RT Daily Blog

Artist Interview: Joe Staton On Adapting Ayn Rand’s Anthem

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 17, 2011 | PERMALINK

Artist Joe Staton and author Charles Santino worked together to create the graphic novel adaptation of Anthem, the classic tale by Ayn Rand. In a *Web Exclusive Review* RT Reviewer Dawn Crowne says, “This graphic novel is a wonderful tribute to one of the most popular American novelists of modern time.” Crowne was particularly impressed with the way that the art of Anthem: The Graphic Novel reflected the story’s true sentiment that the future is a bleak one. Now Stanton takes us inside the pages of the project in this artist interview:

When creating Anthem: The Graphic Novel, how closely did you stay Rand’s original storyline?
Charles Santino and I were entirely faithful to book and respectful of Ms. Rand’s work. We really focused on the characterization of the two protagonists. I am especially proud of our work on Gaea [aka Liberty 5-3000]. She is such a strong character and we were really able to bring her out.

Where you at all intimidated adapting a work by such a popular author?
As an artist, you always feel pressure to make things look right. I mean, if you work on Scooby-Doo or Archie, you have to do it just right because everyone knows what they look like and how they act. Rand’s readers are just as strict. But I'd rather face an Ayn fan than a Star Trek fan!

The society in Anthem is made up of two very distinct groups – the workers living in collectives and the Council of Scholars who make the laws. How did you visually differentiate these two groups?


Read More>>

Tags: Comics/Graphic Novels/Manga, RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Dear Jane: What Apps Do You Need For Each Device?

BY Dear Jane, FEBRUARY 17, 2011 | PERMALINK

http://www.kobobooks.com/smartphonesWelcome to Dear Jane, a weekly column based upon reader mailbag questions on anything relating to e-books. No question is too simple or too mundane. We are all learning together. Send your questions to Jane@DearAuthor.com with "Dear Jane" in the subject matter.

Dear Jane: I was wondering if it would be possible for you to do a write up about what devices can download from each of these companies and what apps you would need to use. I know that on the Borders site they ask you to download the free Borders eBook app but I'm not sure if that is for a laptop, iPad, Kindle, etc. Same with Amazon and B&N. - M

***

Dear M: If you are reading on a dedicated e-book reader like the Kindle, nook, Sony, or Kobo, these devices do not any apps to be downloaded in order to read an e-book. In fact, these devices won't allow you to add new apps.* For a laptop or desktop, you have the following choices. I am just listing the programs with my recommendations. Over the next few weeks, I will do a mini rundown of each set of programs as it is too much for one post.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview: Robert Barclay

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 16, 2011 | PERMALINK

Author Robert Barclay talks about equine therapy and the role that it plays in If Wishes Were Horses. The author chats with RT Web Editor Morgan Doremus about the tragedies that his characters must each overcome to find love again. Get an in-depth look at these characters that will touch your heart in many different ways in this special author interview.

Robert Barclay on the characters of If Wishes Were Horse >>

Behind the Scenes with Robert Barclay >>

More From The RT BOOK REVIEWS Video Channel >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mainstream
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

An Introduction To Haikasoru Science Fiction Novels

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 16, 2011 | PERMALINK

Starting in the March issue of RT BOOK REVIEWS, readers will start to notice reviews of Japanese science fiction and fantasy novels in the magazine. They're all from Haikasoru, a relatively new publishing imprint which specializes in these translated books.

With the boom in both anime and manga in the United States, parent company VIZ Media thought it would be a great time to branch out—and science fiction and fantasy is a natural extension of their market (they publish several manga magazines and collections, as well as DVD sets). They translate books from a variety of Japanese publishers in a wide variety of genres.

Senior Reviewer Natalie A. Luhrs got in touch with Tradebooks Editor Nick Mamatas and asked him a few questions about Haikasoru and got some recommendations. At the end of the interview are links to two web-exclusive reviews of Haikasoru titles—Rocket Girls by Housuke Nojiri and The Next Continent by Issui Ogawa.

Natalie A. Luhrs: What sorts of readers have been picking up Haikasoru books--any surprises there?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Science Fiction
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Author Interview With Cara Elliott

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 16, 2011 | PERMALINK

We go inside Cara Elliott’s historical romance series, Circle of Sin, for a special look at the series ender, To Tempt a Rake. Learn which beloved rake inspired the hero of this new romance, what true historical elements Elliott wove into the story and find out the three facts you must know about the hero of Elliott’s next series!

RT BOOK REVIEWS: In To Tempt a Rake, the final installment of your Circle of Sin trilogy, the heroine Kate Woodbridge is a fiery botanist. What is Kate’s favorite part of studying botany?

Cara Elliott: Kate loves seeing buds unfurl and bloom into glorious shapes and colors. She’s had a tough, nomadic life up until now, and has felt rootless, so botany has been a balm for her troubled spirits. But now that she’s come to London, new relationships with friends and family are also beginning to blossom. 

Read the entire interview>>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

WIN Melissa Marr’s Darkest Mercy – With Excerpt!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 15, 2011 | PERMALINK

Bestselling author Melissa Marr wraps up her Wicked Lovely series with Darkest Mercy, a March RT Top Pick! Now take a peek between the covers of Darkest Mercy with this excerpt and then find out how you can win your own ADVANCED READER COPY of the paranormal YA that has RT’s Kelly Brennan saying, “Fans will not want to miss this shocking, heart-stoping finale!”

***

Aislinn couldn’t keep her eyes open. She might not love Keenan, but there was no denying the way her body responded to him. She slid her hand from his side onto his bare stomach and felt the muscles under his skin tense.

He had his arm around her lower back and started to pull her onto his lap.

With more effort than she wished it took, she stopped him. “Keenan.”


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
66COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

On The Bookshelves Tuesday 2/15/2011

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 15, 2011 | PERMALINK

Here's a look at the titles we love that hit shelves this week.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Inside the Issue: April 2011

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 15, 2011 | PERMALINK

Spring is truly on it's way! We've just wrapped up the April issue and it will be in stores next week.

Here are some of the stories you can look forward to:

Bestselling author Melissa Marr on wrapping up her Wicked Lovely series, her newest project and what's in store for her during the 2011 RT BOOKLOVERS CONVENTION's first-ever Teen Day!

For the release of Sweet Valley Confidential: Ten Years Later we catch up with author Francine Pascal.

Take a trip through time with this in-depth look at the top eras in historical romance!

Kristin Hannah talks about the mark she's made on mainstream fiction and how she keeps her stories fresh.

Erotic romance author Lauren Dane shares what we can expect from her futuristic series second. 

We wrap up the final round of the Kensington/RT Writing With the Stars contest with a look at who has the best love scene.

Convention News: Find out what you can expect at the Book Fairs and which beloved authors will be participating in Author Chats this year!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Vote For The Winner Of Writing With The Stars

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 15, 2011 | PERMALINK

The time has come, folks, we are on our last round of the RT/Kensington contest, Writing With the Stars and we need your help to decide who should be the winner! 

Take a look at each contestant's love scene and decide whose manuscript has you rushing outside for a bit of a cool-off.

Maeve Greyson's Taggart and Hannah turn up the heat with a bath scene. Diana Quincy's Cam and Charlotte's quickie is anything but wham-bam-thank-you-m'am. And Meredith Simmons takes a roll in the hay to a whole new level with Cassy and Anders' love play. But if you have a hard time deciding whose scene really takes the cake, do not fear - we've also provided the critique from this round's judge, RT Senior Reviewer Kathe Robin, as well as comments from the author mentors who have been helping Maeve, Diana and Meredith through this process. 

Voting for round five is open until February 27th. You can only vote once but you can comment on the entries as many times as you'd like. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Beat The Valentine’s Day Blues With Melissa De La Cruz – With Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 14, 2011 | PERMALINK

YA author Melissa de la Cruz has just released her latest installment of her popular Blue Bloods series, Bloody Valentine. RT’s Kate Girard says, “This anthology is an excellent addition to a series that’s like Gossip Girl meets Twilight with a twist!” Today the author sits down to chat about what fans can expect from Bloody Valentine, her new adult series and what’s next for these fan-faves. And don’t miss your own chance to win Bloody Valentine at the end of the interview!

***

RT BOOK REVIEWS: The newest addition to your popular Blue Bloods series is the short story collection Bloody Valentine that looks at love and relationships in three short stories. What are you most excited about adding to your universe with these tales? 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
64COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST