RT Daily Blog

Weekly Web Wrap Up: 4/27/2012

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 27, 2012 | PERMALINK

Did you spend your whole week Having Adam's Baby?

Here’s what you missed on the RT website.

***

CONTEMPORARY ROMANCE: Jennifer Bernard heats things up with her new series. Firemen Frenzy >>

YOUNG ADULT: Excited for Jennifer Bosworth's new series starter Struck? Watch The Book Trailer >>

PARANORMAL: A author puts a spin on the supernatural. Meet Shawntelle Madison's OCD Heroine >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Theme: Contemporary Cowboys

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 27, 2012 | PERMALINK

We are loving this month’s cowboy heroes, who have us dreaming of making a home, home on the range. There’s something both exciting and comforting about a man who is able to care for animals (be they cattle, sheep or horses), run a ranch and still make time for a very special woman. And when it comes to who is heating up the bookshelves, there are three cowboys in new releases that have caught our eye and captured our hearts.

 

 

Catch Me a Cowboy

By Katie Lane

Meet The Cowboy: Billy “Bubba” Wilkes

For the Deep in the Heart of Texas series second, heroine Shirlene Dalton doesn’t want to have anything to do with her new neighbor, Billy “Bubba” Wilkes. But it turns out that he may be just the helping hand she needs. However, this not-so-redneck hero is hiding secrets of his own, ones that may just put their town in peril ...

Read More >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
10COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Morgan And Whitney Dish: The Seduction Of Phaeton Black By Jillian Stone

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 26, 2012 | PERMALINK

This week Morgan and Whitney take a bite out of The Seduction of Phaeton Black, a steampunk story from author Jillian Stone. In this tale of love, lust and paranormal adventure, a detective on the hunt for a mysterious supernatural killer and an orphaned woman seeking justice for her recently deceased father will join forces, but will this unusual couple be able to find the right balance between work and pleasure?

Morgan: Before we start discussing this book, I feel like we need to get on the same page about character Phaeton Black. Hero or anti-hero?

Whitney: Hero. Sure he is a little … unusual, but that doesn’t mean that he isn’t still able to make the heroine’s heart flutter.

Morgan: Her heart and the “hearts” of many other ladies (and I’m using that term loosely). I say this rogue is a total anti-hero.

Whitney: Make your case.

Morgan: Point one: He sees specters and not the nice ones. His connection to the paranormal makes it nearly impossible to even be in normal society.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview: Joyce Lamb

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 26, 2012 | PERMALINK

Author Joyce Lamb writes heart-stopping romantic suspense stories — including her True trilogy — filled with plenty of heat and action. Her experiences as an author, as well as an editor for USA Today, led Lamb to spearhead the newspaper's online blog Happy Ever After which brings romance novels into the mainstream. At this year's RT Booklovers Convention, RT's Morgan got a chance to chat with the author about what's new for Happy Ever After, including a sleek app available for Apple devices. Plus, the author chats about her upcoming self-published book that readers can expect soon and shares why her new hero is one of her all-time favorites!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
27COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

The Romance Magazines From Dorchester Get A New Home!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 26, 2012 | PERMALINK

If you’ve been following our coverage of Dorchester’s demise, then you know that the publishing giant recently sold off their magazines, True Romance and True Love, which according to a recent Publishers Weekly report had, “published more than 12,000 stories, photos and illustrations from the 1920s to 2011.” That’s a lot of content to be at risk of disappearing, so we know that readers will be thrilled to learn that they can find some of these images, stories and more at TruLOVEstories.com.

This online destination for romance readers has recently been launched by BroadLit, as a spot to spend time reading e-books, accessing online games and more. So, what can you do at TruLovestories.com? Today we take a look at some of the interesting features the site offer for romance lovers.

1) Take a tour of romance throughout the decades  

From the 1920s through the 2000s, TLS offers readers a short look at what was going on during the era, and some free e-reads that really whisk you back to days gone by. For each decade you can read two short stories online!

Get Started >>

2) Cook Up Some Passion


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cheaper By The Dozen - This Week's Hot E-Book Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 26, 2012 | PERMALINK

One of our favorite features of the e-revolution is the sheer amount of books you can pack into such a tiny digital device. But what do you do when the growing number of new reads causes your wallet to shrink uncomfortably? Shop the e-book deals, of course! In this column we highlight some of our favorite book buys that will cost you less than a medium-sized coffee. 

Historical Romance

The Governess Affair by Courtney Milan

Buy For 99 Cents >>

 

Contemporary Romance

Hearts in Darkness by Laura Kaye

Buy For $2.25 >>

 

Young Adult

Leopard Moon by Jeanette Battista

Buy For 99 Cents >>

         


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
7COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

On the Black Dagger Brotherhood and Four-Letter words: J.R. Ward and Jessica Andersen Let Loose at Convention

BY Audrey Goodson Kingo, APRIL 25, 2012 | PERMALINK

As the newest staff member at RT BOOK REVIEWS magazine, this was my first time attending our convention — and boy was it a doozy! From meeting my favorite romance authors Susan Elizabeth Phillips and Loretta Chase to catching glimpses of fiction idols like Anne Rice and Sue Grafton, every minute of convention seemed to be packed with excitement. But my favorite moment, by far, was sitting in on the panel "No Holds Barred With J.R. Ward and Jessica Andersen." I'm not exaggerating when I say I've never encountered a more fanatic reader following than the people who were at this reader event. In fact, the crowd's obvious enthusiasm inspired me to pick up the Ward's Black Dagger Brotherhood series, and just a week after convention, I'm already on book four. I can't wait until I get to the point that I understand all of the spoilers Ward divulged at the chat. Want to find out what they were? In Ward and Andersen's own words, "Keep reading!"


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Convention, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
32COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Even Supernaturals Get The Blues

BY Morgan Doremus, APRIL 25, 2012 | PERMALINK

In paranormal romances, supernatural is oftentimes synonymous with superpowerful. Near immortal vampires, commanding witches, warrior angels — the list for otherworldly creatures with amazing abilities goes on and on. But what happens when a supernatural has a personal problem? Something that renders them vulnerable? And no, I am not talking about kryptonite, but rather anxiety that has gone out of control.

This situation is exactly what readers will find in Shawntelle Madison’s newly released tale, Coveted, which features Natalya Stravinsky, a werewolf shifter with a debilitating obsessive-compulsive disorder.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cover Trends: Special Effects

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 25, 2012 | PERMALINK

There's no denying that a good cover has a special effect on a reader's heart — but in the upcoming months the bookshelves will be full of covers that literally have special effects! From mystical environments to supernatural heroes and heroines, these covers will make it clear that these adventures you'll find between their pages may have you saying, "Toto, I've a feeling we're not in Kansas any more."

Some covers have can't-be-missed mystical mist ...

 

 

And in others, the skies are ablaze ...


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview: Roxanne St. Claire

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 24, 2012 | PERMALINK

It's a year of changes for romantic suspense heavy-hitter author Roxanne St. Claire, who sits down with RT's Morgan to talk about her new contemporary Barefoot Bay series. In this interview, St. Claire gives readers a sneak peek of all four titles and also addresses the challenges of switching subgenres. The author opens up about writing the first book in the series, Barefoot in the Sand. In this newly released story, the heroine finds optimism in the rubble of a natural disaster and also meets her match with a sexy hero who just happens to be a younger man. But this isn't the only project on this author's plate. St. Claire also gives insider details about why she is opting to write YA, and how a conversation with her daughter (and a real-life situation) inspired her upcoming July novel for teens, Don't You Wish


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance, Young Adult
5COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST