RT Daily Blog

Who's Who: The Answers To The "Name Game" From Our March Issue!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 15, 2011 | PERMALINK

We love games here at RT — and we're glad to know our readers do too! Lots of you wrote in to play along with the Name Game that ran with our story on initialed pseudonyms in our March issue, "Alphabet Soup." As promised, below are the correct answers to the puzzle. Winners have been notified.

Thanks as always for playing along!

1. J.K. Beck     
2. J.D. Robb    
3. Christie Craig  
4. Vanessa Kelly      
5. C.E. Murphy  
6. Sonja Massie 
7. J.C. Wilder   
8. Candace Procter
9. Marion Chesney 
10. M.J. Locke     
G. Julie Kenner
J. Nora Roberts
F. C.C. Hunter
A. V.K. Sykes
I. Cate Dermody
H. G.A. McKevett
D. Dominique Adair
C. C.S. Harris
E. M.C. Beaton
B. Laura J. Mixon

 

For more about authors who write under initialed psuedonyms, check the March Issue, and if you missed our additional interview with P.J. Parrish, you can click here!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

On The Bookshelves Tuesday 3/15/2011

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 15, 2011 | PERMALINK

Here's a look at the titles we love that hit shelves this week.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Extended Excerpt: Ann Aguirre's Shady Lady

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 15, 2011 | PERMALINK

Get a peek between the covers of  Ann Aguirre's new Urban Fantasy novel, Shady Lady. With this extended excerpt you can dive right into the latest Corine Solomon adventure which will hit stores in April!

***

Lust sizzled through me. There were two of them, a matched pair. I knew a woman wasn’t supposed to want such things, but sometimes we had desires—dark desires—that couldn’t be denied. There was no doubt about it.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Forewords - Books Before The Buzz

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 14, 2011 | PERMALINK

Looking for news about upcoming books in one convenient place? Our weekly column Forewords has everything you need. We share news about our most anticipated releases across all the genres — just as the projects are announced!

AUTO-BUY AUTHOR

Romance - Contemporary romance maven Susan Elizabeth Phillips has just sold two more novels to William Morrow. No confirmation as to when these books will release, but if they follow the author’s previous release schedule, we might see the first in January 2012.

RETURNING FAVORITE SERIES 

Young Adult - The next three books in Sherrilyn Kenyon’s series Chronicles of Nick will be released from St. Martin’s. For this new deal, Kenyon will reportedly make over a million dollars. For those unfamiliar with the YA series, Chronicles of Nick is a spin-off of Kenyon's adult Dark-Hunter books.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Author Ethan Cross Explores the Minds of Serial Killers - With Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 14, 2011 | PERMALINK

Today thriller author Ethan Cross releases The Shepherd the terrifying tale of a serial killer run amok and the conspiracy that keeps him free. We asked the author to give us a peek inside the mind of his killer Francis Ackerman Jr. Cross does just that by exploring how Ackerman's past and genetics come together to create the perfect serial killer. Interested in reading more? Check out the giveaway at the end of the post to get your own copy of this thrilling read.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Sneak Peek: Beth Kendrick's The Bake-Off

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 14, 2011 | PERMALINK

RT brings you an exclusive first look at Beth Kendrick's upcoming novel, The Bake-Off. We go beyond the back cover blurb for this special look at The Bake-Off, which will hit bookstores in early May.

***

Certain flavors just naturally go together: Peanut butter and chocolate. Vanilla ice cream and apple pie. Whipped cream and the washboard abs of a hot hero.

Oops. Did I say that out loud?

The Bake-Off is a story about Amy, a suburban soccer mom who just wants to stand out from the crowd, and her younger sister Linnie, a former child prodigy who just wants to fit in. Amy and Linnie had a huge falling-out ten years ago, and nothing can bring them together again…nothing, that is, except the manipulations of their wily grandmother and their need for money and publicity. So, “borrowing” a family recipe that’s been passed down for generation, the sisters enter a national baking competition and prepare to whisk their way to riches and glory.

As you can imagine, problems start to crop up almost immediately. Along with a very tall, dark, and sexy stranger.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mainstream
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Weekly Web Wrap Up 3/11/2011

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 11, 2011 | PERMALINK

Did you spend your whole week followed by a good-looking man Protecting Plain Jane?

Here’s what you missed on the RT website.

***

HISTORICAL ROMANCE: Anna Campbell on her upcoming book. Read Her Sneak Peek >>

MYSTERY: We interview Lisa Gardner about her Gold Top Pick! Love You More. Check It Out >>

EROTICA: Eliza Lloyd’s new series begins after happily ever after. Learn Why >>

SERIES ROMANCE: A look at one of this month’s Harlequin Medical Romances. Read On >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Then and Now: Jane Feather

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 11, 2011 | PERMALINK
 

Jane Feather then ...

 
 
... and now. 

Beloved historical romance author Jane Feather is known for her sweeping dramas and dark heroes. Feather began publishing books back in 1984, writing contemporary romances for two years as Claudia Bishop before she released her first historical romance as Jane Feather in 1986. Over the course of twenty five years the author has written thirty seven novels and her works have been included in several anthologies. Today we chat with this bestselling author about how the romance genre, and her writing, has evolved since she debuted on the scene.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Get Hands-On Help With Your Writing Skills At The 2011 RT Booklovers Convention

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 11, 2011 | PERMALINK

Hey aspiring writers, what are you doing this weekend? Polishing up your query letter, first pages and synopsis to submit to a hand-ons workshop at the RT convention? That's right, this year at the RT Booklovers Convention in L.A., April 6 - 10, aspiring authors attending the convention have the chance to get their work critiqued by industry professionals. Submit your work and the agents just might pick your piece to discuss at their workshop. Scary? You bet! But totally worth it for invaluable feedback. If you will be attending the convention, this is an opportunity not to be missed!

Wonder what's wrong with your query letter, which just isn't getting any bites? Why not submit your draft to literary agents Jessica Faust and Kim Lionetti of BookEnds, LLC, and their Query Power workshop? Just put "RT Convention—Query Power Submission" in the subject line and send your query letter to: Jessica Faust

Stymied by the weight of the dreaded synopsis? Let agent Jim McCarthy of Dystel & Goderich Literary Management take a peek and give you some pointers! Send your 3-5 page synopsis to Jim, who will select a few to be discussed/critiqued during the session. Please put "RT Convention—Sensational Synopsis Submission" in the subject line and send your 3-5 page synopsis to: Jim McCarthy.


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Author Interview: Jeffrey Small Answers Our Questions About His Debut Novel The Breath Of God

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 11, 2011 | PERMALINK

Jeffrey Small’s March suspense, The Breath of God, received an RT Top Pick! This debut book is plotted around a real historical document from 1887 that continues to be controversial. So we knew we would have to go straight to the author to answers about this intriguing new tale!

***

Writing about missing texts following Jesus' life opens you up to criticism from Biblical and religious readers. Were you at all intimidated by this?

I suspected that two of the novel's themes would be controversial: exploring the mystery behind what Jesus was doing in the twenty years of his life that the Bible doesn't address that made him into the man he became and the importance of inter-religious dialogue so that we can understand the influences among and the common themes between the world's religions. Throughout history, religion has been one of the major causes of war, persecution, and exclusion. We see these problems ongoing today with Islamic terrorism and with what I call "Country Club Christianity"—the attitude that "I'm saved, but you're not" that leads to persecution of gays, discrimination against those of other religions, and the relegation of women to subservient roles. By having more dialogue among religions, we cannot only lessen these tensions by exploring the commonalities rather than the differences among the great faiths of the world, but we can also enlighten our own faiths by opening our minds to ideas we may not have considered. Rather than being intimidated by a reaction to these themes, I felt a calling to bring them out into the open.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST