RT Daily Blog

Star-Studded Audio Books From Audible

BY Whitney Sullivan, OCTOBER 03, 2011 | PERMALINK

Audible — arguably the most popular source for audio books today — is getting Hollywood’s stars to contribute their voices to help re-create a slew of modern classics as audio books. This is a wedding of talents that I am absolutely in favor of!

I’ve always considered audio books something to listen to before I fell asleep. But with this news about Audible and Hollywood teaming up, I am seeing audio books in a whole new light.

Audible is working with some of the biggest and best names in Hollywood to bring back some classic tales. The dreamy Colin Firth will read The End of the Affair by Graham Greene, as Dustin Hoffman and Samuel L. Jackson take on novels by Jerzy Kosinski and Colin Himes, respectively.

And the men of the silver screen aren’t the only ones getting in on the action. Nicole Kidman and Kate Winslet are just two of the nine actresses who will be contributing their dulcet tones to these projects. (I have to say, I’m particularly intrigued by the news that Anne Hathaway will be recording The Wonderful Wizard of Oz by L. Frank Baum.)


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mainstream
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Weekly Web Wrap Up 9/30/2011

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 30, 2011 | PERMALINK

Did you spend your whole week looking for a Model Marine?

Here’s what you missed on the RT Website.

***

PARANORMAL: We're loving the celtic creature in Erin Quinn's Haunting Embrace. Which One Is It? >>

SCIENCE FICTION: Tropes we love from across these genres. Updated Versions Of Classic Tales >>

YOUNG ADULT: Go inside Trinity Faegen's The Mephisto Covenant! Read Her Author Message >>

INSPIRATIONAL: Jenny B. Jones answers our questions about her latest YA. Read the Q&A >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Talking Titles: Harlequin's New Trend

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 30, 2011 | PERMALINK

The Multi-Millionaire’s Virgin Mistress, The Infamous Italian’s Secret Baby, The Virgin Secretary’s Impossible Boss, The Secret Mistress Arrangement, other than a whole lot of secrets, mistresses and virgins, what do all of these book titles have in common? You won’t be seeing any upcoming Harlequin series romances with this type of of title. Recently the behemoth romance publisher has moved away from the racier, giggle-inducing types of names they’ve used for years, in order to showcase these books in a different light. To find out more about this shift in titles, I contacted several series romance authors and asked them the process they went through in order to name their recent books. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
5COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Banned Books Week: Mary Burton's Thoughts On How To Get Involved

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 30, 2011 | PERMALINK

Today marks the final day of Banned Books Week, when booklovers celebrate intellectual freedom, the ability to read whatever their hearts desires and the protections granted by the First Amendment. But what does Banned Book Week actually mean and how can authors keep the spirit of the week's cultural impact going all year round? We asked author Mary Burton to share some insight and suggestions of ways authors can get involved.

 The American Library Association’s Banned Book Week runs from September 24, 2011 - September 29, 2011. This awareness campaign, held annually since 1982, celebrates our freedom to read. I encourage all of you to get involved and take a bit of your time to bring awareness to this important event and topic. So what can you do?


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview: Mari Carr

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 30, 2011 | PERMALINK

Author Mari Carr's new erotic romance novel Slam Dunk is now available, the sixth book in the Black and White collection and a sequel to Happy Hour. Today you can get a look behind the scenes of the author's recent novels and upcoming projects in this video interview with RT's Morgan Doremus. And then find out who helps critique this author's work, how she fits time to write around her day job and what she advice she has for aspiring authors!

Behind The Scenes With Mari Carr >>

More From The RT BOOK REVIEWS Video Channel >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cheaper By The Dozen - This Week's Hot E-Book Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 29, 2011 | PERMALINK

One of our favorite features of the e-revolution is the sheer amount of books you can pack into such a tiny digital device. But what do you do when the growing number of new reads causes your wallet to shrink uncomfortably? Shop the e-book deals, of course! In our new column we highlight some of our favorite book buys that will cost you less than a medium-sized coffee.

Historical Romance

Texas Hold Him by Lisa Cooke

Get It For Free >>

 

Contemporary Romance

Talk of the Town by Sherrill Bodine

Buy For $1.99 >>

 

Young Adult

Haunting the Night by Mara Purnhagen

Get It For Free >>

         


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Try This Trope: My Favorite Re-Worked Clichés in Sci Fi, Fantasy and Horror

BY Elisa Verna, SEPTEMBER 29, 2011 | PERMALINK

I’m on the fence when it comes to messing with some of my favorite plotlines, characters and settings in the science fiction, fantasy and horror genres. In some instances, I’m a die-hard traditionalist. (Fast-moving zombies? No thanks, I’ll take Night of the Living Dead zombies over 28 Days Later zombies any day.) Still, it’s always refreshing to come across a work of fiction that provides an original spin on standard storyline.

Earlier this month, fantasy author Jeff VanderMeer challenged his readers to come up with a list of the most commonly used clichés in sci fi, fantasy, and horror fiction, and it got me to thinking. I always appreciate a classic young hero embarking on an epic adventure, the underdog rising to defeat the villain and a good old-fashioned ghost story, but what are the contemporary works I'd suggest for people looking to read (or watch) this story in a new light? To that end, I’ve selected one of my favorite tropes for each genre from the pool of comments on VanderMeer’s blog post and have listed my favorite classic and modern re-tellings of each cliché ...

***


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Science Fiction
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Morgan and Whitney Dish: Unclaimed By Courtney Milan

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 28, 2011 | PERMALINK

This week we are Dishing about Courtney Milan’s latest historical romance, Unclaimed. A twist on the playboy hero and innocent heroine, Milan’s Sir Mark Turner is known for his chastity, while Jessica Farleigh is an experienced courtesan. Interested in this role reversal, we decided to dig deep and see if Jessica’s reputation could be redeemed or if she instead would jeopardize Mark’s standing in society.

Morgan: I’ve definitely never gone looking for a book with a courtesan heroine before, but I am so glad that we picked up Courtney Milan’s newest. It is very different from other historical tales because of the great characters. 

Whitney: This is actually the second book that I have read this month with a “worldly” heroine, the other being Suzanne Enoch’s upcoming A Beginner’s Guide to Rakes. I really appreciate how Milan and Enoch’s heroines have a bit more edge to them, then say, a debutante fresh out of the schoolroom. These ladies know what they want and are going to do whatever it takes to reach their goals. 

Morgan: Well, in Unclaimed, Jessica certainly isn’t going to let anything stand in the way of getting out of “the biz”.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Snapshot: What We're Loving, Looking Forward To And Longing For

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 28, 2011 | PERMALINK

This week we are launching a new column that gives you a snapshot of the books, movies, television and music that we are loving right now, looking forward to checking out next and longing to get our hands on when they come out in the future. Today we feature picks from RT's web team: Morgan Doremus, Whitney Sullivan and Elisa Verna. In the coming months each installment of this new column will feature different people in the industry including authors, agents, editors and more so keep your eyes peeled to see what projects you've got to know about!

 

RT's Morgan is ...

LOVING ...

 Enigma


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview: Harlan Coben

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 27, 2011 | PERMALINK

Author Harlan Coben is one of the top names of mystery. Today the bestselling scribe chats with RT's Morgan about his early novels, the evolution of his beloved sports agent-turned-sleuth, Myron, and how his trademark writing style developed. Readers can get a blast from the past when Coben chats about his second novel, Miracle Cure, which has just been re-released. And then don't miss a behind the scenes look at the author's latest new endeavor, his first-ever YA novel!

Harlan Coben On His Writing >>

More From The RT BOOK REVIEWS Video Channel >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST