RT Daily Blog

Spoiled: Tera Lynn Childs On Her Upcoming Fins Series Third Just For Fins

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 22, 2012 | PERMALINK

Spoiled shares a look at the books you can't wait to read, long before they hit stores. Today author Tera Lynn Childs gives RT readers a peek inside the third novel in her popular Fins series before the book hits stores in July. Get her take on what it's been like to watch heroine Lily grow up — and what readers can expect from Just For Fins!

***

I first met Lily Sanderson (aka Princess Waterlily of the mer kingdom of Thalassinia) on a beach in Naples, Florida, back in the summer of 2006. She was born of the idea that mermaids have the ability to bestow magical powers with a single kiss and wondering what would happen if a particular mermaid accidentally bestowed her magical first kiss on the wrong boy. Enter biker bad boy Quince Fletcher.

Right from the start, Lily and Quince had chemistry. Mostly because Lily was single-mindedly focus on her All Encompassing One True Love, Brody (who, coincidentally, barely knew she existed) and Quince loved to tease her about her crush … and just about any other topic he could. Of course we all know that he secretly had feelings for her, but couldn’t seem to get her attention away from Brody any other way.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cover Trend: Heroes And Heroines Keep It Casual

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 22, 2012 | PERMALINK

We've been spotting several less-than-dressed hotties on the fronts of recent releases. It seems that when the weather gets cold, our heroes and heroines strip down to their tank tops for cover appearances. We certainly don't fault these good looking men and women for ultilizing the right to bare arms, and showing off what their mama (and clearly, many hours at the gym) gave them. With inspiration in mind like this iconic shot of Battlestar Galactica's Apollo and Starbuck, we aren't surprised to be seeing so many tank topped characters.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview: Carly Phillips

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 21, 2012 | PERMALINK

Author Carly Phillips is known for her hot contemporary romances featuring strong male characters, especially the hunky heroes of her current Serendipity series. At the last RWA conference in New York City, the author sat down with RT's Morgan to talk about the unexpected places she gets her inspiration (like soap operas). Phillps also shared several tips for aspiring authors, including how to develop a strong support system. There's all this and more in this RT-exclusive video interview.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

On The Shelves Tuesday 2/20/2012

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 21, 2012 | PERMALINK

Here's a look at the titles we love that hit shelves this week.

Historical Romance

THE REVENGE OF LORD EBERLIN

"The strong plot and well-crafted characters envelop readers as the beauty of the romance sweeps them away."

SEDUCED BY THE SCOUNDREL

"Allen takes a shipwreck spying adventure with lots of sensuality and spins it into a page-turner."


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

If You Like ... You'll Love: Tempted Again by Cathie Linz

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 20, 2012 | PERMALINK

Looking to add a few books to your TBR pile? In our column "If You Like ... You'll Love" RT staffers and reviewers will pick one new read and then suggest three other books that hold the same appeal. Today we look at this month’s new release Tempted Again by Cathie Linz.

Author Cathie Linz has penned 57 novels since she began writing in 1982. She is best known for her series novels and, of course, her popular contemporary romance series, Girls Do (and Don’t). In her latest novel, Tempted Again, librarian Marissa Bennet has just returned to her small hometown of Hopeful, Ohio, only to discover that her old flame, Conner Doyle, has also come back. He’s now the town’s sheriff and he doesn’t even recognize Marissa … at first. Will working together on a community-building project help this couple find true love the second time around? The story, which received an RT rating of four stars, has RT’s Debbie saying, “This delightful contemporary romance will warm up a cold winter’s day. The characters that fill these pages are all memorable, the romance is touching and realistic and the love scenes are hot enough to melt snow — and your heart.”

 

Matching The Cop Hero ...

My Hero by Marianna Jameson is a terrific contemporary romance novel. And because the heroine is a romance author, we’ll be using some special terminology for this explanation. You’ll fall HoH (that’s head over heels) for Chas Casey, the sexy detective from Stamford, who is reluctantly letting romance author Miranda Lane do a tag-along. However, when Miranda’s research jeopardizes Chas’ career, it’s clear that what seemed like fun and games is actually incredibly serious. Will Miranda be able to write the HEA (that’s Happily Ever After) that she wants with Chas into their future? You’ll have to pick up your own copy of 2005’s My Hero to find out!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Giveaway Alert: Go Inside The RT Seal Of Excellence-Winning Story, Kristen Callihan's Firelight

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 20, 2012 | PERMALINK

Author Kristen Callihan set readers aflame with Firelight. This debut novel won this month’s Seal of Excellence, engulfing the competition. The RT editors were mesmerized by the story’s supernatural Victorian setting, we lost our hearts to the enigmatic (but oh-so-attractive) masked hero Lord Benjamin Archer and dreamed of becoming the beautiful heroine Miranda Ellis. So when we learned that one lucky reader has a chance to literally go inside of this world, we could not have been more excited.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
41COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Recommended Reads And Our Valentine's Week Giveaway

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 20, 2012 | PERMALINK

Today is the final day to win our Valentine’s Week giveaway. For the last week we’ve updated our recommended reads section with one year per day, starting with 2005. Now, we’re up to 2010! We’ve highlighting the greatest books and authors across all the genres to help you make sure that you got a chance to read all the highlights. And we also grew our giant Valentine’s Giveaway, a special prize-pack of books by selected authors from our Recommended Reads lists.

For the last day of our giveaway, we look back on 2010 which was a year of big changes. Several authors made big deals including million plus projects from Janet Evanovich, Debbie Macomber and James Patterson. Meanwhile other fan-favorite authors such as Allison Brennan, Anne Stuart and Meljean Brook started new series. And readers met several new talents who would quickly become beloved voices, including Sarah MacLean, Courtney Milan and Mary Robinette Kowal.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
26COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Forewords - The Books Before The Buzz

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 20, 2012 | PERMALINK

With our column, Forewords, we let readers know the latest book news about some of the web team's most-anticipated upcoming releases across the genres — just as the projects are announced!

NEW SERIES ALERT

Historical Romance - What if I Know What You Did Last Summer had been set in the Regency era? Readers will get a chance to find out when Manda Collins' upcoming series releases. The author's trilogy follows three widows who work together to shroud a duke’s death in mystery, but along the way each of these women unexpectedly find true love!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

The Booklover Community Says Goodbye To Author Judi McCoy

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 18, 2012 | PERMALINK

It is with great sadness that we report that author Judi McCoy has passed away.

For the past decade, Judi has been an integral part of the booklover community as an outstanding author, mentor and teacher.

Judi's writing career began in 2001 with her fantasy novel I Dream of You. Her debut was followed closely by paranormal romance novel You're the One. Judi continued to publish fun paranormals and in 2009 she moved into the mystery genre with Hounding the Pavement. This novel started her Dog Walker series featuring the delightful amateur sleuth heroine Ellie Engleman.

However, Judi was much more than just a dynamic writer, she was also a terrific friend and dedicated teacher. For many years, Judi spearheaded the pre-con writers' program before the RT Booklovers Convention. A patient and talented mentor, Judi's bright spirit will be greatly missed.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
9COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Weekly Web Wrap Up 2/17/2012

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 17, 2012 | PERMALINK

In celebration of Valentine's Day, we're hosting a weeklong giveaway where readers can win dozens of books that on our Recommended Reads pages. Additionally, four winners were chosen every day this week to win a $10 Samhain Publishing gift card! There's still time to enter the giveaway, so enter now!

Here's what else you may have missed on the RT website:

***

HISTORICAL ROMANCEMeredith Duran spoils readers with a look at her next novel. Take a Taste >>

SERIES ROMANCE: Get a glimpse of this month's Harlequin Historical Romances. Go Back In Time >>

YOUNG ADULT: We look at an up and coming YA trend. Teens In Space >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST