RT Daily Blog

Forewords - The Books Before The Buzz

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 06, 2012 | PERMALINK

With our column, Forewords, we let readers know the latest book news about some of the web team's most-anticipated upcoming releases across the genres — just as the projects are announced!

NEW SERIES ALERT

Paranormal Romance - Do you like your supernatural stories with a helping of vampires? If so, you will want to check out Cindy Gregory’s next series. Writing under the pen name Ashlyn Chase, the author will be bringing readers light paranormal books beginning with Flirting With Fangs. During the series, different groups of supernatural creatures will all come together at a Boston bar — and mix with the mortals who also frequent the establishment. Get ready for several happily ever afters that will last longer than the average human lifespan.

Mystery - Angela Burt-Murray embarks on a new series of thrillers. Her Diva mysteries will be based in part on the time that the author spent working at Essence, as the entertainment journalist heroine attempts to find professional success and unmask a criminal or two along the way.

RETURNING FAVORITE SERIES


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Weekly Web Wrap Up 2/3/2012

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 03, 2012 | PERMALINK

Did you spend the whole week taking care of The Detective's Accidental Baby?

Here's what you missed on the RT website:

***

HISTORICAL ROMANCE: Like Lorainne Heath's latest? Then You'll Love These Three Books >>

YOUNG ADULT: Simone Elkeles' shares details about her new Fullriders series. Get A Sneak Peek >>

PARANORMALLooking for fantastic post-apocalyptic reads? Here Are Our Favorites >>

MAINSTREAM: Discover what's big in mainstream fiction this month. Don't Miss These Books >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Extended Review: Christina Courtenay's Highland Storms

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 03, 2012 | PERMALINK

RT Reviewer Maria Planansky is such a fan of Christina Courtenay's historical romance Highland Storms,  that she wants to share exactly what makes this tale a standout read. 

I hate starting in the middle of a series. In fact, I almost never do it — so when I found out Highland Storms was a sequel to Christina Courtenay’s acclaimed novel Trade Winds (confession: I hadn’t read it before taking on Highland Storms), I was floored.

My reaction comes from Highland Storm’s strength. This killer Scottish romance is seeped in fascinating history, with plenty of chemistry and action to go around. Brice Kinross and Marsaili Buchanan are a devoted couple with passion that simmers into a slow, satisfying boil.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

If You Like ... You'll Love: She Tempts the Duke by Lorraine Heath

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 03, 2012 | PERMALINK

Looking to add a few books to your TBR pile? In our column "If You Like ... You'll Love" RT staffers and reviewers will pick one new read and then suggest three other books that hold the same appeal. Today we look at this newest historical romance from Lorraine Heath.

Romance author Lorraine Heath has been crafting stories that sweep readers off their feet since the early 1990s. Since then she has written more than thirty romances set during the contemporary and historical time periods. However, the author is undoubtly best known for her historical tales of love and laughter. With an impressive nineteen RT Top Picks, 10 RT Reviewers' Choice award nominations (and two wins) under her belt, it's no surprise that she has been nominated for seven RT Career Achievement awards and won the award for the Americana Historical Romance category in 1996. It's a rare romance reader who doesn't have at least one Heath novel on their "keeper" shelf.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

From Page To Screen: Upcoming Film and TV Adaptations

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 02, 2012 | PERMALINK

Readers who also love to go to the movies or curl up in front of the TV have several reasons to cheer. This winter has been overflowing with news about upcoming projects that will adapt favorite reads into movies and TV shows — and in one case, the process will go in the opposite direction. Find out which of these adaptations are making our TBS (To Be Seen) List and find out which rumored deal has us anxious for more news!

FILM ADAPTATIONS

29 by Adena Halpern

This mainstream novel hit stores in the summer of 2010 and immediately became one of the season’s hottest accessories. The tale of a widow who wishes to be twenty-nine again for one day — and gets her wish — was rated an RT Top Pick! and it was nominated for that month’s RT Seal of Excellence. 29 remains one of RT’s Morgan’s favorite mainstream tales because of how it starts with a fun premise but then delves into some emotionally intense territory about relationships and aging. She suggests that you pick up a copy before you head to see the film that is set to be adapted by the same team that came up with the smash hit Legally Blonde!

The Author Opens Up About Her Inspiration >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cheaper By The Dozen - This Week's Hot E-Book Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 02, 2012 | PERMALINK

One of our favorite features of the e-revolution is the sheer amount of books you can pack into such a tiny digital device. But what do you do when the growing number of new reads causes your wallet to shrink uncomfortably? Shop the e-book deals, of course! In this column we highlight some of our favorite book buys that will cost you less than a medium-sized coffee. 

Historical Romance

The Wary Widow by Jerrica Knight-Cataniar

Get It For Free >>

 

Contemporary Romance

A Previous Engagement by Stephanie Haddad

Get It For Free >>

 

Young Adult

Chosen by Sarah Swan

Get It For Free >>

         


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Morgan And Whitney Dish: Carla Neggers' Secrets Of The Lost Summer

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 01, 2012 | PERMALINK

This week Morgan and Whitney are Dishing about contemporary romance novel Secrets of the Lost Summer, which earned Carla Neggers a Top Pick! review. The story is about Olivia Frost a graphic designer who has come to a crossroads in her life. Tired of the big city life in Boston, she returns to her hometown of Knights Bridge where she hopes to open a Bed and Breakfast. But when a short note to an absentee home owner brings ex-hockey star Dylan McCaffrey to Olivia’s doorstep, she is not sure if she can juggle her growing feelings for him as well as the stresses of starting her life over.

Morgan: As soon as I found out this book was set near Boston, I got excited because while I haven’t visited the area a lot, I know that this is near where you grew up.

Whitney: I was raised not too far from Boston and have to say, this novel certainly captured the essence of the city and Massachusetts’ rural areas, too.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
4COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Five Questions For Paranormal Author Cynthia Garner About Kiss Of The Vampire

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 01, 2012 | PERMALINK

Paranormal romance author Sherrill Quinn dons the penname Cynthia Garner for her new series, Warriors of the Rift. For the first book, this month's Kiss of the Vampire, Garner puts a great spin on paranormal tales by adding a science fiction-like element to the story in the form of noncorporeal beings that come to earth. As the tension between races rise, and the story introduces readers to an unusual half-demon, crime-fighting heroine, we went straight to the author for insider details about her latest release.

***

Kiss of the Vampire is the book that launches your Warriors of the Rift series. This paranormal series has all of the usual suspects — vampires, demons and ... aliens. Can you tell us a bit about adding this science fiction element into the stories?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

What’s The Best Book Cover Of The Month? Take The Poll!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 01, 2012 | PERMALINK

We had fun culling through all the covers of this month's new releases to pick our ten favorites. But which cover will you vote as the very best? Last month you chose the urban fantasy series starter Demon Lover by Juliet Dark. Will another paranormal tale win this month or has one of our other choices caught your fancy? Take a look at our top ten covers of February 2012 and then cast your vote in the poll at the end of the post!



Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Jennifer Haymore On Historical Romance And Her New Release!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 31, 2012 | PERMALINK

Author Jennifer Haymore has only been on the scene for a few short years, since the publication of 2009's A Hint of Wicked, but she's already made a name for herself as one of the new faces of historical romance. RT's Morgan spoke with the author about how Haymore's loving spouse helps her write (by always trying to fit swordplay into her stories), why she loves to tell tales that involve sacrifice and what makes her latest novel the most "different" romance she has ever written. It's not just the heroine that makes Secrets of an Accidental Duchess stand out; this story is culled from Haymore's own personal experiences. Today, get all the details about this unusual historical romance and find out exactly why this novel is on our must-read list. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST