RT Daily Blog

Forewords — The Books Before The Buzz

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 26, 2011 | PERMALINK

With our column, Forewords, we let readers know the latest book news about some of the web team's most-anticipated upcoming releases across the genres — just as the projects are announced!

AUTO-BUY AUTHOR

Mystery - A terminally ill cold case detective in Boston investigates one of the city’s most renowned murders, but will he be able to solve the mystery before his own death? Bestselling author Dennis Lehane’s The Three Months Trilogy starts off with September and will continue with October and November in 2013.

NEW SERIES ALERT

Young Adult – Author James Phelan’s new series follows four teenage friends who survive a subway explosion only to discover that New York City’s citizens have been infected with a virus that has made them vicious. ALONE: Chasers, ALONE: Survivor and ALONE: Quarantine will be published over a few months in Fall 2012.

PIQUING OUR CURIOSITY


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Weekly Web Wrap Up 9/23/2011 — With Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 23, 2011 | PERMALINK

When wealthy tycoon Alexander returns home to take over his family's business, he butts heads with worker Andrea. They can't deny their chemistry, but will a steamy affair turn into a much more permanent arrangement? You can find out by downloading Emma Shortt's latest erotic romance, Paying Her Debt or by entering to win your own copy of the e-book below!

***

REUNION ROMANCE WEEK

RT staff members spotlight their favorite reunion romances. Find Out Which Reads We Love >> 

Morgan and Whitney Dish about Lauren Dane's latest contemporary romance. Try A Taste >>  

Sylvia Day's new historical romance features love lost and found. Watch The Interview >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
7COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Reunited Lovers We Can't Wait To Read About!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 23, 2011 | PERMALINK

All week long we've celebrated reunion romances, sharing some of our recent favorites, chatting with authors and more. Sadly, today we will be wrapping up our coverage, but there's a silver lining. We're leaving you with a look at some of our most-anticipated upcoming couples that get reunited, and it feels so good.


 

The Heart of a Killer
By Jaci Burton
Release Date: October 2011

 
Twelve years ago teenage sweethearts Dante Renaldi and Anna Pallino said goodbye to eachother. But now the ex-Special Forces agent and police detective are thrown back together when a copycat criminal tries to recreate a vicious attack that Anna barley survived as a teen. Can Dante's training help him protect the woman he's never stopped loving?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Get The Look: Jeannie Lin's The Dragon And The Pearl

BY Morgan Doremus, SEPTEMBER 23, 2011 | PERMALINK

Jeannie Lin is one of those rare authors who is able to transport her readers into another time. I just finished her most recent series romance, The Dragon and the Pearl, and was utterly captivated by the tale's unusual setting, ancient China. This is a beautiful story about two people involved in the political upheavals of warring emperors and governors. When Suyin, a former royal courtesan, is caught in the middle of the fighting, she is captured/rescued by powerful warlord Li Tao. The two engage in an intricate dance between lies and truth, never fully trusting each other.

Lin's plot and characters are unique to their time, as are the cultural references made throughout the story. After readers "visit" the Tang Dynasty in The Dragon and the Pearl, I thought that they might want to bring some of the Asian influence into their own lives. So I have picked out a few modern pieces to share, my selections inspired from quotes from the text.

 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
4COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Reunion Romances: Find Out Why We Love To Read Them And Authors Love To Write Them

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 22, 2011 | PERMALINK

We’ve been celebrating reunited lovers all week long on the RT Daily Blog, sharing some of our favorite books and investigating some of this month’s new releases that feature reunion romances. But what actually makes these stories so near to our hearts? Today we’ll share our views and get the scoop from five authors whose tales of love lost and found have us swooning!

RT’s Morgan loves reading this type of story because, “there is an instant back story created when characters reunite. If a hero and heroine are meeting for the first time, the pacing in some stories can stretch a readers’ belief that they will rush into a relationship. But if the hero and heroine have a past together, the story moves along at a much more natural pace.”

RT’s Whitney is always happy to pick up a tale of reunited lovers because, “It’s like the ultimate happy ending. Even when it seems like a relationship is over, done, dead in the ground, love conquers all and brings the couple back together. And frequently, the relationship is better for everyone the second time around, characters are older, wiser and often more careful with their loved one’s heart!”


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
9COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cheaper By The Dozen - This Week's Hot E-Book Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 22, 2011 | PERMALINK

One of our favorite features of the e-revolution is the sheer amount of books you can pack into such a tiny digital device. But what do you do when the growing number of new reads causes your wallet to shrink uncomfortably? Shop the e-book deals, of course! In our new column we highlight some of our favorite book buys that will cost you less than a medium-sized coffee.

Historical Romance

In Pursuit of a Scandalous Lady by Gayle Callen

Buy For $1.99 >>

 

Contemporary Romance

Baby, I'm Yours by Susan Andersen

Buy For $2.99 >>

 

Young Adult

Feed by M.T. Anderson

Buy For $1.99 >>

         


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Free E-read: Margaret Ronald's "Salvage"

BY Morgan Doremus, SEPTEMBER 22, 2011 | PERMALINK

The online magazine Beneath Ceaseless Skies has just released a free short story from author Margaret Ronald. “Salvage” is a steampunk fantasy that delves deeply into the collision between man and machine. 

“Salvage” takes place in the hostile territory of Parch where automations roam unchecked, protecting their inhospitable lands. Captain Dieterich braves this danger in order to rescue the survivors of an aborted salvage mission. Three weeks ago, a group of students went looking for the wreckage of Chiaro, a Titanic-like airship that had been lost. At the start of the story, Dieterich and his valet, Charles, have landed in Parch hoping to bring these students home. 

The story is told from Charles' viewpoint. He offers a unique perspective because while Charles is not friendly with the automations of Parch, he is at least familiar with the way they act, as Charles is kept alive with metal parts. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Science Fiction
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Morgan & Whitney Dish: Once And Again By Lauren Dane

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 21, 2011 | PERMALINK

We are featuring reunited lovers on the RT Daily Blog all week long. So for the Dish we picked Lauren Dane’s newly released e-book of love lost and found, Once And Again. Find out why this novel hit the New York Times bestseller list as we take an in-depth look at this contemporary romance.

Morgan: Okay, so I know we have to be careful not to confuse writers with their characters, but in this case I think I am totally justified to say that Lauren Dane is very much like her heroine Lily Travis in Once And Again.

Whitney: In the pictures I’ve seen of the author, she does wear some awesomely vintage clothes from the ‘50s. She certainly has Lily’s “classic pin-up” era style going for her. 

Morgan: There is definitely this, but Lauren also shares Lily’s no-nonsense attitude. Both of these ladies are strong and self-sufficient. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview: Sylvia Day On The Reunited Lovers In Her New Historical Romance

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 20, 2011 | PERMALINK

This week as we feature "reunion romances" on the RT Daily Blog, bestselling author Sylvia Day stops by to chat about her latest pair of reunited lovers, historical couple that is hoping to find their happily ever after the second time around in this month's Seven Years to Sin. For the first time in years, Sylvia Day has returned to her historical romance roots, creating a tale of passion and adventure set in the 1800s. Discover what tore this pair of young lovers apart and why this book is the longest that Day has ever written when the author sits down with RT's Morgan Doremus.

Sylvia Day Chats Reunited Lovers >>

More From The RT BOOK REVIEWS Video Channel >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

On The Shelves Tuesday 9/20/2011

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 20, 2011 | PERMALINK

Here's a look at the titles we love that hit shelves this week.

Historical Romance

UNCLAIMED

"With more sensuality than outright sexuality, [Milan] draws readers into a beautiful love story that shows true love is kind and forgiving."

SNOWFLAKES AND STETSONS

"The authors have captured the spirit of the holiday and given it to readers as a heartfelt gift."


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST