RT Daily Blog

Up Close And Personal With Contemporary Authors Susan Elizabeth Phillips, Francine Pascal And Jodi Thomas

BY Whitney Sullivan, APRIL 14, 2012 | PERMALINK

It’s no secret that I love contemporary romance. The Chicago Stars and Thomas’ Texan heroes are some of my very favorite men of fiction. And I'm pretty sure that you can trace my love of contemporary romance back to the Sweet Valley High books by Francine Pascal that I devoured as a tween. So when I was asked to moderate yesterday's author chat with three of the biggest names in the genre, Francine PascalSusan Elizabeth Phillips and Jodi Thomas, I was positively over the moon!

It was a treat to hear the three authors chat about crafting their stories, get an insider's look at their favorite characters, and talk about how they keep their contemporary tales timeless. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Convention, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Power of Passion: Keeping Your Enthusiasm Fresh

BY Elissa Petruzzi, APRIL 14, 2012 | PERMALINK

Romance has been a booming genre since it took off in the early 1970s, however, how do authors who have been writing for most of their careers keep the spark of creativity alive? Yesterday, authors Rosanne Bittner, Jennifer Blake and RT’s own Kathryn Falk sat down for a discussion about how writing is as much a business as it is a passion. With a collective (and incredibly impressive) 95 years in the industry, these pioneers of the genre shared essential tips and tricks for not just surviving in publishing, but conquering the business side of romance writing!

Passion is a big part of romance novels, sure, but according to publishing pioneer Rosanne Bittner, it's also the fuel that will power your career. "Passion can help our careers by bringing us new perspective and keeping us at the computer," says Bittner. It was that drive that kept Bittner and her panel mate Jennifer Blake, writing — on manual typewriters, with carbon paper and whiteout, no less — with full-time jobs and children and husbands to feed and clothe.


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog, Convention
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Part(y)ing Thoughts: Twenties-style Talent!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 14, 2012 | PERMALINK

At tonight's nighttime convention party, the Gangster Cafe Talent Quest, we did it up Prohibition style! Feathers, crystals and pearls adorned the necks of guests, but it wouldn’t be a party hosted by author Heather Graham if there wasn’t a paranormal twist. Flappers, flyboys, tycoons (and even some teetotalers) with a supernatural spin were all in attendance so there was a great mix of fangs and fur along with fringe and glitz. 

Host Heather Graham and cohorts entertained the crowd with a musical play inspired by the Jazz Age


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Convention, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Series Romance Fans Unite

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 13, 2012 | PERMALINK

This morning we started the day singing the praises of all that is excellent in the world of series romance. These short format stories capture our imagination (and are quick reads, perfect for fitting into our already-busy lives) and today we got to hang out with some of the readers that supply us with these fantastic tales. At the “Celebrate the Passion and Power of Series Romance” reader event, we met authors from several of Harlequin’s series romance lines. These popular writers included Zuri Day, Caitlin Crews, Lynn Raye Harris, Jade Lee (aka Kathy Lyons), Kimberly Lang, Lisa Renee Jones and Maisey Yates.

Before the event started each of them introduced themselves and gave readers a bit of an insider's look at their new covers.

Zuri Day revealed that it is actually actor Christian Keyes who is on the cover of her new book, Diamond Dreams.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Convention, Romance
4COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

The E-Book Expo At The 2012 Booklovers Convention Exposed!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 13, 2012 | PERMALINK

When it comes to e-book publishing, there’s no denying that change is the name of the game. Digital formats allow authors to push boundaries and write between genres, creating truly unusual characters and scenarios. At yesterday's fifth annual E-Book, Indie Publisher And Graphic Novel Expo, we chatted with some of our favorite e-book authors to find out the trends they are noticing in e-books and what type of story elements they would love to see taken to the extreme in upcoming digital releases. 

Joely Sue Burkhart, a 2011 RT Reviewers' Choice Award nominee for her story Lady Doctor Wyre, told us that she's thrilled by the recent blending of genres. As for a story that hasn't been told that she would like to read, Burkhart responded that an interesting mix would be romance and horor. Perhaps, even, some kind of serial killer romance. If she wrote one, the author revealed the title would probably be "Killer Of My Heart."

Joely Sue Burkhart


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Convention, E-Book
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Part(y)ing Thoughts: A Night Of Scottish Delight!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 13, 2012 | PERMALINK

Tonight the Clan McFae, a magical author collective, helped us channel the aura of days gone by with their Magical Scottish Fling. We partied like it was 1622, as booklovers turned out in their Scottish best (complete with brogues). There were bagpipes playing, kilts swirling, and more than a few lovely ladies all dressed up for Highland goodness. The evening began with a costume party that gave us a chance to “ohh” and “ahh” over everyone’s stylish garb, but it wasn’t long before the music came on and we were all filling up the dance floor!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Convention
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Up Close And Personal With Three Of Our Favorite Paranormal Writers: Frost, Harris and Singh

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 12, 2012 | PERMALINK

Today RT convention attendees got a bit of insight on the process that authors Jeaniene Frost, Charlaine Harris and Nalini Singh go through as they write some of the most popular paranormal series on the market. In the Paranormal Chat this afternoon these genre headliners let us inside of their worlds (both the fictional and real ones) and, of course, talked about what readers can expect next!

The discussion started off quickly, as the authors spoke about their favorite character transformation over the course of their series. Frost said she has been very pleased at the changes in her “Wicked Witch-y” character Justina. While for Harris, it is Sookie who has changed the most as she has really come into her own despite the enormous paranormal responsibilities piled onto her young shoulders. And Singh said it was Nikita, Sascha’s mother, who has the most interesting character development because we still don’t know Nikita's motivations for rejecting her daughter.  

No chat between these three ladies would be complete without discussing those fanged heroes and heroines we all love so much. The authors all talked a bit about why they chose to write series about relationships with younger women and not just older men, but much, much, much older men.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Convention, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Up Close And Personal With Some Of Our Favorite Historical Romance Writers: Blake, Chase And MacLean

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 12, 2012 | PERMALINK

How does an author tune out the modern world and channel bygone eras? Historical romance authors are able to not just take themselves back to days past, they re-create worlds and transport readers, too. Today RT convention attendees got a chance to get some inside information about how authors Lorraine Heath, Jennifer Blake, Loretta Chase, and Sarah MacLean craft their historical romances. These big names in the genre shared a look at the characters that they love, how they create the stories we love — and of course what readers can expect next!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Convention, Romance
4COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cheaper By The Dozen - This Week's Hot E-Book Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 12, 2012 | PERMALINK

One of our favorite features of the e-revolution is the sheer amount of books you can pack into such a tiny digital device. But what do you do when the growing number of new reads causes your wallet to shrink uncomfortably? Shop the e-book deals, of course! In this column we highlight some of our favorite book buys that will cost you less than a medium-sized coffee. 

Historical Romance

Devil's Kiss by Zoe Archer

   

Buy For $1.99 >>

 

Contemporary Romance

My Last Blind Date by Susan Hatler

Buy For $.99 >>

 

Young Adult

Suburban Girl's Rebellion by India Lee

Buy For $.99 >>

         


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Smashwords Founder Mark Coker Shares Secrets of Self-publishing Success

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 12, 2012 | PERMALINK

When it comes to making it big in self-publishing, we all know it takes sales to make your e-book climb up bestseller lists. But how do you know what you should price your self-published story, whether your long and complicated epic is actually a trilogy disguised as one book and if authors who change the prices of their books frequently earn more or less for their troubles? Yesterday Mark Coker, the founder of Smashwords.com, an online publishing platform for authors and publishers, gave RT convention attendees a look at how to make “Money, Money, Money” at the panel by that name.

During this RT-exclusive workshop the founder of the self-publishing platform talked about the factors that impact sales, all based on the statistical data mined from the site. As of this week, Coker told us that he was drawing on the data of over one hundred ten thousand e-book authors' sales. Here is a taste of some of the data that he shared about the analysis of Smashword’s figures — and what it says about how you can have financial success with your self-published books!

***

Do authors who offer free e-books earn more money?


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog, Convention, E-Book
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST