RT Daily Blog

Morgan And Whitney Dish: Bad Boys Do By Victoria Dahl

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 07, 2011 | PERMALINK

Last month, Morgan and Whitney Dished about Victoria Dahl’s contemporary romance series starter Good Girls Don't. They are back this week for series second Bad Boys Do. For this installment, readers return to the Donovan Brother’s Brewery to see if the family’s black sheep, Jamie, will be able to find his happily ever after. 

Morgan: I will admit I went into this book ready to dislike Jamie Donovan. In Good Girls Don’t, he’s described as such a player — I mean, he ruined his brother’s business deal by sleeping with the client! That kind of behavior is a huge turn-off for me.

Whitney: You know, I felt the same when I started this story, but Dahl totally turns the situation around for me. 

Morgan: By illustrating the motivations behind Jamie’s past bad behavior, the author does a great job of making him a multi-dimensional character. 

Whitney: It’s great how Dahl shows both sides of him — he is both a fun loving, kind-of ladies’ man and a dedicated business owner. And while Jamie’s passion for the family run brewery comes through, I admit I am most interested in his charm! 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

The October 2011 RT Seal Of Excellence Winner Is ...

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 07, 2011 | PERMALINK

Each month RT Book Reviews’ editors award the RT Seal of Excellence to one book that is not only compelling, but stands out from the more than 250 books reviewed in its latest issue and online.

So which novel won the October 2011 RT Seal of Excellence and what other titles were contenders for the Seal this month?

Here's your hint: Readers will meet a hunky vet and several adorable animals in this smalltown contemporary romance!

Find Out Now >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Snapshot: What We're Reading, Researching, And Ready For

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 07, 2011 | PERMALINK

In last week's Snapshot post RT's Morgan was diving into the Chase Brother series by author Lauren Dane, so this week we found out asked the author what she's currently reading, researching and ready to get her hands on.

Lauren Dane is ...

READING ...

 Enigma

The Shining
by Stephen King

The tension in this book is brilliant. Watching Jack's sanity disintegrate as he fights is very powerful and super scary!

 

RESEARCHING ...


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Author Interview: Delphine Dryden On 'The Lamplighter's Love'

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 07, 2011 | PERMALINK

Delphine Dryden's latest tale, "The Lamplighter's Love", has RT's Dawn Crowne raving, "This novella is steampunk erotica at its best!" What inspired the story that has heroine Mary Cross monitoring the steam engines that keep Victorian England running? Delphine Dryden answers our questions in this exclusive author interview.

***

For such a short story, there is certainly a lot happening in “The Lamplighter’s Love”. There are steampunk mechanisms, a historical setting, a power driven villain and the blossoming love affair between your main characters Mary and Nicholas. When you were first pitching this story to your editor, how did you explain it?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Free E-Read: Carrie Vaughn's The Nymph's Child

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 06, 2011 | PERMALINK

Readers searching for a compelling short fantasy story with a touch of romance should look no further than Carrie Vaughn's short story "The Nymph's Child." This e-read is currently hosted for free at Fantasy Magazine.

Vaughn has made a name for herself with her long-running urban fantasy series about heroine Kitty Norville — most recently featured in the anthology Kitty's Greatest Hits. However, "The Nymph's Child" reads much more like the author's April release, After the Golden Age. While there aren't superheroes in this story, "The Nymph's Child" certainly has several unexpected heroes. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, Science Fiction
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Spoiled: An Exclusive First Look At Alexis Morgan's Newest Series River of the Damned

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 05, 2011 | PERMALINK

We were so excited to learn that fan favorite Alexis Morgan has a new series releasing next year that we immediately contacted the author. RT wanted to be the first to bring readers information about the fantasy/romance series River of the Damned along with a peek at the series starter, My Lady Mage, set to hit shelves next summer.

***

First, we've got to ask, is this a Paladin series spin-off or are you embarking on an all-new adventure?

This is a whole new adventure for me, one I’m really excited about. River of the Damned will be my first fantasy romance series, something I’ve wanted to do for a long time. The first story in the series, My Lady Mage, will be released by Signet Eclipse in July 2012.  

My Lady Mage features a woman who can wake the damned, that's a pretty crazy power. Can you share a hint about how she controls it?

Lady Merewen’s family lands are under attack. Desperate to save her people and the horses that she loves, she invokes an ancient spell. At the edge of the river, she calls on the gods for help, asking that they send the Damned, five ancient warriors, to defend her people. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, Science Fiction
7COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Publishing Dealmaking - An Insiders Look At Which Books Are Selling

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 05, 2011 | PERMALINK

Today US Publishers Marketplace released its semi-annual look at the state of dealmaking. This is a recap of what books publishers are buying and how much these deals are worth. To compile these numbers, Publishers Marketplace looked at the deals that were reported by authors and publishers from the month of September from the years 2007 to the present. This report is a true insider's look into publishing because while there are several sources for reader buying habits, Publishers Marketplace goes behind the scenes to look at the deals made before the readers are ever involved. By looking at these statistics we can see trends not just today, but because these deals often are made for the years ahead, we are getting a glimpse into publishing’s future.

So what can we learn? First, the publishing “recession” that hit in 2009 is over. That’s right. Just as the US economy took a huge hit in ‘09, so did the publishing industry. During this year, publishers made many fewer deals and paid much less for the books, which means less risks were taken. So while readers are still feeling the pinch of this dip in sales, thankfully there has been a significant increase is the volume of books publishers are currently buying. In fact, deal volume has grown by 10.5% over the last year.

US Publishers Marketplace Deals For The Month of September


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview: Peggy Webb

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 05, 2011 | PERMALINK

Peggy Webb, author of the Southern Cousins mystery series, chats with RT's Morgan about crafting her lighthearted cozy mystery stories, how Elvis the crime-solving basset hound came to be and gives us an insider look at amateur sleuth Callie and her latest adventure in Elvis and the Tropical Double Trouble. Plus, get an exclusive look at what's next for Callie and Elvis! New to the series? You can download a free e-copy of the first Southern Cousins mystery, Elvis and the Dearly Departed, from Amazon here!

Peggy Webb Chats About Her Southern Cousins Mystery Series >>

More From The RT BOOK REVIEWS Video Channel >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Susanna Kearsley On The Setting For The Rose Garden — With Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 05, 2011 | PERMALINK


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
31COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Dueling Trend: Sham Marriages In Historical Romance

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 05, 2011 | PERMALINK

This month three new historical romances feature couples pretending to be husband and wife. This got us to thinking, which of these situations rings most true? So to judge these "sham marriages" we decided on three criteria: what is the motivation for the fake marriage, how permanent is it and what's the true Happily Ever After-potential of the marriage. Find out how these three novels stack up and which one comes out on top!

Meet the Contestants:

Always a Temptress
By Eileen Dreyer 

Major Sir Harry Lidge plans to kidnap Lady Kate Seaton on the orders of his government. He certainly never planned on pretending to be her husband, but that is just what the situation calls for when he must help free her from an asylum where her evil brother has stashed her.

Read the Review >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
7COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST