RT Daily Blog

Adventures In Self-Publishing: Alexis Harrington On The Decision To Self-Publish — And Becoming An Amazon Montlake Author!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 10, 2012 | PERMALINK

With our new column Adventures in Self-Publishing, we bring you at look at this ever-expanding market. Today, author Alexis Harrington answers our questions about her self-published tale Home by Morningand what happened when the story was picked up by Amazon's new romance imprint, Montelake.

If you had to describe the story of your historical tale Home by Morning in one (very modern) tweet, what would it be?

A pandemic, treachery, heartbreak, the fire of a lost love rekindled—all this and more is yours in Home by Morning by Alexis Harrington.

Why did you decide to focus on a story that is so much about medicine at the turn of the century?


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog, E-Book
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Author Interview: Robin Bridges On Her Historical Paranormal Russian YA — With Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 10, 2012 | PERMALINK

Debut author Robin Bridges hits the ground running with this month's release The Gathering Storm, the first in her Katerina Trilogy. The story follows Katerina Alexandrovna, teen Duchess of Oldenberg, who has the supernatural ability to raise the dead. Inspired by Russian fairy tales and Slavic mythology, Bridges shares how she penned such a unique, magical tale in this exclusive interview. And then be sure to check out an excerpt of the story and enter to win your own copy of The Gathering Storm below!

RT BOOK REVIEWS: The Katerina Trilogy is all about Katerina Alexandrovna, the teenage Duchess of Oldenberg. What first intrigued you about her character? 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
16COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Forewords - The Books Before The Buzz

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 09, 2012 | PERMALINK

With our column, Forewords, we let readers know the latest book news about some of the web team's most-anticipated upcoming releases across the genres — just as the projects are announced!

NEW SERIES ALERT

Historical Romance - We are thrilled to learn that author Jane Ashford, who has been writing for decades, will soon re-publish her 18-book backlist as well as an all new tale of historical intrigue. Her never-before-read book, The Widow Wylde, will tell the tale of a woman who becomes the prime suspect in her husband’s murder case. In desperation, she turns to the man’s nephew searching for help. Working together, will they be able to protect her from being accused of murder and discover the true killer?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Debut Author Spotlight: Cecilia Grant

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 09, 2012 | PERMALINK

Name: Cecilia Grant 

Book: A Lady Awakened 

Current Home: Seattle, WA 

Job (when not writing): Data wrangler 

Do you write under a pseudonym?: Yes. A non-writing friend of mine calls Cecilia Grant my “secret superhero identity,” and I like having one of those.

How many manuscripts do you have hidden under the bed?: One complete, and about half a dozen that I started, abandoned after a short time, but never could bring myself to throw away.

How long did it take you to sell your first book?: From the time I first submitted something to an agent, until the day I got The Call, about 2 and 1/3 years.

What was it like writing A Lady Awakened? Did you know at the time that it was going to sell to a major NYC publishing house?

Considering the number of people who write books as compared to the number of debut authors actually picked up by the big houses each year, it’s hard to imagine that anyone knows their book is going to sell! I certainly didn’t.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Weekly Web Wrap Up 1/6/2012

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 06, 2012 | PERMALINK

This week the reading community mourns the loss of beloved author Penny Jordan. Jordan, who had been publishing books steadily since the early 1980s, lost her long battle with cancer early Sunday morning. We Will Miss Her >>

***

Here are other stories featured this week on the RT website: 

ROMANTIC SUSPENSE: Five reasons to read Maya Banks' latest. Read On >>

CONTEMPORARY ROMANCE: Jude Deveraux tells us all about her recent release. Listen To The Podcast >>

HISTORICAL ROMANCE: Secrets abound in January's Harlequin Historicals. Find Out The Truth >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Author Podcast: Jude Deveraux

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 06, 2012 | PERMALINK

Romance author extraordinaire Jude Deveraux chats with RT's Morgan Doremus in this exclusive author podcast. The pair bond over their mutual love for Deveraux's long-running fictional Taggert/Montgomery family and discuss some of the author's fan-favorite titles. And then the author shares an insider's look at her latest romance, Moonlight in the Morning, which starts an all-new trilogy in the small Southern town of Elidean.

 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
4COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

January's Harlequin Historicals Are Full Of Secrets

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 06, 2012 | PERMALINK

Secrets old and new twist up the plots of this month's Harlequin Historical Romances. Perceived betrayals, hidden treasures and fake identities keep these heroes and heroines struggling to determine what is the truth  — and whether or not they can trust the objects of their affection. 

 

A Dark and Brooding Gentleman
By Margaret McPhee

When Sebastian Hunter finds his mother's companion searching for a family heirloom, he is aghast. Should he trust the lovely Phoebe Allardyce when she says she's being blackmailed to steal?

Read The Review >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Caught On Cover: January 2012

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 05, 2012 | PERMALINK

This month several of our favorite celebrities were "caught on cover", their likenesses spotted on some January new releases. Check out who we found:

Brittany Murphy, you live on in our hearts — and on our romance novel covers

     

 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cheaper By The Dozen - This Week's Hot E-Book Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 05, 2012 | PERMALINK

One of our favorite features of the e-revolution is the sheer amount of books you can pack into such a tiny digital device. But what do you do when the growing number of new reads causes your wallet to shrink uncomfortably? Shop the e-book deals, of course! In this column we highlight some of our favorite book buys that will cost you less than a medium-sized coffee. 

Historical Romance

Merely Magic by Patricia Rice

Buy For $1.79 >>

 

Contemporary Romance

A Weekend with Mr. Darcy by Victoria Connelly

Buy For $1.99 >>

 

Young Adult

Unearthly by Cynthia Hand

Buy For $.99 >>

         


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Debut Contemporary Author Emma Cane Is Gayle Callen — With Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 05, 2012 | PERMALINK

What do we really know about new author Emma Cane, besides the fact that her debut contemporary, A Town Called Valentine, received 4 stars from RT BOOK REVIEWS? In the February issue, we dropped a tantalizing hint about the true identity behind this mysterious newcomer. Everyone has wondered which author has crossed romance genres — and now we’re finally free to reveal the answer .... Debut contemporary romance author Emma Cane is none other than beloved historical romance author Gayle Callen! And here to introduce the town behind her new series is Emma/Gayle herself and then be sure to check out how you can enter to win your own copy of her new contemporary romance.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
42COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST