RT Daily Blog

WEEKLY WEB WRAP UP 1/7/2011

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 07, 2011 | PERMALINK

Were you busy all week with the fallout from your Midnight Kiss, New Year Wish?

Here's what you missed on the RT Website.

***

Mystery: Three authors share how food figures into their mysteries with recipes! Get a taste >>

Contemporary Romance: Author Jennifer Greene reflects on the genre's evolution. Read on >>

Historical Romance: Take a trip to the far-flung corners of Regency England. Find out how >>

Inspirational: James L. Rubart reveals the inspiration for his new novel. Learn more >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

All I Know About Being a Romance Heroine I Learned from Powder Puff Football

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 07, 2011 | PERMALINK

In Then He Kissed Me, by Christie Ridgway, heroine Stephania (Stevie) Baci is the middle of three sisters and the tomboy of the family. On New Year’s Eve Stevie discovers it’s up to her to usher through the nuptials of her ex-boyfriend and his fiancée, scheduled to take place at her family’s winery at the end of the month. Below check out the author's special message about how Stevie copes with her problematic ex and how she puts her tomboy skills to good use when a new man enters into her life.

Stevie knows about powder puff football and poker games, not veils and wedding vows! And her ex kinda sorta broke her heart, not that she wants anyone to know about that. So she can’t refuse, nor can she get away from the bride’s older brother, a half-American, half-European playboy prince who can say “you’re beautiful” in five languages—and seduce her in two seconds flat. Stevie will have to rely on her experience on the playing field to figure out how to make it through her story… Below are Stevie’s Rules for surviving the man intent on winning her love.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Back By Popular Demand: Printable Monthly Book Ratings!

BY Morgan Doremus, JANUARY 07, 2011 | PERMALINK

When we redesigned the RT website, we added many new features to the site in our quest to help you "read smarter!" We've expanded our online coverage, broken out the genres to bring you more content and updated the site's look. Now we are thrilled to announce that one of your favorite features from the old site is back.

Lately we've been getting a lot of mail asking about the downloadable PDF list of the current month's book ratings. We heard that this was the list that many readers relied on to take to the bookstore to stock up on reading material. You asked and we listened! Now the complete list of the current month's book ratings is available to everyone. Just check out the sidebar on RT's home page to download the January list or click here >>

Do you have any other suggestions for other ways we can improve the site and help you "read smarter!"? I love hearing from you, feel free to contact me at Morgan@RTBOOKREVIEWS.com.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Three new mysteries each get a *Web Exclusive Review*!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 07, 2011 | PERMALINK

The multi-faceted mystery genre is out in full force this January. In the January issue of RT BOOK REVIEWS magazine there were tales of suspense, paranormal occurrences, amateur sleuths and much more. And three other diverse January mysteries are each getting a *Web Exclusive Review* today!

Lois Winston starts her new series featuring amateur sleuth Anastasia Pollack in Assault with a Deadly Glue Gun. Travel back in time to solve a mystery about The Attenbury Emeralds with Lord Peter Wimsey and his wife, written by Jill Paton Walsh. And finally it is an embarrassment of mystery novella riches in Joyce Carol Oats' latest anthology, Give Me Your Heart.

 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Win Tiger's Curse - a January Top Pick!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 06, 2011 | PERMALINK

"It is a book J.K. Rowling wishes she wrote ..." raves RT Reviewer Meera Patel about Colleen Houck's YA series starter, Tiger's Curse, a January RT Top Pick! 

 

Tiger's Curse, Houck's debut, hooked Patel with its fast-paced adventure about teen Kelsey who gets a chance to travel to India with a tiger, only to learn that he is a prince cursed to spend eternity in animal form. Tiger's Curse will hit shelves this Tuesday but right now you can enter to win your own copy in our special Tiger's Curse Giveaway.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
71COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Author Interview with Jennifer Greene

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 06, 2011 | PERMALINK

Jennifer Greene has been writing tales of romance since the early 1980s. In the past twenty years she has published over 80 novels under three different names, and is still going strong today! Not only is she nominated for an RT Reviewers' Choice Award this year, Carina Press is re-releasing her early as e-books. Now RT’s Whitney Sullivan catches up with the author to get a unique perspective on the many ways the genre has evolved and get a special look at some of the re-releases from Carina Press that have received *Web Exclusive Reviews* on the RT site this season.  

Whitney Sullivan: Carina Press is re-releasing several of your best-selling stories from the eighties; which tale are you most excited to see back in reader’s hands? 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

SCOOPED! Featuring Brockmann, Genre-Jumpers, Romantic Suspense Picks And More!

BY Morgan Doremus, JANUARY 06, 2011 | PERMALINK

For my weekly column Scooped!, I scour the Internet, contact authors and pick my fellow RT editor's brains to make sure no reader question goes unanswered. This week, I share inside info on Suzanne Brockmann's next Troubleshooter novel, investigate the usability of the iPad overseas, discuss my new favorite genre and more! Still have questions? Send them to me here and you may be featured in an upcoming post.

Question: I am totally addicted to Suzanne Brockmann's Troubleshooters series. What can you tell me about the next book in the series? - Nan

Morgan: Oh, I definitely have the inside scoop on this one! Even though it will release at the end of March, I have already had a chance to read Ms. Brockmann's Breaking the Rules, book 16 in the Troubleshooters series. Here's what I can tell you - since you are a fan, you will absolutely love this story. (I'm sorry to say that newcomers to the series may want to start with the beginning story since there is so much going on, it can be hard to keep up without the proper background.)


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Lori Avocato adds to her popular Pauline Sokol mystery series

BY Faygie Levy, JANUARY 06, 2011 | PERMALINK

If you're one of the many who enjoyed Lori Avocato's Pauline Sokol mysteries about a nurse turned fraud investigator this is your lucky day. Avocato has written and self-published the seventh adventure in the series, Dead Weight. It is available on her website, LoriAvocato.com for $7. Back for more fun with Pauline are Jagger, Goldie and friends. Also, look for a series epilogue to be e-released shortly. To learn more about the previous books in the series, check out Avocato's RT page for a list of her previous releases.

For more on authors self-publishing their own stories check out the February issue of RT Book Reviews on sale now.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Author Interview With Cathryn Fox

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 06, 2011 | PERMALINK

Erotic romance author Cathryn Fox has been heating up readers' dreams with her paranormal series, Eternal Pleasure. Now get an insider's look at the gated community of Serene, New England and the creatures that make their homes there. In this author interview Fox shares details about the first three stories in the series and offers her advice for readers new to paranormal erotic romance!

RT BOOK REVIEWS: Your current series, Eternal Pleasure, is set in the community of Serene, New Hampshire where all sorts of paranormal creatures live. So why does a community with the name of ‘Serene’ host witches, demons, vampires, lycans and shape shifters?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview: Marie Bostwick

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 05, 2011 | PERMALINK

With the lingering frustrations from the storm that crippled New York City last week, the RT editors have spent a lot of time indoors pursuing their various crafty hobbies. Here's a never-before-seen video interview with one of our favorite crafting mavens, mainstream author Marie Bostwick. She and RT Web Editor Morgan Doremus chat about quilting and the role that it plays in her latest novel, A Thread So Thin

Marie Bostwick on crafting A Thread So Thin >>

More From The RT BOOK REVIEWS Video Channel >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mainstream
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST