RT Daily Blog

WIN Melissa Marr’s Darkest Mercy – With Excerpt!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 15, 2011 | PERMALINK

Bestselling author Melissa Marr wraps up her Wicked Lovely series with Darkest Mercy, a March RT Top Pick! Now take a peek between the covers of Darkest Mercy with this excerpt and then find out how you can win your own ADVANCED READER COPY of the paranormal YA that has RT’s Kelly Brennan saying, “Fans will not want to miss this shocking, heart-stoping finale!”

***

Aislinn couldn’t keep her eyes open. She might not love Keenan, but there was no denying the way her body responded to him. She slid her hand from his side onto his bare stomach and felt the muscles under his skin tense.

He had his arm around her lower back and started to pull her onto his lap.

With more effort than she wished it took, she stopped him. “Keenan.”


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
66COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

On The Bookshelves Tuesday 2/15/2011

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 15, 2011 | PERMALINK

Here's a look at the titles we love that hit shelves this week.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Inside the Issue: April 2011

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 15, 2011 | PERMALINK

Spring is truly on it's way! We've just wrapped up the April issue and it will be in stores next week.

Here are some of the stories you can look forward to:

Bestselling author Melissa Marr on wrapping up her Wicked Lovely series, her newest project and what's in store for her during the 2011 RT BOOKLOVERS CONVENTION's first-ever Teen Day!

For the release of Sweet Valley Confidential: Ten Years Later we catch up with author Francine Pascal.

Take a trip through time with this in-depth look at the top eras in historical romance!

Kristin Hannah talks about the mark she's made on mainstream fiction and how she keeps her stories fresh.

Erotic romance author Lauren Dane shares what we can expect from her futuristic series second. 

We wrap up the final round of the Kensington/RT Writing With the Stars contest with a look at who has the best love scene.

Convention News: Find out what you can expect at the Book Fairs and which beloved authors will be participating in Author Chats this year!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Vote For The Winner Of Writing With The Stars

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 15, 2011 | PERMALINK

The time has come, folks, we are on our last round of the RT/Kensington contest, Writing With the Stars and we need your help to decide who should be the winner! 

Take a look at each contestant's love scene and decide whose manuscript has you rushing outside for a bit of a cool-off.

Maeve Greyson's Taggart and Hannah turn up the heat with a bath scene. Diana Quincy's Cam and Charlotte's quickie is anything but wham-bam-thank-you-m'am. And Meredith Simmons takes a roll in the hay to a whole new level with Cassy and Anders' love play. But if you have a hard time deciding whose scene really takes the cake, do not fear - we've also provided the critique from this round's judge, RT Senior Reviewer Kathe Robin, as well as comments from the author mentors who have been helping Maeve, Diana and Meredith through this process. 

Voting for round five is open until February 27th. You can only vote once but you can comment on the entries as many times as you'd like. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Beat The Valentine’s Day Blues With Melissa De La Cruz – With Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 14, 2011 | PERMALINK

YA author Melissa de la Cruz has just released her latest installment of her popular Blue Bloods series, Bloody Valentine. RT’s Kate Girard says, “This anthology is an excellent addition to a series that’s like Gossip Girl meets Twilight with a twist!” Today the author sits down to chat about what fans can expect from Bloody Valentine, her new adult series and what’s next for these fan-faves. And don’t miss your own chance to win Bloody Valentine at the end of the interview!

***

RT BOOK REVIEWS: The newest addition to your popular Blue Bloods series is the short story collection Bloody Valentine that looks at love and relationships in three short stories. What are you most excited about adding to your universe with these tales? 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
64COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Forewords - The Books Before The Buzz

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 14, 2011 | PERMALINK

With our new column, Forewords, we let readers know the latest book news about some of the web team's most-anticipated upcoming releases across the genres — just as the projects are announced!

MOVING TO PRINT 

Paranormal - Popular self-published author H.P. Mallory has just signed a three-book deal with Bantam Dell. The author says this will continue her Jolie Wilkins series. 

CONTINUING SERIES

Young Adult - Ally Carter fans rejoice - we will soon be getting another Heist Society book as well as the next installment of the Gallagher Girls series. 

Erotica - Harlequin Spice Briefs will be publishing another of Crystal Jordan's novellas about shape-shifters gathering during the Wild time to mate. 

EXCITING DEBUT AUTHOR

Mainstream Fiction - Historian Lois Leveen has penned The Winds Of Freedom based on the true story of ex-slave Mary Bowser who infiltrated the Confederate White House to spy for the North. Publication set for February 2012. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Get Hot For The Holiday!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 14, 2011 | PERMALINK

Get hot hot hot for Valentine's Day with the new erotica novella from Cindy Spencer Pape. On this day for romance, chocolate and big gestures, treat yourself — or someone you love — to this steamy new tale. 

Valentine's Heart features strangers Val and Cora, who are reluctantly brought together by a dating service that neither of them signs up for. But their unlikely beginning doesn't slow down this pair that is indeed perfectly matched. Val and Cora create sparks when they do meet and they quickly head off to an exotic, erotic vacation full of sensual pleasures.

This novella is sure to get you in the mood for love. Readers will enjoy the kink-quotient which includes sexy toys and more!

Read the *Web Exclusive Review* >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Three Inspirational First Kisses

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 14, 2011 | PERMALINK

For Valentine’s Day we are celebrating with three very special “first kiss” memories from Inspirational authors Vannetta Chapman, Camy Tang and Carrie Turansky. Read these three sweet stories and then share a first kiss that you remember fondly!

Vannetta Chapman, author of A Simple Amish Christmas, didn’t believe in love. Oh, it’d be nice to find a knight in shining armor ready to pluck her from her dreary, exhausted, single-parent living. But heroes didn’t exist. All the princes she knew turned salamander by the second date. Best she could hope for was a friendly dinner or two in between her monotonous Mondays. Then she met sweet, handsome Bob and knew he was perfect…for her sister. And she intended to tell him so, as soon as she got a chance.

But between his helping her hang her curtains, fixing her car and assisting in her cat’s birthing process; the timing never quite seemed right. What could she say? “Hey, thanks for helping with the kittens. Wanna date my sister?” And yet, it had to be done, before things got sticky.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Inspirational
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

A Date With Mr. Romance 2010

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 14, 2011 | PERMALINK

Happy Valentine's Day! We hope everyone will enjoy the day - or at the very least some delicious chocolate. If you are one of the many people who are tired of doing the same old thing on your dates, we've got help for you. For a suggestion of how to celebrate this special day, we went to one of the most romantic guys we know, RT's Mr. Romance 2010, Jamie Ungaro. This Midwestern guy reveals his idea of a great date:

"My perfect date would be going out to a nice restaurant and having a good meal with my wife, go to the local park and walk around. Then go do a little bit of shopping so she's happy, LOL and go home and watch a movie together."

Doesn't that sound divine? It's a date that's low-key and full of romance, just like Mr. Romance 2010 himself. We can't wait to see Jamie again at this year's RT BOOKLOVERS CONVENTION in Los Angeles. Jamie will be on hand to pass the title on to this year's Mr. Romance on Saturday, April 9th. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Weekly Web Wrap Up 2/11/2011

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 11, 2011 | PERMALINK

This week we were sad to learn of the passing of long-time friend of RT, author Becky Lee Weyrich. She was beloved for her paranormal romances, such as 1986's Gypsy Moon and 1996's Sands of Destiny. Fellow author Sue-Ellen Welfonder says it best, "She'll be greatly missed by her family and friends and the readers who loved her amazing time travels and ghost romances." Our thoughts and prayers are with Becky Lee Weyrich's family and friends this week.

***

Romance: Kat Martin answers questions about her new contemporary romances. Read The Interview >>

Mystery: This heroine stumbles upon a murder beneath her mom's house. Take A Peek Into The Tale >>

Inspirational: Laurie Alice Elkes shares what makes midwives such great heroines. Learn More >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST