RT Daily Blog

The Story Behind The Dark Divine

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 23, 2010 | PERMALINK

Author Bree Despain shares the personal tale about the “what if” that inspired her series starter, The Dark Divine.

When I was little, one of my best friends was a boy who lived down the street from me. We spent hours together climbing in apricot trees, playing soccer, and letting our imaginations run wild. He was mischievous, always looking for ways to tease me—or trying to trick me into kissing him. However, in the second grade, his family moved across the country and we parted ways.

Several years later, I’d all but forgotten about my old friend when I walked into my ninth-grade history class, and was shocked to find a new guy sitting in the seat behind mine. In my quiet suburban neighborhood, this guy looked like Breetrouble with his long hair and torn clothes. I couldn’t see his face, and the idea of sitting near him made me nervous. I took my seat, reassuring myself that if I didn’t bother him, he wouldn’t bother me.

Except, the second I sat down, he started hassling me with obnoxious questions about my life. After I’d had enough, I turned around and snapped, “Who the hell do you think you are?”


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, Young Adult
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Take a Guided Tour of Konigsburg, a Fictional Texas Town Alive With Romance

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 22, 2010 | PERMALINK

Contemporary romance author Meg Benjamin takes readers on a guided tour of the fictional Texas town of Konigsburg. Her latest Konigsburg-set novel, Long Time Gone, won the author a nomination for Best Small Press Romance in the 2010 RT Reviewers’ Choice Awards. And don't miss the excerpt of Long Time Gone at the end of the post!

William Faulkner used to have a sign in his study: “Yoknapatawpha County, William Faulkner, Sole Owner and Proprietor.” That’s sort of the way I feel about Konigsburg, Texas, the Texas Hill Country town I created for my first novel with Samhain Publishing, Venus In Blue Jeans. I’ve returned to Konigsburg several times since then, for Wedding Bell Blues, Be My Baby, and Long Time Gone, which was a Contemporary Romance RT Book Reviews Top Pick! in the December issue. My fifth Konigsburg book, Brand New Me, will be published by Samhain on December 7.

Konigsburg resembles other Hill Country towns like Kerrville, Marble Falls, Fredericksburg, and Boerne. But it’s unique in that (besides being mythical), it’s home to the Toleffson brothers and their families.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Romance
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Three Must-Read Paranormal Graphic Novels

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 22, 2010 | PERMALINK

Graphic novel lovers, are you craving some paranormal adventure? We are here to help with three *Web Exclusive Reviews* for spooky graphic novels you may have missed:

 

  Lucas and Jenna are stuck at summer camp, but something is clearly very wrong at Brain Camp. Some kids are disappearing while others are turning into braniacs and it's up to these two reluctant campers to get to the bottom of the mystery. This terrifying take on everyone's favorite school break was published in August. It was written by Laurence Klavan and Susan Kim with art by Faith Evan Hicks.

 

 


Read More>>

Tags: Comics/Graphic Novels/Manga, RT Daily Blog
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Tara Taylor Quinn On Psychological Twists

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 22, 2010 | PERMALINK

Tara Taylor Quinn’s romantic suspense series, The Chapman Files, has been full of unexpected twists and turns. This is especially true for Kelly Chapman’s latest adventure, this month’s The Fourth Victim. During this stop on the author's blog tour, she shares how her own life was affected by the psychological nightmare of domestic abuse, what she is doing to support a shelter in need and how readers can get also lend a helping hand. And don’t miss the author’s special giveaway at the end of the post! 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
4COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

WEEKLY WEB WRAP UP 11/19/2010

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 19, 2010 | PERMALINK

Did you spend your week making the P.I. Daddy's Personal Mission successful?

Here's what you missed on the RT website.

ASPIRING AUTHORS

Sherry Thomas on adding "That Touch of History" to your manuscript. Get Her Advice >>

Tim Downs suggests that all aspiring authors consider what they want from writing. Learn More >>

RT's Whitney provides some writer's block busters. Check Them Out >>

Mystery author Mary Stanton shares her suggestions for wanna-be mystery writers. Get the Scoop >>

MYSTERY: Authors from Thrillerfest 2010 on the value of conventions. Learn What They Think >>

HISTORICAL ROMANCE: Hear from the authors of A Harlequin Christmas Carol. Get the Details >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Sandra Brown Talks About Seeing Smoke Screen Come To Life

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 19, 2010 | PERMALINK

Sandra Brown's novel Smoke Screen comes to life on the Lifetime Movie Channel this Sunday night. The mystery, which got an RT rating of 4 1/2 stars when it was released in August 2008, follows TV reporter Britt Shelley as she attempts to prove her innocence after waking up next to a dead cop. Now RT's Morgan Doremus interviews the bestselling author to find out what her fans can expect from this movie adaptation.

***

What are your plans for Sunday night when Smoke Screen premieres on the Lifetime Movie Channel?

My husband and I will watch together from our "chairs" in the TV room of our house. Dogs Chase and Lucky will be nearby. We'll probably open a bottle of champagne. I'll have a flute in one hand and my phone in the other. I expect calls from family and friends.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

The Collected Inspirations for a Surprising Romantic Suspense

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 19, 2010 | PERMALINK

With thousands of books published every year, it can be difficult for authors to come up with a unique premise for a book. So when we found out that the e-book Trash Course revolved around a mystery set in a hoarder's booby-trapped house, we were immediately intrigued. We knew that we had to find out Penny Drake's inspiration for this unusual romantic suspense.

Humans collect stuff. But for some of us, this natural instinct goes haywire, and the victims discover they can’t throw anything away because they might need it some day. It’s not laziness or stupidity. It’s a psychological illness that’s very difficult to treat.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

3,2,1 ... Free Download

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 19, 2010 | PERMALINK

While we are not all sporting jet-packs and have robotic maids to do our bidding, Starbucks and sci-fi author Greg Bear are working together to make our world a little bit more futuristic. The coffeehouse giant has teamed up with the author to provide fans with a free e-copy of Bear's new novel, Hull Zero Three

Hull Zero Three marks the author's return to his deep space roots and the tale finds both the futuristic hero, Sanjay, and his ship in grave danger.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Science Fiction
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Mary Stanton’s Advice For Writing Mysteries

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 19, 2010 | PERMALINK

Author Mary Stanton, who also writes as Claudia Bishop, has published more than forty stories. Now the author shares “the absolute low-down, dirty-dog truth” about writing mystery novels. 

Late in the spring of 1993, my agent called me to tell me Berkley Prime Crime had made an offer on the partial of my first mystery novel, A Taste for Murder. And they wanted two more after that. 

I remember yelling for joy. I remember blessing my agent and all of his progeny to come. I remember shouting that this was my big chance.

I hung up the phone, danced around the kitchen, ran into the dining room and danced around that, then stopped smack in the middle of the living room floor and pulled my hair in complete and utter panic. 

I didn’t even have one complete mystery novel, and Berkley wanted THREE?

I grabbed a brown paper bag from the storage bin, breathed into it, and tried to get a grip. I didn’t know how to write a mystery novel. Berkley had made the offer based on the other novels I’d published and none of it, not one single book, was a mystery novel, and I was absolutely positively certain I was going to make a complete and utter ass of myself. 


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview: Fabio Moon and Gabriel Ba

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 18, 2010 | PERMALINK

Graphic artists Fabio Moon and Gabriel Ba are interviewed by RT's Web Editor Morgan Doremus. The authors chat about their award winning graphic novel, De:Tales. Get an insider look at the artists' inspiration and discover why they say De:Tales is a "universal" story. And don't miss the *Web Exclusive Review* of De:Tales after the interview!

Fabio Moon and Gabriel Ba Go Behind the Scenes of De:Tales >>

More From The RT BOOK REVIEWS Video Channel >>

Read the *Web Exclusive Review* of De:Tales >>


Read More>>

Tags: Comics/Graphic Novels/Manga, RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST