RT Daily Blog

On The Shelves Tuesday 8/16/2011

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 16, 2011 | PERMALINK

Here's a look at the titles we love that hit shelves this week.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Climbing The Popularity Ladder in Elise Allen's Populazzi - With Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 16, 2011 | PERMALINK

When Cara switches high schools, she decides that she wants to do the unthinkable, join the Populazzi, the elite group of popular kids at her new school. And she's got a plan of how to do it, she'll "climb the rungs of the popularity ladder" by dating different popular boys, all the way to the top. Today, author Elise Allen gives us a special inside look at her new YA novel Populazzi and which classic novel — and which of the author's own experiences — inspired this tale of dating and the dangerous world of high school popularity. And then don't miss your chance to win this new novel!

I remember the exact moment I recognized the Popularity Tower. I was in sixth grade at a brand new school. I wore too-tight Healthtex turtlenecks, oversized glasses, braces that always had something stuck in them, and I was so desperate for friends I gave up my Capri-Sun juice sack every day to two girls just so they’d pay attention to me for the two seconds it took them to ask.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Forewords - The Books Before The Buzz

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 15, 2011 | PERMALINK

With our column, Forewords, we let readers know the latest book news about some of the web team's most-anticipated upcoming releases across the genres — just as the projects are announced!

AUTO-BUY AUTHORS

Thriller - Bestselling author Karen Robards is sure to thrill fans with her upcoming release The Latest Victim. The story follows the sole survivor of the Boardwalk Killer, a woman who just happens to also be the country’s leading expert on serial killers. She must once again stop her attacker who has returned to his old hunting ground of Virginia Beach. Publication date TBA.

RETURNING FAVORITE SERIES


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Introducing Macy: An Insider's Look At The Complex Heroine Of Erin Celello's Miracle Beach

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 15, 2011 | PERMALINK

Macy Armstrong Allen, the heroine of Erin Celello's new mainstream novel, Miracle Beach, has a lot on her plate. She has just lost her husband and discovered that he was hiding several secrets. Today debut author Erin Celello gives us an insider's look at her heroine and the troubles ahead.

Imagine what you might do, and how you might feel, if the one person who had the answers you craved was dead. That’s the situation that Macy, the heroine of my debut novel, Miracle Beach, finds herself in after her husband Nash dies in a sudden accident and she discovers things about Nash in death that he kept from her in life. It’s a complicated position to find oneself in, and the questions raised would be plenty to challenge a person. But Macy’s difficulties don’t end there. She also has a mother-in-law who blames her for Nash’s death, and a father-in-law who is trying to live vicariously through her to get to know his son.

That’s a lot to grapple with.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mainstream
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Weekly Web Wrap Up 8/12/2011

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 12, 2011 | PERMALINK

All week long we've been focusing on tales of time travel, so it seemed only fitting to kick off this edition of Weekly Web Wrap Up with a look at three of the web team's most anticipated upcoming time travel stories!

 

Morgan's Pick

The Rose Garden by Susanna Kearsley

 

Elisa's Pick

Fare Forward by Wendy Dubow Polins

 

Whitney's Pick

No Proper Lady by Isabel Cooper

         

***

 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Time Travel Spotlight: Louise Marley And The Brahms Deception -With Reader Poll

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 12, 2011 | PERMALINK

We are shining the spotlight on time travel romances all week long here on the RT site. And we knew that our final author interview would have to be with Louise Marley. This author's new paranormal romance won rave reviews from RT reviewer Mandy Boles who said of The Brahms Deception, "Marley’s knack for combining historical intrigue and romance will keep readers with a love for books like Audrey Niffenegger’s The Time Traveler’s Wife and A.S. Byatt’s Possession on the edge of their seats." The author has made a name for herself with her futuristic tales and strong heroines, so we were intrigued to find out what inspired this very different story, and get her take on why historical fans will want to check out this romance with a paranormal twist!

***

Why did you decide to write a time travel romance? What is it about your character being out of time and place that appeals to you?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Family Upheaval Rocks Four Tales In The Harlequin Medical Romance Imprint

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 12, 2011 | PERMALINK

In this month's Harlequin Medical Romances, readers will find cases of intense family upheaval that have left lasting emotional scars. These men and women have been through loss and now struggle with serious issues in their relationships. So will these men and women be able to overcome the challenges that stand in the way of living happily ever after?

 

The Doctor and the Runaway Heiress 
By Marion Lennox

Dr Riley Chase has just found out that the eighteen-year-old daughter he didn't know he had is also an expectant mother. Can Riley's budding relationship with nurse — and heiress — Pippa Fotheringham survive this new revelation?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview With Christy Reece

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 11, 2011 | PERMALINK

Fan favorite author Christy Reece is a master of the romantic suspense genre. Readers just can't get enough of her Last Chance Rescue series, which follows a team of private contractors who help recover kidnapping victims. You can get a special look at the newest Last Chance trilogy in the September issue of RT BOOK REVIEWS. And today the author chats with RT's Morgan about how she came to write romantic suspense novels, this month's Last Chance Rescue mini-series starter, Sweet Justice, and why she's so interested in tales of reunited lovers!

Christy Reece Talks "Reunion Romances" >>

More From The RT BOOK REVIEWS Video Channel >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
4COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Which Famous Characters' Stories Would You Like To See "Continuated"?

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 11, 2011 | PERMALINK

We really enjoyed the feature in Salon this past weekend that focused on “the continuators”, a fancy-sounding name for the authors who help keep famous characters (and stories) going on after the original author retires or dies. In Salon they profiled some of our favorite characters that benefited from new authors stepping in to continue their stories such as Sherlock Holmes, Jason Bourne and James Bond. (Authors Anthony Horowitz, Eric Van Lustbader and Jeffrey Deaver continue those series respectively.) 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cheaper By The Dozen: This Week's Hot E-Book Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 11, 2011 | PERMALINK

One of our favorite features of the e-revolution is the sheer amount of books you can pack into such a tiny digital device. But what do you do when the growing number of new reads causes your wallet to shrink uncomfortably? Shop the e-book deals, of course! In our new column we highlight some of our favorite book buys that will cost you less than a medium-sized coffee.

Historical Romance

Almost a Spinster by Jenna Petersen

Buy For $.99 >>

 

Contemporary Romance

Hollywood Scandals by Gemma Halliday

Get It For Free >>

 

Young Adult

Summer's Crossing by Julie Kagawa

Get It For Free >>

         


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST