RT Daily Blog

Sneak Peek: Lisa Renee Jones On The Legend Of Michael - With Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 30, 2011 | PERMALINK

RT brings you an exclusive first look at Lisa Renee Jones' upcoming novel, The Legend of Michael. We go beyond the back cover blurb with the author who shares how her fascination with Area 51 inspired her new paranormal Zodius series. And don't miss the giveaway at the end of her message!

***

Thank you so much for the opportunity to talk about The Legend of Michael, my May 2011 Sourcebooks release. The Legend of Michael is book 1 of the Zodius series. Book two will release in November 2011.

I’ve always found Area 51 intriguing, and often found myself reading one conspiracy theory or another about what really happens inside that top secret military base. The fact that the government barely acknowledges Area 51 exists, and for many years denied it all together, only makes it all the more interesting to me.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
47COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Author Interview: Gayle Forman - With Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 29, 2011 | PERMALINK

Author Gayle Forman tugged our heartstrings with her popular 2009 contemporary YA, If I Stay, when teens Mia and Adam's world was devestated by a car accident that left Mia fighting to survive. Now Forman is bringing readers the next chapter in Mia and Adam's story with Where She Went, which is told through Adam's eyes. Today the author chats with RT's Assistant Web Editor Whitney Sullivan about revisiting Mia and Adam's love, the role of music in their relationship and much more. And then don't miss your chance to win a signed copy of Where She Went below!

Gayle Forman on If I Stay and Where She Went >>

More From The RT BOOK REVIEWS Video Channel >>

Read the *Web Exclusive Review* of Where She Went >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
30COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

On The Bookshelves Tuesday 3/29/2011

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 29, 2011 | PERMALINK

Here's a look at the titles we love that hit shelves this week.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Katharine Ashe Talks Pirates With The Hero Of Her New Novel Captured By A Rogue Lord

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 29, 2011 | PERMALINK

Historical romance author Katharine Ashe's new take on a pirate romance, Captured by a Rogue Lord, got a Top Pick! Now she shares a look at what a pirate’s day might actually be like.

Since for my “Rogues of the Sea” Regency trilogy I did quite a lot of research on pirates, I decided to write a little piece about a typical day in the life of a buccaneer. The trouble was that as I wrote it, Alex Savege, the hero of Captured by a Rogue Lord, kept adding his observations. Here I offer you the result, a rakish earl’s commentary on the life of a pirate. 

A pirate’s day follows the sun, commencing at dawn when he stowes his hammock. This is no great hardship, as he often sleeps fore in the sea-tossed gundeck where the bow’s pitch is severe, jammed between crewmates who haven’t bathed in weeks. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Harlequin's Series Books Reunites Lovers

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 29, 2011 | PERMALINK

This month Harlequin is reuniting lovers in three of its series books. Authors Beth Kery, Kate Walker and Katherine Garbera each take on stories of couples that spent time apart only to find each other again for their happily-ever-afters. Always ready to root for true love, we went to the authors to learn more about what tore these couples apart and how they found their way back together again.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
13COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

The Making Of The Anthology It Happened One Season

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 28, 2011 | PERMALINK

Authors never seem to run out of plots to write about. But it's rare for readers to get a look behind the curtain to see this magic take place. And in even fewer instances, do we get a chance to actually impact the stories that authors create. However, the upcoming historical romance anthology It Happened One Season is the result of four authors taking a reader's idea and running with it.

Authors Stephanie Laurens, Mary Balogh, Jacquie D'Alessandro and Candice Hern have teamed up before. In their 2008 anthology, It Happened One Night, the authors all used the same plot points to write four very different stories. For their new anthology their publisher, Avon, set up a competition where readers submitted the criteria that each of the authors would use in their novellas. After a long process that involved both the authors as well as their fans, reader Phyllis Post's ideas were given to Laurens, Balogh, D'Alessandro and Hern to each see what type of story they would craft. Here were the guidelines they were given:


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Forewords - Books Before The Buzz

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 28, 2011 | PERMALINK

Looking for news about upcoming books in one convenient place? Our weekly column Forewords has everything you need. We share news about our most anticipated releases across all the genres — just as the projects are announced!

CONTINUING FAVORITE SERIES

Contemporary Romance - Author Robyn Carr has just sold the next nine books in her long running Virgin River series. 

Young Adult - Melissa de la Cruz's final novel in the paranormal YA series Blue Bloods will be published in Fall 2012. 

Paranormal Romance - Theresa Meyers will be releasing a novella and three new novels in her Shadow Sisters series. These stories will continue four sister’s ongoing battle to stop the dark fae from overtaking the human world. 

Historical Romance - The next four books in Lynsay Sands' Argeneau Vampire series has been purchased by Avon. 

NEW SERIES ALERT


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Diane Whiteside's The Shadow Guard Is Inspired By ...

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 28, 2011 | PERMALINK

From classic cinema to a popular novel series and an animated movie, today author Diane Whiteside gives us a behind the scenes look at some of the sources of inspiration that she wove into the major players in her new Urban Fantasy novel, The Shadow Guard!

Many different things can inspire a story. Heck, sometimes it just springs to life in an author’s brain and defies the poor soul to think about anything else until it’s written down. The Shadow Guard, my April 2011 release from Brava, mercifully had three main inspirations.

First, Ingrid Bergman has always fascinated me. Casablanca – who can forget Humphrey Bogart’s immortal line, “here’s looking at you, kid?” You always knew why that hardened man of the world could never forget her.  

In Alfred Hitchcock’s thriller Notorious, she portrays a fragile beauty who discovers inner strength amid betrayal on all sides, including from those she should be able to trust, and saves her country. Cary Grant, as the hero, doesn’t trust her but still finds himself falling in love.  


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Extended Review: Nora Roberts' Chasing Fire - With Giveaway

BY MORGAN, MARCH 25, 2011 | PERMALINK

I grew up near Missoula, Montana where Nora Roberts' April book, Chasing Fire is set. Chasing Fire follows heroine Rowan Tripp, a smoke jumper who parachutes into forests to put out fires. While I have never met a female smoke jumper, when I was in my teens my cousin dated a man who fought forest fires during the summers. And I am happy to report that almost everything in Roberts' book matches what I know about smoke jumping.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
21COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Weekly Web Wrap Up 3/25/11

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 25, 2011 | PERMALINK

Were you In The Line Of Fire this week?

Here’s what you missed on the RT website.

***

CONTEMPORARY ROMANCE: J.J. Murray gives us the inside scoop on his diva heroine. Read On >>

YOUNG ADULT: Go inside the dystopian world of Wither. Read The Excerpt >>

ROMANTIC SUSPENSE: This new novel is filled with Regency era suspense. What Book Is It? >>

SERIES ROMANCE: Michele Hauf talks paranormal universes. Learn More >>

EROTICA: Beth Williamson on her new “tortured hero”. Check It Out >>

AUTHOR INTERVIEW: Mystery author Rick Mofina on writing. Watch It Now >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST