RT Daily Blog

Mystery Month: Emily Arsenault On Future Ghosts And In Search Of The Rose Notes

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 25, 2011 | PERMALINK

Whether or not you believe in the supernatural, games that dabble in the paranormal are staples of the teenage sleepover. However, in this month's Top Pick rated release, In Search of the Rose Notes by Emily Arsenault, preteens Nora and Charlotte take their interest one step further when they use the occult to find their missing babysitter. Today Emily Arsenault stops by to share how her own experience at a sleepover many years ago inspired this new tale of suspense!

With In Search of the Rose Notes, I wanted to capture that phase of youth when you consider yourself way too mature to believe in Santa Claus and the tooth fairy, but are still willing to believe in darker kinds of magic—psychic powers, curses, and ghosts.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Weekly Web Wrap Up 7/22/2011

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 22, 2011 | PERMALINK

Did you spend your whole week trapped in The Mogul's Maybe Marriage?

Here’s what you missed on the RT Website.

***

MYSTERY MONTH

Donna Andrews shares insider details about her amateur sleuth (and new mom) Meg. Read It Here >>

Science and religion collide in this podcast with debut thriller author James Barney. Listen To It Here >>

Take a behind the scenes look at the unauthorized guide to all things Stieg Larsson. Read It Here >> 

Catherine Coulter talks suspense, romance and her writing career in this video interview. Watch It Here >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Morgan & Whitney Dish: Dead Iron By Devon Monk

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 22, 2011 | PERMALINK

When Devon Monk's new series starter Dead Iron was nominated for the July Seal of Excellence, Morgan and Whitney were both intrigued by the interesting interplay between good and evil in Monk's unique steampunk Wild West setting. 

Morgan: Where do we even begin with this book? It is an Old West/steampunk/paranormal/fantasy. Try saying that five times fast.

Whitney: This story will definitely appeal to fans of Joss Whedon’s Firefly or anyone who likes a mash-up of the Old West and steam technology. In the world of Dead Iron, people “devise” automated machines of all shapes and sizes that run on what else? — steam. But what I really loved more than the fantastical devices is the way that Monk laces her world with the eerie magic of the Strange.

Morgan: The author was a bit skimpy on the details of the Strange, but that just makes it more mysterious and scary. There is no real way to define the Strange other than to say "evil" or "other."

Whitney: The magic of the Strange feels so … different and wrong. Cue the creepy western music!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Science Fiction
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Unmatchmaking in Nicola Cornick's Notorious

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 22, 2011 | PERMALINK

Author Nicola Cornick introduces readers to a very unusual heroine in this month's Notorious. Most Regency misses are hoping to find their perfect match, but Susanna Burney has made a reputation for her self as an un-matchmaker. Today the author stops by to chat about her heroine and reveals which famous historical couples Susanna would like to break up!

Susanna, the heroine of my August Regency historical, Notorious, has a very unusual profession. She is a match breaker rather than a matchmaker! She is paid by wealthy parents to break up unsuitable couples, to save an heiress from a fortune hunter perhaps, or to distract an impressionable young man from marrying an adventuress.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Debut Author Spotlight: Jenn Bennett

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 22, 2011 | PERMALINK

Name: Jenn Bennett

Book: Kindling The Moon

Genre: Urban Fantasy

Current Home: Atlanta, GA

Author Icon: That would be a toss-up between Phillip Pullman (who is both brilliant and rebellious), or Anaïs Nin (the for the same reasons).

Favorite Word: My husband says that any answer other than "Sasquatch" is incorrect. But I think I'll go with "whiplash," which is both violent and graceful at the same time. 

What inspired you to start writing?

Almost three years ago, I lost a corporate job that I hated. Instead of rushing to find another one, I decided to try something crazy and important. A couple of months later, I'd written my first manuscript. It was terrible, as first-tries often are, but in a few months, I'd end up writing what later became Kindling The Moon.

How long did it take you to finish writing Kindling The Moon? What was the process for selling it?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cheaper by the Dozen: This Week's Hot E-Book Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 21, 2011 | PERMALINK

One of our favorite features of the e-revolution is the sheer amount of books you can pack into such a tiny digital device. But what do you do when the growing number of new reads causes your wallet to shrink uncomfortably? Shop the e-book deals, of course! In our new column we highlight some of our favorite book buys that will cost you less than a medium-sized coffee.

Historical Romance

Little Miss Independent by Julia Templeton

Buy For $.99 >>

 

Contemporary Romance

Daffodils in Spring by Pamela Morsi

Get It For Free >>

 

Young Adult

The Strange Case of Finley Jayne by Kady Cross

Get It For Free >>

         


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Author Podcast: James Barney On The Genesis Key

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 21, 2011 | PERMALINK

In honor of our Mystery Month we spoke with author James Barney, who has just released his debut novel, The Genesis Key. The story is a fast-paced thriller about a talented biologist who stumbles into an amazing discovery that has everyone from government agents to terrorists after her. Today Barney shares an insider's look at his new novel with RT's Web Editor Morgan Doremus. Listen to the podcast below to find out about the role that fruit flies play in this thriller and what happens to an ordinary woman who gets caught up in a dangerous situation. The author also reflects on instances that technology meets religion and the moral implications of this intersection.

 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Insecure Heroes And Heroines Risk Their Hearts In This Month's Harlequin Historical Romances!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 21, 2011 | PERMALINK

This month Harlequin introduces readers to four historical characters who must overcome insecurities. From the desserts of Arabia and the wilds of the Scottish highlands to glittering Regency ballrooms, can these troubled men and women overcome their fears to find their happily ever afters?

 

The Governess and the Sheikh
By Marguerite Kaye

Regency lady Cassandra Armstrong was burned by love when her fiance deserted her at the alter. Determined to never fall pray to the foolish emotion again, she travels to Arabia to accept a position as a governess. But when sparks begin to fly with her charge's father, Prince Jamil al-Nazarri, can this widower convince Cassandra that he truly loves her?

Read The Review >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Magazine Extras: Author Dan Burstein Answers Our Questions About His Stieg Larsson Nonfiction

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 20, 2011 | PERMALINK

Stieg Larsson mania continues, with speculation about the late author's "lost fourth book" and film adaptations from both Sweden and the United States (the first U.S. film is scheduled for a December release). Fans of Larsson and his trilogy will certainly want to check out the new nonfiction title, The Tattooed Girl: The Enigma of Stieg Larsson and the Secrets Behind the Most Compelling Thrillers of Our Time by Dan Burstein, Arne de Keijzer and John-Henri Holmberg. In our September issue of RT BOOK REVIEWS magazine, RT's Managing Editor Liz French excerpted Dan Burstein's answers to her emailed questions about the book; here is the complete, unedited Q&A with the author.

LF: Normally my first question would be, WHY cover this author and his books, but it’s a no-brainer — megabestseller, tragic early death, contentious heirs, kick-ass heroine, etc. But I would like to hear how you came around to liking the series so much that you devoted a book to it.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cozy Corner: Donna Andrews' The Real Macaw

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 20, 2011 | PERMALINK

Mystery author Donna Andrews is beloved for her slightly screwball cozy mystery series which continues this month with The Real Macaw. This novel is heroine Meg Langslow's thirteenth full-length adventure and over the course of the stories she has met her husband, gotten married and recently given birth to twins — all while solving capers along the way. But what truly sets Andrews' plucky blacksmith heroine apart from the crowd is that Meg's home is frequently 'taken over' by whatever crime she is currently trying to solve. In Six Geese A-Slaying her home is the meeting place for the Caerphilly Christmas parade and in Stork Raving Mad her houseguest is murdered. In the author's own words, Meg is "bringing home murder." Today the author gives us an insider's look at amateur slueth heroine and Meg's very busy home. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST