RT Daily Blog

TNT To Offer Tuesday Night Mysteries

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 19, 2011 | PERMALINK

Cable television channel TNT is lining up “The TNT Tuesday Night Mystery” feature. This programing will include contemporary crime dramas as well as made-for-TV movies that will be shown each week. And even more exciting, many of the proposed projects are adaptations of works from fan-favorite mystery authors. 

Beginning in November, TNT will premier movies that are based on popular novels like Scott Turow’s Innocent, Sandra Brown’s Ricochet, Lisa Gardner’s Hide, as well as other works by Richard North Patterson, April Smith and Mary and Carol Higgins Clark


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Sneak Peek: Stephanie Julian's What A Goddess Wants

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 19, 2011 | PERMALINK

RT brings you an exclusive first look at Stephanie Julian's upcoming series Forgotten Goddesses which begins in July with What a Goddess Wants. We go beyond the back cover blurb with the author who shares how this erotic paranormal romance puts a new spin on little known Etruscan goddesses.

***

What a Goddess Wants is the first in the Forgotten Goddesses erotic romance series from Sourcebooks Casablanca. The book features a beautiful goddess, a handsome hero, a nasty blue demon and a magical community that’s coexisted with ours in secret for several millennia.

Tessa is the Etruscan Goddess of the Sun, formerly adored by millions (well, that might be pushing it a little), but who’s now living in relative obscurity in Reading, Pennsylvania, where much of the Etruscan population has been settled for two hundred years.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
4COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Morgan & Whitney Dish: Any Man Of Mine By Rachel Gibson

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 18, 2011 | PERMALINK

The course of true love does not run smoothly in Rachel Gibson's newest novel, Any Man of Mine. Pro hockey player Sam LeClaire broke Autumn Haven’s heart when he left abruptly the morning after their quickie Vegas wedding. But their resulting child, Conner, is not an obligation that Sam is willing to walk away from, despite the fact that Autumn wants nothing to do with Sam. Will five years of growing up help these divorced parents bridge the difference between “I don’t” and “I do”?

Whitney: I am notorious around here for my love of Rachel Gibson. She is one of my favorite contemporary romance authors, up there with Susan Elizabeth Phillips, Jennifer Crusie and Susan Andersen. So when I saw this was releasing, I pretty much demanded we read it! 

Morgan: And while I have never read a Gibson before, I couldn’t wait to dive in as soon as I heard this was a sports-themed romance. Ever since SEP’s Chicago Stars series, I have loved these kinds of books. And I thought Gibson did a fantastic job with the scenes on the ice. The guys talking smack, the fights, the pure male testosterone. Good times. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Print Book Releases On The Rise

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 18, 2011 | PERMALINK

Due to the increasing number of e-books being published and the growing availability of digital reading devices, readers have been bombarded with stories heralding the death of the printed book. However, according to a recent industry report, the number of traditionally published print books is on the rise. 

Bowker’s Annual Book Production Report cites preliminary findings indicate that print titles have increased by 5% over the past year. This means that in 2010 alone there were over 316,000 new books released. And that’s not even counting the explosion of public-domain reprints and self-published works. 

The one area where the numbers are unclear is in e-books. Because of difficulty with defining and identifying e-titles, it is difficult to get an exact count on these releases. However, Publisher’s Weekly projects that this number is in the six-figure range. 

So no matter how you get your books, if the trend continues, there will be more titles than ever to choose from in the future!

For additional information, see more of Bowker’s findings here.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Meet Two Debut Authors Who Are Part Of The Dark Days Of Supernatural Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 18, 2011 | PERMALINK

Today two YA authors chat about their paranormal YA novels and give you a special look at the making of their debut paranornal tales, Die for Me by Amy Plum and Josephine Angelini’s Starcrossed. (And then don’t miss your chance to win these new novels and more in the Dark Days of Supernatural giveaways all month long!)

Amy Plum Joesephine Angelini
   

Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Inside The Issue: July 2011

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 18, 2011 | PERMALINK

The July issue of RT BOOK REVIEWS will be in stores soon. Here are some of the stories you can look forward to:

This month we get a special look at Diana Palmer’s Merciless.

Find out what your favorite authors are reading this month.

Check out an interview with the incomparable Catherine Coulter.

We investigate the new trend of novels featuring Cleopatra.

George R.R. Martin chats about his A Song of Ice and Fire book series and the HBO television series that is based on it, Game of Thrones, in a special author interview.

Get the details about Kim Harrison’s Hollows series spin-off: a graphic novel prequel!

Brenda Novak heads to "the big house" for some in-depth research for her new novel.

And author Sarah Mlynowski stops by Teen Scene and more!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Classic Novels Get “Amplified”

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 17, 2011 | PERMALINK

Context can be key when reading novels written in previous centuries, and whether it's knowing the customs of the times or understanding how people reacted to the story when it was published, these details can help contemporary readers connect to classic novels. With this in mind, Penguin Classics has announced that it will be publishing “amplified” e-book editions of some of these beloved novels.

Starting this week with John Steinbeck’s Of Mice and Men: Amplified, the publisher will be releasing digital copies of classic novels with supplementary content. For $10.99, when readers purchase the Kindle amplified edition of Of Mice And Men, they will also receive an audio interview with actor James Earl Jones who performed in the play on Broadway, photo stills from the film adaptation, Steinbeck’s Nobel Prize acceptance speech and more. 

Penguin claims that with the additional content they hope to “provide a deeper, richer insight into an author’s work.”

Readers can look forward to more classics being amplified by Penguin including the summer release of Jack Kerouac’s On The Road

For more information, visit PenguinClassics.com


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Six Historical Tales Of Damsels In Distress From Harlequin

BY Whitney Sullivan, MAY 17, 2011 | PERMALINK

The handsome hero riding to my rescue, slaying a dragon, or untying me from train tracks ... it may not be realistic but it's certainly a nice fantasy. While I've got faith that I could eventually rescue myself from any of these situations — given some time and hopefully access to some power tools — occasionally it's nice to kick back and imagine a hero who wants to do the hard work for me. This month's Harlequin Historical romances bring this fantasy to life from the ballrooms of Regency England to the Wild Wild West, these are six tales of damsels in distress and the handsome men who come to their rescue — whether or not they need it!


 

Sir Ashley's Mettlesome Match
by Mary Nichols


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

On The Bookshelves Tuesday 5/17/2010

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 17, 2011 | PERMALINK
Here's a look at the titles we love that hit shelves this week.

Paranormal/Urban Fantasy  
  
 Graveminder
by Melissa Marr

“The uber-talented Marr takes her mesmerizing storytelling talents into the adult arena...Outstanding!”
    
       
Science Fiction/Fantasy 
  
 Embassytown
by China Mieville

“Mieville’s latest is a densely written, thought-provoking and challenging story about language and communication.”
  Mirror Sword and Shadow Prince
by Noriko Ogiwara

“Ogiwara’s prose and characters elevate what could have been a mere collect-the-plot-tokens quest.”
       

Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Stefanie Pintoff On Secret Of The White Rose And The Art Of Criminology In The Early 20th Century!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 17, 2011 | PERMALINK

We are more than a little bit obsessed with Criminal Minds, CSI and Bones, so we were excited to learn about Stefanie Pintoff's new release Secret of the White RoseThe story features a turn-of-the-century sleuth Simon Ziele who uses the era's budding practice of criminology to solve a judge's murder. So we knew we had to ask the author, "what are the CSI techniques of the early 1900s?" 

My historical mystery series revolving around Detective Simon Ziele and early criminal scientist Alistair Sinclair is set in early 1900s New York. It’s a time period I was attracted to largely because of the zeitgeist of this era, which was characterized by a tremendous faith in possibility. People – especially scientists – believed that the next big discovery was just around the corner, certain to change society for the better. Their innovations were revolutionizing all fields and areas of life – criminology among them.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST