RT Daily Blog

Monday Morning Movie Find!

BY Morgan Doremus, JULY 26, 2010 | PERMALINK
Surfing the Net this weekend, I ran into this video that combines the awesomeness of Fight Club with the refinement of Jane Austen. Believe it or not, this clip perfectly encapsulates my college experience where Brad Pitt and Edward Norton's epic film was on constant replay in my roommate's DVD player and my English professors were obsessed with Austen and her contemporaries. As a rule I'm not into mash-ups, but for this video I'll make an exception.

Jane Austen's Fight Club >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Weekly Web Wrap Up 7/23/2010

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 23, 2010 | PERMALINK

Did you spend your entire week trying to solve The Mommy Mystery?

Here's what you missed this week on the RT website.

***


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Head To Head On Historical Accuracy

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 23, 2010 | PERMALINK

Two historical romance fans go head-to-head on the importance of historical accuracy in historical romances. When they debate about Renee Bernard's new release, Seduction Wears Sapphires, the author also weighs in on how historical facts influenced her writing.

Lizzie Poteet, one of RT's summer interns, is a stickler for historical accuracy. She says, "I understand that in fiction there is a level of, well, fiction and fantasy. But, I hate it when historicals are blatantly inaccurate that I notice things like medieval garb on a Regency duke or inappropriate speech patterns. My books don’t have to be 100% historically accurate. They just have to make sense."

Taking the opposite stance, RT's Assistant Web Editor Whitney Sullivan doesn't care so much about the facts. "I'd rather the story be fun than completely accurate. I mean, the number of dukes and earls and lords running around all getting married during the same time period ... well there are more Regency novels published than there were titled men looking for (or accidentally finding) women to marry!"


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Modern Advice From Historical Matchmaker Lady Sophia Dalby - With Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 22, 2010 | PERMALINK

Historical matchmaker Lady Sophia Dalby is the renowned courtesan-turned-lady of Claudia Dain's historical series, The Courtesan Chronicles. Lady Dalby has just had her hands in the midst of the unexpected match between American miss Jane Elliot and the English Duke of Edenham in this month's Daring A Duke. Now, Lady Dalby stops by to answer RT's questions about flirting, men and the true value of scandal. And don't miss the GIVEAWAY at the end of the interview!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
11COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview: Shannon K. Butcher

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 22, 2010 | PERMALINK
To conclude our three video interview series with the authors of the urban fantasy anthology Dark And Stormy Knights, Shannon K. Butcher sits down with RT BOOK REVIEWS Web Editor Morgan Doremus. They chat about Butcher's Sentinel Wars novels and how writing romantic suspense novels influenced the author's urban fantasy series.

Veiw RT BOOK REVIEWS YouTube Channel >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Using Calibre To Track Print Book Purchases - Part II

BY Dear Jane, JULY 22, 2010 | PERMALINK

Welcome to Dear Jane, a weekly column based upon reader mailbag questions on anything relating to e-books. No question is too simple or too mundane. We are all learning together. Send your questions Jane@DearAuthor.com with "Dear Jane" in the subject matter.

This is part two of using Calibre to create a catalog of your paper library (read Part I here.) However, the information below can be useful to those who use Calibre for organization of their digital books. There is a screencast for this which you can find here (full screen) or embedded below. Screencaps and a written version follows.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

RT Critiques The First Chapter Of The Upcoming Susan Elizabeth Phillips Release

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 21, 2010 | PERMALINK

The RT web team has been abuzz today about the upcoming Susan Elizabeth Phillips release Call Me Irresistible (aka Ted’s book) after SEP posted the first chapter on her website.

The editors and interns just had to take a look at the excerpt and this is what we learned from chapter one. First, there are lots and lots and lots of old faces that will make an appearance. The daughter from 1987’s Glitter Baby is the heroine, the son from 1989’s Fancy Pants is the hero and other cast includes the characters from First Lady, Lady Be Good and more. Second, the hero Ted Beaudine is perfect and the heroine Meg Koranda is not. And third, the book starts with Ted marrying Meg’s best friend Lucy.

We had so many opinions around the office that we thought we would weigh in.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview: Ilona Andrews

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 21, 2010 | PERMALINK
In the second of a three video interview series with the authors of the urban fantasy anthology Dark And Stormy Knights, Ilona Andrews chats with RT BOOK REVIEWS Web Editor Morgan Doremus. The author shares how her Russian heritage influenced the novels and why she looks past European mythology to infuse her tales with magic.

Veiw RT BOOK REVIEWS YouTube Channel >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Win Big When This Multicultural Author Makes Her YA Debut - With Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 21, 2010 | PERMALINK

Author A.C. Arthur has won acclaim for her fiction writing skills - in the last five years she’s been an RT Reviewers Choice nominee three times. Now she is wowing fans again, with two wildly different novels set to hit shelves in August. The first novel is a Kimani series romance titled Summer Heat. But it’s Arthur’s other August release that is really making waves. Under the pseudonym Artist Arthur, the author has published her first young adult novel, Manifest. 

Manifest follows city-girl Krystal's struggle to adapt to her new suburban life and new-found ability to see ghosts. RT Reviewer Lauren Becker believes, “Teens will easily relate to the feeling of being out of control, with a splash of the paranormal to keep it really interesting.” Manifest kicks off Arthur’s Mystyx series, and while the content is suitable for readers twelve and older, don’t be surprised if you are an adult fan who can’t get enough of Arthur’s newest novel.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Co-Author Confessions: What It Was Really Like To Write Talk Dirty To Me

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 21, 2010 | PERMALINK

Co-authors Inez Kelley and Ginny Glass Struggle with "who plays the man" in their new erotic romance Talk Dirty To Me.

Ginny: Gimme Talk Dirty To Me back, I want Jarod.

Inez: Wait your turn, I have the lube out and he is getting duuuuuuurdy.

Ginny:  It is my turn! Send him to me and go to bed. It’s like what, 2 AM there? Selfish cow.

Inez: Pffft …. btw, Jarod is now allergic to cats.

Ginny:  Okay, that works. I’m switching to Nora for the next section. I edited the last five pages, loved the hand holding bit, very sweet. Also I gave them their first kiss.

Inez: Saw that, nice job on the tenderness but I interrupted it * snicker * You want to write the next phone call?

Ginny:  HELL YEAH! Have you sent him back yet?

Inez: I’m almost done this bit. Keep your shirt on.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Erotica
7COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST