RT Daily Blog

An Inside Look At Gaelen Foley's Inferno Club Series

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 01, 2011 | PERMALINK

Gaelen Foley's historical romance series third, My Irresistible Earl is an April RT Top Pick! Today, the author gives us a guided tour of the popular establishment that her new hero is part of, The Inferno Club. But readers be warned — all is not as it seems for these members of the English peerage.

The Inferno Club is a raucous, decadent gentleman’s club that is actually a front for a spy ring in service to the Crown. What makes my dark and sexy spy guys different than every other Regency spy ring on the market today is that rather than being attached to the Foreign Office, my heroes are members of an ancient secret chivalric order, the Order of St. Michael the Archangel, that was founded during the Crusades. The Order does not fight an ordinary enemy, but an evil, centuries-old secret society of highborn conspirators that have infiltrated every court in Europe, modeled on the Illuminati.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Sneak Peek: Elizabeth Boyle's Lord Langley Is Back In Town

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 31, 2011 | PERMALINK

RT brings you an exclusive first look at Elizabeth Boyle's upcoming historical romance novel, Lord Langley is Back in Town. We go beyond the back cover blurb to find out what readers can expect from the latest in this author's Regency-era series.

***

Meet Lord Langley, my elusive hero of Lord Langley is Back in Town. Readers first “met” him in This Rake of Mine as the devil-may-care diplomat father of Felicity and Tally Langley. I say “met” because until now, Lord Langley has never set foot on the page, making him all that much more of an enigma.
 
But I couldn’t shake the one known fact about Lord Langley: he’s a seducer of the first order—a real lady killer--having claimed the hearts of duchesses and princesses and ladies from one side of Europe to the other. He needed a strong woman who could match him witty retort for witty retort, outwit him at every turn, and most of all, harbored just as many secrets as he did.
 
And then came Minerva Sterling, one of the Standon widows, and I realized I’d had the perfect heroine for him all along. This is one of the mysteries of writing—when you look at the page one day and realize you’ve unintentionally written the perfect heroine for your rake-in-waiting. Here was a woman with secrets—Big Secrets—and Langley is just the sort of man who could uncover them—since that’s exactly what he’s been doing for the Foreign Office all these years—seducing ladies to uncover secrets of state.
 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Magazine Extras: Cowboy Alien Smackdown!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 31, 2011 | PERMALINK

In anticipation of the summer 2011 release of Jon Favreau's Cowboys & Aliens, starring Harrison Ford, Daniel Craig, Olivia Wilde and Keith Carradine, we asked our (admittedly biased) cowboy experts from our May issue article “Love, American Style” who’d win in a cowboys vs. aliens battle.

Sarah McCarty, author: Cowboys, cause they'd want it more. They have to save the day, it's their job!

Susan Litman, editor, Harlequin Special Edition: It depends on the cowboys, it depends on the aliens. If you are talking about a movie, I'm on Daniel Craig's team.

Linda Lael Miller, author: Cowboys, definitely, for the same reasons the British didn't win the Revolutionary War: Cowboys are familiar with the terrain. They'd win unless you killed them all, because even if one was left, he'd carry on.

Stacy Boyd, senior editor, Harlequin Desire: Aliens. Thinking on a practical level, with all the technology and weapons, they'd be superior.

Kimberly Kaye Terry, author: If you're romanticizing it, cowboys would win. In reality, aliens. But I think the real question is, what about an alien cowboy?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Magazine Extras: A Paranormal Primer Part Two

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 30, 2011 | PERMALINK

In the May issue of RT we offered a primer on several long-running and ongoing paranormal romance and urban fantasy series. Because there are so many great series out there, we couldn’t highlight them all in the magazine, so here are a few more series roundups. Let us know what you think of this feature in the comments below and post your thoughts on these going paranormal romance/urban fantasy series.

***

Kim Harrison
The Hollows
(Urban Fantasy)

First Book: Dead Witch Walking, May 2004

Current book (No. 9): Pale Demon, February 

Tell us about your heroine: Rachel Morgan is a twentysomething witch living in modern-day Cincinnati, fighting paranormal crimes and falling in and out of love. With a strong moral compass and a perchance to dress badly for the situation, she stumbles through mishap after mishap, trying to make a difference in the world, unintentionally making things worse as she serves as a catalyst for change both in small things and large. I've enjoyed writing Rachel tremendously. She's determined, focused, and the girl next door - with a little something up her sleeve.

Your universe is populated with … witches, vampires, pixies and werewolves.

How has your series changed since the first book? The Hollows stands at nine right now, which necessitates a lot of development, but the biggest change is Rachel's realization of who she is and how she is impacting others. She's done a lot of growing, and as I prepare to wrap the series up, we will be seeing Rachel coming into her own and taking charge. Smaller changes? Elves are out of the closet, werewolves have the potential to be a political force, the source of magic is in danger of evaporating, demons are poised for a last-ditch effort to save their species, and vampires are looking to Rachel to find a way for them to keep their souls after death. I think she can do it.  


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Sneak Peek: Lisa Renee Jones On The Legend Of Michael - With Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 30, 2011 | PERMALINK

RT brings you an exclusive first look at Lisa Renee Jones' upcoming novel, The Legend of Michael. We go beyond the back cover blurb with the author who shares how her fascination with Area 51 inspired her new paranormal Zodius series. And don't miss the giveaway at the end of her message!

***

Thank you so much for the opportunity to talk about The Legend of Michael, my May 2011 Sourcebooks release. The Legend of Michael is book 1 of the Zodius series. Book two will release in November 2011.

I’ve always found Area 51 intriguing, and often found myself reading one conspiracy theory or another about what really happens inside that top secret military base. The fact that the government barely acknowledges Area 51 exists, and for many years denied it all together, only makes it all the more interesting to me.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
47COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Author Interview: Gayle Forman - With Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 29, 2011 | PERMALINK

Author Gayle Forman tugged our heartstrings with her popular 2009 contemporary YA, If I Stay, when teens Mia and Adam's world was devestated by a car accident that left Mia fighting to survive. Now Forman is bringing readers the next chapter in Mia and Adam's story with Where She Went, which is told through Adam's eyes. Today the author chats with RT's Assistant Web Editor Whitney Sullivan about revisiting Mia and Adam's love, the role of music in their relationship and much more. And then don't miss your chance to win a signed copy of Where She Went below!

Gayle Forman on If I Stay and Where She Went >>

More From The RT BOOK REVIEWS Video Channel >>

Read the *Web Exclusive Review* of Where She Went >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
30COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

On The Bookshelves Tuesday 3/29/2011

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 29, 2011 | PERMALINK

Here's a look at the titles we love that hit shelves this week.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Katharine Ashe Talks Pirates With The Hero Of Her New Novel Captured By A Rogue Lord

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 29, 2011 | PERMALINK

Historical romance author Katharine Ashe's new take on a pirate romance, Captured by a Rogue Lord, got a Top Pick! Now she shares a look at what a pirate’s day might actually be like.

Since for my “Rogues of the Sea” Regency trilogy I did quite a lot of research on pirates, I decided to write a little piece about a typical day in the life of a buccaneer. The trouble was that as I wrote it, Alex Savege, the hero of Captured by a Rogue Lord, kept adding his observations. Here I offer you the result, a rakish earl’s commentary on the life of a pirate. 

A pirate’s day follows the sun, commencing at dawn when he stowes his hammock. This is no great hardship, as he often sleeps fore in the sea-tossed gundeck where the bow’s pitch is severe, jammed between crewmates who haven’t bathed in weeks. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Harlequin's Series Books Reunites Lovers

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 29, 2011 | PERMALINK

This month Harlequin is reuniting lovers in three of its series books. Authors Beth Kery, Kate Walker and Katherine Garbera each take on stories of couples that spent time apart only to find each other again for their happily-ever-afters. Always ready to root for true love, we went to the authors to learn more about what tore these couples apart and how they found their way back together again.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
13COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

The Making Of The Anthology It Happened One Season

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 28, 2011 | PERMALINK

Authors never seem to run out of plots to write about. But it's rare for readers to get a look behind the curtain to see this magic take place. And in even fewer instances, do we get a chance to actually impact the stories that authors create. However, the upcoming historical romance anthology It Happened One Season is the result of four authors taking a reader's idea and running with it.

Authors Stephanie Laurens, Mary Balogh, Jacquie D'Alessandro and Candice Hern have teamed up before. In their 2008 anthology, It Happened One Night, the authors all used the same plot points to write four very different stories. For their new anthology their publisher, Avon, set up a competition where readers submitted the criteria that each of the authors would use in their novellas. After a long process that involved both the authors as well as their fans, reader Phyllis Post's ideas were given to Laurens, Balogh, D'Alessandro and Hern to each see what type of story they would craft. Here were the guidelines they were given:


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST