RT Daily Blog

Mark Henry on Making the Switch

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 16, 2010 | PERMALINK

Urban Fantasy author Mark Henry talks about a writer’s best weapon again the threat of unemployment: the ability to diversify. Today marks the release of his first erotic tale, Stocking Full of Coal, writing under the name Amanda Feral. Get all the details about how this new novel came to be and don’t miss the *Web Exclusive Review* of the story at the end of this post! 

Writers get a lot of questions. What font do you use? Where do you get your ideas? Do you ever bathe? But one that’s been popping up a lot recently is: can you really make a living as a lower midlist author with very little other marketable skills?

The answer is an unequivocal maybe, often accompanied by a shrug.


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog, Erotica, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Three Heroes Next Door That are Melting our Hearts

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 15, 2010 | PERMALINK

Romantic suspense is full of ex-Navy SEALs and high-tech security experts. But this month the three men who are turning our heads are more of the hero next door type. Pamela Loewy's Wyatt Kelly and Joyce Lamb's John Logan are hard working police detectives, and KM Daughters' Patrick Sullivan is a police captain. They may not have flashy gadgets or untold riches to help them save the girl, but they can rescue us any day! Now Loewy, Lamb and Daughters give us a special look at these three everyday heroes who are melting our hearts.

 

Wyatt Kelly the hero of Saving Jemma  
by Pamela Loewy


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Inside the Issue: February 2011

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 15, 2010 | PERMALINK

The weather outside may be frightful, but this month's magazine is delightful! We've just wrapped up the February issue and it will be in stores next week.

Here are some of the stories you can look forward to:

We investigate some of fiction's hottest love triangles to find out which man fans think should win the heroine's heart. 

Debut author Darynda Jones talks about the contest that changed it all — and the sought-after shoes that grace her cover!

We look into "The Original E-book" to find out why some bestselling authors are taking a less traditional route to deliver stories to readers.

Douglas Preston and Lincoln Child give us a sneak peek at their new hero, Gideon Crew.

Find out how Colleen Houck's novel became the launch title for a new line of YAs.

Convention News: It's time to talk parties!

You can also check out the third round of the RT/Kensington Writing With the Stars competition, author Jana Oliver is featured in Teen Scene and much more!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Shiloh Walker on Which Website To Use as a Promotional Tool: Shelfari or Goodreads

BY Shiloh Walker, DECEMBER 15, 2010 | PERMALINK

Best-selling author Shiloh Walker pens this bi-monthly column of online advice for writers. Walker is a full-time author who is published in both e-book and traditional print formats. Now she shares her experience and advice to help aspiring and published authors figure out the "Writes and Wrongs" of the digital world.

It can be hard for an author to tell whether it's better to use Shelfari or Goodreads as a promotional tool.

So far, from everything I can tell? It’s Goodreads.

Full disclosure—I haven’t used Shelfari much. I do have an account, although I’d forgotten it. When I went moseyed over there to check it out, I realized I did have that account and logged in, found a bunch pending friend requests…cleared them through, although I’m not sure it will do much good. I’m not planning spending much time there.

The profile set up doesn’t appeal to me. It’s not as simplified as Goodreads and it’s more limited on what authors can do—which isn’t bad for readers, especially those who are getting tired of authors taking over discussions. Yes, it happens, it gets annoying—I’ve seen it. 


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

On the Bookshelves Tuesday 12/14/2010

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 14, 2010 | PERMALINK

Here's a look at the titles we love that hit shelves this week.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

A New Way to Enjoy Stephanie Laurens' Black Cobra quartet

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 14, 2010 | PERMALINK

Bestselling historical romance author Stephanie Laurens and her publisher Avon, part of HarperCollins, have teamed up to create a fun interactive online game based on Laurens' latest historical romance series, the Black Cobra quartet. The new game is called Crazy Cobras and is available for you to start playing now!

We loved traveling around the globe in this fast-paced Regency series, not to mention falling in love with the four handsome heroes. Laurens also gave readers an insider look at her series back in October with this video interview and Q&A. So even if you haven't had a chance to read Laurens' latest series, you can still enjoy Crazy Cobras.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

An Exclusive Look at The Lost Saint - Read the First Chapter!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 14, 2010 | PERMALINK

Bree Despain’s new YA novel, The Lost Saint, the second in her Dark Divine series, has been getting tons of buzz, and the exclusive look we shared last week, starting with the  prologue, is just going to keep on coming! Now Bree is back to talk about how she won the battle against writer's block and reveal the entire first chapter of The Lost Saint!

Woohoo! Today, thanks to RT BOOK REVIEWS, I get to preview Chapter One of The Lost Saint. Along with the preview, I thought I’d give you a behind-the-scenes look at this chapter.

The problem: As I said in my last post, the beginning of The Lost Saint was a hard one to figure out (what with 20+ false starts and all), and it was frankly giving me a major case of the author crazies.  


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
28COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview: John Scalzi

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 13, 2010 | PERMALINK

Author John Scalzi is as well known for his Internet presence as he is for his intelligent and accessible science fiction. He has been actively blogging at Whatever for over ten years, creating content that is ranges from the serious to the lighthearted. Now Scalzi goes behind the scenes of his blog in this interview with RT's Senior Editor and Reviews Coordinator Stephanie Klose. He chats about his blogging practices, the book that some of his posts have been turned into, Your Hate Mail Will Be Gradedand a few of the popular features that keep readers coming back day after day.

John Scalzi Will Grade Your Hate Mail >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Science Fiction
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Teresa Medeiros is Keeping it (Really) Contemporary

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 13, 2010 | PERMALINK

Popular romance author Teresa Medieros has put a whole new spin on the “contemporary” in her newest contemporary romance, Goodnight Tweetheart. This novel is written entirely in the 140 character twitter posts that are known as tweets. Now the author has created a special excerpt of her latest love story, exclusively for the RT Daily Blog!

In this scene, Abby Donovan tweets the news about the new man in her life to her best friend Margo.  

@Abby_Donovan: I met a man online. I know that probably sounds pathetic.

@MargoInTribeca: Unless you're into those guys who deliver Chinese food, where else would you meet a man?

@Abby_Donovan: Hey, I get out! I met you at the gym here today, didn't I?

@MargoInTribeca: You're only a few take-out orders away from becoming some crazy cat lady who bakes poisoned cookies for the children in her building.

@Abby_Donovan: You have to have more than two cats to qualify as a crazy cat lady. Forty-two is optimal…


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cast Your Vote in Round Three of Writing With the Stars!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 13, 2010 | PERMALINK

Voting is now open for the third round of the Kensington/RT BOOK REVIEWS Writing With the Stars contest!

You've already had a chance to meet the 10 contestants and their mentors and also vote on the best first paragraph and last line of their novel. During the last round of the competition you got to read about each contestant's hero and heroine. And now you get to vote on which contestant has the best back cover blurb for their story!

You will also get to read comments from each contestant's mentor as well as the in-depth commentary of this round's judge, agent Kristin Nelson who established the Nelson Literary Agency. 

You can vote one time between now and January 2nd, and comment on the blurbs as many times as you'd like. And then get ready to decide which of the remaining contestants has the best secondary character in round four of Writing With the Stars! 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST