RT Daily Blog

Christmas Memories With Lisa Plumley

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 01, 2010 | PERMALINK

Author Lisa Plumley is ringing in the holiday season this year with not one but two very different new romance novels! The first is the Christmas-themed contemporary, A Holiday Affair, and the second is a trip back to the American Frontier in Mail-Order Groom. But this Christmas-loving author took some time out of her busy schedule to share a very meaningful holiday memory with us. 

Some families take down their Christmas tree on Boxing Day, immediately after Christmas. Others haul their tinsel-sprinkled, crunchy-needled evergreen to the curb for recycling a week or so later. Either way, by New Year’s Day, most families have moved on.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Author Podcast: CJ Lyons Chats About Her Final Angels of Mercy Novel - With Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 30, 2010 | PERMALINK

CJ Lyons concludes her popular Angels of Mercy series with Critical Condition, the fast paced thriller that is released today! Lyons, who is an ER doctor turned author, talks about readers can expect from the fourth novel in her popular medical thriller series. In Critical Condition all four of the series' heroines are trapped in the hospital with a serial killer on the loose, so this is sure to be another action-filled visit to the hospital. Lyons also shares what her fans can expect next — the author's upcoming series is co-written with Erin Brockovich. And don't miss your chance to win Critical Condition at the end of the interview!

LISTEN HERE


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
5COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cathy Maxwell On “Lickably Good” Romance Novel Covers

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 30, 2010 | PERMALINK

We all know that we shouldn’t judge a book by its cover — but that doesn’t mean that we don’t! And over the past twenty years romance novels have certainly undergone some very distinctive trends. (They don’t call the romance genre “bodice-rippers” for nothing!) Now best-selling romance author Cathy Maxwell chats about the the covers have inspired her, the trends she loves and the art she covets!

When I visited Dame Barbara Cartland at her country estate (Yes, I did that and, yes, it was totally cool. The trip was organized by RT.), I was impressed by the four hundred plus book covers she had framed and hanging in her main hallway. The Cartland covers had a single, distinctive look. 

I asked her if the same artist had worked with her throughout her career.

She said in her lovely English drawl that the covers were the work of four different artists. “They keep dying on me and I must take on another.” (At the time of our meeting, I believe she was 98 and still writing 5,000 words a day. What a great career she had.) 

And I loved her covers.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
4COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

On The Bookshelves Tuesday 11/30/2010

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 30, 2010 | PERMALINK

Here's a look at the titles we love that hit shelves this week.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Wrapping Up Our Aspiring Author Month

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 30, 2010 | PERMALINK

Today is the last day of November and the end of NaNoWriMo for all of you aspiring authors. We are sad to see the month come to a close. Hopefully our month-long focus on writing at The RT Daily Blog inspired you to get lots of work done on your manuscript.


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Lori Wilde Shares Her Holiday Preparations With Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 29, 2010 | PERMALINK

The weather outside is (almost) frightful, and although it hasn't snowed in Brooklyn yet, everyone at the RT office has caught the spirit of the season. So we are especially excited about this holiday themed interview with Lori Wilde. The author chats about her favorite holiday traditions, her new holiday romance, The First Love Cookie Club and shares a favorite recipe. And don't miss the giveaway at the end of this post!

RT: What is your favorite part of getting ready for the winter holidays?

Lori Wilde: My favorite part is the cooking. I adore cooking but I’m normally too busy, so I look forward to baking Christmas gifts. I love decorating the tree as well and usually have a tree decorating party where I get to try out the recipes I’ve collected over the year.

RT: Does your family have any holiday traditions that make Christmas special?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Author Interview With Kieran Kramer - With Excerpt!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 29, 2010 | PERMALINK

Author Kieran Kramer is thrilling historical romance fans with her back-to-back releases, November's When Harry Met Molly and December's upcoming Dukes to the Left of Me, Princes to the Right. These two Regency romps are full of witty dialogue and lovable characters and both received Top Pick! ratings from RT. So Web Editor Morgan Doremus had to ask the new author about the magic behind her fantastic books and what is up next.

Morgan Doremus: Two books in two months and both Top Picks - editors around the RT office are stunned at your accomplishment and wondering where did this author come from?!? You have to share your story. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Celeste O. Norfleet On Keeping it Real When Writing Multicultural Fiction

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 29, 2010 | PERMALINK

Romance author Celeste O. Norfleet shares some simple, but essential, advice for creating multifaceted multicultural characters.

RT is and has been a huge part of my writing career. So when I was asked to write today’s blog, I eagerly accepted. When I received my topic - to write about the specific challenges of writing multicultural novels - I said, cool, I can do that. After all, I’m a multicultural romance author of over 25 novels. Passing on what I’ve learned to aspiring authors would be both a pleasure and an honor. But I was also concerned that I didn’t have much to add to the popular topic. We all know the basics, or do we? It occurred to me - maybe we all don’t know the basics. So I thought I might chat a few minutes about learning to keep the real cultural aspect when writing multicultural fiction.


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Happy Thanksgiving from the RT staff!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 24, 2010 | PERMALINK

The next four days will be full of family and friends, turkey (or tofurky) and leftovers, holiday shopping and, of course, time spent  relaxing and reading. No matter if we are enjoying an old favorite or testing the waters of a new author, the holiday has all of us looking forward to a spending some time deep in a good book. Here's a look at some of the titles we will be diving into this weekend!

 

After the Thanksgiving turkey, the Black Friday shopping and errands I'll be reading Zoe Archer's Warrior­ though maybe that's what I should read before braving the Black Friday crowds! Anyway, I've heard fantastic things about Zoe's series and I'm eager to give it a try. I'm also hoping to read a Silhouette Romantic Suspense title by Kimberly Van Meter that's been sitting on my bookshelf for a while.

- Faygie Levy, Executive Editor


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
4COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

November Seal of Excellence Winner B.J. Daniels Talks About Her Romance-Filled Small Town

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 24, 2010 | PERMALINK

Author B.J. Daniels won RT’s November Seal of Excellence for her latest series romance, High-Caliber Christmas. This novel won the attention of the RT editors with its fast-paced suspense and sweet romance. Now the author shares how the fictional small town of Whitehorse, Montana has become the home to so much romance and what fans can expect to occur there next!

There is nothing more exciting than writing a book, falling in love with it and having someone else love it too.

With High-Caliber Christmas, I liked the characters from the first time I met them on the page. I’m a seat-of-the-pants writer so I am always surprised when I first meet my characters. I’m also surprised when I find out who the killer is. Heck, I’m surprised by most everything that happens in my books, I guess that’s why I love writing so much.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST