RT Daily Blog

Sandra Dallas On The Three Generations Of Women In The Bride's House

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 13, 2011 | PERMALINK

Author Sandra Dallas is known for her beautiful tales of historical fiction. In Dallas' latest novel, this month's The Bride's House, she follows the story of three generations of woman who live and love in their family home in Georgetown, Colorado between the 1880s and modern times. Get an insider look at these three determined women as the author chats about what makes her historical heroines so special in this guest blog post.

There is this temptation among some writers of historical fiction to dress today’s women in long skirts and call them authentic. Although their book may be set in the mid-19th century, their characters are lawyers and doctors and newspaper owners. The women confront men, defend minorities, work to save the environment, and in general, are terrific role models. Only they’re not very accurate. It’s what I call the Dr. Quinn Medicine Woman Syndrome.   

I believe that characters have to be products of their own times, or at least, those in my books do. My characters are shaped by their circumstances.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Real-Life ATF Heroes Speak at RT Booklover’s Convention

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 13, 2011 | PERMALINK

Thriller author Andrew Peterson is no stranger to dangerous and daring escapades. But how does this author come up with these scenes of mayhem? This daredevil author combines his own experiences of target shooting, scuba diving and helicopter flying, with a little bit imagination. But when he's in doubt he turns to trusted sources, such as government agents, for more information. Today the author describes his experiences meeting ATF agents at the 2011 RT Booklovers Convention and what he has scheduled for next year.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Convention, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Four Doctors Find Their Matches In This Month's Harlequin Medical Romances

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 12, 2011 | PERMALINK

Four commitment-shy doctors take the plunge when the right woman is able to help them heal their emotional wounds in these May tales from the Harlequin Medical Romance imprint.

In Alison Roberts' The Unsung Hero Doctor Rick Wilson learns that he not only has a son named Josh, but also the little boy is dying of leukemia. While at Josh's bedside, Rick falls in love with Josh's guardian and must convince her that his bad boy days are behind him. RT's Dawn Crowne says of the couple in this 4 star read, "The way that they work together to make sure that Josh is taken care of is amazing and will melt anyone’s heart."

Nurse Madison is no longer willing to fight her attraction to love-em-and-leave-em Dr. Levi, so she adopts a lighthearted attitude about dating. But when the doctor decides it's time to settle down, will Madison be able to win his heart? Find out in Janice Lynn's The Doctor's Damsel in Distress!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Romantic Suspense Author Roxanne St. Claire Answers Our Questions

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 12, 2011 | PERMALINK

Today we chat with Roxanne St. Claire about her new romantic suspense series, The Guardian Angelinos. Get an up front seat to all of the action and chemistry that surges beneath these stories and find out what you can expect next from this fabulous writer!

RT BOOK REVIEWS: Your newest series, The Guardian Angelinos, debuted with last year's Edge of Sight and continues this spring with Shiver of Fear and Face of Danger. If you had to sum up each story in one 140-character tweet, what would they be?

Roxanne St. Claire:Edge of Sight: A reunion romance with hunted heroine and wounded hero, first of new series about renegade, risk-taking family of crime fighters…sexy & scary stuff! 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cozy Corner: Several Series Hit The Road Just In Time For Beach-Book Season!

BY MORGAN, MAY 12, 2011 | PERMALINK

What is it about a really good cozy mystery series that brings readers back book after book? My thought is that it has to be the great amateur sleuths who take on the crimes around them and don’t stop until they get the bad guy. But it can be hard to keep a series fresh several stories into it. So what is an author to do? Send their sleuth on a trip, of course. Just in time for toting your book to the beach, or somewhere air conditioned, here is a guide to a few cozies series that feature amateur detectives solving crime not-so-close to home.

 

 

Clutches and Curses by Dorothy Howell
Book 4 in the Haley Randolph Mystery series
Releases May 2011

After being cursed by a customer, L.A. salesgirl (and purse-aholic) Haley Randolph absolutely needs an escape. So she is off to Las Vegas. But when her rival shows up dead, Haley is the prime suspect and must work her stilettos off to find the real killer.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Morgan & Whitney Dish: DIvergent By Veronica Roth

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 11, 2011 | PERMALINK

This week Morgan and Whitney Dish about Divergent by Veronica Roth. The debut author's dystopian YA caught Whitney's attention with its compelling premise and multi-dimensional heroine.

***

Morgan: OK, I know everyone has been talking about the Hunger Games series forever, but more than any other book I remember reading, Divergent really has themes and characters that remind me of a Suzanne Collins book.

Whitney: You know, while I think it will appeal to some of the same readers who enjoyed the Hunger Games seriesI definitely didn’t read Divergent thinking “This is the Hunger Games, revisited.” 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview: Author Marcella Burnard

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 11, 2011 | PERMALINK

Author Marcella Burnard thrilled readers with her debut novel last November's futuristic paranormal romance Enemy Within. This story was a November Top Pick and nominated for that month's Seal of Excellence. Burnard followed up Enemy Within with this month's Enemy Games, which also received a Top Pick. Today Burnard shares a look at her writing process and more in this video interview with RT's Web Editor Morgan Doremus.

Marcella Burnard on her futuristic paranormal romances >>

Marcella Burnard on the differences between the first and second Enemy books >>

More From The RT BOOK REVIEWS Video Channel >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Marianne Evans Discusses The New Age Of Christian Inspirational Romance

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 11, 2011 | PERMALINK

Today author Marianne Evans challenges readers' perceptions about Christian romance. Evans shares her own transition into writing inspirational tales of love, and offers a taste of what types of stories one might find in the genre!

“Aren’t inspirational romances kind of preachy?"

“Aren’t they pure, and sweet, but lacking in realistic, relatable characters?"

“I’d read them, but, where’s the type of sparkling chemistry that gives me the butterflies of falling in love?”

Well, hang on my friends; you’re about to enter the "New Age" of inspirational romance!

I’ve heard comments like these a number of times since I made the change from writing secular romance for Kensington to writing Christian fiction and romance for White Rose Publishing, and what I always ask in return is: Have you read one lately?

I’m amazed by the evolution of Christian romances. Name a current cultural trend, and you’ll find it addressed. Inspirational romance isn’t shy about taking on tough topics like abuse, alcoholism, bullying and autism, death, betrayal. I think that answers the realism argument pretty effectively.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Inspirational
24COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Writes And Wrongs: Shiloh Walker On Building A Solid Blog Foundation

BY Shiloh Walker, MAY 11, 2011 | PERMALINK

Best-selling author Shiloh Walker pens this bi-weekly column of online advice for writers. Walker is a full-time author who is published in both e-book and traditional print formats. Now she shares her experience and advice to help aspiring and published authors figure out the "Writes and Wrongs" of the digital world.

Finding your blogging inspiration and creating a blog people come back to...

So you want to blog, but you don’t know what to blog about?

There was a post at Lynn Viehl’s blog, about how blogging could be a writing exercise, and that’s a good way to look at it. I started making myself blog, regularly—I’d have a post go up almost every day. I’ve been doing it for a couple of years now.

There’s no set rhyme or reason to my posts. I don’t just blog about writing, I don’t just blog about books, I don’t just blog about my kids and my husband, or movies, etc, etc etc. In a way, my blog has become a reflection of me. I do blog about my kids and my husband. I do blog about books. 


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Thea Harrison Answers Our Questions About Her Paranormal Romance Dragon Bound!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 10, 2011 | PERMALINK

Author Thea Harrison thrilled us with her debut paranormal romance, this month's Dragon Bound. Harrison's story pits spunky heroine Pia against a dragon hero who is determined to uncover all of her secrets. The tale got a 4 1/2 stars Gold rating from RT Senior Reviewer Jill Smith who says, "Utilizing vivid characters, edge-of-your-seat danger and an intriguing alternate reality, Harrison crafts a novel that grabs you from the first sentence and makes you bitterly regret that the book must end." Now we chat with the author for an insider look at her brilliantly paranormal world, dynamic characters and what fans can expect when her series second hits shelves in August!

RT BOOK REVIEWS: There are a lot of interesting mythical creatures in Dragon Bound from gryphons, to an evil Dark Fae King, witches and even a temperamental dragon hero. How did you decide what characters would populate your world?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST