gives us a "shoe" tour of Regency-era footwear. Then, Melissa Marr tells us about her dark new YA tale, Carnival of Souls. And finally, we wrap up our 2012 RT Convention coverage with lots of fabulous photos!

There's all this and more between the pages of the September 2012 issue of RT BOOK REVIEWS. You can also SUBSCRIBE NOW and get access to RT's Bonus Content coming next week. Until then, here's a sneak peek at the September issue's Table of Contents!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
18COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

On The Shelves Tuesday 7/24/2012

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 24, 2012 | PERMALINK

Here's a look at the titles we love that hit shelves this week.

Historical Romance

FOREVER A LADY

"Marvelle continues to push the boundaries of the genre with an emotionally unconventional love story."

AN UNSUITABLE BRIDE

"Readers will be entranced as Feather infuses her protagonists with intelligence, wit and maturity — along with a dose of sensuality and a small fascination with antiquarian books."


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
13COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Romance Rodeo: Choose Your Cowboy Cutie

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 23, 2012 | PERMALINK

This month, three is the magic number when it comes to cowboy heroes. The July 2012 releases feature three stories from different settings so that you’ll wind up with the cowboy of your dreams. You can let your eyes do the picking with a look at these excellent covers but if you’re anything like us, the sight of not one but three cowboy hat-clad yummy heroes might leave you even more indecisive. So today we’re breaking these books down, telling you where (and when) you’ll find these dudes who are home, home on the range and have lassoed our hearts. And remember, no one said you have to choose just one ...

 

 

 

Cowboy Contender One: Brody Armstrong

Where You’ll Find Him: In the historical romance Brody by Emma Lang

When You’ll Find Him: Texas, 1836

Why You’ll Love Him: This Texas Ranger fearlessly hunts for a young man who was stolen by ranchers — a job that would be a lot easier if the boy’s sultry older sister Liv weren’t along to help. But as the pair of strangers turn into partners (in more way than one in this steamy story) you’ll love every second of their adventure that takes you through the lone star state and into 1800s Mexico!

Read The Review >>>

     

Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
19COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Forewords - The Books Before The Buzz

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 23, 2012 | PERMALINK

With our column, Forewords, we let readers know the latest book news about some of the web team's most-anticipated upcoming releases across the genres — just as the projects are announced!

RETURNING FAVORITE SERIES

Contemporary Romance - We can’t wait to return to the New England resort community of Elisabeth Barrett’s Star Harbor series. The author will open the proverbial gates to the small town three more times in upcoming novels. Readers will get remaining Grayson brothers' stories in Blaze of WinterLong Simmering Spring and Slow Summer Burn. Publication dates TBA.

Paranormal Romance - What does a warrior angel do when he’s forced to pick between his winged-brothers and the half-demon who just might be his mate? We’ll find out when Tes Hilaire’s Deliver Me From Death hits the shelves. This is the third book in the author's Paladin series, which means the time to get caught up on this series is now!

NEW SERIES ALERT


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Series Saturday: Piper's Popularity

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 21, 2012 | PERMALINK

Recently, we have been seeing a lot of Pipers, Pias and Pippas in series romances. Could it be that a year ago, when these books were most likely being written, that one “P” name was dominating the headlines? Maybe we have Pippa Middleton, sister to the Duchess of Cambridge, to thank for some of the feisty heroines gracing our recent reads. In order to get to know these fictional heroines a bit better, we are spotlighting three "Pipers" that may have you seeing the newly fashionable name in a different light.

***

No Holds Barred by Cara Summers

Meet this Piper: Piper MacPherson 

Her Best Feature: Piper is a defense attorney who knows how to get her man - both in and out of the courtroom. When she becomes the target of a killer, her bodyguard turns out to be the one man who has been at the top of her fantasy list for years. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
4COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Weekly Web Wrap Up 7/20/2012

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 20, 2012 | PERMALINK

Did you spend your whole week Wooing the Schoolmarm?

Here's what you missed on the RT site:

***

HISTORICAL ROMANCE: July's historicals transport readers around the world! Take A Trip >>

SERIES ROMANCE: We interview author Sarah M. Anderson. Meet A Man of Privilege >>

SCIENCE FICTION: Ian Tregillis discusses his alternate history tale. Discover The Coldest War >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Thrillerfest 2012: Is The Apocalypse Imminent?

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 20, 2012 | PERMALINK

A panel on the apocalypse in the year 2012? That sounds about right. What better time to discuss the world’s foretold demise than in the very year that Mayan prophecy predicts the end of civilization? That may have been the intention of this year’s Thrillerfest organizers when they scheduled a talk between top thriller writers about the explosive subject. For readers looking for more than just a mystery, these authors ratchet up the suspense by adding not just a few murders or missing persons, but destruction of the entire population. That’s right, we are talking the apocalypse and authors that write about the most terrifying disasters that can befall humanity.

Panelists Robert Gleason, Joshua Graham, Michael Koryta, Daniel Levin and Dustin Thomason

Led by Panel Master Daniel Palmer, five authors discussed the use of the apocalypse — in its many forms — in their fiction. So is the apocalypse imminent? Well, for this panel it depended on how you defined the word. But they all agreed it’s unavoidable. RT was there to record their interesting takes on a theme that has us all just a bit worried … and fascinated:


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
4COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Industry Innovation: The Cassandra Clare Cover Reveal Leaves Fans Buzzing

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 20, 2012 | PERMALINK

Once again, the Young Adult genre is innovating the publishing industry. For the cover reveal for Cassandra Clare’s new Infernal Devices book, Clockwork Princess, publisher Simon and Schuster hosted a new type of release, one that certainly garnered a lot of interest.

Clare’s Mortal Instruments books are one of the young adult genre’s most popular long-running series, and the Infernal Devices books are the prequel stories to this series. However, books one and two have been equally popular. (Infernal Devices book one, Clockwork Angel got an RT Top Pick! review and a nomination for a 2010 RT Reviewers’ Choice Award.) So we are not surprised that the artwork for Clockwork Princess, which will hit stores in early March 2013, has fans buzzing. However, we certainly didn’t expect to be treated to such an exciting cover release.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Morgan And Whitney Dish: Jill Shalvis' Forever And A Day

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 19, 2012 | PERMALINK

Jill Shalvis Forever And A Day will sweep readers off of their feet and back to the author’s fictional small town of Lucky Harbor. When a sunny but directionless heroine, Grace, accepts a job walking the handsome Dr. Josh’s dog, it’s not long before she’s also babysitting Josh’s young son and living in his guesthouse. But as feelings grow between these two adults, will they be able to realize that they are perfect for each other before it’s too late?

Morgan: This story is A-D-O-R-A-B-L-E! Absolutely adorable (and I’m not just talking about the young boy and puppy who play important roles).

Whitney: I completely agree. This whole story is a delicious treat from start to finish!

Morgan: It all begins with Grace — a heroine who you really want to spend time with. And it continues with the totally hot doctor hero Josh. He’s to die for.

Whitney: But as attractive as Josh is — and I’d walk Dr. McHottie’s dog any day of the week — unfortunately, his life isn’t in such a good shape.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST