RT Daily Blog

Debut Young Adult Authors At BEA 2012

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 13, 2012 | PERMALINK

There’s a new class of YA (and middle grade) authors in town, and they blog over at The Apocalypsies. This group of over 100 debut authors all have their first books coming out in 2012, and during BEA several of these authors hosted a fantastic event with sweets, book treats and more! 

Each author was presented to the crowd with a look at their book

As they are such a large group of bloggers, not everyone was in attendance. But there were a large group of new writers representing the Apocalypsie authors. And each author on hand had a chance to be introduced to the audience and chat about their upcoming book.

This group was as big as it was diverse. These authors' novels feature contemporary issues and fantasy adventures, meanwhile between other covers readers can expect to find mystery and paranormal elements. There's literally something for everyone in this set of books from the Apocalypsies.

These novels are also written for many different types of readers. RT's Whitney shares, "There are middle grades that are good for advanced eight- and nine-year-olds to twelve-year-olds, and on the other end of the reading list, there are stories that will be a good fit for slightly older YA readers, such as Sarah J. Maas' Throne of Glass."


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
4COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Spoiled: Molly Harper On Her Newly-Announced Series

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 13, 2012 | PERMALINK

Author Molly Harper is known for her lighthearted, fun paranormal tales about sexy supernatural men and the women who love them. But stories of vampires and werewolves aren't the only ones Harper pens. She debuted her first contemporary romance back in 2010, and recently broke the news that she will be returning to the side of romance that has fewer fangs and less fur with a brand new series! We're anxious for the first in Harper's yet-to-be-titled digital-first series, releasing this December, and asked the author to share a little bit about what readers can expect.

***

It was just announced that you have a new contemporary romance series coming from Pocket. Can you give readers a short summary of what they can expect from these books?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, Romance
11COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

June Mainstream Overview

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 12, 2012 | PERMALINK

Mainstream readers can always look forward to a wide spectrum of stories that are published in their genre, from light beach reads to serious stories. In this month’s genre roundup, we take a look at three books bound by the theme of friendship and find out what new multicultural mainstream tales are hitting the shelves. You can also check out a video interview with author Mingmei Yip about her Asia-set stories. And then we preview one upcoming read with a look at a just-announced new project!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mainstream
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Author Interview: Margaret Stohl And Kami Garcia

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 12, 2012 | PERMALINK

YA fans are no strangers to Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl's co-written Beautiful Creatures series. The harrowing Southern Gothic tale filled with magic and intrigue has captured readers hearts and has climbed in popularity, so much so that it's currently being transformed for the big screen! We interviewed Kami Garcia about the Beautiful Creatures film back in August, but since we're so anxious for what's next in the Caster Chronicles, we caught up with the authors at this year's Teen Day at the RT Booklovers Convention! RT's Whitney got the details on what fans can expect from the upcoming film adaptation and what's ahead for each of the authors.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
8COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Inside The Issue: August 2012

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 12, 2012 | PERMALINK

The August issue of RT BOOK REVIEWS will be in stores soon, and here are some of the stories you can look forward to reading ...

Lisa Jackson tells us about the inspiration behind her upcoming novel, You Don't Want to Know. We spotlight Scandinavian thrillers and bring you must-read suggestions from some of your favorite authors on this side of the pond. Andrea Kane talks about her series second — and the lengths that a mother will go to in order to protect her child. Then hear from Kelley Armstrong about the stunning conclusion to her Otherworld series. In Pros on Prose, Carina Press' Angela James talks "the dos and don'ts" of branding your author website. And in Teen Scene author Dan Krokos talks about planting False Memory.

There's all this and more between the pages of the August 2012 issue of RT BOOK REVIEWS. You can also SUBSCRIBE NOW and get access to RT's Bonus Content coming next week. Until then, here's a sneak peek at the August issue's Table of Contents!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

On The Shelves Tuesday 6/12/2012

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 12, 2012 | PERMALINK

Here's a look at the titles we love that hit shelves this week.

Historical Romance

LET LOVE FIND YOU

"Lindsey returns to the Regency and delivers a romance filled with her trademark humor, sensuality and emotional intensity."


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

New Author Ruthie Knox On Character Chemistry In About Last Night

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 11, 2012 | PERMALINK

Any relationship expert will tell you that one of the most important elements in a relationship is communication. However, often in romance novels this is sorely missing between the heroine and hero. Thankfully this is not the case in new author Ruthie Knox’s exciting tales of contemporary love. In her digital-first debut, Ride With Me, Knox wowed readers with amazing dialogue between opposites Alex and Tom. Now Knox’s outstanding way with witty back-and-forths is on full display in her second e-book, About Last Night. So how does Knox go about writing these deliciously romantic scenes of good old-fashioned conversation between her characters? The author reveals her secrets in today’s guest post.

When I was in middle school, I read a lot of teen magazines, and I decided I would never flirt. “Ten Top Tips for Flirting,” “Seven Ways To Catch His Eye” — the whole notion offended me. Why should I slick on lipstick and bat my eyelashes to make some boy like me? It was trickery!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cover Chat: Close Enough To Touch The Upcoming Series Starter By Victoria Dahl

BY Whitney Sullivan, JUNE 11, 2012 | PERMALINK

Versatile author Victoria Dahl writes amazingly detailed historical tales as well as bright, contemporary romances. Last December, RT broke details about Dahl's next project, a contemporary series, in an exclusive Q&A with the author. Dahl shared a profile of the characters that the stories would feature. I am thrilled to say that today, we're finally getting a look at the series starter's cover ... and I'm not ashamed to say it, I'm in love! 

But let's rewind for a moment. Here's what we knew before we saw the beautiful cover art:

Close Enough to Touch is the story of Jackson Hole, Wyoming's handsome cowboy Cole Rawlings and the city girl whose heart he steals: Grace Barrett. The pair become next door neighbors when makeup artist Grace takes a hiatus from Hollywood and decides to visit her aunt to get "back to basics." But with this sexy all-American man just outside her door, well it's not surprising that, like the back cover blurb says, "it turns out that there are a few more thrills in this small town than Grace was expecting..." But is this relationship enough to convince Grace that she should give up the life she's worked for and make her vacation in Jackson Hole a permanent move? I guess we'll have to read the book to find out!

During her Q&A with RT, the author shared that the first time that Cole and Grace meet, he refers to her as "darlin'" and this city girl isn't having any of his country charm. Dahl told us, "Of course, she immediately snaps, 'I'm not your darlin'.'" Fellow readers, can't you just feel their opposites attract heat sizzling and snapping off the page?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Forewords - The Books Before The Buzz

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 11, 2012 | PERMALINK

With our column, Forewords, we let readers know the latest book news about some of the web team's most-anticipated upcoming releases across the genres — just as the projects are announced!

NEW SERIES ALERT

Contemporary Romance - If you love fairytale romances, then you’ll be thrilled with this just-made deal. Author Hope Tarr will be treating readers to not one but three Happily Ever Afters with her Suddenly Cinderella series. These three tales will twine old-fashioned themes with new fangled heroines as unlikely women find their Prince Charmings with the help of some very chic “fairy god friends” and red stilettos. The first story, Operation Cinderella, matches a Goth editor with a conservative radio talk show host. It sounds to us like a clear case of opposites attracting — and getting a little push from their friends — in this Fall 2012 novel.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Caught On Cover: June 2012

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 11, 2012 | PERMALINK

This month several of our favorite celebrities were "caught on cover," their likenesses spotted on some June new releases. Check out who we found:

This Emma Stone lookalike will steal your heart as the thief heroine in this YA read.

     

 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST