RT Daily Blog

A Second Chance To Win The Dark Days of Supernatural Giveaway!

BY Whitney Sullivan, MAY 09, 2011 | PERMALINK

Last week we gave you the first chance to try your luck at winning our Dark Days of Supernatural Giveaway, a tote bag that comes filled with the latest novels from Aprilynne Pike and Ellen Schreiber, Kim Harrison and tales of supernatural romance and adventure from four new voices: Veronica RothAmy PlumJosephine Angelini and Tara Hudson.

             
                     
           

Let's pause for a second to get a look at those covers. That's a very pretty line-up, right? I've got a bad news/good news situation for you today. Bad news: Like the Hope Diamond, there could be only one winner of our first giveaway. So if you aren't Tricia Schneider, you are starting this week empty-handed, sorry! But, good news: Starting today you will have a second chance to win your own Dark Days of Supernatural tote bag full of new and upcoming releases.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
47COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Weekly Web Wrap Up 5/6/2011

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 06, 2011 | PERMALINK

Did you spend your whole week as a Witness on the Run?

Here’s what you missed on the RT website.

***

HISTORICAL ROMANCE: Isobel Carr chats about her favorite fictional four-legged friends. Find Out What They Are >>

MYSTERY: Daniel Blake incorporated the city of Pittsburg into his new thriller. Learn How >>

URBAN FANTASY: This author talks about the dark themes in his Iron Druid Chronicles. Who Is It? >>

YOUNG ADULT: Aprilynne Pike reveals why she was looking forward to writing Illusions. Get The Insider Details >>

INSPIRATIONAL: Meg Moseley gives readers a special look at her hero and heroine. Check It Out >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Debbie Macomber Discusses Her Newest Release A Turn In The Road

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 06, 2011 | PERMALINK

Popular women's fiction author Debbie Macomber often writes about the trials and tribulations of everyday women. She continues this tradition in her newest release, A Turn in the Roadwhich is the next in the Blossom Street series. In the story a mother, her daughter and mother-in-law hit the highway for a road trip they will never forget. Along the way, this heartwarming tale delves into the themes of redemption and forgiveness. In this interview Morgan and Debbie discuss the three generations of women in the story and how their trip across the country changes their lives forever.

LISTEN HERE


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Inspirational, Mainstream, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

April's Seal Of Excellence Winner Author Carol McCleary Top 5 Historical Figures Who Deserve Their Own Novels - With Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 05, 2011 | PERMALINK

Mystery Author Carol McCleary's latest historical mystery The Illusion of Murder won RT's April Seal of Excellence. The editors were captivated by the way that McCleary brought historical figure Nellie Bly to life, capturing the female reporter's race around the world as seen through a cleverly annotated diary. Today we chat with McCleary about why she brought Nelly Bly to life and which other famous females of history she believes deserve their own novels and why. And don't miss your chance to win a copy of The Illusion of Murder at the end of this post!

***

Why I chose Nellie Bly as my main protagonist:


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
12COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Susan Grant Takes Readers Around The World (And The Universe)

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 05, 2011 | PERMALINK

Author Susan Grant has a reputation for transporting readers across the universe with her science fiction romance tales — and this month's The Last Warrior promises to be another trip that is (pardon our pun) out of this world. But Susan Grant is happy also happy to take people around the world during her day job, as a jumbo jet pilot who frequently heads to exotic locals. 

Most of you know me as a bestselling author of 15 assorted paranormal, military, and science fiction romances. A few may know that I live a double life as a 747 jumbo jet pilot, flying overseas routes for United Airlines.

I've flown commercially for 23 years, and before that I was a jet pilot for the US Air Force. In any given month I may land in China, South Korea, Australia, Vietnam, Hong Kong, Singapore, or Japan, staying a night or two then flying home.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, Science Fiction
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Tara Taylor Quinn Shares The Best Advice She's Ever Received - With Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 05, 2011 | PERMALINK

Today author Tara Taylor Quinn shares her past with readers and explains how (and why) she incorporates her own experiences into her writing. And don’t miss your chance to win a copy of her new novel, It Happened on Maple Street, at the end of this post!

My life is an open book. At least, as of April 1, 2011 it is. Before that I had fifty-five books published with Harlequin and MIRA and I lived my life in hiding. I was living with a twenty-seven year secret of domestic violence. That changed with the publication of It Happened on Maple Street, co-authored with Tim Barney, my husband and the love of my life. It Happened on Maple Street is our true love story. And the story of the healing power of love. I am all over those pages, by name. My shame, my guilt, and my struggle to find faith in myself and trust in love are all there for the world to see. My family and friends, as they read this book, are finding out for the first time about the secrets I kept all those years. 


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog, Romance
10COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Morgan & Whitney Dish: The Guardian By Margaret Mallory

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 04, 2011 | PERMALINK

This week, Whitney and Morgan Dish about The Guardian the first book in Margaret Mallory’s new The Return of the Highlanders series

***

Morgan: I choose this week’s selection because I loved the reviewer’s summary of the story and how, when the hero, Ian MacDonald, returns home after years of war he “assumes his responsibility, vowing to win [the heroine Sileas’] respect and create a real marriage.” Characters that grow and change always get my attention. Oh, and it doesn’t hurt that he wears a kilt. Nothing wrong with that!

Whitney: I tend to stick to the Regency era for my historical romances, but I’m glad that you selected this medieval tale. It’s much less cold-drafty-castle than I thought it would be. Instead, it’s much more about “passionate hearts on the Highlands.”


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cozy Corner: Miranda James On Two New Men Of Mystery

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 04, 2011 | PERMALINK

Last summer, Miranda James introduced readers to the sleuth who is keeping killers at bay in her Cat in the Stacks mysteries. This librarian lead is back to unravel another reader's mystery in this month's Classified as Murder. But don't expect a feisty heroine, in a bit of gender-bending fun, James' book-loving leads are a man and his cat! 

When you mention the words “cozy mystery” these days, what probably comes to mind most often is “female sleuth.” That’s because 99% of cozy mysteries these days do have female main characters, usually amateurs, who do the crime-solving. Two writers who have bucked that trend recently are Jeffrey Cohen, with his Elliot Freed series, and Miranda James (aka me), with the Cat in the Stacks series featuring not one, but two, males as lead characters: Charlie Harris and his Maine coon cat, Diesel.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Barbara Ashford Talks About The Original Ending Of This Month's Spellcast

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 04, 2011 | PERMALINK

Sometimes where you end up isn't where you are heading. Author Barbara Ashford learned this the hard way when her new fantasy novel, Spellcast, became much darker than Ashford had anticipated writing. Today the author chats with us about the original ending of what RT's Senior Reviewer Natalie A. Luhrs calls a "compelling" story about "the transformative power of theater."

“Welcome to the Crossroads.”

After I typed the final words of Spellcast, I sat back and stared at the computer screen in disbelief. This was not how the book was supposed to end.

When I pitched the idea to DAW Books, I knew the basic plot. Maggie Graham loses her job in New York City. Drives up to Vermont for a getaway weekend to regroup. Stumbles upon the Crossroads Theatre. Reluctantly allows herself to be lured back into the world of theatre that she had abandoned years earlier. And – with equal reluctance – falls under the spell of theatre director Rowan Mackenzie, a man with strange powers and a mysterious past.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Science Fiction
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

On The Bookshelves Tuesday 5/3/2011

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 03, 2011 | PERMALINK

Here's a look at the titles we love that hit shelves this week.

Historical Romance  
  
 My Favorite Countess
by Vanessa Kelly

“The strong protagonists, deep emotional intensity and rising sexual tension all make the fast-paced romance memorable.”
  One Whisper Away
by Emma Wildes

“The first in Wildes’ Ladies in Waiting series is a lush and highly sensual love story.”
       
 Follow My Lead
by Kate Noble

“The appealing characters and pacing showcase Noble’s writing talents.”
  Warrior of the Isles
by Debbie Mazzuca

“Mazzuca has created a delightful blend of magic, adventure and romance."
       

Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST