RT Daily Blog

If You Like ... You'll Love: Karen Robards' Sleepwalker

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 17, 2012 | PERMALINK

Looking to add a few books to your TBR pile? In our column "If You Like ... You'll Love" RT staffers and reviewers will pick one new read and then suggest three other books that hold the same appeal. Today we look at this month’s RT Seal of Excellence winner, Karen RobardsSleepwalker.

Author Karen Robards has a long history of excellence. She penned her first book in 1981, a historical romance titled Island Flame. Since that time she has written over thirty novels set in both the past and present. Since 1995, she has published 22 stories and all of them have received RT ratings of 4 stars or above — 17 of those were 4 1/2 stars or above. The author's 2002 historical romance Irresistible took home that year’s RT Reviewers' Choice award for Historical Romance of the Year and she was nominated for four additional Reviewers' Choice Awards. Robards has also won two coveted RT Career Achievement Awards, for contemporary romance in 1995 and the Romantic Suspense award in 2006. Although she has written across the romance genres, Robards' undeniable focus has been in romantic suspense. She writes gripping tales of ordinary women who land in extraordinary circumstances, and must fight to survive the ordeal.

In her latest novel, Sleepwalker, Robards introduces heroine Micayla "Mick" Lange a cop with a tragic past. Mick's life has never been easy and she is about to learn one more hard lesson — betrayal can come from even those closest to you. On the run for her life, Mick has no one to trust except a notorious thief. Jason may be a scoundrel, but he is still honorable, in his own way. Unable to leave Mick in danger, Jason helps her avoid capture and they are soon both running for their lives. Trust between the criminal and the cop is slow to build. But loyalty is earned and, unexpectedly, passion between the two explodes. The couple first brought together by necessity finds that they can't say goodbye. 

RT Senior Reviewer Jill M. Smith says about Sleepwalker, “It’s nonstop action from the first to last page as Robards takes readers on a whirlwind caper that finds a cop and a thief running for their lives. In a story that’s reminiscent of her early romantic adventures, Robards doesn’t allow either her characters or her readers the chance to take a deep breath as events proceed at a breakneck pace. This is romantic suspense at its finest: fast, furious, funny and passionate!”

***


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Forewords - The Books Before The Buzz

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 16, 2012 | PERMALINK

With our column, Forewords, we let readers know the latest book news about some of the web team's most-anticipated upcoming releases across the genres — just as the projects are announced!

AUTO-BUY AUTHORS

Contemporary Romance - Brenda Jackson is the creator of several beloved series, including her Steele family books. So when this New York Times bestselling scribe announced she will soon be adding three more full-length modern day love stories to her already impressive body of work, we had to wonder if we'd be seeing any Steele friends or relatives. Unfortunately, we have a long wait ahead of us; the first of the three novels won't be in stores until 2013.

Mystery - Sara Paretsky will write two more books to her V.I. Warshawski series. This private eye heroine may have been introduced to readers in the early 80s (her series is older than two of the RT web team members), but her adventures stay relevant and gripping. We are eagerly anticipating these additions, which will be on shelves in 2013 and 2015.

NEW SERIES ALERT


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

In Search Of Contemporary Classics That Stand The Test of Time

BY Whitney Sullivan, JANUARY 16, 2012 | PERMALINK

I love falling headfirst into a good contemporary romance, getting swept up by daydreams of a sexy hero, a relatable heroine and a seemingly insurmountable modern day problem. But I can't help but notice that, all too often, the stories I enjoy don’t hold up through the years. Despite how much I may have liked them when they came out, the novels simply don’t stand up to a re-reading.

Unlike historicals, fantasy novels or to a large extent, paranormal reads, contemporary-set stories are the only ones that really suffer from outdated references. For the most part the other genres age gracefully, historical phrases remain the same no matter if the book was written in 1992 or 2012. The same goes for a futuristic tale, it doesn’t matter so much when the story was created, in these books contemporary slang will look out of place no matter what unless it is justified within the world of the story. In comparison, older contemporary books don’t just show their age, they look like a middle aged mom trying to wear her teenager’s clothes. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
5COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Inside The Issue: March 2012

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 16, 2012 | PERMALINK

The March issue of RT BOOK REVIEWS will be in stores soon and here are some of the stories you can look forward to this issue ...

Kristina McMorris' WWII-set tale is sweeping us back in time! We round up the e-reader devices for an in-depth compare and contrast. Robyn Carr stops by to talk about the latest in her long-running series. Trend watch: historical fiction stories featuring Eleanor of Aquitaine are making their mark on the genre. Also, get your St. Paddy's Day reading list ready, learn more about author branding and find out why Stan Lee is taking on Shakespeare! 

There's all this and more between the pages of the March 2012 issue of RT BOOK REVIEWS. You can also SUBSCRIBE NOW and get access to RT's Bonus Content coming next week. Until then, here's a sneak peak at the March issue's Table of Contents!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Weekly Web Wrap Up 1/13/2012

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 13, 2012 | PERMALINK

Did you spend your whole week hiding from a Stalker in the Shadows?

Here's what you missed on the RT Website. 

***

It's the start of a new year, so we featured five new series for inspirational readers ...

Ann Shorey Talks About Her Sisters At Heart Series >>

Amanda Cabot Goes Behind The Scenes Of Her Westward Winds Books >>

Sue Duffy Keeps The Suspense Up In Her Red Returning Novels >>

Becky Melby Mixes Contemporary And Historical In Her Lost Sanctuary Series >>

Amish Adventure Abounds In Suzanne Woods Fisher's Stoney Ridge Series >>

 

***


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

It must really be Friday the 13th!

BY Whitney Sullivan, JANUARY 13, 2012 | PERMALINK

Ever wonder what it's like to be here in office with us? Well normally it's pretty quiet, but not today ... shattering the peace of this Friday afternoon at the office, we were called outside to see this piece of bad luck that happened just ten feet from our door. (Thankfully, the car doesn't belong to anyone here at RT!)

 

The fallen tree is blocking our entire street


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Magazine Extras: Romance Gets Academic

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 13, 2012 | PERMALINK

In the February issue of RT BOOK REVIEWS, we profiled the nonfiction academic study of romance, New Approaches to Popular Romance Fiction: Critical Essays, edited by two professors, Sarah S.G. Frantz and Eric Murphy Selinger. The volume, which will be published this year by McFarland, contains 18 essays about the romance genre and community, from luminaries in the academic world as well as romance authors and bloggers. The editors had so much to say about romances and genre fiction and their fascination with the books, that we wanted to continue the interview in online. So today we're bringing you the extended Q&A with the book's editors and RT Managing Editor Liz French. Read on to learn about how Frantz and Selinger formed the International Association for the Study of Popular Romance (IASPR) and what kind of books they like, not to mention how fun it is to teach college students about genre fiction!

RT BOOK REVIEWS: OK, I want to know a little more about you both. I see in the book’s bio listings that Sarah’s a professor in Fayetteville. How long have you been there?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Free E-Read: Naomi Novik's Short Story "Vici" Is Available Now

BY Janine Johnston, JANUARY 13, 2012 | PERMALINK

I have to admit, I’ve never really been into dragons. Book, film, or otherwise, the fire-breathing serpentine creatures just didn’t do it for me. Generally I choose science fiction over fantasy, so there aren’t many fantasy creatures on my bookshelf to begin with. However, my dragon aversion ended when I picked up His Majesty’s Dragon by Naomi Novik after her book signing at last year’s New York Comic Con. (That’s a solid five years after the book was published.)

Let me tell you, I absolutely adored the book. I was enthralled by Captain Laurence and his talking dragon Temeraire. Since then, I have been swept up in the author's universe, which weaves dragons into the Napoleonic era. Novik skillfully mixes fantasy and history to create a believable world. And all my hours of enjoyment are thanks to the excellent job that the first story did of winning over this sci fi reader.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Science Fiction
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

The January 2012 RT Seal Of Excellence Winner Is ...

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 12, 2012 | PERMALINK

Each month RT Book Reviews’ editors award the RT Seal of Excellence to one book that is not only compelling, but stands out from the more than 250 books reviewed in that issue and on the website.

So which novel won the January 2012 RT Seal of Excellence and what other titles were contenders for the Seal this month?

Here's your hint: Sparks erupt when a cop and a thief team up to try to survive a mob hit!

Find Out Now >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

What’s The Best Book Cover Of The Month? Take The Poll!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 12, 2012 | PERMALINK

We received such a great response from asking readers what they thought were The Best Book Covers of 2011 that we’ve decided to make this a monthly feature. The winning cover for 2011 was hands down The Perfect Play by Jaci Burton, but what will you choose for January 2012? Take a look at our top ten picks and then cast your vote in the poll at the end of the post!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
20COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST