RT Daily Blog

Hot Trend: Friends To Lovers

BY Dawn Crowne, DECEMBER 27, 2011 | PERMALINK

While the trope of friends to lovers has been around since the beginning of the romance genre, recently I have been seeing it more and more in the erotica genre. In fact, in the past few months’ digital publisher Ellora’s Cave has released several novellas that feature friendships between the heroes and heroines that span decades. However, some authors are more successful than others when it comes to evolving a couple’s relationship from platonic caring to red-hot sexiness. Which of the "friends to lovers" tales works best? Check out my critiques of three recently release erotic novellas below.

 

“Daniel’s Dare” by Sasha Devlin


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Forewords - The Books Before The Buzz

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 26, 2011 | PERMALINK

With our column, Forewords, we let readers know the latest book news about some of the web team's most-anticipated upcoming releases across the genres — just as the projects are announced!

NEW SERIES ALERTS

Young Adult - Author Kendare Blake, of Anna Dressed in Blood fame, is beginning a new series titled Antigoddess. The books will follow two teenage Greek gods, Athena and Hermes, as they gather up their reincarnated allies to do battle against the evil Hera and Poseidon. No word yet on when the first of this trilogy will be released, but we can’t wait to meet the hero and heroine, not to mention their sidekicks Cassandra, a once powerful seer who has been reborn as a regular girl, and Odysseus, a good looking jokester. 

Mystery - Waitresses make the best heroines. Just ask Carol Miller's newest amateur sleuth starring in series first Murder and Moonshine. Making her way at a small town cafe in Virginia, the heroine of this series solves crimes that others can’t. Release date TBA. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Post-Holiday E-book Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 26, 2011 | PERMALINK

We know that many of you received e-readers for the holidays, and we wanted to help you fill up your devices. So on the day after Christmas, RT BOOK REVIEWS brings to you over a dozen great e-book deals, each one a Top Pick rated story and all for more than half off the print book price. (In fact, many of these e-deals are for under two bucks.) Let the downloading begin!

 

Five Dukes of Distinction

 

 

 

A Duke of Her Own by Eloisa James - Buy Now for $1.99 >>

Sins of a Wicked Duke by Sophie Jordan - Buy Now for $1.99 >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Five Fictional Families To Spend The Holidays With

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 22, 2011 | PERMALINK

The holidays means good food, time with friends and of course, family. But if the drama of your relatives is making you batty, never fear. We’ve got your perfect escape. Today we’ve picked out five of our favorite fictional families, who may be a tiny bit crazy, but are definitely easy to spend time with!

Now we aren’t going to lie, three out of our top five favorite packs of relatives come out of the contemporary romance genre. It may be because we can relate to these dramas, because without the paranormal elements, the dead bodies piling up, and the threat of danger around every corner, these fictional families seem just like ours — only better.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Get The Look: Thea Harrison's True Colors

BY Morgan Doremus, DECEMBER 22, 2011 | PERMALINK

Perhaps the greatest unexpected gift to romance readers this year has been Thea Harrison's Elder Races books. The May series starter, Dragon Bound, received a coveted Gold RT review and the subsequent stories continue to wow readers. These paranormal romances include passion, mystery and a delightful mix of truly unique characters. Within the pages of these books, Wyr creatures, immortal beings from the magical lands of an alternate universe, are sometimes treated like gods and in other cases feared for the devils they can become.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cheaper By The Dozen - This Week's Hot E-Book Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 21, 2011 | PERMALINK

One of our favorite features of the e-revolution is the sheer amount of books you can pack into such a tiny digital device. But what do you do when the growing number of new reads causes your wallet to shrink uncomfortably? Shop the e-book deals, of course! In this column we highlight some of our favorite book buys that will cost you less than a medium-sized coffee. This week, special for the holidays, we're delivering a dozen reads that are absoloutely free!

Historical Romance

The English Heiress by Roberta Gellis

Get It For Free >>

 

Contemporary Romance

Double Dare by Rhonda Nelson

Get It For Free >>

 

Young Adult

Dreams Fall Down by Tabitha Summers

Get It For Free >>

         


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Best Of Twitter 2011

BY Elisa Verna, DECEMBER 21, 2011 | PERMALINK

As the social media coordinator for RT, I spend a lot of time on Twitter. Not just Tweeting for the magazine, but following the conversation had by the many authors, readers and industry people each day, every day. And let me tell you, you think some of your favorite authors are creative? Go take a look at their Twitter feeds. I’ve honestly never laughed so much while on the job, and I think I’ve learned the most about publishing by reading the back-and-forth between authors. Twitter is a wealth of information and entertainment for anyone in the booklover community, and to celebrate this fantastic tool, I present you with my picks for the Best of Twitter 2011. 

***

Wildest Tweets

Although not outright raunchy (most of the time...), Victoria Dahl (@victoriadahl) wins this one. From her sexual innuendo laced with plenty of humor to cursing like a sailor, I’ve grown accustom to this author’s Tweets, but she still never fails to surprise me. Case in point: 

Honorable mention: Sarah Wendell (@SmartBitches). Nowhere near as dirty as Dahl, but I do enjoy her “spot the phallus” photos.

***


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview With Kate Douglas

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 21, 2011 | PERMALINK

Fan-favorite paranormal erotica author (and the winner of RT's 2010 Career Achievement Award for erotica) Kate Douglas shares some inside information about her wolves and other "sexy beasts" with RT's Elissa. Find out how the Wolf Tales series grew because readers loved it so much, the many different ways the author thinks about romantic love and how she incorporates this into her writing. Plus, Douglas shares why she loves pushing the limits in erotica and discusses how far the genre has come since her career's beginning.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

RT Picks Three (Free) Holiday Themed Sci Fi Short Stories

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 21, 2011 | PERMALINK

A big thanks to Bryan Thomas Schmidt for his blog post “16 Holiday Themed Science Fiction And Fantasy Stories” earlier this month. Here at the RT office, we had a great time going through each free story and getting a huge holiday dose of futuristic fun. The web team was especially excited by three stories by some very well known authors. If you are looking for some great Christmas reading, look no further than the following tales.

***


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Science Fiction
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

If You Like ... You'll Love: Allie Harrison's Hide and Seek

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 20, 2011 | PERMALINK

Looking to add a few books to your TBR pile? In our newest column "If You Like ... You'll Love" RT staffers and reviewers will pick one new read and then suggest three other books that hold the same appeal. Today we look at Allie Harrison’s Hide and Seek.

Author Allie Harrison penned her first novel in 1993. The award-winning Dream a Deadly Dream was followed by two more books before the author took a decade long break from publishing. Then, in 2008, Harrison returned with Blood in the Moonlight a story that delved into the world of paranormal romance. The author has since published two more books and collaborated on a third. However, it is with the newly reviewed Hide and Seek that Harrison truly showcases her skills. This tale pairs the talented psychic Tess Fairmont with coroner Dr. Michael Adams. Tess is able to touch the dead (or living) and see their last moments. But will Tess be seeing her own demise when she stumbles into the crosshairs of a serial killer or will the Michael be able to help keep her out of trouble? 

RT reviewer Karen Sweeny-Justice says, “Harrison scores with a tale that combines elements of the paranormal and suspense genres into a good old-fashioned whodunit. The heroine is a fully developed and realized character readers will root for; the widowed hero is a doctor who cares deeply for the bodies entrusted to his morgue; and the contemporary setting and secondary characters flesh out the storytelling. More than Ghost Whisperer meets Quincy, M.E., this compelling narrative makes for a page-turner readers won’t want to put down.”

***


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST