RT Daily Blog

Royal Wedding Related Must-Reads!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 29, 2011 | PERMALINK

A handsome prince, a beautiful commoner and a love that couldn’t be denied — this is the stuff of dreams (and some of our favorite books). Today we are thrilled to join the enthusiastic celebration of the marriage of Prince William to Kate Middleton. But when the ceremony is over, fashion experts on both sides of the pond have dissected her dress and the last of the celebration champagne is going flat, what’s left to do? Cuddle up with a good book for your own dose of royal romance, of course! For your reading pleasure we’ve put together a list of Royal Wedding-themed recent releases so you can keep celebrating late into the night.

 

The Royal Wedding: The Director’s Cut

A Modern Fairy Tale: William, Kate, and Three Generations of Royal Love
By Jane Green


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Christie Ridgway's Royal Wedding Drinking Game (With A Non-Alcoholic Option)!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 28, 2011 | PERMALINK

Just in time for the much-anticipated Royal Wedding that will take place tomorrow, we bring you a special way to celebrate from romance author Christie Ridgway!

The Royal Wedding brings up dreams of frothy wedding dresses, deliciously silly hats, men in uniform and…a drinking game!

Those of us in the U.S. will have to set our alarms clocks or never go to sleep to be part of the festivities, so I’ve devised a way to enhance your viewing experience. You can either play the “Celebrate!” version with mimosas or bloody marys or play it safe with “Stay Awake!” substituting the caffeinated beverage of your choice. Don’t blame me if you can’t snooze until May 15th or if you pass out before the balcony-waving.

CELEBRATE!/STAY AWAKE!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Morgan & Whitney Dish: After The Golden Age By Carrie Vaughn

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 28, 2011 | PERMALINK

This week we devoured After the Golden Age by Carrie Vaughn. This urban fantasy tale takes readers to Commerce City, where being the "normal" daughter of the band of superheroes that protects the citizens has put a giant target on Celia West's back.

***

Morgan: So I’m not proud of this but I admit it, I choose this book for its cover. That and because it is written by the amazing Carrie Vaughn. It was just icing on the cake when I read the back-cover copy and saw that this was about superheroes. I’ve loved these types of stories ever since I saw The Incredibles

Whitney: I, on the other hand, probably wouldn’t have picked this one off the shelf. It was the first Carrie Vaughn book I’ve read, but now I can’t wait to read more by her. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

YA Author Susane Colasanti Shares 15 Tips For Visiting NYC - With Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 28, 2011 | PERMALINK

Today we chat with Susane Colasanti whose new New York City-centric YA novel has just hit shelves. As So Much Closer revolves around New Jersey-transplant Brooke who has just moved to New York City to be closer to her crush Scott Abrams, we asked the author for fifteen things she thinks you should know before heading to the big apple. And don't miss your chance to win a copy of So Much Closer  at the end of this post!

Planning a trip to NYC? New York welcomes you! There are so many incredibly fun things to do. I’ve lived here for 15 years and haven’t even come close to doing them all. But this should get you started…

5 Places You Cannot Miss In New York City


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
10COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Joanna Trollope Chats About Daughters-In-Law And More In Today's Author Interview

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 28, 2011 | PERMALINK

Mainstream author Joanna Trollope is known for her emotionally gripping novels about family. Her most recent release is this month's Daughters-in-Law, which focuses on the changing family dynamics as the Brinkley's last un-married son ties the knot. 

RT BOOK REVIEWS: In this month's Daughters-in-Law you focus on the relationships parents have with their married children and their spouses. What intrigued you about this dynamic?

Joanna Trollope: It’s universality. Even if you aren’t actually married, anyone living in any kind of a relationship has to deal, somehow, with their partner’s parents and family. I am keenly interested in all the relationship situations that are common to all of us, rather than focusing on the esoteric ones that will affect very few.

Read the complete interview >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mainstream
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Sneak Peek: Terri Garey's Devil Without A Cause

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 28, 2011 | PERMALINK

RT brings you an exclusive first look at Terri Garey's upcoming novel, Devil Without a Cause. We go beyond the back cover blurb with the author who shares why she brought back Sammy Divine (aka the Devil) from her popular Nicki Styx series.

***

I’ve always loved a good story. Some of the first ones I ever recall hearing came straight from the Bible: the expulsion of Adam and Eve from the Garden of Eden, Joseph and his coat of many colors, the parting of the Red Sea by Moses. As I grew older I discovered the world of Greek mythology, fabulous tales of gods and monsters like the deadly Medusa, the fearsome Minotaur, and Cerberus, the ferocious three-headed dog who supposedly guarded the gates to the Underworld. Ancient myths and legends have always captured my imagination, as did the idea of fallen angels and the ever-present, age-old battle of good vs. evil.

In Devil Without a Cause, I got the opportunity to exercise a storyteller’s prerogative by adding a bit of a twist to one of the oldest stories of all. Everyone’s heard the tale of how the Devil tempted Eve to sin by taking a bite of forbidden fruit, but what if the Devil felt that he was the one tempted, and then forever punished for it? What if the reason he wreaked so much havoc in the world is that, unable to resist the charms of a beautiful, mortal woman, he was angry at mankind for causing him to be cast out of Heaven?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview: Erotic Romance Author Logan Belle On Blue Angel - With Excerpt!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 27, 2011 | PERMALINK

Author Logan Belle has just released her burlesque-centric erotic romance novel, this month's Blue Angel. Get an insider look at this unusual tale that follows protagonist Mallory as she learns about the world of burlesque and comes out of her shell to embrace the power of her sexuality. Today the author chats with RT's Web Editor Morgan Doremus about researching burlesque clubs and Mallory's transformation. And after the video, don't miss your chance to check out an excerpt of Blue Angel.

Logan Belle On Blue Angel >>

More From The RT BOOK REVIEWS Video Channel >>

Read the excerpt of Blue Angel >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cozy Corner: Janice Hamrick Introduces The Cast Of Death On Tour

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 27, 2011 | PERMALINK

Debut mystery author Janice Hamrick has us charmed with this month's Death on Tour. As heroine Jocelyn Shore does her best to take in all the sights on much-anticipated tour of Egypt, a murderer strikes and she may be just the woman to discover the killer's identity. Before you buy your ticket for this witty and wild ride, get an insider's look at the characters that you will be joining!

A murder in broad daylight at the base of the Great Pyramids of Giza. A case of mistaken identity. A priceless necklace given and then stolen. All these events make up the story of Death on Tour, but none of them would have been possible without the unexpected mix of personalities who meet on a budget tour and end up reacting like particles in a well-intentioned but ill-fated lab experiment.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Writes And Wrongs: Shiloh Walker On Keeping Your Series' Characters Straight

BY Shiloh Walker, APRIL 27, 2011 | PERMALINK

Best-selling author Shiloh Walker pens this bi-weekly column of online advice for writers. Walker is a full-time author who is published in both e-book and traditional print formats. Now she shares her experience and advice to help aspiring and published authors figure out the "Writes and Wrongs" of the digital world.

Too many series, too many characters… aaaahhhh!!!

A break away from promo talk. Promo, in my opinion, is boring.

Let’s talk about something that bores me even more…organization. As in keeping characters organized. I’m not an organized writer. I hate the word synopsis. Organized plotting makes me break out in hives. The terms series arc blows my mind.

I’m also lazy. Yet I hate getting things wrong.

At some point, though, I figured out I needed to get organized because my memory isn’t exactly what it used to be and when you write several ongoing series and you bring back recurring characters, it’s a good idea have some of reference handy. 


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

On The Bookshelves Tuesday 4/26/2011

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 26, 2011 | PERMALINK

Here's a look at the titles we love that hit shelves this week. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST