RT Daily Blog

Gabi Stevens On Her Time Of Transition FInale Wishful Thinking

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 24, 2012 | PERMALINK

Today author Gabi Stevens finishes up her Time of Transition paranormal trilogy with Wishful Thinking. The tale concludes the author’s light Urban Fantasy series about a woman who discovers that she is the next in line to become a Fairy Godmother. In this story Gabi finds herself at Black’s Beach in San Diego, famous for something it doesn’t have a lot of — clothed bathers. But why did Stevens decide to send her heroine to a nude beach and what type of research did she do in order to incorporate this unusual setting into her latest novel? Find out in this special guest post.

You might imagine that the undergrads of the University of California at San Diego spend much of their (limited — believe it or not, UCSD is actually a studious school) spare time at the beach. You’d be right. When I went to school there, UCSD even offered PE classes in surfing, sailing, and sand volleyball. But if a student wanted to head to the beach nearest to campus, it required a hike down a cliff (fastest way) or following a long winding road (not so fast). Either way, you’d end up at Black’s Beach.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

On The Shelves Tuesday 4/24/2012

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 24, 2012 | PERMALINK

Here's a look at the titles we love that hit shelves this week.

Historical Romance

CRYSTAL GARDENS

"Quick creates an extraordinary paranormal world where readers will gladly suspend their disbelief to enter her magical realm and be swept away."

A WARRIOR'S PROMISE

"With its fast pace and tightly written plot ... this third offering in the Warrior Kings series will not be easily forgotten."

LYON'S BRIDE

"A consummate storyteller, Maxwell creates living, breathing characters who fight for love, freedom and independence with a passion modern readers can understand."

BE MY PRINCE

" ... MacLean lifts readers’ hearts with the clever twist in the switched identity plot, with enough originality to please her fans and earn her loyal readers."


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Author Eden Bradley Busts The Myths Surrounding BDSM

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 23, 2012 | PERMALINK

The term "BDSM" might be new to you, perhaps you are just hearing about it in the wake of all the buzz around E.L. James’ enormously popular Fifty Shades books. There's no denying that the recent surge in popularity of erotic writing featuring BDSM has been pronounced, however, this also means that misconceptions about BDSM are flying faster than ever. Today author Eden Bradley (aka Eve Berlin), whose RT Top Pick! rated tale, The Dark Gardenhas just been digitally released, is our guide to the BDSM as she plays "mythbuster" and gets to some essential truths about this type of bedroom play.

Let’s begin with a definition of BDSM: The acronym "BDSM" stands for Bondage and Discipline, Domination and Submission, Sadism and Masochism. This includes a long and varied list of sexual and sensual practices with widely varying degrees of extremity.

MYTH: People who are into BDSM are scary perverts — run!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica
22COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Forewords - The Books Before The Buzz

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 23, 2012 | PERMALINK

With our column, Forewords, we let readers know the latest book news about some of the web team's most-anticipated upcoming releases across the genres — just as the projects are announced!

NEW SERIES ALERT

Mystery - Kate Pearce will  use the pen name Catherine Lloyd when she whisks readers back to the Regency era for a series of mysteries. So far the author has been keeping mum about the details but we do know that we can look forward to at least three books in the new series — and that the first will be titled Unremarkable Death. 

RETURNING FAVORITE SERIES


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

RT Exclusive: The Book Trailer For Struck By Jennifer Bosworth

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 20, 2012 | PERMALINK

Jennifer Bosworth’s post-apocalyptic series starter Struck features a heroine named Mia Price who is definitely going to be one of 2012’s stand-out teen characters. Mia is an addict, a lightening addict and she just may be able to save the world — or doom it.

This May 2012 release opens just after a massive natural disaster has struck Los Angeles, turning the city into rubble and casting the world into turmoil. Amidst the chaos, a religious cult is rising to power, a strange guy is stalking Mia and she’s just trying to keep her family together. Says RT reviewer Kate, “This story of life after the collapse of society is sure to appeal to Hunger Games, Matched and Divergent series fans.”

Don’t believe us? Judge for yourself by checking out the RT-exclusive book trailer, which is one of the best trailers we've seen in a very long time!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Weekly Web Wrap Up 4/20/2012

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 20, 2012 | PERMALINK

Did you spend your whole week recovering from the 2012 RT Booklovers Convention? We certainly don't blame you! Here's what you might have missed on the RT site:

POST-CONVENTION COVERAGE:

See all the convention posts in one convenient location >>

Go behind the doors of the FAN-tastic Day Party! >>

See what we discovered during the Teen Day Party >>

Elisabeth Staab reflects on her first RT Booklovers Convention >>

RT's Whitney chats with Colleen Houck about what's ahead >>

***

HISTORICAL ROMANCE: Tracy Anne Warren takes on princesses for her new series. Get The Details >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Between The Covers Of Into The Dreaming By Karen Marie Moning

BY Whitney Sullivan, APRIL 20, 2012 | PERMALINK

Everyone who follows this site knows that I’m a huge Karen Marie Moning fan. (It wasn’t too long ago that I chatted about the cover of her new graphic novel, Fever Moon, and the next traditional book in her Fever world, the spin off Iced.) But, I don’t think that I mentioned that Moning's Highlander series might just be one of my all time favorite series in romance! The hunky Highlanders are certainly a hard act to follow, and I can’t help but feel a kinship for her romance-loving heroines. When I found out that not only would the author be re-releasing her novella “Into the Dreaming” with 100 pages of bonus material, but that it was being previewed on Moning's Facebook page? I could barely contain my excitement!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview: Colleen Houck On Teen Day, Tiger's Destiny and More!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 20, 2012 | PERMALINK

Colleen Houck talks her bestselling Tiger's Curse series, the upcoming film adaptation and what she was up to at the second annual RT Teen Day in Chicago! In today's interview with RT's Whitney brings readers the insider details about all of this — and the upcoming Tiger's Destiny when she sits down with the popular paranormal YA author.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Convention, Young Adult
4COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Moments From RT: Author And First-Time Conventioneer Elisabeth Staab Shares Her Thoughts

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 19, 2012 | PERMALINK

Newbie author Elisabeth Staab is proud to say that during this year’s RT Booklovers Convention, “I was an RT Con Virgin.” In this guest post, the author hopes to help others by breaking down the things that she thinks every author should know before they attend RT for the first time.

Looking back on my week at RT Booklovers Convention 2012, it’s astonishing to think that I wasn’t even planning to go this year. My debut vampire novel, King of Darkness, had only released in February. Nobody would know who I was, right? RT was hardly on my radar screen. But veteran vampire romance author Laura Kaye asked if I’d be interested in joining her for a really fun-sounding reader panel called Name that Vampire! I couldn’t say no. Still, RT was such a huge con, and I didn’t know what to expect. I can’t tell you how blown away I am, even still, now that I’m finally home and de-virginized.

So today I bring you a little of what I’ve taken away from my very first RT experience. The good, the bad, and the holy $&#!:

 

The Good:


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog, Convention
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Series Starter The Immortal Rules By Julie Kagawa To Be Adapted For The Big Screen

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 19, 2012 | PERMALINK

Paranormal YA author Julie Kagawa stole our hearts with her Iron Fey series. Now the author is about to embark on a new series, Blood of Eden, with The Immortal Rules, which will be in stores on April 24th. But Kagawa’s new series isn’t the only thing on this author’s plate. The film rights to The Immortal Rules have already been sold. Today we take a look at the upcoming story and chat with the author about the silver screen version of her upcoming read!

So what is The Immortal Rules all about? Here's what we know: heroine Allison lives in the future, during a time where vampires aren't just a creepy bedtime story, but a living, breathing (ish) reality — and at the top of the food chain. Allison dreams that someday she and the other humans will rebel against their masters, and will finally be able to enjoy life where they aren't "Happy Meals on legs," to quote one of our all-time favorite vampires, Buffy the Vampire Slayer's Spike. Buffy references aside, Allison is trying to make this revolution a reality when a series of unexpected events results in her transformation into a member of Team Dracula. And if Allison thought that life was tough before, trying to figure out how to navigate her new existence while staying true to herself, and the cause she is passionate about, is the most difficult challenge she's ever faced — and she's had to figure out how to stay alive in a world where she's on the menu!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST