RT Daily Blog

2011 In Review On The RT BOOK REVIEWS Website

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 30, 2011 | PERMALINK

Usually we end the week on the RT Daily Blog with a round up of all of the most popular stories from the RT website during the past several days. However, this is no ordinary Friday. It is the last Friday of 2010, so we thought we’d do a roundup of the past year here on www.RTBOOKREVIEWS.com. Find out which blog posts you loved the best, which authors you want to know more about and which interviews you couldn’t get over in 2011.

***

Most Viewed Genres:

Romance (this is not a surprise since we include four subgenres within this category — historical romance, contemporary romance, series romance and romantic suspense)

Erotica

And tied closely for third are Paranormal and Young Adult

Most Popular Pages:

Upcoming Releases

RT Awards: Nominees and Winners

Top Picks


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

What's The Best Book Cover Of 2011? Take The Poll!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 30, 2011 | PERMALINK

We’ve whittled down our favorite book covers to just ten books, ten fantastic images that represent the story inside. But now we need your help, it’s up to you to decide which book cover is the very best of 2011. Take a look at our picks and then cast your vote in the poll at the end of the post!

Historical

No Proper Lady by Isabel Cooper

 

Series

Lord of the Wolfyn by Jessica Andersen

 

Paranormal/Urban Fantasy

Blood Rights by Kristen Painter

 

Erotica


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
17COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview: Ronie Kendig

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 30, 2011 | PERMALINK

At RT, we have always been impressed by author Ronie Kendig's skill at weaving elements of action and suspense into her inspirational tales. So when we met up with Ronie at the American Christian Fiction Writers conference earlier this year, we just had to speak with her about her gripping Discarded Heroes series. Watch the video to learn why the military plays such a big role in all of Kendig's stories, get a peek at the series ender, Firethorn, before it hits shelves early next week and then find out what you can expect from the author's upcoming series which will be released in Fall 2012!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Inspirational
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Trend Watch: Space Opera Revival In 2011

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 30, 2011 | PERMALINK

Dramatic, celestial adventures that often romanticize space, dubbed “space operas”, have been popular since the pulp stories were published in sci fi magazines, such as Amazing Stories and Astounding Science Fiction, in the early 20th century (author Jamie Rubin has a blog series revisiting Astounding Science Fiction, which you can learn about here). Popular in the early and mid twentieth century, space operas' heyday is generally considered the 1930s mainly because this is when E.E. "Doc" Smith published a short story that would become his Lensman series, which was runner up for a Hugo Award for best All-Time Series. And while there are dozens of sci fi plot lines that have become popular over time, traveling beyond the stars never seems to get old. In the past several years, space opera has seen a come back, with many authors putting their own spin on the classic space travel trope. 

Today we take a look at three 2011 titles that prove this subgenre is still alive and kicking:


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Science Fiction
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cheaper By The Dozen - This Week's Hot E-Book Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 29, 2011 | PERMALINK

One of our favorite features of the e-revolution is the sheer amount of books you can pack into such a tiny digital device. But what do you do when the growing number of new reads causes your wallet to shrink uncomfortably? Shop the e-book deals, of course! In this column we highlight some of our favorite book buys that will cost you less than a medium-sized coffee. 

Historical Romance

Noble Intentions by Katie MacAlister

Buy For $.99 >>

 

Contemporary Romance

True North by Marie Force

Get It For Free >>

 

Young Adult

First Frost by Jennifer Estep

Buy For $.89 >>

         


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Jaime Rush On What Lies Beyond The Darkness — With Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 29, 2011 | PERMALINK

Jaime Rush’s Offspring series features a group of supernatural characters that work to control their powers while evading the government. In the newest release, Beyond the Darkness, shapeshifting hero Cheveyo must find a peaceful way to protect the Offspring from extraterrestrials that want the group's coveted abilities. But when one of the Offspring, Petra, is captured, all bets are off. Today, Jamie Rush reveals how she developed the unique creatures in her Offspring series — and gives readers a chance to win the series first, A Perfect Darkness!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
18COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Books Adaptations: The 2012 Films We Want To Watch

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 29, 2011 | PERMALINK

As 2011 wraps up, we are looking towards the new year for great new projects. And we are happy to announce that 2012 will have no shortage of fantastic film adaptations of some of our favorite reads. From the serious fiction classics to new reads that make the most out of popular trends, we’re anticipating that 2012 will be the year that we simply invest in season tickets for our local movie theater because we plan on being there so frequently. 

Today we’re taking a look at the films coming down the pipe, and we can’t wait for the opening day of two pieces of literature that many of the RT editors read in school. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Morgan And Whitney Dish: Katie MacAlister's It’s All Greek To Me

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 28, 2011 | PERMALINK

What do you get when you cross a Greek playboy, an opinionated author-turned-band manager named Eglantine and a secluded island paradise? It’s All Greek To Me by Katie MacAlister.

Morgan: You know those stories that are super realistic? With characters that you recognize from your everyday life? This is not one of those books.

Whitney: Yeah, the folks in It’s All Greek To Me are living the good life. 

Morgan: Hero Iakovos Papaioannou (and isn’t that a mouthful?) is a captain of industry. He’s making business deals with all of the most important people in the world, he’s so handsome he could be a model and, oh yeah, he is the world’s fifth most eligible bachelor. 

Whitney: And let’s not forget that he is, in the words of heroine Eglantine, “a gazzilionare”.

Morgan: The heroine, who goes by “Harry” (which is understandable because, really, who wants to be known as Eglantine), has it pretty cozy as well. She’s a bestselling author and because she can work from anywhere, an impromptu trip to Greece in order to act as a manager for a teen band is all in a day’s work for her.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

The Wandering Eye: Romance Characters Who Commit Adultery

BY Dawn Crowne, DECEMBER 28, 2011 | PERMALINK

The first romance I ever remember reading with a cheating heroine/hero was Jane Eyre. While plain, oh-so-shy Jane was falling in love with Rochester, he was hiding a deep, dark secret in the attic. His wife. Many readers are able to overlook the fact that Rochester was a cheater, and almost bigamist, but I just couldn’t stop thinking about how unfair this situation was to his wife. After all, we only know his side of it. Rochester said she was crazy, but perhaps she was just mad because she was imprisoned while her husband went after a younger woman. And in the end, Jane and Rochester get their happily ever after and Bertha gets killed in a fire.

When I later transitioned to reading modern romance novels, I realized that a cheating hero was pretty much par for the course, especially for books set in the Regency when many men kept mistresses. Readers see it again and again in books like Private Arrangements by Sherry Thomas, The Marriage Bed by Laura Lee Guhrke, Your Wicked Ways by Eloisa James, Prince of Dreams by Lisa Kleypas, and many, many others. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica, Romance
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Hot Heroes With Great Hands: Carla Cassidy On Tool Belt Defender — With Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 28, 2011 | PERMALINK

Women certainly love men who are good with their hands. At least this is true of the heroine in Carla Cassidy's latest Lawmen of Black Rock novel, Tool Belt Defender. Brittany Grayson didn't know she'd be getting more than a carpenter when she hired hunky Alex Crawford, but she's certainly not complaining about it. Today, the author shares an insider's look at her new suspense-filled series romance and chats about her inspiration for this story — her own handyman husband. And don't miss your chance to win your own copy of Tool Belt Defender at the end of this post!

Every heroine wants a hot, handsome hero in her bed and there’s nothing wrong with that, but how capable is that hero when he crawls out from under the sheets? 

When I started writing Tool Belt Defender, I knew I didn’t want my hero to be a cop or a military man. I wanted more of an ordinary man. Oh, he definitely had to be hot and a man with great hands…hands that could accomplish things besides caress the heroine with sweet seduction. My hero, Alex Crawford is handsome, sexy and a carpenter. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
46COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST