RT Daily Blog

Cozy Corner: Sarah Graves On Knockdown The Upcoming Story In The Home Repair Is Homicide Series

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 16, 2011 | PERMALINK

In this week’s Cozy Corner we chat with Sarah Graves of the popular Home Repair is Homicide series. Learn how the author started building her series from the ground up, while she was repairing her own house and find out what you can expect from her upcoming novel, Knockdown.

When I first came to Eastport, Maine and started writing the Home Repair is Homicide series starring home-repair enthusiast Jake Tiptree, like her I also started fixing up an old house.

Now, more than a dozen years later, the series still isn’t finished and the house isn’t, either. I guess you just never know what you’re getting yourself into when you fix that first leak, paint that first wall, scrape the first acre of wallpaper...

Or when you plot that first murder. The next thing you know, you’re wearing your own carpenter’s apron, swinging your own hammer...and researching just how far a 12-gauge shotgun’s range really is, anyway, and whether or not you can put a silencer on one (hint: don’t try this at home).


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Inside The Issue: May 2011

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 16, 2011 | PERMALINK

We've just wrapped up the May issue and it will be in stores soon. 

Here are some of the stories you can look forward to:

We chat with Debbie Macomber as she takes her Blossom Street gang on the road!

Anne Rice talks about the unauthorized biographical comic book about her life — and what fans can expect from her next.

We shine the spotlight on contemporary cowboy heroes.

Find out everything you need to know about some of our favorite Urban Fantasy and Paranormal Romance series before the new books come out.

Get the details about Mr. Romance 2010 in this special interview.

Find out who won the RT/Kensington Writing With the Stars Competition and which authors are taking home RT Career Achievement awards and Reviewers' Choice awards for their work.

We also hear from Candace Bushnell in Teen Scene, start getting ready for next year's convention in Chicago and much more!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Chelsea Cain On Her Novel The Night Season

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 15, 2011 | PERMALINK

Author Chelsea Cain shares what it was like to write her newest thriller The Night Season without her popular character, serial killer Gretchen Lowell. Instead, the story focuses on Detective Archie Sheridan and journalist Susan Ward. Cain explains why she kept Gretchen out of the action and if readers will ever see this glamorous serial killer again!

When I was a kid, I never imagined that I would grow up to have a serial killer, but life can be surprising. I do have a serial killer. Her name is Gretchen Lowell, and she is the antagonist and obsession bait of Det. Archie Sheridan, the hero of my thriller series. I actually refer to her as this – “my serial killer.” And very smart people ask me questions about her, and refer to her as “your serial killer,” so she must be mine, right? And I love her. I do. She is deadly, beautiful, witty, and a hellcat with a razor blade. So why did I choose to leave her mainly off-stage in my fourth thriller, The Night Season?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Who's Who: The Answers To The "Name Game" From Our March Issue!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 15, 2011 | PERMALINK

We love games here at RT — and we're glad to know our readers do too! Lots of you wrote in to play along with the Name Game that ran with our story on initialed pseudonyms in our March issue, "Alphabet Soup." As promised, below are the correct answers to the puzzle. Winners have been notified.

Thanks as always for playing along!

1. J.K. Beck     
2. J.D. Robb    
3. Christie Craig  
4. Vanessa Kelly      
5. C.E. Murphy  
6. Sonja Massie 
7. J.C. Wilder   
8. Candace Procter
9. Marion Chesney 
10. M.J. Locke     
G. Julie Kenner
J. Nora Roberts
F. C.C. Hunter
A. V.K. Sykes
I. Cate Dermody
H. G.A. McKevett
D. Dominique Adair
C. C.S. Harris
E. M.C. Beaton
B. Laura J. Mixon

 

For more about authors who write under initialed psuedonyms, check the March Issue, and if you missed our additional interview with P.J. Parrish, you can click here!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

On The Bookshelves Tuesday 3/15/2011

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 15, 2011 | PERMALINK

Here's a look at the titles we love that hit shelves this week.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Extended Excerpt: Ann Aguirre's Shady Lady

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 15, 2011 | PERMALINK

Get a peek between the covers of  Ann Aguirre's new Urban Fantasy novel, Shady Lady. With this extended excerpt you can dive right into the latest Corine Solomon adventure which will hit stores in April!

***

Lust sizzled through me. There were two of them, a matched pair. I knew a woman wasn’t supposed to want such things, but sometimes we had desires—dark desires—that couldn’t be denied. There was no doubt about it.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Forewords - Books Before The Buzz

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 14, 2011 | PERMALINK

Looking for news about upcoming books in one convenient place? Our weekly column Forewords has everything you need. We share news about our most anticipated releases across all the genres — just as the projects are announced!

AUTO-BUY AUTHOR

Romance - Contemporary romance maven Susan Elizabeth Phillips has just sold two more novels to William Morrow. No confirmation as to when these books will release, but if they follow the author’s previous release schedule, we might see the first in January 2012.

RETURNING FAVORITE SERIES 

Young Adult - The next three books in Sherrilyn Kenyon’s series Chronicles of Nick will be released from St. Martin’s. For this new deal, Kenyon will reportedly make over a million dollars. For those unfamiliar with the YA series, Chronicles of Nick is a spin-off of Kenyon's adult Dark-Hunter books.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Author Ethan Cross Explores the Minds of Serial Killers - With Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 14, 2011 | PERMALINK

Today thriller author Ethan Cross releases The Shepherd the terrifying tale of a serial killer run amok and the conspiracy that keeps him free. We asked the author to give us a peek inside the mind of his killer Francis Ackerman Jr. Cross does just that by exploring how Ackerman's past and genetics come together to create the perfect serial killer. Interested in reading more? Check out the giveaway at the end of the post to get your own copy of this thrilling read.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Sneak Peek: Beth Kendrick's The Bake-Off

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 14, 2011 | PERMALINK

RT brings you an exclusive first look at Beth Kendrick's upcoming novel, The Bake-Off. We go beyond the back cover blurb for this special look at The Bake-Off, which will hit bookstores in early May.

***

Certain flavors just naturally go together: Peanut butter and chocolate. Vanilla ice cream and apple pie. Whipped cream and the washboard abs of a hot hero.

Oops. Did I say that out loud?

The Bake-Off is a story about Amy, a suburban soccer mom who just wants to stand out from the crowd, and her younger sister Linnie, a former child prodigy who just wants to fit in. Amy and Linnie had a huge falling-out ten years ago, and nothing can bring them together again…nothing, that is, except the manipulations of their wily grandmother and their need for money and publicity. So, “borrowing” a family recipe that’s been passed down for generation, the sisters enter a national baking competition and prepare to whisk their way to riches and glory.

As you can imagine, problems start to crop up almost immediately. Along with a very tall, dark, and sexy stranger.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mainstream
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Weekly Web Wrap Up 3/11/2011

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 11, 2011 | PERMALINK

Did you spend your whole week followed by a good-looking man Protecting Plain Jane?

Here’s what you missed on the RT website.

***

HISTORICAL ROMANCE: Anna Campbell on her upcoming book. Read Her Sneak Peek >>

MYSTERY: We interview Lisa Gardner about her Gold Top Pick! Love You More. Check It Out >>

EROTICA: Eliza Lloyd’s new series begins after happily ever after. Learn Why >>

SERIES ROMANCE: A look at one of this month’s Harlequin Medical Romances. Read On >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST