RT Daily Blog

New Author Ruthie Knox On Character Chemistry In About Last Night

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 11, 2012 | PERMALINK

Any relationship expert will tell you that one of the most important elements in a relationship is communication. However, often in romance novels this is sorely missing between the heroine and hero. Thankfully this is not the case in new author Ruthie Knox’s exciting tales of contemporary love. In her digital-first debut, Ride With Me, Knox wowed readers with amazing dialogue between opposites Alex and Tom. Now Knox’s outstanding way with witty back-and-forths is on full display in her second e-book, About Last Night. So how does Knox go about writing these deliciously romantic scenes of good old-fashioned conversation between her characters? The author reveals her secrets in today’s guest post.

When I was in middle school, I read a lot of teen magazines, and I decided I would never flirt. “Ten Top Tips for Flirting,” “Seven Ways To Catch His Eye” — the whole notion offended me. Why should I slick on lipstick and bat my eyelashes to make some boy like me? It was trickery!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cover Chat: Close Enough To Touch The Upcoming Series Starter By Victoria Dahl

BY Whitney Sullivan, JUNE 11, 2012 | PERMALINK

Versatile author Victoria Dahl writes amazingly detailed historical tales as well as bright, contemporary romances. Last December, RT broke details about Dahl's next project, a contemporary series, in an exclusive Q&A with the author. Dahl shared a profile of the characters that the stories would feature. I am thrilled to say that today, we're finally getting a look at the series starter's cover ... and I'm not ashamed to say it, I'm in love! 

But let's rewind for a moment. Here's what we knew before we saw the beautiful cover art:

Close Enough to Touch is the story of Jackson Hole, Wyoming's handsome cowboy Cole Rawlings and the city girl whose heart he steals: Grace Barrett. The pair become next door neighbors when makeup artist Grace takes a hiatus from Hollywood and decides to visit her aunt to get "back to basics." But with this sexy all-American man just outside her door, well it's not surprising that, like the back cover blurb says, "it turns out that there are a few more thrills in this small town than Grace was expecting..." But is this relationship enough to convince Grace that she should give up the life she's worked for and make her vacation in Jackson Hole a permanent move? I guess we'll have to read the book to find out!

During her Q&A with RT, the author shared that the first time that Cole and Grace meet, he refers to her as "darlin'" and this city girl isn't having any of his country charm. Dahl told us, "Of course, she immediately snaps, 'I'm not your darlin'.'" Fellow readers, can't you just feel their opposites attract heat sizzling and snapping off the page?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Forewords - The Books Before The Buzz

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 11, 2012 | PERMALINK

With our column, Forewords, we let readers know the latest book news about some of the web team's most-anticipated upcoming releases across the genres — just as the projects are announced!

NEW SERIES ALERT

Contemporary Romance - If you love fairytale romances, then you’ll be thrilled with this just-made deal. Author Hope Tarr will be treating readers to not one but three Happily Ever Afters with her Suddenly Cinderella series. These three tales will twine old-fashioned themes with new fangled heroines as unlikely women find their Prince Charmings with the help of some very chic “fairy god friends” and red stilettos. The first story, Operation Cinderella, matches a Goth editor with a conservative radio talk show host. It sounds to us like a clear case of opposites attracting — and getting a little push from their friends — in this Fall 2012 novel.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Caught On Cover: June 2012

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 11, 2012 | PERMALINK

This month several of our favorite celebrities were "caught on cover," their likenesses spotted on some June new releases. Check out who we found:

This Emma Stone lookalike will steal your heart as the thief heroine in this YA read.

     

 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Series Saturday: Harlequin Goes To Hollywood!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 09, 2012 | PERMALINK

This month Harlequin heads to Hollywood to treat readers to four stories that sizzle. If you enjoy reading about star-crossed lovers who are actually stars, acting gigs that turn into real life love stories and tales of celebrity crushes that become boyfriends, then we suggest you check out these new books. And if you do so with a bag of popcorn by your side, well you won’t be the only one enjoying the mix of movies, television and reading in June’s series romances!

Janice Maynard’s actress heroine will find it Impossible to Resist the feelings that blossom between her and Dr. Jacob Wolfe. Yes, Ariel hired the sexy doctor to pretend to be her boyfriend so that her movie crew wouldn’t know that she’s seriously ill. But, they say you can’t buy love, so what sizzles between this pair must be real — however, will it be enough to last a lifetime? RT Reviewer Pat says of this RT Top Pick!-rated read, “Maynard’s return to the Wolfe family opens another window into the heart of what it means to be family, and she once again nails it perfectly.”


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Weekly Web Wrap Up 6/8/2012

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 08, 2012 | PERMALINK

Did you spend your whole week wondering how to outmaneuver the Soldier's Pregnancy Protocol?

Here's what you missed on the RT site:

***

COVERAGE OF BOOKEXPO AMERICA'S 2012 PUBLISHING CONFERENCE

Four historical romance authors dish about their upcoming heroes >> 

Science fiction authors talk about the genre's mainstream appeal >>

Young Adult writers look at diversity in teen reads >>

Erotica authors compare their sizzling books to spicy foods >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

RT Attends The BlogWorld & New Media Expo 2012

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 08, 2012 | PERMALINK

This year running concurrently with BookExpo America was the BlogWorld & New Media Expo. This conference sported panels and workshops covering a large variety of topics. And while they were directed at bloggers, there we found some very interesting tips for authors as well.

Writing Coach and author Ali Luke


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

BEA 2012: Thriller Panel Featuring Connelly, Meltzer, Koryta and DeMille

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 08, 2012 | PERMALINK

Mystery readers were in for something special during BookExpo America 2012 when President and CEO of Ingram Content Group Skip Prichard moderated a discussion between four very different thriller authors. This author chat, which included Michael Connelly, Brad Meltzer, Michael Koryta and Nelson DeMille, gave the audience an insider’s look at their paths to writing, the authors they love to read — and even weigh in on the discussion about print versus digital books! If you weren’t able to make the panel, here is a snapshot of what you missed:

(from left to right) Authors Nelson DeMille, Brad Meltzer, Michael Connelly and Michael Koryta

It’s no secret that these four authors came to writing from different corners of the professional world. They were a private eye (Koryta), a journalist (Connelly), a lawyer (Meltzer) and a soldier in Vietnam (DeMille). The result is four very different types of writers. What they have in common? They all write stories that make us double check the locks at night and check under the bed before we climb into it. These tales are thrillers with a capital T.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

BEA 2012: Contemporary Romance Authors Share What Makes Their Heroines Great!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 08, 2012 | PERMALINK

There’s nothing quite like relaxing into a contemporary romance and losing yourself in someone else’s trauma and triumphs. At BookExpo America 2012 we got a chance to spend time with several of our favorite authors of modern day love stories and get a behind the scenes glimpse at their latest heroines. Carla Neggers, Susan Mallery and Robyn Carr all weighed in when we asked each author to answer, “What is a skill that your latest heroine has which you are jealous of?” See what they had to say …

During Harlequin’s contemporary romance author signing, Carla Neggers shared with us that the heroine of her latest contemporary release Secrets of the Lost Summer, Olivia Frost, is a talented drawer and graphic designer, and the author wishes this was a skill she shared with her heroine. If you want to learn more about Olivia and her story, Morgan and Whitney Dished about Secrets of the Lost Summer back in February, which you can read here.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

BEA 2012: Erotica Authors Spice Things Up — With Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 07, 2012 | PERMALINK

Erotica is undeniably the steamiest genre on the market and it has some of the most passionate and outspoken fans, too. During BookExpo America 2012 we had a chance to chat with some of the hottest authors publishing today about how they envision the heat levels in their books. We asked Kristina Wright, Rachel Kramer Bussel, Damon Suede and several of their fellow erotica authors to tell us “What type of spicy food best represents your writing?” And we weren’t surprised that their answers were shocking — and sizzling!

Author and anthology editor Kristina Wright said that reading one of her stories is like eating a Vosges Chocolate Red Fire Exotic Candy Bar because both are a “surprising combination of sweet and spicy.” We're hoping that this means Wright's upcoming September 2012 Cleis Press anthology, Duty and Desire: Military Erotic Romance for Women, has a good balance of luscious and racy stories!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica
9COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST