RT Daily Blog

On The Shelves Tuesday 7/12/2011

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 12, 2011 | PERMALINK

Here's a look at the titles we love that hit shelves this week.

Historical Romance

THE SECRET MISTRESS

"A grand mistress of Regency romance, Balogh always gifts readers with delightful, enthralling love stories layered with depth, humor, emotional intensity, grand passion and just a touch of the unconventional."


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Author Interview With Eve Edwards — And Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 12, 2011 | PERMALINK

Author Eve Edwards shares an insider's look at her new novel, The Other Countess, in this author interview. Find out what it was like to create this historical series starter, what you can expect to find in the next installment of the series — and how to win your own SIGNED copy of this new release!

RT BOOK REVIEWS: From the back cover of The Other Countess, readers know that Ellie is beautiful, penniless, and feisty. But which three traits would Ellie use to describe herself? 

Eve Edwards: She would definitely include “penniless”—this weighs heavily on her mind. “At her wits end” (with her gold-mad father), and mercifully “still with a sense of humour” despite the first two.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

We Announce RT's Seal of Excellence Award-Winning Book For The Month Of July!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 11, 2011 | PERMALINK

Each month RT Book Reviews’ editors select one book that is not only compelling but pushes the boundaries of genre fiction and stands out from the more than 250 books reviewed in its latest issue and online. 

“Because of the sheer number of books we review each month in RT Book Reviews we have a unique perspective on which one is destined for the keeper shelf and therefore deserves our Seal of Excellence,” says Carol Stacy, Publisher and Internet Director. “It is our intention to share this gem with readers and draw attention to a fantastic book they might not otherwise pick up.“


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Mystery Month: Five Authors Reveal Their Favorite Death Scenes

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 11, 2011 | PERMALINK

At Thrillerfest 2011 we surrounded ourselves with mystery, suspense and thriller authors. And with so much murder-minded talent in attendance, we took a few minutes to ask five of our favorite authors about the most unique ways they have ever killed off a character.

Legendary author Margaret Atwood’s most memorable death actually takes place off of the page. She quotes the opening sentence from her 2001 novel The Blind Assassin for the death scene she likes the best. “Ten days after the war ended, my sister Laura drove a car off a bridge.” 

RT Managing Editor Liz French and Author Margaret Atwood

Two death scenes came to Michael Palmer’s mind. The first was from The Sisterhood where he says, “I defibulated a character with paddles on the side of their head.” Then in The Second Opinion there was a wheelchair loaded with sharps which was “wheeled toward a victim chained to an MRI machine.” Gruesome!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Author Interview: Mary Balogh Talks About The Secret Mistress and what's coming next!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 11, 2011 | PERMALINK

Beloved author Mary Balogh writes sweeping Regency Romances that feature stories about all aspects of life during the era. This month, the author is treating readers to a prequel to one of her most popular series, the Mistress books, with this story about the sister of the original Mistress heroes, Angeline, and the man who wins her heart. Get all the details about The Secret Mistress and then don't miss your chance to find out what's coming next from this talented historical romance author.

RT BOOK REVIEWS: With this July’s The Secret Mistress you give your popular Mistress series a prequel, what prompted you to go back to the beginning?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Forewords - The Books Before The Buzz

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 11, 2011 | PERMALINK

With our column, Forewords, we let readers know the latest book news about some of the web team's most-anticipated upcoming releases across the genres — just as the projects are announced!

AUTO-BUY AUTHORS

Suspense - The incredibly talented Faye Kellerman has just announced her next novel will be published in 2012. While there is no word yet on the currently untitled work, with her newest release readers are sure to get a realistic crime drama that goes beyond just procedure and into the relationships that led to the crime. 

Mainstream Fiction - With more than a dozen bestselling titles to her credit, there is no end in sight for the wonderfully touching novels from Barbara Delinsky. The author just announced that she will be releasing two new novels with her new publisher St. Martin’s Press.

RETURNING SERIES

Thriller - Following up his hit novel One Rough Man, NYT bestselling author Brad Taylor will continue to draw from his personal experiences in the military for his next two novels in his Pike Logan series. Release dates TBA. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Weekly Web Wrap Up 7/8/2011

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 08, 2011 | PERMALINK

Did you spend your whole week enjoying a Dance of Temptation?

Here’s what you missed on the RT Website!

***

MYSTERY MONTH

We find out which mystery still has Harlan Coben scared. Read The Mini Interview >>

Go inside the CIA at Thrillerfest 2011. Take A Look  >>

Enter to win a 5 book prize pack of new mystery novels. Try Your Luck >>

***

HISTORICAL ROMANCE: Kaki Warner talks about her new series starter. Head To The Old West >>

PARANORMAL: Carrie Vaughn shares a look at her popular Kitty series and beyond. Watch The Video Interview >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview: Meg Cabot

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 08, 2011 | PERMALINK

Author Meg Cabot became a household name with the success of her Princess Diaries series. However this prolific author writes for an audience of ages "eight to eighty," says Cabot, with different series across the genres such as her Allie Finkle series for pre-teens, and her paranormal series for adults. This month Cabot is continuing that series with Overbite, the follow-up to last summer's popular Insatiable. Today the author chats with RT's Morgan Doremus about her writing style, shares a special look at her demon hunting heroine, Meena, and talks about the challenges Meena faces dating a vampire. Get a behind the scenes glimpse of all that's going on in the author's world in this hilarious video interview.

Meg Cabot On Her Artistic Voice And Latest Series! >>

More From The RT BOOK REVIEWS Video Channel >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

NBC's Parks And Recreation TV Series To Get A Spinoff Book

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 08, 2011 | PERMALINK

Fans of NBC's Parks and Recreation get ready because the television production giant has teamed up with Hyperion Books to create Pawnee: The Greatest Town in America.

Unlike some of the other books that this team has created based on popular series, such as Monk and more recently Royal Pains, this book will not be a novel. Instead, Pawnee is a collection that brings together different moments in the town's unique and often colorful history.

Pawnee: The Greatest Town in America will be penned by Leslie Knope, the main character of the show, played by comedian Amy Poehler. We could not think of anyone better suited to tell the story of this screwball town than one of its most beloved public servants.

Learn More >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cheaper by the Dozen: This Week's Hot E-Book Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 07, 2011 | PERMALINK

One of our favorite features of the e-revolution is the sheer amount of books you can pack into such a tiny digital device. But what do you do when the growing number of new reads causes your wallet to shrink uncomfortably? Shop the e-book deals, of course! In our new column we highlight some of our favorite book buys that will cost you less than a medium-sized coffee.

Historical Romance

Tempting the Knight by Annette McCleave

Buy For $.99 >>

 

Contemporary Romance

Kissing Kelli by Kathy Carmichael

Buy For $.99 >>

 

Young Adult

Retro Demonology by Jana Oliver

Get It For Free >>

     

Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST