RT Daily Blog

Inside The Issue: December 2011

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 10, 2011 | PERMALINK

The December issue of RT BOOK REVIEWS will be in stores soon and here are some of the stories you can look forward to this issue...

We celebrate love with our special romance issue! You can get the details about Christina Skye's latest contemporary romance, A Home by the Sea. We also take a look at how romance continues to thrive in the changing publishing industry. Author Hope Tarr chats with the incomparable Julia Quinn in a special interview. And, we've created a Romance-O-Meter to help you track some of your favorite authors' genre-hopping journeys. Plus, don't miss this issue's Teen Scene, where Jennifer Estep gets us ready for heading back to school for her Mythos Academy series second!

There's all this and more between the pages of the December 2011 issue of RT BOOK REVIEWS. You can also SUBSCRIBE NOW and get access to RT's Bonus Content coming next week. Until then, here's a sneak peak at the December issue's Table of Contents!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Paranormal Month: Bring Your Favorite Fictional Character To Life — With Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 10, 2011 | PERMALINK

There's no denying it, Halloween is right around the corner — and costume planning is heavily underway here are RT. So as gear up for one of the web team's favorite holidays, here is a peek at the costumes we are planning that were inspired by some of our favorite fictional characters. 

RT's Whitney says, "I'm looking forward to creating my own mash-up this season, vampire Scarlet O'Hara. Hello hoop skirt, hello obligatory parasol, hello vampire fangs. I can't wait to take this year's costume out onto the streets of New York City!"

RT's Elisa also plans to be kicking it old school but in a very different way. "I am going to be dressing up as Cthulu, the mythical being that's like a cross between a dragon, Godzilla and an octopus. I think the best explanation for him is that he's basically the scariest creature around. He's got wings, killer talons and some seriously crazy face-tentacles. To bring this monster to life, I'm dying a mop head green and wearing it around my face. Add to that some all green clothes and giant rubber wings and I'm set. People will know who I am ... in the right circles." 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
14COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Weekly Web Wrap Up 10/7/2011

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 07, 2011 | PERMALINK

Did you spend your whole week longing for a Rodeo Daddy

Here’s what you missed on the RT Website.

***

PARANORMAL MONTH COVERAGE 

Find out what's ahead for Paranormal Month and how to win our prize pack! Get The Scoop >>

RT's Whitney chats with Katie McAlister about her upcoming vampire book and more. Read The Q&A >>

Get an exclusive first look at Alexis Morgan's upcoming series starter. We Spoil You With The Details >> 

Find out why you should check out Carrie Vaughn's free e-short. It's A Swashbuckler! >>

Erin Quinn gets personal with a behind-the-scenes look at Haunting Embrace. Check It Out >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Morgan And Whitney Dish: Bad Boys Do By Victoria Dahl

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 07, 2011 | PERMALINK

Last month, Morgan and Whitney Dished about Victoria Dahl’s contemporary romance series starter Good Girls Don't. They are back this week for series second Bad Boys Do. For this installment, readers return to the Donovan Brother’s Brewery to see if the family’s black sheep, Jamie, will be able to find his happily ever after. 

Morgan: I will admit I went into this book ready to dislike Jamie Donovan. In Good Girls Don’t, he’s described as such a player — I mean, he ruined his brother’s business deal by sleeping with the client! That kind of behavior is a huge turn-off for me.

Whitney: You know, I felt the same when I started this story, but Dahl totally turns the situation around for me. 

Morgan: By illustrating the motivations behind Jamie’s past bad behavior, the author does a great job of making him a multi-dimensional character. 

Whitney: It’s great how Dahl shows both sides of him — he is both a fun loving, kind-of ladies’ man and a dedicated business owner. And while Jamie’s passion for the family run brewery comes through, I admit I am most interested in his charm! 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

The October 2011 RT Seal Of Excellence Winner Is ...

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 07, 2011 | PERMALINK

Each month RT Book Reviews’ editors award the RT Seal of Excellence to one book that is not only compelling, but stands out from the more than 250 books reviewed in its latest issue and online.

So which novel won the October 2011 RT Seal of Excellence and what other titles were contenders for the Seal this month?

Here's your hint: Readers will meet a hunky vet and several adorable animals in this smalltown contemporary romance!

Find Out Now >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Snapshot: What We're Reading, Researching, And Ready For

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 07, 2011 | PERMALINK

In last week's Snapshot post RT's Morgan was diving into the Chase Brother series by author Lauren Dane, so this week we found out asked the author what she's currently reading, researching and ready to get her hands on.

Lauren Dane is ...

READING ...

 Enigma

The Shining
by Stephen King

The tension in this book is brilliant. Watching Jack's sanity disintegrate as he fights is very powerful and super scary!

 

RESEARCHING ...


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Author Interview: Delphine Dryden On 'The Lamplighter's Love'

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 07, 2011 | PERMALINK

Delphine Dryden's latest tale, "The Lamplighter's Love", has RT's Dawn Crowne raving, "This novella is steampunk erotica at its best!" What inspired the story that has heroine Mary Cross monitoring the steam engines that keep Victorian England running? Delphine Dryden answers our questions in this exclusive author interview.

***

For such a short story, there is certainly a lot happening in “The Lamplighter’s Love”. There are steampunk mechanisms, a historical setting, a power driven villain and the blossoming love affair between your main characters Mary and Nicholas. When you were first pitching this story to your editor, how did you explain it?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Free E-Read: Carrie Vaughn's The Nymph's Child

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 06, 2011 | PERMALINK

Readers searching for a compelling short fantasy story with a touch of romance should look no further than Carrie Vaughn's short story "The Nymph's Child." This e-read is currently hosted for free at Fantasy Magazine.

Vaughn has made a name for herself with her long-running urban fantasy series about heroine Kitty Norville — most recently featured in the anthology Kitty's Greatest Hits. However, "The Nymph's Child" reads much more like the author's April release, After the Golden Age. While there aren't superheroes in this story, "The Nymph's Child" certainly has several unexpected heroes. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, Science Fiction
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Spoiled: An Exclusive First Look At Alexis Morgan's Newest Series River of the Damned

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 05, 2011 | PERMALINK

We were so excited to learn that fan favorite Alexis Morgan has a new series releasing next year that we immediately contacted the author. RT wanted to be the first to bring readers information about the fantasy/romance series River of the Damned along with a peek at the series starter, My Lady Mage, set to hit shelves next summer.

***

First, we've got to ask, is this a Paladin series spin-off or are you embarking on an all-new adventure?

This is a whole new adventure for me, one I’m really excited about. River of the Damned will be my first fantasy romance series, something I’ve wanted to do for a long time. The first story in the series, My Lady Mage, will be released by Signet Eclipse in July 2012.  

My Lady Mage features a woman who can wake the damned, that's a pretty crazy power. Can you share a hint about how she controls it?

Lady Merewen’s family lands are under attack. Desperate to save her people and the horses that she loves, she invokes an ancient spell. At the edge of the river, she calls on the gods for help, asking that they send the Damned, five ancient warriors, to defend her people. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, Science Fiction
7COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Publishing Dealmaking - An Insiders Look At Which Books Are Selling

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 05, 2011 | PERMALINK

Today US Publishers Marketplace released its semi-annual look at the state of dealmaking. This is a recap of what books publishers are buying and how much these deals are worth. To compile these numbers, Publishers Marketplace looked at the deals that were reported by authors and publishers from the month of September from the years 2007 to the present. This report is a true insider's look into publishing because while there are several sources for reader buying habits, Publishers Marketplace goes behind the scenes to look at the deals made before the readers are ever involved. By looking at these statistics we can see trends not just today, but because these deals often are made for the years ahead, we are getting a glimpse into publishing’s future.

So what can we learn? First, the publishing “recession” that hit in 2009 is over. That’s right. Just as the US economy took a huge hit in ‘09, so did the publishing industry. During this year, publishers made many fewer deals and paid much less for the books, which means less risks were taken. So while readers are still feeling the pinch of this dip in sales, thankfully there has been a significant increase is the volume of books publishers are currently buying. In fact, deal volume has grown by 10.5% over the last year.

US Publishers Marketplace Deals For The Month of September


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST