RT Daily Blog

Five Things You Need To Know About Elizabeth Bear's Range Of Ghosts

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 26, 2012 | PERMALINK

Fantasy author Eliabeth Bear is kicking off her Eternal Sky trilogy with the RT Top Pick! rated read, Range of Ghosts. It's an epic fantasy following the adventures of Temur, a young man destined to claim his grandfather's throne and become King of the Khaganate, and Samarkar, a former Princess who is now studying the magical arts. The two come together when they discover a secret cult that may be threatening their world. Today, the author shares five things that readers should know before entering into Range of Ghosts.

***

1) It's not historical fantasy.

While I drew a great deal of inspiration from the cultures of Eurasia over the course of about 500 years, I made the very conscious choice not to model this world on the history of "our" Earth. So you don't need to know any Mongolian or Central Asian or Eurasian history to read this book.

Because I made it all up. So it's my job to make sure you understand what's going on! No studying required.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Science Fiction
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Forewords: The Books Before The Buzz

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 26, 2012 | PERMALINK

With our column, Forewords, we let readers know the latest book news about some of the web team's most-anticipated upcoming releases across the genres — just as the projects are announced!

RETURNING FAVORITE SERIES

Urban Fantasy - Author Kelly Meding will continue her MetaWars superhero series with two more novels in 2013. Frankly, we can’t get enough of heroine Trance and her quickly changing supernatural world, so bring it on Ms. Meding!

Mystery - If you love turn-of-the-century New York City, be sure to check out Victoria Thompson’s Gaslight Mystery Series. The novels which feature a midwife-sleuth and an Irish cop have us positively transported, so we are pleased to learn that we can expect three more books in the near future.

PIQUING OUR CURIOSITY

Historical Romance - Will A Wicked Reputation keep a young countess from making her affaire de coeur with a notorious rouge into a more permanent arrangement? You’ll have to wait until Lianna LeFey’s novel hits stores to find out!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Weekly Web Wrap Up 3/23/2011

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 23, 2012 | PERMALINK

Did you spend the whole week taking care of Cowboy Sam's Quadruplets?

Here's what you missed on the RT website:

***

HISTORICAL ROMANCE: Isabel Cooper chats about the next in her innovative series. Win It Before Its Release >>

CONTEMPORARY ROMANCE: Meet several Navy SEALs heroes. They Are Inspiring! >>

YOUNG ADULT: Bree Despian shares her favorite chapter of The Savage Grace. Read It Now >>

URBAN FANTASY: We investigate strange supernatural heritages. Are There Perks To Being A Hybrid? >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Theme Spotlight: Sexy Navy SEALS Part 2 — Seals In Series And True Tales

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 23, 2012 | PERMALINK

Romance readers have always known that Navy SEALs make great heroes. Yesterday we featured some of the fictional Navy SEALs who have made our hearts race in the last year and shared a few that have lived on our keeper shelves for years. Today, we are rounding up some of the must-read romance series that feature these brave warriors. But we don't stop there. For readers who want to get a feel for what the SEAL experience truly all about, we've also turned the spotlight on non fiction books, highlighting three must-reads. 

 

SEALS IN SERIES

Suzanne Brockmann has an impressive 6 titles that were all rated 4 1/2 star gold Top Picks! And each feature Navy SEAL heroes and five of them are precursors to her beloved Troubleshooters series. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
4COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Morgan And Whitney Dish: The Book Of Lost Fragrances By M.J. Rose

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 22, 2012 | PERMALINK

Prepare to be entranced by this week’s Dish story, the multifaceted mystery from M.J. Rose, The Book of Lost Fragrances. This spellbinding book features Jac, a struggling heroine desperately holding onto her sanity as her hallucinations of other people's lives take her back in time. However, when Jac's brother becomes entangled in a scheme to recreate an ancient memory aid which could spark a foreign revolution, it has never been more important for Jac to hold onto her sense of the here and now. But what will she do when it turns out she’s been remembering her own past lives?

Morgan: We are going to have an especially hard time getting through the description this novel. It is so layered, like a mystery grounded in some harsh realities, shrouded in mysticism.

Whitney: But despite the different narratives that span centuries and the globe-trotting from New York to Paris and even China, it all comes back to the main protagonist Jac L’Etoile.

Morgan: Jac’s a scholar turned TV host who has dedicated her life to uncovering myths.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Theme Spotlight: Sexy Navy SEALS Part 1 — Recent Recruits And Classic Reads

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 22, 2012 | PERMALINK

There’s been an upswing in the popularity of stories that feature the experiences of Navy SEALs heroes. As the USA government calls our soldiers home, it’s not surprising that many of us are eager to get a glimpse of their accounts of war, especially after SEAL Team Six became a household name for their work eliminating the threat of Osama bin Laden. Recent bestsellers featuring these soldiers include SEAL Team Six and American Sniper. And publishing houses are taking note of readers’ interest. An article in The New York Times notes that readers can get ready for a raft of new books about these fighters, from a SEAL Survival Guide about how thinking like a SEAL can help you survive dangerous situations to a batch of new fictional tales. However, the romance community has always had a soft spot for these hardened warriors. Today we round up several new SEAL stories, as well as our favorite classics, and then we will continue our SEAL spotlight tomorrow with SEALs in series and three non fic tales of true heroes.

 

RECENT RECRUITS: SEAL HEROES INTRODUCED IN 2010 - 2012


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Spoiled: Sherry Thomas On Ravishing The Heiress

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 22, 2012 | PERMALINK

Spoiled shares a look at the books you can't wait to read, long before they hit stores. Today historical romance author Sherry Thomas gives RT readers a peek inside the second book in her new Fitzhugh trilogy, Ravishing the Heiress, before it releases in July.

Ravishing the Heiress is currently occupying the position of my personal favorite among the books I’ve written, so you can bet I jumped at the chance to talk about it.

We first meet Fitz and Millie, the hero and the heroine of Ravishing, in book 1 of the Fitzhugh trilogy, Beguiling the Beauty.  We learn fairly early on that theirs is a marriage of convenience. At age 19, Fitz unexpectedly inherited a title with a bankrupt estate and must marry an heiress in order to save the estate. But to do that, he had to give up Isabelle, the girl he loved passionately, who loved him just as passionately and who was perfectly suited to him in every way except for the fact that she wasn’t an heiress.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cheaper By The Dozen - This Week's Hot E-Book Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 22, 2012 | PERMALINK

One of our favorite features of the e-revolution is the sheer amount of books you can pack into such a tiny digital device. But what do you do when the growing number of new reads causes your wallet to shrink uncomfortably? Shop the e-book deals, of course! In this column we highlight some of our favorite book buys that will cost you less than a medium-sized coffee. 

Historical Romance

Warrior's Lady by Gerri Russell

Buy For $.99 >>

 

Contemporary Romance

Redwood Bend by Robyn Carr

Buy For $.99 >>

 

Young Adult

The Unidentified by Trenton Hughes

Buy For $.99 >>

         


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

RT Reviews: The First Hunger Games Movie

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 21, 2012 | PERMALINK

The RT web team has just returned from seeing The Hunger Games, the film adaptation of the first of Suzanne Collins' wildly popular dystopian YA series.

In case you've been living under a rock, Hunger Games was released in 2008, with Catching Fire and Mockingjay released in the subsequent years. The books follow the adventures of Katniss Everdeen who steps up to take her sister's place in the titular Hunger Games, a televised competition where 24 teens fight to the death. However, Katniss' act of love for her sister Prim, sets flame to the embers of rebellion that have been in the hearts and minds of the downtrodden society. But will they be able to throw off the oppressive rule of the Capitol — and can Katniss survive the "game"?

The complete series won the September 2010 RT Seal of Excellence and it's undeniable that part of the books' appeal is that the story is about so many different things: the power of love (both romantic and between family members), determination, perseverance in the face of insurmountable difficulty, control of one's image in the public eye and of course, the way that one person can make a huge difference.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
6COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

The Perks Of Being A Paranormal Hybrid

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 21, 2012 | PERMALINK

Paranormal fiction abounds with unusual creatures, but recently we’ve been seeing heroes and heroines whose lineages push the boundaries of our imaginations. That’s right, we’re ready to declare that it’s the season of hybrids! These characters may have a foot in two worlds (and sometimes more) but still deserve their own happily ever afters. Take a look at which hybrids are making our hearts race this month and find out what we think would be the best — and worst — parts of their puzzling heritage.

 

Character: Caliban “Cal” Leandros

Heritage: Human and Auphe*

Author: Rob Thurman

Series: Cal Leandros

New Release: Doubletake

*Auphe are murderous fiends that predate humans on the evolutionary chain. They seek to exterminate humans, Cal’s birth was the result of their genetic experimentation.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST