RT Daily Blog

If You Like ... You'll Love: Stephen J. Cannell’s Vigilante

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 16, 2011 | PERMALINK

Looking to add a few books to your TBR pile? In our newest column "If You Like ... You'll Love" RT staffers and reviewers will pick one new read and then suggest three other books that hold the same appeal. Today we look at Stephen J. Cannell’s Vigilante.

When Stephen J. Cannell passed away in September 2010, the world lost an excellent storyteller. Cannell was a television show writer, actor, creator and producer. Among the projects that he worked on are the classic shows Columbo, 21 Jump Street, The A-Team and The Rockford Files. And when he turned his attention to writing novels in 1995, he did so with the same enthusiasm, writing 17 books in those 15 years. As an author Cannell is best known for his 10-book Shane Scully series about an LAPD detective. This month the final Shane Scully story, Vigilantehit shelves. In this tale Scully takes on a murder that brings him face to face with possible police corruption, gang problems and a nosy reality TV star who wants nothing more than to see the detective fail. 

RT’s Jo Peters says, "The late Cannell’s last Scully novel is a fitting ending to the series, reminding us why Cannell was a significant part of our entertainment culture on TV and in print for decades: he was a darn good storyteller. This well-plotted story shouldn’t be missed.”


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cheaper By The Dozen - This Week's Hot E-Book Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 15, 2011 | PERMALINK

One of our favorite features of the e-revolution is the sheer amount of books you can pack into such a tiny digital device. But what do you do when the growing number of new reads causes your wallet to shrink uncomfortably? Shop the e-book deals, of course! In our new column we highlight some of our favorite book buys that will cost you less than a medium-sized coffee.

Historical Romance

Conor's Way by Laura Lee Guhrke

Buy For $.99 >>

 

Contemporary Romance

Mistletoe Mine by Emily March

Buy For $.99 >>

 

Young Adult

The Soulkeepers by G. P. Ching

Get It For Free >>

         


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Violence And Villains In The Thirteen Hallows By Michael Scott And Colette Freedman

BY Janine Johnston, DECEMBER 15, 2011 | PERMALINK

Sci fi and fantasy fans are hard to please. In fact, I would dare to say that some of us are filled with a geeky snobbery so strong, that it sometimes cannot be contained in all the forum threads and blog comment boxes the Internet has to offer. It's spilling out into the streets. 

Okay, perhaps I’m being a bit dramatic, but I think I speak for many readers when I say that we are getting tired of the same old fantasy story. A young, brave hero (who is almost always male), usually acting out of some sort of need for revenge and having nothing to lose, goes on some kind of adventure, along the way he acquires a powerful item (of magical or scientific origin) and must destroy the bad guys or else the universe will explode. Don’t get me wrong, this plot is a classic, filled with beloved tropes, but what makes it work in for contemporary readers is not groundbreaking plots, but instead authors’ original details and talented writing … which unfortunately seems harder to come by these days. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Science Fiction
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Morgan And Whitney Dish: Daybreak By Ellen Connor

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 14, 2011 | PERMALINK

Daybreak concludes the futuristic paranormal series co-written by Ann Aguirre and Carrie Lofty under the pen name Ellen Connor. The tale reunites childhood friends Pen and Tru from Nightfall, which Morgan and Whitney Dished about several months ago. But will these all-grown-up characters be able to forge a new (adult) relationship in this harsh world or are they doomed to failure like the society that they are products of?

Morgan: “Let’s read Daybreak,” you said. “We have to read Tru’s story,” you said. And innocent ole me thought it a great idea. Until Tru shows up in the story.

Whitney: Okay, he is a bit different from how we left him at the end of the first book in the Dark Age Dawning series. But, in his defense, Tru was only a teen in that story ...

Morgan: Yeah, and he is grown up to be a complete jerk! 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Spoiled: Victoria Dahl On Her Upcoming Contemporary Series

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 14, 2011 | PERMALINK

Victoria Dahl is beloved for both her historical and contemporary romances. (In fact, RT's Morgan and Whitney enjoyed the author's latest contemporary series, featuring the Donovan Brothers Brewery, so much that they Dished about all three books!) Today, the popular author gives RT readers the first look at her next contemporary series. Meet the first book's cowboy hero, find out about the story's tough-but-tiny heroine and discover what ties this new series together in this edition of Spoiled!

***

Where are these modern day romances set?

The new series is set in Jackson Hole, Wyoming, an amazingly beautiful place that I'm thrilled to visit any chance I get.

How are the books connected? (Are we looking at another "sibling series" like the Donovans?)


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview: Brandilyn Collins On Character Building And A First Look At Her March 2012 Tale!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 13, 2011 | PERMALINK

Bestselling author Brandilyn Collins talks with RT's Morgan about crafting suspense stories with true crossover appeal, tales that resonate with both inspirational and secular readers. The author is best known for her gripping mysteries, but it's her well-drawn characters that keep us coming back time after time. Today, Collins shares a look how she creates these detailed heroes and heroines and gives RT readers a sneak peek her March 2012 novel, Gone to Ground!

Brandilyn Collins On Character Building And Her Upcoming Tale >>

More From The RT BOOK REVIEWS Video Channel >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Inspirational, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Debra Webb Stops By The RT BOOK REVIEWS Office

BY Elissa Petruzzi, DECEMBER 13, 2011 | PERMALINK

One of the best parts about working at RT is when authors come visit us. (One day we’ll tell you about when Sabrina Jeffries demonstrated cover model poses … on our floor.) So we were thrilled last week when romantic suspense superstar Debra Webb stopped by RT headquarters to fill us in on what's happening in her life.

And boy did she have a lot of news! Webb’s one of the latest to get in on the self-publishing craze, to great success. In fact, Webb's husband had just called to inform her that Obsession, the first in her Faces of Evil self-published series, had hit No. 10 on Amazon's bestselling Romantic Suspense list. 

It was great news for Webb, who began writing the series after an injury at the RWA national conference in Orlando in 2010. But what most appeals to the author was how self-publishing gives her direct access to her readers.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
5COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Get In The Holiday Spirit With Debut Author Fay Alter!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 13, 2011 | PERMALINK

Today debut author Fay Alter stops by to share her inspiration for her holiday novella “Second Chance Chanukah” — and gives RT readers a peek at the new release!

If you’re like me, an avid romance reader, you no doubt enjoy a good holiday romance during the winter months. There’s just something particularly heartwarming about these tales whether the faith element is overt or not. Inevitably, though, at some point around the holidays a reader will ask, “Ok, I really loved Book X, but where are the Chanukah stories?”

The problem is that while several Chanukah romances have been published over the years, most notably Judith Arnold’s Sweet Light (Harlequin American, 1992), romances set around the Jewish Festival of Lights (or any other Jewish holiday) are few and far between. This was one of the reasons I decided to write my Chanukah novella, “Second Chance Chanukah”. I wanted a story along the lines of those I love to read, which celebrated my Jewish heritage. And while this is a Jewish story, it is accessible to non-Jewish readers as well.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
5COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Forewords - The Books Before The Buzz

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 12, 2011 | PERMALINK

With our column, Forewords, we let readers know the latest book news about some of the web team's most-anticipated upcoming releases across the genres — just as the projects are announced!

NEW SERIES ALERT 

Mystery - Debut author Janet Hubbard will be sending readers to France with Violence in the Vineyards, the first in her Champagne: The Farewell series. These mystery tales will take place all across the country’s famous wine districts giving the audience some great fictional trips to Europe!

Young Adult - Mixing fantasy and reality, author Tom Pollock embarks on The Skyscraper Throne trilogy. The adventure starts when a teen girl who happens to be a talented graffiti artist meets the poor son of a goddess — but will they be able to save the city of London from a demolition order signed by a god? The City’s Son starts the series next fall, and it will be followed by The Glass Republic and then Our Lady of the Streets.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Weekly Web Wrap Up 12/9/2011

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 09, 2011 | PERMALINK

Did you spend your whole week taking Lessons in Seduction?

Here's what you missed on the RT website.

***

Holiday Gift Guides

ROMANCE: Stumped about what to get the romance reader in your life? We Love These Picks >>

SCIENCE FICTION: Still haven't gotten anything for that special sci fi fan? Don't Space On It >>

MYSTERY: Do you have a hard time finding the perfect gift for a mystery lover? Get A Clue >>

***

SERIES ROMANCE: Will there be holiday miracles for these Harlequin Medical Romance couples? Find Out >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST