RT Daily Blog

Mystery Month: A Look At Some Of The Most-Anticipated Upcoming Mysteries!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 29, 2011 | PERMALINK

All during July we celebrated Mystery Month with extra coverage of the authors, books and series we just can't get enough of. You heard from guest bloggers, got an inside look at the Thrillerfest conference and went behind the scenes in our author interviews. While all good things come to an end, we won't leave you completely empty-handed. Today we list the upcoming releases we are most looking forward to. From action-packed thrillers and suspenses, to the screwball sleuths and the hardboiled cops, if you love reading whodunits then you will definitely want to pre-order the gems highlighted below.

 

 

New York to Dallas
By J.D. Robb
Release Date: September 2011

 
The latest in Robb’s mystery series received a Gold rating from RT’s Senior Reviewer Jill Smith. This novel is sure to please long-time fans but those new to the series will also enjoy this story that focuses on new developments in the case that brought Eve and Roarke together!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Morgan & Whitney Dish: The Bride Wore Scarlet By Liz Carlyle

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 29, 2011 | PERMALINK

This week we devoured Liz Carlyle's historical romance series second, The Bride Wore Scarlet. During the Victorian era, a young woman attempts to prove that she’s worthy of joining a secret supernatural society by taking part in a dangerous mission to save a little girl in Brussels, Belgium.

Morgan: I picked this week’s Dish because I read the first book in the series and loved the paranormal elements the author put into her Victorian world. 

Whitney: Based on what you told me about the series starter, One Touch of Scandal, I was expecting something a bit different. 

Morgan: There does seem to be quite a shift in tone between the two. While the first one was a little more traditionally "romance-y," this one has a lot more action-adventure and paranormal elements. The “gifts” that both the hero and heroine possess are mysterious and difficult to define. Then there is the travel — *waves to Belgium* — and the bad guy with minions. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Magazine Extras: Cowboy Comments!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 29, 2011 | PERMALINK

In May, we ran a feature on contemporary cowboys and asked readers to tell us what they love about modern-day cowpokes. The incentive? A pack of western love stories by series and single-title authors! Now that the hunk-filled movie, Cowboys and Aliens, is coming to theaters this weekend, we want to share the comments from our contest winners (and a few runners-up).

WINNING REMARKS:

What I love about contemporary cowboys is that they bring back a feeling of foundation, strength, something that in my day-to-day life feels so rushed and washed out. Reading about contemporary cowboys reminds me to slow down, choose my battles and to be strong in the face of adversity. Most of all, it reminds me that at the end of the day, love and honor are what I want to sleep with.

- Dulcie B.

I love modern-day cowboys because they are the last real men in America and our last link to our adventurous past.

- Riccarla R.

I love modern-day cowboys because they still follow a code of honor.

- Laura P.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cheaper By The Dozen: This Week's Hot E-Book Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 28, 2011 | PERMALINK

One of our favorite features of the e-revolution is the sheer amount of books you can pack into such a tiny digital device. But what do you do when the growing number of new reads causes your wallet to shrink uncomfortably? Shop the e-book deals, of course! In our new column we highlight some of our favorite book buys that will cost you less than a medium-sized coffee.

Historical Romance

A Proper Companion by Candice Hern

Get It For Free >>

 

Contemporary Romance

Easily Amused by Karen McQuestion

Buy For $2.99 >>

 

Young Adult

The Amulet by Alison Pensy

Get It For Free >>

         


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Mystery Month: Video Interview With Co-Authors Who Write As Charles Todd

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 28, 2011 | PERMALINK

As we are coming to the close of Mystery Month, RT's Morgan Doremus got a chance to sit down with mother and son mystery author team Charles and Caroline, who write as Charles Todd. Their two WWI-era historical mystery series features the Scotland Yard investigator Ian Rutledge and the unflappable nurse Bess Crawford. Today the co-authors share an about what is next for their sleuths — and what it is like for the authors to work together!

Go Behind The Scenes Of The Charles Todd Novels >>

More From The RT BOOK REVIEWS Video Channel >>

  


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview: Nicole Peeler And Rachael Herron Talk Urban Fantasy And Contemporary Romance

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 27, 2011 | PERMALINK

Urban fantasy and contemporary romance seem to be on the opposite ends of the genre spectrum. But today authors Nicole Peeler, whose latest urban fantasy, Eye of the Tempest, hits stores this week, and Rachael Herron, who is currently working on her third contemporary romance, chat about how the hidden similarities in their work. Don't miss this intriguing discussion about the way that the themes of female empowerment and sexual exploration resonate through these very different tales!

More From The RT BOOK REVIEWS Video Channel >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Twitter Trends and Projects for Book Lovers

BY Elisa Verna, JULY 27, 2011 | PERMALINK

Hey, Elisa here, the newest member of the RT web staff. One of the things that I have taken over is the social media for the magazine and I am loving learning more about the genre fiction community. And my favorite ways to get news and connect with readers and authors? You guessed it, Twitter! Looking for updates from a favorite author? Want 'extras' from your favorite characters? Can't wait to join the chat about the latest book news? Its all on Twitter. But beware, the Twitterverse is wide and can be confusing, so I thought I would share some of my current book-related Twitter trends and projects:

A List of Hashtags


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

As Borders Closes, We Discover Unique Bookstores

BY Whitney Sullivan, JULY 27, 2011 | PERMALINK

I am definitely among those who mourn the passing of Borders as this giant chain bookstore gasps its final breaths. The hole that the disappearance of Borders is creating, especially as Books-A-Million is unable to work out a deal to pick up some of the bigger chain's stores, is a gap that I believe will have far reaching consequences. Thus, I have made the solemn decision to do more to support my local bookstores — be they indies or not — in order to assert with my book-buying dollars that I believe in the importance of the physical bookstore.

So I was thrilled to learn about Flavorwire's list of some of the most unique bookstores around the world. But beware, this list of book-filled gems may just have you planning your next trip. It certainly has me itching to head to the Dr. Suess-esque children’s bookstore in Japan and the church in Holland that was converted into a beautiful bookstore with most of the original architecture restored. The Flavorwire top ten also featured bookstores here in the states, including a speakeasy-style store, a repurposed glove factory and a mill that is nearly overflowing with good reads.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Mystery Month: Author Kari Lee Townsend's Psychic Heroine Gives Her A Reading!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 27, 2011 | PERMALINK

Debut author Kari Lee Townsend will charm readers with the heroine of her new novel Tempest in the Tea Leaves. The psychic Sunny is on a quest to prove that she is not the murderer her local police think she is. But today we asked Sunny to take a break from the challenging work of proving her innocence and instead take a shot at telling her author’s fortune!

I parted the beads to my sanctuary, situated at the front of the ancient Victorian house I lived in, and entered with my next client trailing behind me. Her name was Kari. She said she was passing through our quaint, small town of Divinity and simply couldn’t leave upstate New York without having her fortune read. 

“Okay, Kari, the first thing I’d like you to do is brew the tea.” I gestured to the old fashioned tea table in the center. She sat, and I took the seat opposite her.

“This is so exciting,” Kari said, her brown eyes sparkling and brown curly hair bouncing off her shoulders as she looked around the table. “Um, where are the tea bags?”


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
9COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

On The Shelves Tuesday 7/26/2011

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 26, 2011 | PERMALINK

Here's a look at the titles we love that hit shelves this week.

Historical Romance

THE BRIDE WORE SCARLET

"The nonstop pace and well-crafted prose deliver a fabulous reading experience."

BY HIS MAJESTY'S GRACE

"With her distinctive voice, Blake sets her tale during the reign of Henry VII and sweeps the reader into the precarious lifestyle of battle-scarred knights, court intrigue, scandals and treachery."

WICKED IN YOUR ARMS

"With the undeniable mark of a master storyteller the author delivers a funny yet poignant near-caper of a love story that’s unforgettable."

TEMPTATION OF A HIGHLAND SCOUNDREL

"This highly emotional romance is populated by heroes whose lives are defined by the concept of honor and strong-willed heroines who don’t accept surrender as a possibility."

THE AMOROUS EDUCATION OF CELIA SEATON

"There’s plenty of plot, wry humor and mystery/adventure in Neville’s latest frolic..."

A SCOUNDREL'S SURRENDER

"For those who adore a leisurely stroll through the hearts and souls of characters as they fall in love and survive a dark past, Petersen crafts a rich brocade of charged emotions and secrets in a classic, engaging story."

THE BED AND THE BACHELOR

"Warren delights fans as she infuses a spy thriller with heated sensuality and a lively cast of characters."

THE SINNER WHO SEDUCED ME

"Sloane’s novels are captivating and clever and her empowered heroines and stalwart heroes will charm and delight."

MY FAIR HIGHLANDER

"Wine continues her riveting Highland series with a hero that you’ll want to park beneath your bed."

THE TAMING OF THE RAKE

"Wit, humor and cleverness combine to create an utterly delicious romance, just the kind readers relish."


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST