RT Daily Blog

Morgan And Whitney Dish: The Book Of Lost Fragrances By M.J. Rose

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 22, 2012 | PERMALINK

Prepare to be entranced by this week’s Dish story, the multifaceted mystery from M.J. Rose, The Book of Lost Fragrances. This spellbinding book features Jac, a struggling heroine desperately holding onto her sanity as her hallucinations of other people's lives take her back in time. However, when Jac's brother becomes entangled in a scheme to recreate an ancient memory aid which could spark a foreign revolution, it has never been more important for Jac to hold onto her sense of the here and now. But what will she do when it turns out she’s been remembering her own past lives?

Morgan: We are going to have an especially hard time getting through the description this novel. It is so layered, like a mystery grounded in some harsh realities, shrouded in mysticism.

Whitney: But despite the different narratives that span centuries and the globe-trotting from New York to Paris and even China, it all comes back to the main protagonist Jac L’Etoile.

Morgan: Jac’s a scholar turned TV host who has dedicated her life to uncovering myths.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Theme Spotlight: Sexy Navy SEALS Part 1 — Recent Recruits And Classic Reads

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 22, 2012 | PERMALINK

There’s been an upswing in the popularity of stories that feature the experiences of Navy SEALs heroes. As the USA government calls our soldiers home, it’s not surprising that many of us are eager to get a glimpse of their accounts of war, especially after SEAL Team Six became a household name for their work eliminating the threat of Osama bin Laden. Recent bestsellers featuring these soldiers include SEAL Team Six and American Sniper. And publishing houses are taking note of readers’ interest. An article in The New York Times notes that readers can get ready for a raft of new books about these fighters, from a SEAL Survival Guide about how thinking like a SEAL can help you survive dangerous situations to a batch of new fictional tales. However, the romance community has always had a soft spot for these hardened warriors. Today we round up several new SEAL stories, as well as our favorite classics, and then we will continue our SEAL spotlight tomorrow with SEALs in series and three non fic tales of true heroes.

 

RECENT RECRUITS: SEAL HEROES INTRODUCED IN 2010 - 2012


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Spoiled: Sherry Thomas On Ravishing The Heiress

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 22, 2012 | PERMALINK

Spoiled shares a look at the books you can't wait to read, long before they hit stores. Today historical romance author Sherry Thomas gives RT readers a peek inside the second book in her new Fitzhugh trilogy, Ravishing the Heiress, before it releases in July.

Ravishing the Heiress is currently occupying the position of my personal favorite among the books I’ve written, so you can bet I jumped at the chance to talk about it.

We first meet Fitz and Millie, the hero and the heroine of Ravishing, in book 1 of the Fitzhugh trilogy, Beguiling the Beauty.  We learn fairly early on that theirs is a marriage of convenience. At age 19, Fitz unexpectedly inherited a title with a bankrupt estate and must marry an heiress in order to save the estate. But to do that, he had to give up Isabelle, the girl he loved passionately, who loved him just as passionately and who was perfectly suited to him in every way except for the fact that she wasn’t an heiress.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cheaper By The Dozen - This Week's Hot E-Book Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 22, 2012 | PERMALINK

One of our favorite features of the e-revolution is the sheer amount of books you can pack into such a tiny digital device. But what do you do when the growing number of new reads causes your wallet to shrink uncomfortably? Shop the e-book deals, of course! In this column we highlight some of our favorite book buys that will cost you less than a medium-sized coffee. 

Historical Romance

Warrior's Lady by Gerri Russell

Buy For $.99 >>

 

Contemporary Romance

Redwood Bend by Robyn Carr

Buy For $.99 >>

 

Young Adult

The Unidentified by Trenton Hughes

Buy For $.99 >>

         


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

RT Reviews: The First Hunger Games Movie

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 21, 2012 | PERMALINK

The RT web team has just returned from seeing The Hunger Games, the film adaptation of the first of Suzanne Collins' wildly popular dystopian YA series.

In case you've been living under a rock, Hunger Games was released in 2008, with Catching Fire and Mockingjay released in the subsequent years. The books follow the adventures of Katniss Everdeen who steps up to take her sister's place in the titular Hunger Games, a televised competition where 24 teens fight to the death. However, Katniss' act of love for her sister Prim, sets flame to the embers of rebellion that have been in the hearts and minds of the downtrodden society. But will they be able to throw off the oppressive rule of the Capitol — and can Katniss survive the "game"?

The complete series won the September 2010 RT Seal of Excellence and it's undeniable that part of the books' appeal is that the story is about so many different things: the power of love (both romantic and between family members), determination, perseverance in the face of insurmountable difficulty, control of one's image in the public eye and of course, the way that one person can make a huge difference.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
6COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

The Perks Of Being A Paranormal Hybrid

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 21, 2012 | PERMALINK

Paranormal fiction abounds with unusual creatures, but recently we’ve been seeing heroes and heroines whose lineages push the boundaries of our imaginations. That’s right, we’re ready to declare that it’s the season of hybrids! These characters may have a foot in two worlds (and sometimes more) but still deserve their own happily ever afters. Take a look at which hybrids are making our hearts race this month and find out what we think would be the best — and worst — parts of their puzzling heritage.

 

Character: Caliban “Cal” Leandros

Heritage: Human and Auphe*

Author: Rob Thurman

Series: Cal Leandros

New Release: Doubletake

*Auphe are murderous fiends that predate humans on the evolutionary chain. They seek to exterminate humans, Cal’s birth was the result of their genetic experimentation.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

The "Pulp Awesomeness" Of A. Lee Martinez's Emperor Mollusk Versus The Sinister Brain

BY Janine Johnston, MARCH 21, 2012 | PERMALINK

When I first laid eyes on the sci fi novel Emperor Mollusk Versus The Sinister Brain by A. Lee Martinez, the first thing that struck me was the epic title and then the amazing cover. A mash-up of different fonts and colors and accompanied by a clean image of what one can only assume is Emperor Mollusk, it’s definitely striking.

RT reviewer Donna M. Carter describes the book as “reading like a cheap ‘50s sci-fi flick, filled with outrageous creatures such as a jelligantic (exactly what it sounds like), this is ridiculously fun.” With that in mind, it's worth noting that in a recent blog post, the author stressed that “ … this is not a silly novel. It is absurd, certainly, but no less absurd than John Carter’s Mars, Doc Savage’s bronze age, or any number of pulp realms … It is unapologetic pulp awesomeness.”

With references to 50s sci fi films and “pulp awesomeness,” I couldn’t help but think about how the cover of Emperor Mollusk is very reminiscent of the movie posters of some seriously fantastic early sci fi films, complete with equally long titles.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Science Fiction
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview: Amanda Stevens

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 20, 2012 | PERMALINK

Veteran author Amanda Stevens is gearing up for the second in her Graveyard Queen series, The Kingdom. The author captured our imagination with the series starter, The Restorer, which is a contemporary series with a Gothic feel. This is due in no small part to Stevens' unusual heroine, Amelia, a professional cemetery restoration expert (who got her job in a most unusual way). In today's interview with RT's Morgan, we get a special look at the series' unique heroine, the deliciously dark and emotionally damaged hero Devlin and how the pair interacts with the vampire-like ghosts that surround them!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

On The Shelves Tuesday 3/20/2012

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 20, 2012 | PERMALINK

Here's a look at the titles we love that hit shelves this week.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Isabel Cooper Shares Lessons Learned As A New Author — With Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 19, 2012 | PERMALINK

Last year author Isabel Cooper wowed readers with her debut novel No Proper Lady. This paranormal historical romance, which won RT's September 2011 Seal of Excellence, set itself apart from other stories by incorporating an innovative time tavel element. The author, who is about to release her much-anticipated series second, Lessons After Dark, joins us to talk about what she's learned between books one and two, which she jokingly calls, "Lessons after my Debut." And make sure to enter the giveaway at the end of the post for a chance to win this new book before it's in stores!

***

1. There’s more to a story — even in a romance — than two people.

This is something I learned while working on No Proper Lady. Eleanor, the hero’s younger sister, was originally more of a motivating force than anything else.  Simon needed a reason to be angry at Reynell, angry enough that he’d be willing to work for the possible death and certain magical screwing-with of his former best friend. What reason would be good enough? Well, messing with his little sister seems pretty solid. Okay, then!

Except, as I wrote the book, I found that Eleanor needed to have more and more of a role in it,  that writing her with Simon and Joan (the heroine, from the future) brought out aspects of them — and aspects of the story — that might not have come out otherwise, and that she was interesting in her own right. I liked writing about her, and I liked how she had her own agenda and character arc. Likewise, Gillespie, though he only appears in one scene, was a lot of fun. 

So, in my latest book, Lessons After Dark, I have a whole host of secondary characters. The romance between Olivia and Gareth takes center stage, of course, but the rest of Englefield’s population gets a fair amount of time too. Their agendas and issues play a large role, both in establishing Englefield as the “weird” school for “gifted" children (aka children with supernatural abilities) it’s becoming, and in showing the characters, and the development of Olivia and Gareth as they get closer. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, Romance
18COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST