RT Daily Blog

Eloisa James and the Digital Delight!

BY Whitney Sullivan, DECEMBER 22, 2010 | PERMALINK

Historical romance maven Eloisa James is thrilling fans with the announcement of her new e-exclusive novella, Storming the Castle. I can't wait to watch James' trademark antics ensue.

Readers will remember Storming the Castle's hero, Wick, from James' summer release, A Kiss at Midnight. But will this wily gentleman be able to persuade one miss Phillipa Damson that he's the man for her?

The novella is on sale today! In addition to the story, fans also get bonus content from A Kiss at Midnight and this winter's release, When Beauty Tamed the Beast. And never fear my e-reading friends, Avon is offering the story through all of the major e-retailers, to ensure that you don't get left out in the cold this holiday season.

Order your copy now >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

It's all Geek to Her! Mechele Armstrong on Science Fiction Conventions and Geek Culture

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 22, 2010 | PERMALINK

In Mechele Armstrong’s new novel Geek Love, much of the action is woven through a science fiction convention and the story is full of geek culture references. Now find out what makes this “a great time to get your geek on” and find out the author’s top five things you should know about science fiction conventions. And don’t miss the *Web Exclusive Review* and the excerpt of Geek Love at the end of this post!

I’m a geek.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

On The Bookshelves Tuesday 12/21/2010

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 21, 2010 | PERMALINK

Here's a look at the titles we love that hit shelves this week.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Author Interview With Chris Fabry

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 21, 2010 | PERMALINK

In his newest RT Top Pick! rated release Almost Heaven, inspirational author Chris Fabry uses his real life experiences as a radio host to enhance his story. Now the author discusses what it is like to use personal anecdotes in his fiction and what readers can expect in his next book.

RT BOOK REVIEWS: Almost Heaven is told in alternating viewpoints, that of Billy and the angel Malachai. What is a something you used when writing from Malachai's point of view to reinforce the angel's heavenly voice?

Chris FabryAngels have always been difficult to get right as far as voice. They either come off sounding too Elizabethan or too hokey. I tried hard to keep a somewhat distant voice, separate in a way, but still inquisitive and full of wonder. I can’t wait to see if I was anywhere close.

Read the Interview >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Inspirational
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

A Final Message and Excerpt Before The Lost Saint Hits Shelves!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 21, 2010 | PERMALINK

The paranormal YA The Lost Saint by Bree Despain will hit shelves next Tuesday. She has already told us about the incident that inspired the series, shared an insider look at the challenge she faced when starting this novel and revealed what finally helped her break through her writer's block. Now Bree stops by with one final message and excerpt of her novel before readers (okay, us) can get their (our) hands on The Lost Saint on the 28th! 

Dear RT Book Reviews Readers,


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
7COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Check out the Giant Science Fiction Romance Giveaway at The Galaxy Express!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 21, 2010 | PERMALINK

We love the science fiction romance website The Galaxy Express, run by Heather Massey. So we were thrilled to learn that this year the site is currently hosting its second annual giant book giveaway for the holidays! Here's Heather with all the details:

Starting December 20, The Galaxy Express is hosting the second annual SFR Holiday Blitz. This event features a huge giveaway of over 50 science fiction romance books. Thirty three authors and fifteen bloggers have joined forces to give the gift of intergalactic adventure and romance to readers around the globe.

Sample prizes include books by Linnea Sinclair, Sherrilyn Kenyon, Pauline B. Jones, Nalini Singh, Ella Drake, Anitra Lynn McLeod, and Susan Grant.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance, Science Fiction
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Barbara O'Neal on Mothers and Daughters

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 20, 2010 | PERMALINK

Mainstream author Barbara O'Neal dishes up another heartwarming tale of love and baking in this month's How to Bake a Perfect Life. When Ramona is thrust into the role of guardian of her teenage granddaughter, she is at a loss about what to do next. Now the author shares the personal story that helped her connect with Ramona's situation and explains the role of "mother dough" in her new novel!

I remember a night when I was eight months pregnant with my first child. It was the thin, dark part of the night, and I sat on the side of the bathtub in the harsh yellow light, rocking back and forth in terror: what have I done? How could I raise a child? I had no idea what I was doing! My husband slept in the other room, oblivious, while I locked myself in the bathroom. Alone with my giant belly and a baby moving soft fists on the other side of my skin, I wept for all the ways I would ruin his/her life.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mainstream
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Tell us What you'd Like in an RT BOOK REVIEWS app!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 20, 2010 | PERMALINK

There's an app for everything these days, and as our readers know we work hard to help you read smarter! So we are looking into how to best provide our readers with easy access to all of the content on our website. That's over 40,000 book reviews, as well as blog posts, magazine articles and much more!

Wouldn't it be great to be able to look up all the new reviews while you are standing in the bookstore? Or how about being able to scan any book's barcode to find out what the RT reviewers have to say about it? Or do you see the most value in being able to access our popular forums to check in with what your fellow readers have to say while you are on the go? 

We want to know what you'd like to see in an app that gives you access to RT's online content. Would you prefer to use a more streamlined free app or have access to an app that is more of a resource so that you can access all of RT's online content on your smart phone, iPad or tablet while you are on the go? Fill out this survey to share your thoughts about what you would like to see in an RT BOOK REVIEWS app.

Take the Survey >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Find the Cover Contest!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 20, 2010 | PERMALINK

To help you beat the winter chill, we've cooked up a little scavenger hunt for you within the pages of the new issue.

Somewhere inside our February magazine we've hidden a picture of the December 2010 magazine cover. One lucky reader who finds our hidden image will win a prize pack from RT. 

To enter email here with the location of the hidden December cover and your US mailing address. One entry per person please. The winner will be announced here on January 18th!

BLOG UPDATE 1/18/11: And the winner is Arlene S.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

WEEKLY WEB WRAP UP 12/17/2010

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 17, 2010 | PERMALINK

Did you spend your week trying to figure out if your cute new co-worker was Forbidden or For Bedding?

Here's what you missed on the RT website.

HISTORICAL ROMANCE: Play the game based on Stephanie Laurens' latest series. Get the Details >>

MYSTERY: The Haunted Home Restoration series is full of references to the author's life. Learn More >>

CONTEMPORARY ROMANCE: Teresa Medeiros gets truly modern with her new novel. Check it Out >>

YOUNG ADULT: Carrie Jones shares the inspiration for her kick-butt nice girl heroine. What is it? >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST