RT Daily Blog

The Punniest Cozy Mystery Titles

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 10, 2014 | PERMALINK

Who doesn't love a good pun? Wait, don't answer that. Unless the answer is yes. Because your RT Web Team can't resist punning. And some of the best puns can be found in the titles of cozy mystery novels. Not gonna lie, we kind of envy the editors who get to participate in these title brainstorming sessions. We've collected some of our recent favorites below — they'll slay you!

The cover of A Tale of Two Biddies

Bloom and Doom by Beverly Allen (Berkley, April 2014)

Shunned and Dangerous by Laura Bradford (Berkley, March 2014)

A Tale of Two Biddies by Kylie Logan (Berkley, February 2014)


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Laini Taylor's Dreams of Final Books and Writing Advice

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 10, 2014 | PERMALINK

Well, folks, the end is here. No, not The End, but the end of Laini Taylor's Daughter of Smoke and Bone trilogy, which, for us, is still pretty upsetting. With Dreams of Gods and Monsters, the third and final installment, Laini takes readers on one last wondrous ride with Karou and her friends and enemies. Today, Laini shares her thoughts on concluding her epic series and offers some sage advice for writers everywhere.

Once upon a time, I was trying to write a book about ballerinas on another planet being kidnapped by the military and turned into mutant flying soldiers, and for some reason it wasn’t going well.

I’m not sure why. Maybe I just didn’t know enough about ballet to make it ring true?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

The 100 Recap: Episode 1.3 - "Murphy's Law"

BY DJ DeSmyter, APRIL 10, 2014 | PERMALINK

Last night’s episode opens on Clarke kneeling beside Wells’s grave. Finn shows up and tries cheering her up by giving her a pencil. It’s rather cute how excited she gets over the idea of being able to draw again. She tells Finn about how Wells used to trade his possessions to get her art supplies back on the Ark. She then circles back to the topic of her mom betraying her father and how she wishes she could do something to make her mom feel her pain. Suddenly, she gets an idea: cut off her wristband so her mother thinks she’s dead.

Meanwhile, in camp, Bellamy and Murphy oversee the others setting up an official base. Murphy’s still being a d-bag. Octavia tries to reassure Jasper that he’s safe and healthy. Jasper falls and they see two of Wells’s fingers lying next to Murphy’s knife. Yikes.

On the Ark, Abby runs into Wannabe Chancellor Kane and he basically tells her he’s stalking her and everyone else. He wants to accompany her to the lab, but when she tells him there’s a case of strep going around, he changes his mind and gets all scheme-y and suspicious. Abby goes on and meets up with Raven, who’s busy working on the ship. Abby’s itching to take flight, but the ship’s not ready.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, TV Recap, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cheaper By The Dozen - This Week's Hot E-Book Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 10, 2014 | PERMALINK

What do you do when the growing number of new reads causes your wallet to shrink uncomfortably? Shop the e-book deals, of course! In this column we highlight some of our favorite book buys that will cost you less than a medium-sized coffee. All prices listed are accurate at the time of this blog's posting.

Historical Romance

The Duke Diaries by Sophia Nash

Buy It On Amazon For $1.99 >>

Buy It On B&N For $1.99 >>

 

Contemporary Romance

Not Quite Enough by Catherine Bybee

Buy It On Amazon For $0.99 >>

 

New Adult

Breathe by Abbi Glines

Buy It On Amazon For $1.99 >>

Buy It On B&N For $1.99 >>

         


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Hump Day Excerpt: Bad Influence by K.A. Mitchell

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 09, 2014 | PERMALINK

It's Hump Day, folks! We're back with another steamy excerpt to get you through the mid-week slump. Today we've got a scene from Bad Influence by K.A. Mitchell — the fourth M/M romance in the author's Bad in Baltimore series. The book tells the story of Zeb and Silver, whose meet cute isn't so cute — it lands them both in jail. Both men are dealing with scars from their past, but together they find intense chemistry. Enjoy!

Zeb leaned forward, his hands bracketing Silver’s neck where it rested against the chair. “You are a nice guy.”

Silver wanted to brush the praise away, force the reality that nice guys in Zeb’s world didn’t do bareback porn just to stay off the street.

Zeb loomed closer, hands on Silver’s shoulders. “No, screw that. I’ve had nice guys. I’ve dated and taken my time before ending up in bed with them.”

Silver’s skin prickled with gooseflesh.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Erotica
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Peg This: Six Erotic Pegging Stories You Must Read

BY Elisa Verna, APRIL 09, 2014 | PERMALINK

An erotic story can contain just about any sort of sex act, from a ménage to alien sex. It's part of what makes the genre so great — variety! Lately, there’s been a fantastic upswing in erotic romances featuring dominant or switch heroines, and something that’s often included in these stories is pegging (link NSFW because of an, er, instructional image). I absolutely love reading pegging scenes — the power exchange is both fascinating and sexy. Below are six recommended reads (some I’ve read, some were recommended to me) that feature pegging. Happy reading!

The cover of Natural law by Joey W. Hill

1. I feel like I’m committing erotica sin by never having read a Charlotte Stein story — she seems like an author I would love (meaning, her books sound filthy). Reviewers describe her novella "Giving" as having an intense, loving relationship between the submissive hero and Domme heroine, as well as being filled with great sex — including pegging!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

2014 RT Convention Preview: Pitch-a-Palooza

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 09, 2014 | PERMALINK

Calling all writers! When Romancelandia takes over New Orleans next month for the RT Booklovers Convention, you’ll want your manuscripts in tiptop shape. Why? Because you’ll have the chance to pitch your books to the industry’s top editors and agents during our Pitch-a-Palooza event! Here’s the 411:

When: Friday, May 16 at 12:20 PM - 1:20 PM

Where: 3rd Floor, Acadia - Grand Ballroom

What: Pitch-a-Palooza is an hour-long event where aspiring and published authors will have three minutes to present their “elevator pitch” to an agent or an editor. When you’re done pitching one person, go right ahead and get in line for another. Think of it like agent/editor speed dating! This is a first-come, first-serve event, so be sure to arrive early. Please note that Pitch-A-Palooza is not the same as editor appointments and agent appointments.

And if you’re curious about which industry professionals you’ll be pitching to, here’s a sampling of some of the agents and editors:

Agents:


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog, Convention
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Going Home Again: Lucy Connors on The Lonesome Young

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 09, 2014 | PERMALINK

Best known for her adult paranormal romances, Alyssa Day has turned to the YA world for her latest release, The Lonesome Young, written under the pen name Lucy Connors. The book stars two star-crossed teens whose lives are ruled by family feuds, drugs and dangerous business deals. Writing the book proved to be a highly personal endeavor for the author, and today she talks about how her own story influenced the book. Take a look:

The cover of The Lonesome Young

The Lonesome Young is very personal for me, because I know this town. I know these people. I used to live in a place just like fictional Whitfield, Kentucky, and I have more than a little in common with both Victoria and Mickey.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Very Short Reviews Of Difficult Books

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 09, 2014 | PERMALINK

Ah, classic literary fiction. It can be so wonderful, but at times dense, leaving us wishing for a guide to lead us through the venerable prose. Enter: Italian artist and writer Francesco D'Isa, who reviews the classics in a candid, tongue-in-cheek (and very short) way. We're happy to bring his column, "Very Short Reviews of Difficult Books," to English language readers! Check back here every Wednesday for three new reviews from Francesco.

***

Illuminations by Arthur Rimbaud

Do you remember the furious visions of adolescence, when our language raped the formless world of childhood, transforming cries into words? I don’t, but if I read Rimbaud then I do — no clue why.

Plot: None.

Rating: 95 out of 100

2666 by Roberto Bolaño

The life and works of some people is intertwined (and untied) without any particular meaning or interactions; in the meanwhile more and more women die for no reason. A moving and distracted book, like the eyes of God to the world. 

Plot: In the meantime many women die.

Rating: 88 out of 100


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Jeri Smith-Ready: Teens, Religion and Believing in Tomorrow

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 08, 2014 | PERMALINK

Jeri Smith-Ready's This Side of Salvation sure knows how to pack a powerful punch. With its riveting story about the end of the world, religious cults and the teens caught in the crossfire, it's a poignant read that warrants discussion. We wanted to know more about the role of religion and how teens are affected by it when forced into a set of beliefs. So today, Jeri sheds some light on the inspiration behind the book and its complex topics. Take it away, Jeri!

It’s May 20, 2011, the night before cult leader/radio preacher Harold Camping has predicted the Rapture will occur. He’s convinced thousands of people that Jesus will lift them up to Heaven the next day at 6pm just as a giant earthquake obliterates a third of those left behind. Many followers have quit their jobs and traveled to California to be with Camping when it happens. Some have given him all their money so he can buy ads on billboards worldwide.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST