RT Daily Blog

Around The World: Travelling To Prague With Alyson Richman

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 06, 2011 | PERMALINK

Mainstream author Alyson Richman's The Lost Wife explores Jewish culture in Prague during World War II. It was love at first sight for Lenka and Josef, but Nazi invasion sends Josef fleeing to America while Lenka and her family are sent to a concentration camp. Today, the author gives us an insider's look at the city of Prague, the inspiration for her book's Czech backdrop and the difficulties of writing about life in a concentration camp.

***

For The Lost Wife, which came first, the story or the setting?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mainstream
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Weekly Web Wrap Up 9/2/2011

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 02, 2011 | PERMALINK

Did you spend your whole week Engaged with the Boss

Here’s what you missed on the RT website.

***

ROMANTIC SUSPENSE: A tragedy inspired this powerful romance. Learn More From Laura Griffin >> 

INSPIRATIONAL: Alison Strobel shares her marriage advice. Check It Out >>

YOUNG ADULT: New to the Ghost and the Goth series? Stacey Kade Will Catch You Up>>

SCIENCE FICTION: Laura Anne Gilman offers a free e-read. Read It Now >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Christine Seifert On Romance, High School And The Dangerous Computer Program In Her New YA

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 02, 2011 | PERMALINK

In The Predicteds, debut author Christine Seifert introduces readers to PROFILE, the computer program that is turning Quiet High School into a very different place to learn by predicting which students might be dangerous. But what if PROFILE is wrong? 

There’s nothing better than falling in love, except when you fall in love with the wrong person. It’s an age-old dilemma. Just ask Juliet. But it’s a story we keep telling because it’s inevitable: The person we are most drawn to is often the most forbidden. Just ask any of those girls who have ever loved a vampire.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cheaper By The Dozen - This Week's Hot E-book Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 01, 2011 | PERMALINK

One of our favorite features of the e-revolution is the sheer amount of books you can pack into such a tiny digital device. But what do you do when the growing number of new reads causes your wallet to shrink uncomfortably? Shop the e-book deals, of course! In our new column we highlight some of our favorite book buys that will cost you less than a medium-sized coffee.

Historical Romance

Captured By The Highlander by Julianne MacLean

Buy For $2.99 >>

 

Contemporary Romance

Wedding Survivor by Julia London

Buy For $.99 >>

 

Young Adult

Bright Young Things by Anna Godbersen

Get It For Free >>

         


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Author Interview: Alison Strobel

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 01, 2011 | PERMALINK

Inspirational author Alison Strobel shares an in-depth look at her newest novel. Learn how she crafted the struggling newlyweds Amelia and Marcus, discover which personal experiences she tapped into to create some of the tension in this novel and don't miss her best advice for married couples. There's all this and more as the author goes behind the scenes of Composing Amelia.

RT Book Reviews: Composing Amelia follows a newlywed couple who have separated but when they get some unexpected news, they must reunite and rely on God to get through these troubled times. What drew you towards their story of young love tested?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Inspirational
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Morgan & Whitney Dish: Good Girls Don't By Victoria Dahl

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 31, 2011 | PERMALINK


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

RT Interviews Actress Helen Mirren

BY Morgan Doremus, AUGUST 31, 2011 | PERMALINK

As unlikely as it may be, Hollywood’s current “It Girl” is actually a 66-year-old woman who has been in show business her entire adult life. I am, of course, referring to the award-winning English actress Helen Mirren.

Last week I met the actress and immediately understood her overwhelming appeal. She is exactly the type of lady that all women aspire to be. Funny, poised, polite. Distinguished, intelligent, well spoken. Mirren is definitely the grande dame of the silver screen. Undeniably popular even before her Oscar winning performance in 2006’s The Queen, Mirren has recently been awarded another title,  L.A. Fitness’ “Body of the Year.” When I brought this up, Helen just shook her head. “I am, of course, flattered and thrilled, but can’t help but think they made a mistake. Is it possible I got the sympathy vote?”


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Writes And Wrongs: Shiloh Walker On Twitter Do's & Dont's

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 31, 2011 | PERMALINK

Best-selling author Shiloh Walker pens this column of online advice for writers. Walker is a full-time author who is published in both e-book and traditional print formats. Now she shares her experience and advice to help aspiring and published authors figure out the "Writes and Wrongs" of the writing world. Today, Shiloh shares some tips on how to best use the social networking tool twitter.

There are some things I see on twitter that automatically turn me off of a writer. It’s usually related to those strong-arm, heavy sales tactics.

Some of those strong-armed sales tactics?

Well, if your twitter feed reads like:

Read this review

Read that review

(Insert fancy tagline for book here)

Have you read this review?

Have you read that review?

(Insert fancy tagline for book here)

And there’s never really anything other than that? You aren’t chatting with people? You don’t talk about anything but the book?

Is that really utilizing social media? In my opinion…no. You have to be…ya know…social to use social media.


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Authors Chat: The Myths And Misconceptions About The Romance Genre

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 31, 2011 | PERMALINK

Paranormal romance author Alexandra Ivy, who also writes Regency romances as Deborah Raleigh, has a bone to pick with readers who diss the genre without giving it a chance. Today the author is proudly, in her own words,  “Addressing Myths & Misperceptions of the Romance Genre.” Want to hear what more authors think about the issue? Be sure to check out the video below that features a few of our favorite authors, such as Kathy Love, Susan Lyons, Kaitlin O'Riley and more, chatting about the topic at Kensington's RWA party.

Who hasn’t heard the familiar clichés? The heaving bosoms, the throbbing loins, the wistful sighs. For some reason romance books have always been an easy target. I’m not sure if it’s because they’re so popular among the masses, or simply because they’re primarily read by women, but those who dismiss the genre as those sort of books—that are read by hysterical women—are flat out of touch.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview: Cherry Adair Chats About The Treasure-Hunting Cutter Brothers

BY Morgan Doremus, AUGUST 30, 2011 | PERMALINK

I can say without a doubt that Cherry Adair is one of the most fantastically outrageously fun authors I have ever met. Which is exactly what I want in a romance writer — especially one who writes thrilling romantic suspense books that have us rooting for the good guy to get the girl and the bad guy to get caught. During the RWA National Conference this summer, I sat down with the author (she was in her signature coral color) to discuss her new Cutter Cay series. Watch the video we made — and giggle alongside me — when the Cherry chats about her latest band of heroes, their not-so-average lives and why she always leaves the adventures to her characters!

Cherry Adair Chats About The Cutter Cay Series >>

More From The RT BOOK REVIEWS Video Channel >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST