RT Daily Blog

Debut Author Spotlight: Brian O'Reilly

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 10, 2011 | PERMALINK

Name: Brian O'Reilly

Book: Angelina's Bachelors

Genre: Contemporary Romance/Mainstream Fiction

Current Home: We live in the Greater Delaware Valley. It’s a great place to live (and my lifelong home, excepting short spurts in California and just outside NYC), within striking distance of great cities, museums, parks, and mountains, even an ocean. And home is where the kitchen is.

Career (in addition to writing): I’ve been a producer for about 25 years, and most recently, I was the creator and an executive producer of Dinner: Impossible on Food Network. I do some writing for political campaigns across the country and I’m currently developing a number of TV projects while working on a second “Novel with Food.”

Favorite Word: Beer. I think it’s one of the richest, most varied, friendliest words in the language, especially when paired with the interrogatory punctuation mark: “Beer?” I also love the word “slake,” as in “Come and slake your thirst, my friend.”


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

We Announce RT's Seal of Excellence Award-Winning Book For The Month Of August!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 09, 2011 | PERMALINK

Each month RT Book Reviews’ editors select one book that is not only compelling but pushes the boundaries of genre fiction and stands out from the more than 250 books reviewed in its latest issue and online. 

“Because of the sheer number of books we review each month in RT Book Reviews we have a unique perspective on which one is destined for the keeper shelf and therefore deserves our Seal of Excellence,” says Carol Stacy, Publisher and Internet Director. “It is our intention to share this gem with readers and draw attention to a fantastic book they might not otherwise pick up.“


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Spotlight On Time Travel Tales

BY Morgan Doremus, AUGUST 09, 2011 | PERMALINK

Whitney and I both love tales of time travel. So when better than the dog days of summer to feature stories about people coming and going across time? All this week we will be taking readers behind the scenes with some of our favorite time travel author aficionados and then we will share a look at what’s ahead for fans to anticipate! But we also wanted to do a bit of time traveling ourselves, so we decided to rewind to a few weeks ago to give you an insider's look at the conversation we had that prompted our spotlight on time travel romances ...

(Out the blue) Morgan: You know what book I love — Jude Deveraux’s A Knight in Shining ArmorIt is one of those stories that every romance fan should read at least once. 

Whitney: Time travel romance is hard to pull off, but Deveraux is a master. Another one of hers that really stands out for me is her reincarnation story Remembrance

Morgan: Let's spotlight time travel on the site! And we can choose our favorites to share.

Whitney: I call Remembrance! 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, Romance
7COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Go In-Depth Inside Of Legacy By Cayla Kluver

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 09, 2011 | PERMALINK

Debut author Cayla Kluver's YA fantasy Legacy was published before she even graduated from high school. And Cayla’s beta reader — the first person who reads the story after the author has finished writing portions of it — is her mother. Working together the duo self-published the novel before it was picked up by Harlequin Teen! Needless to say, I knew I needed to get the inside story, so here are five question interviews with the author, her beta reader and her literary agent Kevan Lyons, for a special look at how Legacy came to be.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Perfecting Dialogue In Sarah Jane Stratford's The Moonlight Brigade

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 09, 2011 | PERMALINK

Author Sarah Jane Stratford delivers her second novel in the compelling Millennials series with this month's The Moonlight Brigade. RT reviewer Debbie Haupt praised the story saying, "If you love the flavor of bygone dialogue, a literary fantasy with a hint of Shelley or Stoker, you'll love this WWII-set tale." We wanted to know how the author crafted this evocative dialogue, so we asked her to deconstruct a few of her characters' conversations for this illuminating post!

When I first began exploring the millennial vampires, it was natural that they would be avid and erudite conversationalists, simply as a result of having lived so long. Being caught up in World War II wouldn't change that. At the outset of The Moonlight Brigade, it is 1941 and circumstances have taken Mors to Rome, his ancient stomping grounds, where he trains partisans to fight and falls in love with their leader.


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Forewords - The Books Before The Buzz

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 08, 2011 | PERMALINK

With our column, Forewords, we let readers know the latest book news about some of the web team's most-anticipated upcoming releases across the genres — just as the projects are announced!

RETURNING FAVORITE SERIES

Paranormal Romance - Fan favorite author Angela Knight continues her Time Hunter Series with a new novella. There’s no word yet on who will be meeting their match in “Enforcer” but we are looking forward to Knight’s next signature hero!

Mystery - Professional dog walker Ellie Englemen, an amateur sleuth who can psychically connect to dogs, will get her seventh adventure from author Judi McCoy. Heroine Ellie, and her yorkie-poo pup Rudy, are always a blast to spend time with so despite the fact that the story doesn't have a publication date or even a title yet, we are already excited.

Fantasy - Suzanne Johnson’s Sentinels of New Orleans series will continue with Elysian Fields. The story follows a wizard on the hunt for an evil necromancer who is raising the city’s most famous killers from the grave. This spine-tingling tale will hit stores in 2012.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

PJ Parrish Is Talking Evil Villains And The Killing Song

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 08, 2011 | PERMALINK

We are starting Monday off with a bang! Today the award-winning writing team PJ Parrish invites readers behind the scenes of their newest mystery novel, The Killing Songto talk about evil villains and all the forms they come in. Find out which killers give these authors the chills and what makes creating a convincing bad guy such a challenge ...

You think it’s hard to find a good man? Ha! Try finding a really bad one.

We’ve been looking for bad men for more than twelve years now. I’d say my sister and I are somewhat of experts on the subject of men with, ah...issues. We write thrillers and over the course of our eleven-novel career, we’ve encountered every kind of twisted, tortured, miserable example of the male species you can imagine.

But they’re our villains and we...well, I won’t say we love them but we do lavish a lot of attention on them. And we need to confess something right now –- it is getting harder and harder to make bad guys good.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Weekly Web Wrap Up 8/5/2011

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 05, 2011 | PERMALINK

This week's round-up is dedicated to L.A. Banks (aka Leslie Esdaile). We join her friends, family and fans in mourning her passing. 

***

HISTORICAL ROMANCE: Jennifer Ashley on her scandal-plagued heroes. Learn More >> 

MYSTERY: Get a taste of Jo Bannister’s Death in High Places. Read The Excerpt >>

CONTEMPORARY ROMANCE: Diane Escalera talks Dangerous Desire. Check It Out >>

EROTICA: Marie Harte’s newest novella gets 4 1/2 Stars. Read The *Web Exclusive Review* >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

How Do You Turn A Spy Into A Diplomat? Donna MacMeans' Redeeming the Rogue Heroine Has The Answers

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 05, 2011 | PERMALINK

Donna MacMeans' new historical novel Redeeming the Rogue is an August RT Top Pick. The novel follows English Lady Arianne Chambers who undertakes an unusual mission for her government, transforming spy Michael Rafferty into a man who could convince the world that he is a proper diplomat! We knew we needed to get the inside story on how Lady Arianne Chambers worked her magic. But we never expected the answer we got ... 

Good Morning. While it’s not considered proper to introduce oneself, I suppose under the circumstances it is necessary. Sometimes we all must sacrifice propriety when faced with the prospect of not otherwise achieving our goals. I know I did.

My name is Lady Arianne Chambers, sister to the Duke of Bedford. I’ve recently been commissioned by Lord Henderson to teach the finer points of international etiquette and in effect, mold, if you will, an Irish guttersnipe of a rogue named Michael Rafferty, so that he might catch the murderer of my good friend the British minister in Washington D.C.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
29COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cheaper By The Dozen: This Week's Hot E-book Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 04, 2011 | PERMALINK

One of our favorite features of the e-revolution is the sheer amount of books you can pack into such a tiny digital device. But what do you do when the growing number of new reads causes your wallet to shrink uncomfortably? Shop the e-book deals, of course! In our new column we highlight some of our favorite book buys that will cost you less than a medium-sized coffee.

Historical Romance

Lord of Scoundrels by Loretta Chase

Buy For $.99 >>

 

Contemporary Romance

Baby, I'm Yours by Stephanie Bond

Get It For Free >>

 

Young Adult

Fallen From Grace by M.J. Putney

Get It For Free >>

         


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST