RT Daily Blog

Cheaper By The Dozen - This Week's Hot E-book Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 18, 2011 | PERMALINK

One of our favorite features of the e-revolution is the sheer amount of books you can pack into such a tiny digital device. But what do you do when the growing number of new reads causes your wallet to shrink uncomfortably? Shop the e-book deals, of course! In our new column we highlight some of our favorite book buys that will cost you less than a medium-sized coffee.

Historical Romance

Hearts Aflame by Johanna Lindsey

Buy For $.99 >>

 

Contemporary Romance

Love in Bloom by Karen Rose Smith

Get It For Free >>

 

Young Adult

Beasts and BFFs by Shannon Delany

Get It For Free >>

         


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

A Free E-Read From Yoon Ha Lee!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 18, 2011 | PERMALINK

Yoon Ha Lee's science fiction short story "A Vector Alphabet of Interstellar Travel," is currently being hosted on Tor.com. The story introduces readers to five different civilizations and describes how their languages, alphabets, and/or other forms of communication — i.e. religion and styles of dance — connects to the civilization's vessels of transportation. According to Lee, in the story, "each mode of transport is an alphabet expressing their understandings of the universe’s one-way knell." Lee's interest in various forms of communication, like those expressed in "A Vector Alphabet of Interstellar Travel", is not surprising considering Lee's math background as the discipline is often referred to as its own language.

The author, who has had several short stories published in print and around the web, is also a mathematician and former math teacher. Her first short story, “The Hundredth Question,” appeared in Fantasy & Science Fiction in 1999 and since that time Lee more than 24 stories published. Lee says that she sees herself as "someone who likes math even so, and can try to put it in words. I don't expect others to fall in love with the subject."


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Science Fiction
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Love Conquers All In Regency England

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 18, 2011 | PERMALINK

Two penniless misses meet their match in Regency England in this month's Harlequin Historicals. Although both Helene and Beatrice are worried about their futures, things may not be so bleak after they've won the attention of Max and Julius. But will these relationships be able to survive the challenges ahead?

In An Innocent Debutant in Hanover Square by Anne Herries, the well-mannered miss Helene Henderson worries that the venerable Lord Maximus Coleridge will feel he can not marry her after he learns of her lower class heritage. However, it turns out that there are much more dangerous problems stalking Max — he's in the crosshairs of an assassin! But this handsome lord won't let anything, not questionable lineage or life-threatening incidents, keep him away from the woman who has stolen his heart.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Podcast Interview: Andrew Gulli On No Rest For The Dead

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 17, 2011 | PERMALINK

Editor and author Andrew Gulli and his sister Lamia J. Gulli are the editors of No Rest for the Dead, an amazing new serial mystery that was co-penned by twenty six authors over a span of four years. Today Andrew Gulli chats with RT Web Editor Morgan Doremus about curating this tale and how a serial novel different from an anthology. (Here's a quick way to tell the two apart, unlike an anthology in a serial novel more than one author writes the story, but each tells a different part of a single tale.) Gulli also gives us an insider's look at the characters of No Rest for the Dead, and shares the inspiration behind this extremely intriguing mystery!

LISTEN HERE


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Writes And Wrongs: Shiloh Walker On Overcoming Professional Jealousy

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 17, 2011 | PERMALINK

Best-selling author Shiloh Walker pens this column of online advice for writers. Walker is a full-time author who is published in both e-book and traditional print formats. Now she shares her experience and advice to help aspiring and published authors figure out the "Writes and Wrongs" of the writing world.

There’s sometimes a belief that making it as a professional writer requires ‘something’.

What is ‘something’? Well, for some who haven’t quite gotten the ‘something’, it’s ‘knowing’ the right people.  For others, it could be luck. The ‘something’ could be that you have to be somebody to get published. It could involve that ‘publishing’ lotto, when you write a book that just hits the mark and becomes a cultural phenomenon.

That indefinable ‘something’ is one thing that inspires professional jealousy. Seeing a fellow writer from your publishing house get ‘backing’ that you’re not getting, that’s another. Seeing somebody hit a list when you haven’t done it…yep.  


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Inside The Issue: October 2011

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 16, 2011 | PERMALINK

The October issue of RT BOOK REVIEWS will be in stores soon and here are some of the stories you can look forward to this issue...

Bestselling author Sylvia Day is on our cover chatting about her new Renegade Angels trilogy. We shine the spotlight on sci-fi romances and also take a look at a new batch of tales that will haunt, chill and, dare we say, horrify you. We've also got the details about YA author Becca Fitzpatrick's graphic novel debut, a wrap up of this year's Romance Writers of America annual convention and Maureen Johnson talks about her new series featuring Jack the Ripper.

There's all this and more between the pages of the October 2011 issue of RT BOOK REVIEWS. You can also SUBSCRIBE NOW and get access to RT's Bonus Content coming next week. Until then, here's a sneak peak at the October issue's Table of Contents!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview: Richelle Mead - With Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 16, 2011 | PERMALINK

Author Richelle Mead has a lot in the works. She's just released her newest urban fantasy, Succubus Revealed, has more than one graphic novel in production and is getting ready to continue her YA series with this month's Bloodlines, the first in the Vampire Academy spinoff series. Today the author stops by to chat with RT's Morgan Doremus about exactly what readers can expect from her next. And then enter for your own chance to win a copy of Bloodlines below!

Behind The Scenes With Richelle Mead >>

More From The RT BOOK REVIEWS Video Channel >>

GIVEAWAY ALERT: One lucky winner will receive a copy of Bloodlines by Richelle Mead. To enter leave a comment on this author message telling us how you'd survive life at Amberwood Prep, the boarding school in Palm Springs, CA. Or email your comment here with the subject line "Richelle Mead's Bloodlines Giveaway" and your us mailing address. The winners will be announced on September 7.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, Young Adult
14COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

On The Shelves Tuesday 8/16/2011

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 16, 2011 | PERMALINK

Here's a look at the titles we love that hit shelves this week.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Climbing The Popularity Ladder in Elise Allen's Populazzi - With Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 16, 2011 | PERMALINK

When Cara switches high schools, she decides that she wants to do the unthinkable, join the Populazzi, the elite group of popular kids at her new school. And she's got a plan of how to do it, she'll "climb the rungs of the popularity ladder" by dating different popular boys, all the way to the top. Today, author Elise Allen gives us a special inside look at her new YA novel Populazzi and which classic novel — and which of the author's own experiences — inspired this tale of dating and the dangerous world of high school popularity. And then don't miss your chance to win this new novel!

I remember the exact moment I recognized the Popularity Tower. I was in sixth grade at a brand new school. I wore too-tight Healthtex turtlenecks, oversized glasses, braces that always had something stuck in them, and I was so desperate for friends I gave up my Capri-Sun juice sack every day to two girls just so they’d pay attention to me for the two seconds it took them to ask.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Forewords - The Books Before The Buzz

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 15, 2011 | PERMALINK

With our column, Forewords, we let readers know the latest book news about some of the web team's most-anticipated upcoming releases across the genres — just as the projects are announced!

AUTO-BUY AUTHORS

Thriller - Bestselling author Karen Robards is sure to thrill fans with her upcoming release The Latest Victim. The story follows the sole survivor of the Boardwalk Killer, a woman who just happens to also be the country’s leading expert on serial killers. She must once again stop her attacker who has returned to his old hunting ground of Virginia Beach. Publication date TBA.

RETURNING FAVORITE SERIES


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST