RT Daily Blog

Forewords: The Books Before The Buzz

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 27, 2012 | PERMALINK

With our column, Forewords, we let readers know the latest book news about some of the web team's most-anticipated upcoming releases across the genres — just as the projects are announced!

RETURNING FAVORITE SERIES

Paranormal Romance - Talented author Lauren Dane will return for another story in her Bound by Magick series. We loved Dane's November series starter, Heart of Darkness, which was clever and fast-paced romance that included witches. Here's hoping for some more hocus pocus when the series third, Going Under, releases next spring.

Historical Romance - Maggie Robinson will also be continuing her popular London List series with Captain Durant’s Countess. We are loving this new trend of Regency heroes who aren’t lords, so we can't wait to see if Captain Durant is really just a captain or if he's a titled gentleman. But either way we know we will love this swashbuckler when his story hits shelves!

NEW SERIES ALERT


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Weekly Web Wrap Up: 2/24/2012

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 24, 2012 | PERMALINK

Did you spend your whole week sorting through Sex, Lies and Valentines

Here’s what you missed on the RT website.

***

HISTORICAL ROMANCE: Kristen Callihan shares her favorite Firelight character. Plus Win The Book >>

CONTEMPORARY ROMANCE: Like Cathie Linz's Tempted Again? Then You'll Love These 3 Books >>

YOUNG ADULT: We spoil you with details on Tera Lynn Childs' upcoming mermaid tale. Dive In >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Online Writing Courses For Aspiring Authors

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 24, 2012 | PERMALINK

If 2012 is your year to get serious about writing, you’re in good company — and you don’t even have to leave your house to get started! Today we are featuring several online writing courses that will help you flex your mental muscles (but don't require that you get out of your pjs). Check out some of the great courses that you can take part in this season.

The Low Country RWA conducts their courses via email (so you don’t need to worry about changing up your schedule or investing in a web cam) — and these affordable classes are open to anyone who wants to take part, not just members of Romance Writers of America. These month-long courses each cost $16, so they are easy on your wallet, too. But the application deadlines are coming up quickly so be sure to register today if you are interested in any of the following:


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog
4COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

TV Thoughts: Reasons Romance Readers Should Watch The Vampire Diaries

BY Whitney Sullivan, FEBRUARY 24, 2012 | PERMALINK

The recent EW cover series for The Vampire Diaries really got me thinking. The magazine covers look like they could have been lifted from romance novels. And while considering just how much I adore this television series, it occurred to me that these fantastic shots of Elena, Stefan and Damon aren’t the only thing that this television show has in common with a good romance novel. So, today I am going to break down exactly why all romance fans should check out The CW’s The Vampire Diaries.

Okay, first let me set the stage. It’s the Civil War-era in Mystic Falls, VA, and Stefan and Damon — aka the two next-to-naked men on the EW cover — are brothers who have just been turned into vampires by the beautiful, duplicitous vamp named Katherine (think Scarlet O’Hara, but with less remorse). Fast forward to present day Mystic Falls, where Stefan has returned to get to know orphaned high school student Elena, who just happens to look exactly like Katherine. They promptly fall in lurv and everything looks like smooth sailing, except for the fact that Stefan is, you know, a vampire. And he’s not telling Elena that she could basically be Katherine’s twin sister. However, those aren’t the only things rocking the S.S. Stefan & Elena 4 Eva. Stefan's big brother, Damon, who is incredibly bad news, has also come back Mystic Falls. He believes can free Katherine from a tomb where she was imprisoned after a complicated chain of events back in the (Civil War-era) day. And if that is not enough drama, the situation gets even more complicated because it's not long before Damon also develops feelings for Elena. Oh, and Elena’s best friend, Bonnie, has just discovered she’s a witch and she hates all vampires. And that's just the set-up that's revealed in the first few episodes.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, Romance, Young Adult
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview: Mary Robinette Kowal Talks Her Series Second

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 23, 2012 | PERMALINK

RT Seal of Excellence award-winning author Mary Robinette Kowal will be releasing her next novel, Glamour in Glass on April 10. The series first, Shades of Milk and Honey, won the August 2010 RT Seal of Excellence, and had RT Senior Reviewer Natalie saying, "If Jane Austen had written a fantasy novel, Shades of Milk and Honey would have been the result. Written with painstaking attention to detail, Kowal’s prose is serenely evocative of the time period, and the fantastic elements are a seamless fit." The story won favor with lovers of the fantasy, historical romance and paranormal romance genres, Austen fans or not. In today's interview with RT's Morgan, the talented Kowal gives us a peek between the covers of her upcoming second novel, in which newlyweds Jane and Vincent embark on a new adventure, and shares how her career as a professional puppeteer influences her writing. Plus get a look at some of her unique handmade puppets that she used to re-create the "glamour" show that appeared in Shades of Milk and Honey. And after watching the interview be sure to check out an excerpt of the upcoming story here.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Science Fiction
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cheaper By The Dozen - This Week's Hot E-Book Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 23, 2012 | PERMALINK

One of our favorite features of the e-revolution is the sheer amount of books you can pack into such a tiny digital device. But what do you do when the growing number of new reads causes your wallet to shrink uncomfortably? Shop the e-book deals, of course! In this column we highlight some of our favorite book buys that will cost you less than a medium-sized coffee. 

Historical Romance

Forever Mine by Delilah Marvelle

Buy For $2.51 >>

 

Contemporary Romance

Where The Heart Is by Jenny Gardiner

Buy For $2.99 >>

 

Young Adult

Bound by Kira Saito

Buy For $.99 >>

         


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Kristen Callihan Reveals Her Favorite Character — With Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 23, 2012 | PERMALINK

Debut author Kristen Callihan’s Firelight won this month’s RT Seal of Excellence in a blaze of glory. Today, because we've promised not to tell any of her other characters, Kristen Callihan reveals why her masked and mysteriously disfigured hero is her very favorite character. Plus, find out how to win your own copy of this new novel!

If pressed to make a choice, I would have to admit that my hero Archer is my favorite character in Firelight, and as his maker, I sure do love him.

However, Archer and I got off to a bit of a rocky start. I had planned to write Firelight entirely in my heroine Miranda’s point of view. (No, I don’t know what I was thinking.) After struggling to write a scene in Miranda’s point of view and failing because a certain man would not keep quiet inside my head, I gave in and let Archer have his way. What came out was pain. Loneliness and isolation had beaten him down.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
11COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Morgan And Whitney Dish: Lucy March's A Little Night Magic

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 22, 2012 | PERMALINK

Lani Diane Rich debuts her paranormal pseudonym, Lucy March, with this month’s A Little Night Magic. And with the author’s signature wit — expect to smile as you read this story — she turns a waitress heroine into a woman who might just be the deciding factor in a war between good and evil. But when the story opens, our Olivia doesn’t even know that she has magic powers ...

Whitney: Before we get into the whole Olivia-is-magic thing, we have to point out that she stopped believing in that kind of stuff a long time ago.

Morgan: Well, not so long ago.

Whitney: Right, for a long time she imagined that a sparkly blue linoleum square at Crazy Cousin Betty’s Waffle House could grant wishes.

Morgan: She tried to use this throughout her childhood to make her dreams come true, with varying results.

Whitney: But when Olivia was twenty-two she stood on the square and wished her mother wouldn’t have cancer anymore.

Morgan: And when the wish didn’t come true ...


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Spoiled: Tera Lynn Childs On Her Upcoming Fins Series Third Just For Fins

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 22, 2012 | PERMALINK

Spoiled shares a look at the books you can't wait to read, long before they hit stores. Today author Tera Lynn Childs gives RT readers a peek inside the third novel in her popular Fins series before the book hits stores in July. Get her take on what it's been like to watch heroine Lily grow up — and what readers can expect from Just For Fins!

***

I first met Lily Sanderson (aka Princess Waterlily of the mer kingdom of Thalassinia) on a beach in Naples, Florida, back in the summer of 2006. She was born of the idea that mermaids have the ability to bestow magical powers with a single kiss and wondering what would happen if a particular mermaid accidentally bestowed her magical first kiss on the wrong boy. Enter biker bad boy Quince Fletcher.

Right from the start, Lily and Quince had chemistry. Mostly because Lily was single-mindedly focus on her All Encompassing One True Love, Brody (who, coincidentally, barely knew she existed) and Quince loved to tease her about her crush … and just about any other topic he could. Of course we all know that he secretly had feelings for her, but couldn’t seem to get her attention away from Brody any other way.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cover Trend: Heroes And Heroines Keep It Casual

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 22, 2012 | PERMALINK

We've been spotting several less-than-dressed hotties on the fronts of recent releases. It seems that when the weather gets cold, our heroes and heroines strip down to their tank tops for cover appearances. We certainly don't fault these good looking men and women for ultilizing the right to bare arms, and showing off what their mama (and clearly, many hours at the gym) gave them. With inspiration in mind like this iconic shot of Battlestar Galactica's Apollo and Starbuck, we aren't surprised to be seeing so many tank topped characters.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST