RT Daily Blog

Win a Year's Subscription to RT BOOK REVIEWS Magazine

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 17, 2010 | PERMALINK

We are thrilled to announce the return of one of our most popular contests — your chance to win a free year's subscription to RT BOOK REVIEWS magazine!

The Publisher's newsletter is RT's free monthly look at the latest news and book picks, plus information on contests, videos and convention updates delivered to your inbox every month! It's the easiest way to get insider details from RT's Publisher Carol Stacy about all that is going on in the new issue and the industry.

But now we've made the newsletter even better. Each month anyone who is signed up for the RT Publisher's monthly newsletter will automatically be entered to win a free year's subscription to RT BOOK REVIEWS! That's twelve chances to win a free subscription, so be sure to sign up for your copy of the free monthly newsletter today!

Sign Up Now And ENTER TO WIN >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
10COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Authors At Thrillerfest 2010 Reflect On The Value Of Attending Conventions

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 17, 2010 | PERMALINK

The RT staff always has a great time at the Thrillerfest convention and this year was no exception. In our November issue of RT we asked authors for the best writing advice they'd ever received. Here, we get their opinions on why they go to conventions and what they get out of them.

Joseph Finder, Vanished
Conventions are . . . All about hanging out with my writer friends (there's no nicer group of people than writers, I've found), but I also like meeting industry professionals like publishers or agents, because I'm still learning about the business. And of course it's a rare opportunity for me to get to meet actual "fans" and buyers of my books and hear from them what they like (or don't!)


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Convention
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Tim Downs Asks You To Consider: What Do You Want From Writing?

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 17, 2010 | PERMALINK

Author Tim Downs suggests that aspiring authors consider what they want from writing and supplies some helpful hints to figure out how to achieve those goals. 

As the author of nine novels I get a lot of questions from aspiring writers: What’s your daily writing schedule? How many words do you produce in a day? What’s the best way to approach an acquisitions editor? How do you get your manuscript to the top of that infamous slush pile? Oddly enough, the most important question for any writer to consider is one that rarely gets asked.

What do I want from writing?

It’s easy to understand why this question gets overlooked. For many writers, the desire to express themselves in writing comes over them like a sudden hunger, and a hungry man doesn’t stop to ponder the question, What is it I want from eating? 

He just eats.

But there are many different reasons to write, and an aspiring writer can save herself a lot of frustration and disappointment simply by taking the time to decide what she wants from the craft of writing before she launches into that 700-page tome. For example…


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Announcing RT's November Seal of Excellence Winner: B.J. Daniels' High-Caliber Christmas!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 16, 2010 | PERMALINK

The RT Editors have chosen B.J. Daniels' latest series romance, High-Caliber Christmas, as the eighth Seal of Excellence recipient. The novel captured our editors' attention with its fast-paced adventure and sweet romance. 

But why was High-Caliber Christmas awarded the RT Seal Of Excellence and which other titles were contenders for the month of November? 

Find Out >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

On The Bookshelves Tuesday 11/16/2010

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 16, 2010 | PERMALINK

Here's a look at the titles we love that hit shelves this week.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Donna Grant's Sources Of Inspiration

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 16, 2010 | PERMALINK

Author Donna Grant’s Dark Sword novels are fast-paced historical adventures and the series second, Forbidden Highlander, has been nominated for the Best Historical Fantasy/Parnormal in the 2010 RT Reviewers’ Choice awards. Now discover what modern and ancient sources Grant looked to when she was creating the latest medieval intrigue with these very special highlanders. 

There are many things that inspire me before - and during - a book. I can become inspired by something as simple as a lyric in a song or a line in a movie. Often times it’s the look of a character in a movie that will make me think of an upcoming hero or heroine in one of my books, and its like a light goes off in my head, an “ah ha!” moment. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

New Additions to the RT Website

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 15, 2010 | PERMALINK

Dear Readers, 

You may have noticed something different about the website, we've got some new additions to our genre pages! We've broken out the mainstream, inspirational, science fiction and fantasy and erotica spotlights, so that each genre now has its own special page. We also have a new page for our comics, graphic novels and manga. And we have also folded our romantic suspense spotlight into our romance page, for the most complete coverage.

This week, author Melanie Dobson discusses how research for her newest novel provided her with an unexpected experience on the Inspirational page. Over on the Mainstream page, Sheila Roberts shares how a childhood fascination provided the inspiration for her new holiday tale. And don't miss a peek inside the steamy excerpt of Nadia Aidan's latest novel on the Erotica page. There's all this and more on these expanded sections of our site.

We hope you like our new look!

- The RT Staff

Quick Links to our New Coverage:

Mainstream >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Romance Novelist Pleads Guilty to Fraud

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 15, 2010 | PERMALINK
RT BOOK REVIEWS has learned from news channel WWLTV that romance author Meagan McKinney plead guilty to defrauding FEMA, the Road Home program and the Small Business Administration. McKinney, whose real name is Ruth Leslie Goodman, confessed to mail fraud, theft, making false statements and passport fraud after Hurricane Katrina. 

McKinney, best known for writing Historical Romances and Series Romance for Silhouette, has published more than 40 books. Her last book was published in 2004, and fans remember her works with fondness. 

For the full story, visit WWLTV.com


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Inside The Pages of A Harlequin Christmas Carol

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 15, 2010 | PERMALINK

In this month's release, A Harlequin Christmas Carol, three romance writers team up to add a new twist on the classic holiday tale A Christmas Carol by Charles Dickens'. But instead of using ghosts, authors Betina Krahn, Jacquie D'Alessandro and Hope Tarr each sub in angels-in-training to help three couples find true love. The stories are connected through heroines who have been meeting during the past few years at a monthly book club. And despite the differences in the women's life circumstances and stations, they have formed a tight knit and lasting friendship. Read on to learn how each author connected with the Dickens' story and how they prepared to take on Christmas Past, Present and Future in the delightful anthology that RT Reviewer Pat Cooper calls "charming, sexy and so overtly romantic that your heart will flutter."

"Today's Longing" by Jacquie D'Alessandro


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Hints For Writing Historicals From Author Sherry Thomas

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 15, 2010 | PERMALINK

Historical author Sherry Thomas offers aspiring writers several tips for giving their manuscripts what the author calls “That Touch of History.”

We often hear about world-building in terms of writing science fiction and fantasy. But writers of historical romance also world-build. We do not write about lands and peoples that have never existed, but nevertheless we are taking our readers to a vanished era that we must recreate.

You already know that. You know that to make your historical romance truly shine, you must make your period come alive. For that you have lovingly—or grudgingly, as it may be—compiled a huge dossier of research. What they ate. What they wore. Who were the king and the prime minister and so on and so forth.

But the thing is, everybody has had the tepid lemonade at Almack’s and heard the hero casually greet the Regent. What can you do to make your world-building stand out?

1) You can’t do that anymore!


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog, Romance
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST