RT Daily Blog

Get The Look: Julia Quinn's A Night Like This

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 17, 2012 | PERMALINK

Historical romance author Julia Quinn has a particular skill at transporting readers back to the Regency era. We cherish the time that we spend between the covers of her tales, treated to a different period and place, where people are often more refined or at the very least, better dressed! And you know that, without a doubt, when you sign up for a Quinn romance, you will also get at least a few chuckles (or in the case of her latest novel, some full-on belly laughs).


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cheaper By The Dozen - This Week's Hot E-Book Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 17, 2012 | PERMALINK

One of our favorite features of the e-revolution is the sheer amount of books you can pack into such a tiny digital device. But what do you do when the growing number of new reads causes your wallet to shrink uncomfortably? Shop the e-book deals, of course! In this column we highlight some of our favorite book buys that will cost you less than a medium-sized coffee. 

Historical Romance

I Kissed an Earl by Julie Anne Long

  

Buy For $1.99 >>

 

Contemporary Romance

Risky Business by Suzanne MacPherson

Buy For $0.99 >>

 

Young Adult

My Life as the Ugly Stepsister by Juli Alexander

Buy For $1.99 >>

         


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Debut Author Spotlight: Evonne Wareham

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 16, 2012 | PERMALINK

Name: Evonne Wareham

Book: Never Coming Home

Current Home: On the coast of South Wales, in the UK

Job (when you are not writing): Mature Student

Author Icon: There are many authors I admire, but I think my first real inspiration has to be Mary Stewart — independent heroines, enigmatic heroes, mystery and adventure, in romantic settings. 

When did you start writing?

I can’t remember a time when I wasn’t making up stories inside my head, but the road to publication has been a long one. I studied other writers, took classes and experimented to find out what I really wanted to write. And, of course, life and career also intervened, taking me away from writing for stretches of time — but I always came back.

What was the process like from writing to publication? We would be especially interested in finding out what happened after the American Title Contest.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Inside The Issue: July 2012

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 16, 2012 | PERMALINK

The July issue of RT BOOK REVIEWS will be in stores soon, and here are some of the stories you can look forward to reading ...

Elizabeth Hoyt gives readers a glimpse between the pages of her upcoming historical Thief of Shadows. Authors share how they draw romantic inspiration from none other than the City of Love, Paris. Plus, if you're looking for books with a similar flavor as Fifty Shades of Grey, you wont want to miss out reading list of 50 red-hot reads. Meanwhile, we recap this year's RT Booklovers Convention and pay tribute to our dear friend author Judi McCoy. And in Teen Scene, YA author Jodi Lynn Anderson shares how a Peter Pan character inspired her latest novel.

There's all this and more between the pages of the July 2012 issue of RT BOOK REVIEWS. You can also SUBSCRIBE NOW and get access to RT's Bonus Content coming next week. Until then, here's a sneak peek at the July issue's Table of Contents!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Magazine Extras: A Peek Inside Humorous Review Site LeastHelpful.com

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 16, 2012 | PERMALINK

In the June issue of RT, our Web Browser column took a look at Hudson Hongo's hilarious review website LeastHelpful.com, which spotlights some of the funniest (and not so helpful) Amazon product reviews. Here's a short interview with Hongo that didn't make it into the magazine and provides an entertaining look at some of the most ludicrous reviews on the Internet.

***

Do you have a favorite kind of Least Helpful review? Or a favorite review in particular? (We admit to being partial to the conspiracy theorists and reviewers whose ratings have nothing to do with the product in question — like the guy who gave the restaurant a bad review because his wife slept with the waiter, for example.)

Personally, I really like it when the reviews only exist as a platform for the reviewer's real interests, whether it's the moon landing, witchcraft or levitation. I'm already fascinated by these marginal web communities and it's pretty funny to see their theories appear on something mundane like a review of organic honey. My favorite review ever isn't really a bad review at all, though. This little girl just loves dogs: Read the review.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cover Chat: Rapture The Upcoming Fallen Angels Novel By J.R. Ward

BY Whitney Sullivan, MAY 16, 2012 | PERMALINK

J.R. Ward doesn’t just write some of the hottest vampires in paranormal fiction, she’s also created a class of fallen angels that may have you swearing to stay away from the pearly gates in order to steal some time with these exiled celestial beings. Ward plunged us into this dark and sexy series with 2009’s Covet and each fall has treated us to another installment with a snappy one-word title — Crave and Envy respectively — and some of the best dark heroes in romance today. (But don’t take my word for it on the heavenly hottie front, you’ve got time to pick up the first three books in the series before the upcoming book four, Rapture, is in stores this fall.)  

But if J.R. Ward’s name and the promise of sinfully sexy men aren’t enough to get you pre-ordering your own copy of Rapture, here is what we know we can expect:


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview: Sue Grafton

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 15, 2012 | PERMALINK

Bestselling mystery author Sue Grafton is best known for her Kinsey Milhone novels (also affectionately called the alphabet mysteries for their clever titles). The series is 22 books in and still going strong. The latest book in the series, 2011's V is for Vengeance, was rated an RT Top Pick! In today's interview with RT's Stephanie, Grafton shares her views on the psychology of violence, talks about the narrative directions she's taken with her stories and the ways that she keeps the series fresh. (One of these ways is that she works hard to capture Kinsey "in the moment" and not think too far ahead, in fact she doesn't even know what the title for her W mystery will be!) Plus, find out what the author thinks she'll do after she wraps up Kinsey's final alphabet adventure!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Which Paranormal Heroes Make Your Heart Flutter? — With Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 15, 2012 | PERMALINK

The paranormal heroes of May swept us off our feet. Their good looks, intriguing backstories and myriad of “super” skills have sparked a heated debate the merits of dating an angel, sorcerer and beyond. Today we are letting these gentlemen face off, so you can decide who you’d want to share your happily ever after with. And if you let us know which man has stolen your heart by leaving a comment on this post and you’ll be entered to win a paranormal prize pack!


 

Darkest Caress

by Kaylea Cross

Meet The Man: Daegan Blackwell, naturally magical

His Story: This 2,000-year-old — but very well preserved, if you know what we mean — is "Empowered", one of the last of his kind, a breed of magical people on the brink of extinction.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
39COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cover Trends: Angel Wings — With Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 14, 2012 | PERMALINK

The newest class of angels featured in upcoming romance novels inspire some very passionate feelings in our hearts. One glance at these covers, and it’s easy to see why these heavenly beings have us positively wrapped around their fingers. It doesn't seem to matter what color these wings are or if they are made of smoke or tattoos, we bet you won’t be thinking of cherubs, halos or pearly gates when you take flight with any of the stories below. Plus, we're giving readers a chance to win two of these titles at the end of this post!

 

 

 

 

 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
23COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Forewords - The Books Before The Buzz

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 14, 2012 | PERMALINK

With our column, Forewords, we let readers know the latest book news about some of the web team's most-anticipated upcoming releases across the genres — just as the projects are announced!

NEW SERIES ALERT

Contemporary Romance - If you love to read romances set in far-flung locations, then be sure to keep an eye on the upcoming set of books from Robyn Grady. The Goddess begins a series about couples whose relationships are altered by a set of unusual artifacts. These stories sound spooky and sexy all at once, just the way we like them!

Urban Fantasy - Adriana Ryan will thrust readers into a world of supernaturally-able humans with her upcoming project featuring "the Awakened". This group has powers that ordinary humans don’t because they share a mysterious heritage. Want to learn more? You can get your first look at them in Enlightened when this series first is released in Spring 2013.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST