RT Daily Blog

Behind The Scenes: We Interview The Authors Of The Ballroom Blog

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 30, 2011 | PERMALINK

Regency romance readers, have we got a treat for you! Today we have a behind the scenes look at one of the newest (and most fun) sites for genre fans, The Ballroom Blog. The six talented authors who contribute to the blog, Gaelen FoleyKatharine AsheMiranda NevilleSabrina DarbySarah MacLean and Tessa Dare, are each incredibly skilled at bringing the bygone era to life in their writing. In homage to the period that inspires them, and a nod to Almacks (where all the best members of the ton could be found), these authors recently launched The Ballroom Blog with hostess Lady Heliotrope Beaufetheringstone (pictured on the left with her pet parrot, Albert). Today all seven ladies, and the bird, visit RT.

***


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Forewords - The Books Before The Buzz

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 29, 2011 | PERMALINK

With our column, Forewords, we let readers know the latest book news about some of the web team's most-anticipated upcoming releases across the genres — just as the projects are announced!

AUTO-BUY AUTHORS 

Contemporary Romance - Bestselling author Lori Foster is embarking on a new series. This author has already penned several books that live on the RT web team members’ keeper shelves — and we can't wait for more!

Young Adult - Melissa Marr and Tim Pratt will curate a collection of classic tales that are re-told as short stories in a new anthology titled Rags & Bones. Authors contributing to the project include Neil Gaiman, Kelley Armstrong, Lev Grossman and Carrie Ryan. Genre fans should expect to see Rags & Bones in stores in Fall 2013.

NEW SERIES ALERT


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Weekly Web Wrap Up 8/26/2011

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 26, 2011 | PERMALINK

Did you spend your whole week with Mr. Right There All Along

Here's what you missed on the RT website. 

***

HISTORICAL ROMANCE: Who chats about the couple in her new historical fiction? Find Out >>

CONTEMPORARY ROMANCE: We get exclusive details about Inez Kelley's latest. Check It Out >>

EROTICA: The novella "Management Skills" is this week's featured Steamy Short. Read The Review >>

PARANORMAL: It's Showalter's Delfina vs. Carroll's Wonderland. Morgan Breaks It Down >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

The Hidden Depths Of Rachel Kramer Bussel

BY Morgan Doremus, AUGUST 26, 2011 | PERMALINK

At first glance, Rachel Kramer Bussel doesn’t look like the kind of person that would stand up in front of an audience and talk dirty. That’s not to say that I am an expert at identifying erotica authors, but surely this petite brunette cannot have said what I thought she just said. But there Bussel stood, under the dimmed red lights of Fontana’s Bar in NYC’s Bowery district, freely discussing topics most people would term "not suitable for polite company". Dropping explicit euphemisms for male genitalia and casually outlining sex acts, Bussel’s outlandish language sent not one, but two cocktail waitresses into hiding in the back room.

But whether it was hearing this “nice girl” drop the c-word or just the generally jovial atmosphere, the audience was held spellbound by the unconventional author. And for her part, Bussel looked very comfortable as the center of attention. But then again, she has experience at this type of thing. For the past six years she has hosted the monthly In The Flesh Erotic Reading Series which brings together an eclectic mix of erotic authors, fans and curious onlookers to listen to everything from “erotic poetry to down and dirty smut”. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Christine Feehan's Who's The Heroine Contest - Clue #2

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 26, 2011 | PERMALINK

Paranormal author and fan favorite Christine Feehan has kept readers in the dark about the heroine of her newest Dark novel, Dark Predator. In order to celebrate the release of this latest book, the author is inviting readers to work through a series of clues hosted on various websites to guess the lifemate of the ancient Carpathian Zacarias. To keep fans guessing, only a limited excerpt from the book has been released and no advance review copies of the book have been mailed. But this heroine who remains shrouded in mystery is about to get her big reveal. Yesterday fans visiting Feehan's website learned that Zacarias' lifemate has long, dark hair. And now for the second clue: 

Want to make your guess for who the heroine is? You can on September 5th when the contest form is posted on The FAN site. One lucky winner will be randomly selected from the pool of correct answers to win a signed copy of Dark Predator, a “Feehanista Carpathian” T-Shirt, and a basket of Christine Feehan goodies.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Morgan & Whitney Dish: The Fifth Kingdom By Caridad Pineiro

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 25, 2011 | PERMALINK

This is the first e-book that we have Dished about and it's a good one. Caridad Pineiro’s The Fifth Kingdom is a fast-moving romantic suspense that had the RT reviewer raving, "This story is an Indiana Jones-style thrill ride".

Morgan: I think the first thing that struck me about this book is that it is really easy to read. I opened it on my iPad and before I knew it, I was halfway done.

Whitney: Agreed, it was so easy to devour! I think that in part this has to do with the fact that the story very naturally moves itself along. The heroine’s estranged mother, archaeologist Dr. Miranda Adams, has been searching for Montezuma’s tomb for the past fourteen years. When she locates it, she’s captured by a Mexican gang, Primera Mexica, that is determined to use her find for their own (nefarious!) ends. 


Read More>>

Tags: Romantic Suspense, RT Daily Blog
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Writing With The Stars To Be Postponed Until 2012

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 25, 2011 | PERMALINK

RT and Kensington have agreed to postpone the Writing With the Stars competition until next year. The novella format required for submission has created some confusion for contestants and now it is simply too late for us to follow through with our schedule to be able to announce the winner by the RT convention in April. We thank all of you who did submit and Kensington will be in touch with you shortly to express their regrets and also to offer contracts to those they feel would have made the cut in competition finale. The competition will resume next year with some exciting news from Kensington.

As always, writers looking to hone their craft can head to our Aspiring Authors Page for tips, tricks and resources!


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cheaper By The Dozen - This Week's Hot E-book Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 25, 2011 | PERMALINK

One of our favorite features of the e-revolution is the sheer amount of books you can pack into such a tiny digital device. But what do you do when the growing number of new reads causes your wallet to shrink uncomfortably? Shop the e-book deals, of course! In our new column we highlight some of our favorite book buys that will cost you less than a medium-sized coffee.

Historical Romance

Photographs and Phantoms by Cindy Spencer Pape

Get It For Free >>

 

Contemporary Romance

A Family Affair by Mary Campisi

Buy For $.99 >>

 

Young Adult

The Middle Passage by Julia Golding

Get It For Free >>

         


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Kindle Singles To Recruit New Talent For Original Works

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 24, 2011 | PERMALINK

Not every piece of writing is destined to be a full-length novel. With this in mind, the editors at Amazon have devised a way to make it easier for aspiring authors, and previously published ones, to get their short pieces of writing into the hands of readers. The digital masterminds behind the Kindle e-reader have developed an imprint for short story and novella-length original works — Kindle Singles.

Kindle Singles aims to open up publishing to anyone looking to release their abbreviated writing. The line's motto is "Compelling Ideas Expressed at Their Natural Length" and they cap the length of submissions that they accept at between 5,000 and 30,000 words. The editors are also looking to acquire new writing in any genre of fiction or non-fiction, excluding children’s books, reference, travel guides, how-to manuals and anything in the public domain. Additionally, authors must be open to having list prices between $0.99 and $4.99 per "Single". Submissions must be original, self-contained (not chapters from a longer piece) and must not be digitally published anywhere else in their entirety.


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog
7COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Behind The Scenes Of Fantasy Author Richard Knaak's Upcoming Series

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 24, 2011 | PERMALINK

Today graphic novel author and RT BOOK REVIEWS columnist Anne Elizabeth sits down with fantasy author Richard A. Knaak. In this author or author interview, Anne Elizabeth gets all the details about Knaak's new series, Knight in Shadow. Dragon Mound will be in stores this October but today you can get a special look at the adventure ahead!

"You never know what you can do unless you try," said bestselling science fiction/fantasy author Richard A. Knaak as he shared news of his upcoming series releasing in October through Sea Lion Books LLC. This is a trilogy and following October's novel, there will be two additional books, Wake of the Wyrm and The Twilight Throne, to complete the series. Though straight fiction is a little off my usual comic-book venue, the opportunity to chat with this innovative author who wrote such acclaimed series as The Age of Conan, The Dragonrealm, and several WarCraft books had to be explored. For RT BOOK REVIEWS readers, he opened up about his newest novel ...


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Science Fiction
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST