RT Daily Blog

Judging Ongoing Series: What Works And What Doesn’t

BY Dawn Crowne, MARCH 30, 2012 | PERMALINK

Writing an ongoing series can be extremely difficult, because series come with baggage. There are so many details to keep straight! I’ve chatted with authors who use different methods to make sure all their facts line up, from intensive documents, to color coded binders and even using fact checker beta readers. But the truth is that it’s about more than making sure that your secondary characters from book two shows up in book seven with the right color eyes. It’s a challenge to keep a series installments appealing for longtime fans and accessible to new readers. It’s a balancing act and one that is incredibly tough to master. Recently I’ve read several stories that are part of much larger series, and found some elements that really worked well — and some that did not. Today I break down three new stories in running series so that you can judge for yourself.

The Outsiders series by Rebecca Royce

Down And Dirty Series Summary: The “Outsiders” in the series are several couples with magical powers that must find and anchor each other so that they can successfully save the world from an evil demon.

Current Release: The fourth story in the Outsiders series, “Love Beyond Sight”, features vulnerable foreseer Eden Roan. She is in desperate need of protection, but her anchor, Samuel Quinn, cannot go to her because of his physical deformities. But when danger comes calling, Samuel overcomes his difficult issues in order to fight for the lovely Eden.

What Works: The author has a terrific writing style that allows readers to feel what her characters are feeling. While the plot may be confusing at points, the prose is smooth and showcases Royce’s skills as a wordsmith.

What Doesn’t: With the fourth story in The Outsiders series, readers are literally dropped into an alternate world without a roadmap. There are so many characters that newcomers’ heads will swim as they desperately try to figure out which hero goes with which heroine.

***


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Erotica
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Spoiled: Diana Peterfreund Talks Her Austen-Inspired YA For Darkness Shows The Stars

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 30, 2012 | PERMALINK

Spoiled shares a look at the books you can't wait to read, long before they hit stores. Today author Diana Peterfreund answers RT's questions about this upcoming futuristic YA tale that is inspired by a Jane Austen novel. Get an idea of what you can expect to see in For Darkness Shows the Stars before it is released in June!

***

For Darkness Shows the Stars is inspired by Jane Austen’s Persuasion. Why did you decide to retell such a famous tale?

Persuasion has long been my favorite Austen story. I love Mr. Darcy as much as the next gal, but when I’m looking for a good, cathartic cry, it’s always Persuasion I turn to. I adore those characters, their constancy and mistakes and eventual reconciliation. I also love other Austen retellings like Bridget Jones’s Diary (Pride & Prejudice) and Clueless (Emma), but there isn’t a definitive one for Persuasion.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Surviving The 2012 RT BOOKLOVERS Convention

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 29, 2012 | PERMALINK

T-minus 13 days until the 26th annual RT Booklovers Convention. Which means it’s time for us to share our top 10 tips for making the most out of the upcoming five day extravaganza of fun!

1. Smart Shoes Are Key

We’ve all got that pair of shoes (or pairs of shoes) that make us feel great. They may be strappy sandals, kicky heels or a killer pair of boots. However, no matter what they look like, they may make other women swoon in envy but they also make us swoon in pain by the end of the day. Our advice — sport your tennis shoes or ballet flats during the day and save the fancy footwear for the evening parties!

2. It’s Okay, Shipping is Available!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Convention
4COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Ask Your Questions For A Chance To Win An ARC Of Nalini Singh’s Next Psy/Changeling Book

BY Morgan Doremus, MARCH 29, 2012 | PERMALINK

I am ridiculously excited to announce that I will be the official moderator for the Paranormal Author Chat that will take place at the RT Booklovers Convention on Thursday, April 12th. The authors participating are a who’s who of all that is greatness in paranormal romance today: Nalini Singh, Jeaniene Frost and Charlaine Harris!

Thankfully, I have meet each of these authors previously, so I might, might be able to shake off my fan-girl daze and actually ask these talented ladies insightful questions about their work. But just in case (as I always have a backup plan) I was hoping that RT readers will be able to give me a hand with preparing some great questions for these three paranormal authors.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
31COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cheaper By The Dozen - This Week's Hot E-Book Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 29, 2012 | PERMALINK

One of our favorite features of the e-revolution is the sheer amount of books you can pack into such a tiny digital device. But what do you do when the growing number of new reads causes your wallet to shrink uncomfortably? Shop the e-book deals, of course! In this column we highlight some of our favorite book buys that will cost you less than a medium-sized coffee. 

Historical Romance

Catriona by Jeanette Baker

   

Buy For $.99 >>

 

Contemporary Romance

Here Comes the Bride by Rita Herron

Buy For $.99 >>

 

Young Adult

Grounding Quinn by Stephanie Campbell

Buy For $.99 >>

         


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Morgan And Whitney Dish: Suzanne Enoch's Taming an Impossible Rogue

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 28, 2012 | PERMALINK

Taming an Impossible Rogue, Suzanne Enoch’s latest historical romance, has both RT’s Morgan and Whitney buzzing. When the notorious Keating “Bloody” Blackwell returns to London, in order to fulfill his part of a bargain — to convince his cousin’s errant fiancée to return to the other man’s arms — he doesn't expect to fall in love with the chit himself. But he should have known that the woman would defy his expectations; after all Camille Pryce did desert a marquess at the altar and has spent the last year working at the gentlemen’s haunt, the Tantalus Club.

Morgan: I am in love with the Tantalus Club. The second book in Enoch’s Scandalous Brides series gives readers an even closer look inside the workings of this not-so-scandalous, yet often gossiped-about gentleman’s club, which is owned and staffed by women.

Whitney: And what makes the establishment all the more intriguing is that the (incredibly varied) women at Tantalus “[have] fled their previous lives for a hundred different reasons and found sanctuary at the oddest place imaginable.”

Morgan: And among these women is the disgraced Lady Camille Pryce. She has made a new home for herself working and living at the club ever since she left her groom, the Marquess of Fenton, standing at the altar a year ago.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Fifty Shades Of Grey Optioned For Film, Who We Would Cast

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 28, 2012 | PERMALINK

In recent weeks, it has been impossible to miss the news about how E.L. James’ Fifty Shades of Grey series has taken the reading world by storm. The three books follow the development of a dominant/submissive relationship between the jaded billionaire Christian Grey who is in his late twenties, and the young college student Anastasia Steele who he introduces into his world of sexual games. The books, which grew out of fan-fiction, quickly climbed the bestseller lists.

It’s unusual for an erotica series, especially one with BDSM elements, to capture the attention of mainstream readers. And adding to the buzz is the fact that the trilogy started out as e-books and won international favor through word of mouth and recommendations. Just two weeks ago, the Random House offshoot Vintage purchased the rights to re-publish the series, and now the movie rights to the series first, Fifty Shades of Grey, have been purchased by Universal Pictures and Focus Features.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica
34COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Goodreads' Helpful Note To Authors

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 28, 2012 | PERMALINK

When it comes to online behavior, it's generally best for authors to steer clear of getting into tiffs with the online reading community — especially over a bad review. Whether you think you just need to say just one tiny thing because the reviewer clearly didn’t understand what you are trying to convey, or if you can’t help jump into a full-on comment war, authors should think long and hard before posting a response to a review. After all, nobody wants to become the next author to have an “Internet Meltdown” and join the ranks of the oft-joked about, for actions similar to those that lead to the self-destruction of Jacqueline Howett and bad behavior of Candace Sams. (Because, as we have just demonstrated, the Internet has a long, long memory.)

But it looks like authors are about to get some help from an unlikely source. The book-centric social networking site Goodreads is attempting to help authors stay on the “write” side of online etiquette. We learned via author Andrew Shaffer’s post on EvilReads, that the online reading community has installed a new feature, a message that appears if you (as an author) attempt to respond to a review of a book that you’ve written.


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog
12COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview: Kerrelyn Sparks

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 27, 2012 | PERMALINK

Today the twelfth installment of author Kerrelyn Sparks' Love at Stake series, Wanted: Undead or Alive, hits shelves. To get readers ready for another foray into the author's awesome paranormal world, RT's Morgan, interviews Sparks about her unique take on vampire lore, including vampire fusion cuisine and the special synthetic blood that has altered what it means to be a creature of the night. The author also discusses her warrior heroes and shares a look at the difficult sacrifices they must make before they get their HEAs.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cover Chat: Thea Harrison's Lord's Fall

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 27, 2012 | PERMALINK

Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST