RT Daily Blog

Ask Your Questions For A Chance To Win An ARC Of Nalini Singh’s Next Psy/Changeling Book

BY Morgan Doremus, MARCH 29, 2012 | PERMALINK

I am ridiculously excited to announce that I will be the official moderator for the Paranormal Author Chat that will take place at the RT Booklovers Convention on Thursday, April 12th. The authors participating are a who’s who of all that is greatness in paranormal romance today: Nalini Singh, Jeaniene Frost and Charlaine Harris!

Thankfully, I have meet each of these authors previously, so I might, might be able to shake off my fan-girl daze and actually ask these talented ladies insightful questions about their work. But just in case (as I always have a backup plan) I was hoping that RT readers will be able to give me a hand with preparing some great questions for these three paranormal authors.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
31COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cheaper By The Dozen - This Week's Hot E-Book Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 29, 2012 | PERMALINK

One of our favorite features of the e-revolution is the sheer amount of books you can pack into such a tiny digital device. But what do you do when the growing number of new reads causes your wallet to shrink uncomfortably? Shop the e-book deals, of course! In this column we highlight some of our favorite book buys that will cost you less than a medium-sized coffee. 

Historical Romance

Catriona by Jeanette Baker

   

Buy For $.99 >>

 

Contemporary Romance

Here Comes the Bride by Rita Herron

Buy For $.99 >>

 

Young Adult

Grounding Quinn by Stephanie Campbell

Buy For $.99 >>

         


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Morgan And Whitney Dish: Suzanne Enoch's Taming an Impossible Rogue

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 28, 2012 | PERMALINK

Taming an Impossible Rogue, Suzanne Enoch’s latest historical romance, has both RT’s Morgan and Whitney buzzing. When the notorious Keating “Bloody” Blackwell returns to London, in order to fulfill his part of a bargain — to convince his cousin’s errant fiancée to return to the other man’s arms — he doesn't expect to fall in love with the chit himself. But he should have known that the woman would defy his expectations; after all Camille Pryce did desert a marquess at the altar and has spent the last year working at the gentlemen’s haunt, the Tantalus Club.

Morgan: I am in love with the Tantalus Club. The second book in Enoch’s Scandalous Brides series gives readers an even closer look inside the workings of this not-so-scandalous, yet often gossiped-about gentleman’s club, which is owned and staffed by women.

Whitney: And what makes the establishment all the more intriguing is that the (incredibly varied) women at Tantalus “[have] fled their previous lives for a hundred different reasons and found sanctuary at the oddest place imaginable.”

Morgan: And among these women is the disgraced Lady Camille Pryce. She has made a new home for herself working and living at the club ever since she left her groom, the Marquess of Fenton, standing at the altar a year ago.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Fifty Shades Of Grey Optioned For Film, Who We Would Cast

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 28, 2012 | PERMALINK

In recent weeks, it has been impossible to miss the news about how E.L. James’ Fifty Shades of Grey series has taken the reading world by storm. The three books follow the development of a dominant/submissive relationship between the jaded billionaire Christian Grey who is in his late twenties, and the young college student Anastasia Steele who he introduces into his world of sexual games. The books, which grew out of fan-fiction, quickly climbed the bestseller lists.

It’s unusual for an erotica series, especially one with BDSM elements, to capture the attention of mainstream readers. And adding to the buzz is the fact that the trilogy started out as e-books and won international favor through word of mouth and recommendations. Just two weeks ago, the Random House offshoot Vintage purchased the rights to re-publish the series, and now the movie rights to the series first, Fifty Shades of Grey, have been purchased by Universal Pictures and Focus Features.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica
34COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Goodreads' Helpful Note To Authors

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 28, 2012 | PERMALINK

When it comes to online behavior, it's generally best for authors to steer clear of getting into tiffs with the online reading community — especially over a bad review. Whether you think you just need to say just one tiny thing because the reviewer clearly didn’t understand what you are trying to convey, or if you can’t help jump into a full-on comment war, authors should think long and hard before posting a response to a review. After all, nobody wants to become the next author to have an “Internet Meltdown” and join the ranks of the oft-joked about, for actions similar to those that lead to the self-destruction of Jacqueline Howett and bad behavior of Candace Sams. (Because, as we have just demonstrated, the Internet has a long, long memory.)

But it looks like authors are about to get some help from an unlikely source. The book-centric social networking site Goodreads is attempting to help authors stay on the “write” side of online etiquette. We learned via author Andrew Shaffer’s post on EvilReads, that the online reading community has installed a new feature, a message that appears if you (as an author) attempt to respond to a review of a book that you’ve written.


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog
12COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview: Kerrelyn Sparks

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 27, 2012 | PERMALINK

Today the twelfth installment of author Kerrelyn Sparks' Love at Stake series, Wanted: Undead or Alive, hits shelves. To get readers ready for another foray into the author's awesome paranormal world, RT's Morgan, interviews Sparks about her unique take on vampire lore, including vampire fusion cuisine and the special synthetic blood that has altered what it means to be a creature of the night. The author also discusses her warrior heroes and shares a look at the difficult sacrifices they must make before they get their HEAs.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cover Chat: Thea Harrison's Lord's Fall

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 27, 2012 | PERMALINK

Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

All Aboard The Traveling Tessa Dare Blog Tour — With Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 27, 2012 | PERMALINK

Historical romance author Tessa Dare returns to Spindle Cove for her new release the Top Pick! rated A Week to be Wicked. The story introduces readers to a pair of very unlikely partners: bluestocking Minerva Highwood and local ne’er-do-well Colin Sandhurst, Lord Payne. For several reasons, spinster Minerva suggests that Colin accompany her on a highly unusual trip to Scotland. There, she is sure she will win a prestigious competition at a science symposium. Minerva is willing to pay the destitute lord for his trouble, which will make the trip worth his while. But as this pair slowly goes from reluctant traveling companions to something much more difficult to label, will they be able to make it to Scotland in time?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
61COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cover Trend: Rainbow Colors

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 27, 2012 | PERMALINK

Spring has sprung and the publishing industry is celebrating the season with an influx of covers in bright colors. And although we might be mired in the month of annual “March showers”, you don’t have to wait for those much-anticipated “May flowers” to start enjoying the lighter, brighter side of spring. Now readers can stock their shelves (and e-readers) with a complete spectrum of books. Take a look all the colors of this reading rainbow!

 

Pretty in Pink

 

Orange-You Glad We Showed You These Covers?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

On The Shelves Tuesday 3/27/2012

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 27, 2012 | PERMALINK

Here's a look at the titles we love that hit shelves this week.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST