RT Daily Blog

The RT Editors' Recent Paranormal Picks!

BY Whitney Sullivan, OCTOBER 13, 2010 | PERMALINK

We are thrilled to be celebrating our love for paranormal novels all month long. Gutsy heroines, vicious villains and bone-chilling things that go bump in the night — these are a few of our favorite things. So I was wondering which paranormal novels the RT Editors were currently enjoying. It came as no surprise that their recent paranormal reads included all of these thrilling elements and even a few novels that will appeal to readers who don't normally enjoy paranormal fare!

 

Faygie Levy's Pick:

Her recent paranormal reads included the first in the new latest series from J.K. Beck, which wraps up at the end of this month with When Wicked Craves. "Her series is an intriguing take on paranormal. And I am currently enjoying Marcella Burnard's Enemy Within, which comes out on November 2nd. This book starts off with a bang!"

 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Writes And Wrongs: To Tweet or Not To Tweet

BY Shiloh Walker, OCTOBER 13, 2010 | PERMALINK

Best-selling author Shiloh Walker pens this bi-monthly column of online advice for writers. Walker is a full-time author who is published in both e-book and traditional print formats. Now she shares her experience and advice to help aspiring and published authors figure out the "Writes and Wrongs" of the digital world.

To Tweet or Not to Tweet?Before we can answer that question, some people are probably still wondering what Twitter is.

Well, first…in my opinion…it’s one huge, giant time suck. And I love Twitter. But it can be very time-consuming. Keep that in mind.  

Now…in more depth, just what is Twitter? Well, according to Twitter’s website:

Twitter is a real-time information network powered by people all around the world that lets you share and discover what’s happening now.

Twitter asks “what’s happening?” and makes the answer spread across the globe to millions, immediately.


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

The Making of A Gentleman With Giveaway

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 12, 2010 | PERMALINK

In author Shana Galen’s latest historical romance, The Making of a Gentleman, her hero, Armand, is a shattered man. After being held captive by the French government for twelve years, he has completely retreated from the world. Learn which classic novel that inspired Galen’s tortured hero and how the author crafted a heroine strong enough to make Armand want to live again. And don’t miss the GIVEAWAY at the end of the post.

When I began my Sons of the Revolution series, about three brothers separated as boys during the French Revolution, I knew Julien (The Making of a Duchess) would be the strong, responsible eldest brother, Bastien (The Making of a Rogue, April 2011) would be the mischievous, charming youngest brother, and Armand (The Making of a Gentleman) would be…scarred. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
21COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

The New Bluefire Reader iApp

BY Dear Jane, OCTOBER 12, 2010 | PERMALINK

Welcome to Dear Jane, a weekly column based upon reader mailbag questions on anything relating to e-books. No question is too simple or too mundane. We are all learning together. Send your questions Jane@DearAuthor.com with "Dear Jane" in the subject matter.

***


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

On The Bookshelves Tuesday 10/12/2010

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 12, 2010 | PERMALINK

Here's a look at the titles we love that hit shelves this week.

Series Romance


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

A Look Inside the Illustrated World of Buffy the Vampire Slayer

BY Morgan Doremus, OCTOBER 12, 2010 | PERMALINK

Artist Georges Jeanty has illustrated several well-known superheroes including the Green Lantern and Superman. But then in 2007 his career took a turn toward the supernatural when Joss Whedon picked him to illustrate the Buffy the Vampire comic books. The most recent collaboration Buffy the Vampire Slayer Season Eight Volume 7: Twilight was released just last week. I met up with Georges at New York Comic Con to ask him about his work on the continuation of the Buffy series.

So you were hand picked by Joss Whedon for the Buffy comics. How did Whedon know you?
Joss is a big comic book fan, so he knew illustrators. He remembered a character I worked on years and years ago - Bishop from X-man - and I got put on his list of people for his comic. So I got this call out of the blue that Joss wanted to work with me. I didn't believe it. I couldn't believe it was him. I was like, if he wants me, then he can get a hold of me. So then I got this email from Joss telling me about the project.


Read More>>

Tags: Comics/Graphic Novels/Manga, RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview: Diana Gabaldon

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 11, 2010 | PERMALINK

Author Diana Gabaldon is interviewed by RT's Web Editor Morgan Doremus at the 2010 New York Comic Con. Learn about the author's new graphic novel, The Exile, her upcoming mystery series and the most surprising part of book eight in the Outlander series.

Diana Gabaldon Goes Behind The Scenes Of Her Outlander Series >>

 

More From The RT BOOK REVIEWS Video Channel >>


Read More>>

Tags: Comics/Graphic Novels/Manga, RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cast Your Vote In Round One of Writing With the Stars!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 11, 2010 | PERMALINK

Voting is now open for the first round of the Kensington/RT BOOK REVIEWS Writing With the Stars contest!

You've already had a chance to meet the 10 contestants and their mentors. For the first round of the competition, you get to take a look inside of each contestant's manuscript to read their first paragraph and the very last line of their novel.

You will also get to read comments from each contestant's mentor as well as the thoughts of this round's judge, blogger Sarah Wendell of SmartBitchesTrashyBooks.com.

You can vote once time between now and October 24th. And then get ready to decide which of the remaining contestants has the best hero and heroine! 

Cast Your Vote >>


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog
6COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Meet A Fourteenth Century Version of Philip Marlowe

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 11, 2010 | PERMALINK

Jeri Westerson's novel The Demon's Parchment got an enthusiastic Top Pick review, but the RT editors were scratching our heads on what to call the excellent tale. Certainly it has mystery and suspense, and it is historically set, but there is a lot more to the story. Thankfully, the author came to our rescue when she told us that she has labeled the new type of books that she created - Westerson calls it "Medieval Noir." Read on to learn more from the author about the evolution of this new subgenre.  


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Photos From New York Comic Con 2010 - Part 2

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 10, 2010 | PERMALINK

As promised, here are some more photos from New York Comic Con. These are a sampling of our favorite costumes from the convention: 

A Na'vi



Read More>>

Tags: Comics/Graphic Novels/Manga, RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST