RT Daily Blog

Forewords - The Books Before The Buzz

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 14, 2012 | PERMALINK

With our column, Forewords, we let readers know the latest book news about some of the web team's most-anticipated upcoming releases across the genres — just as the projects are announced!

NEW SERIES ALERT

Contemporary Romance - If you love to read romances set in far-flung locations, then be sure to keep an eye on the upcoming set of books from Robyn Grady. The Goddess begins a series about couples whose relationships are altered by a set of unusual artifacts. These stories sound spooky and sexy all at once, just the way we like them!

Urban Fantasy - Adriana Ryan will thrust readers into a world of supernaturally-able humans with her upcoming project featuring "the Awakened". This group has powers that ordinary humans don’t because they share a mysterious heritage. Want to learn more? You can get your first look at them in Enlightened when this series first is released in Spring 2013.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Weekly Web Wrap Up 5/10/2012

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 11, 2012 | PERMALINK

Did you spend the whole week wondering if you're carrying The Bull Rider's Baby?

Here's what you missed on the RT website:

***

CONTEMPORARY ROMANCE: We share five reasons to read Robyn Carr's latest. Visit Sunrise Point >>

HISTORICAL ROMANCE: Siblings are stirring up trouble in these historical romances. Scandals Abound >>

SERIES ROMANCE: May's Harlequin Medical romances are hot, hot, hot! Get A Glimpse >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Morgan And Whitney Dish: Anything You Want By Erin Nicholas

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 11, 2012 | PERMALINK

Anything You Want kicked off Erin Nicholas’ contemporary romance series, Anything & Everything. So what do you get when you mix a pregnant wannabe singer with the town she’s always hated and the one man who refuses to fall for her “little ole me” act? A tale of modern-day love that will thrill fans of Rachel Gibson, Victoria Dahl and Susan Elizabeth Phillips … and the first book that we are devouring for our month of Dishing about e-reads!

Morgan: I know that a romance author’s job is to throw obstacles onto the path to true love, but the perils and pitfalls that Sabrina and Marc face are really quite tremendous.

Whitney: Agreed! Like it’s not enough that heroine Sabrina unexpectedly pregnant and her baby’s father is not in the picture ...


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
4COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Governing Our Hearts: The Nannies Of Historical Romance In 2012

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 11, 2012 | PERMALINK

With over four months of 2012 already under our belts, we’ve been noticing a curious trend — the governesses are missing! A time-honored traditional occupation of historical romance heroines, women employed to watch over other peoples' children are a staple of the genre. Back in 2011, we met eleven historical heroines who found love while taking care of small people did so in books that received RT ratings of four stars or higher. (And of these eleven novels, five of the books included the word “governess” in the title!) So who is taking care of children so far this year? So far, it's been a mix and match bag ...


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Places Now Accepting Manuscripts, May Edition

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 10, 2012 | PERMALINK

Aspiring authors, we know that it can be disheartening to look out into the abyss of potential publishing houses and only see the same old phrase, “no unsolicited manuscripts accepted.” These days many of the major publishing houses rely on their ties with literary agents and in-house promotions to find new authors. But don’t despair; today we’ve come up with a list of nine places — from off-the-beaten path publishers to special back doors of the big-name houses — that would welcome your query letter, manuscript or submission. 

***


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog
11COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cheaper By The Dozen - This Week's Hot E-Book Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 10, 2012 | PERMALINK

One of our favorite features of the e-revolution is the sheer amount of books you can pack into such a tiny digital device. But what do you do when the growing number of new reads causes your wallet to shrink uncomfortably? Shop the e-book deals, of course! In this column we feature some of our favorite book buys that will cost you less than a medium-sized coffee.

Historical Romance

A Study In Scandal by Robyn DeHart

Buy For 99 Cents >>

 

Contemporary Romance

Unbreak My Heart by Helen Scott Taylor

Get It For Free >>

 

Young Adult

From the Two Rivers by Robert Jordan

Buy For 99 Cents >>

         


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

At Sunrise Point, Virgin River: Five Reasons You Must Read The Latest Contemporary Romance From Robyn Carr

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 09, 2012 | PERMALINK

Robyn Carr just recently released Sunrise Point, latest in her wildly popular Virgin River Series. These books are set in the fictional small northern California town of Virgin River. There, the gossip grapevine alive and well. The series is filled with a cast of flawed, yet lovable characters that know everything about each other. But the lack of privacy is a small price to pay for the amazing sense of community that residents — and readers — find. (Seriously, if it were not fictional, I would be in Virgin River so fast!)

Sunrise Point is the nineteenth book in Carr's terrific series. And, in classic Carr style, the main theme of Sunrise Point is redemption. As the story opens, heroine Nora is stranded in Virgin River with no money, no job and two small children to raise. Nora knows that she has made some bad decisions in the past, but she is willing to work hard to change life for herself and her children. Meanwhile, Tom has just returned home to Virgin River and looking for the perfect wife and single moms are not on his list of possible candidates. Tom knows what he wants but in Virgin River fate often has other plans ...


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Authors In The Spotlight: May 2012

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 09, 2012 | PERMALINK

Like to get an insider's look at new reads? Our Authors in the Spotlight section brings you exclusive excerpts and author messages. This month, go behind the scenes of nine new releases you saw in the May issue of RT BOOK REVIEWS magazine.

We’ve fallen head over heels for Alyson Noel’s new, highly-anticipated series starter, Fated. And the book's beautiful cover art certainly doesn’t hurt the story’s “pick me up” appeal! The author takes us inside her Soul Seekers series >>

Catherine Mann was so touched when she read about a service that pairs shelter dogs with combat veterans suffering from PTSD, she decided to give her new heroine a job matching war heroes with furry companions! Learn how Pets2Vets inspired Mann’s Under Fire >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Feel The Burn Erotica Giveaway

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 09, 2012 | PERMALINK

The temperature is rising and we are celebrating the coming heat with a special prize pack full of sexy reads that will inspire your desire. There's something for everyone in this set of new releases, but be prepared, all these adult stories may just make you pull out the electric fan (or turn on the air conditional) earlier than expected.

If you love nothing more than to curl up with a delicious erotic romance, you'll be pleased to win this prize pack. Complete with three tales of love and lust, one lucky winner will get their hands on Jaci Burton's Play-By-Play book, Changing the Game. A sexy pro-athlete, a reluctant heroine and a seduction that will make you sizzle are all signature elements of this fantastic series. However, if you feel like walking on the wild side, well, don't doubt for a moment that today's giveaway will also meet all of your needs. So what else is on the menu?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica
67COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview: Anne Rice

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 08, 2012 | PERMALINK

Bestselling author Anne Rice shares a look inside of her paranormal world in this RT-exclusive video interview. Rice chats with RT's Morgan, about vampire mythology and the author's most famous male characters - including Lestat. Then, go deep inside Rice's newest novel, The Wolf Gift, to discover what "called" to her about these paranormal creatures and the sequel she never thought she'd write. (Plus, the author reveals a look at the upcoming film adaptation of The Tale of the Body Thief — and who she'd tap to star!)


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST