RT Daily Blog

Page to Screen: Upcoming Film and TV Adaptations

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 16, 2014 | PERMALINK

Hollywood never rests and the book-to-film buzz just keeps on growing! There's plenty of news this month to satisfy everyone, whether you enjoy Game of Thrones-esque epics, V.C. Andrews-style romance, a dash of Austen or a little pinch of horror. Grab some popcorn and take a look:

Is The Last Kingdom the New Game of Thrones?

In the on-going search for the next Game of Thrones, BBC America is making headway with their epic series, The Last Kingdom, based on Bernard Cornwell’s book series, set in the ninth century and known for its blend of fact and fiction. Recently, BBC America announced Alexander Dreymon has landed the lead role as Uhtred.

Lifetime Continues Showing V.C. Andrews Love


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Jenny Han and Siobhan Vivian Spill on Co-Authoring

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 16, 2014 | PERMALINK

Writing a book by yourself can be rather lonely — but that all changes when you team up with a co-author to pen a story. Or, in Jenny Han and Siobhan Vivian's case, an entire trilogy! To celebrate today's release of Ashes to Ashes, the third and final entry in their Burn for Burn series, Jenny and Siobhan discuss the ins and outs of their partnership, complete with GIFs! Take a look:

We have been reading each other’s work almost since day one of our friendship. We wrote together, we traded pages and gave each other notes, and maybe most importantly, we fell in love with each other’s stories. We were so in-sync that it made perfect sense to collaborate on a book together.


source


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

On the Shelves: 9/16/2014

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 16, 2014 | PERMALINK

Here's a look at the titles we love that hit shelves this week.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Outlander Recap: Episode 1.6 — "The Garrison Commander"

BY Regina Small, SEPTEMBER 15, 2014 | PERMALINK

Last week: Claire traveled with the Castle Leoch crew to collect rent — and discovered that Dougal's trying to raise money for a Jacobite army to unseat England's current king. Hurray, treason!

We left off last week with British soldier Lieutenant Jeremy Foster asking Claire if Dougal is holding her against her will. Returning from the smash cut to black, we pick up immediately with Claire's answer: No, she's not a prisoner. She's a guest of Clan MacKenzie.

Foster still feels his superior would want to speak to Claire, so he requests she come with him. Dougal insists on going as well and, as they travel, Claire VOs that there's something comforting about riding with her own people; after all, she did serve in the British army for six years. I don't totally understand her affection for THIS British army, given the fallout of the brutal crucifixion we saw last week. But okay.

Claire notes Dougal's discomfort — though they're still in Scotland AND on MacKenzie land, the town they're heading into has a strong British army presence, so Dougal's definitely in enemy territory.

Once they arrive, Foster takes Claire and Dougal directly to his commander, a foppish gentleman seated at a long dining table with other soldiers. He bolts out of his chair to introduce himself to Claire, proclaiming it's been too long since he's seen a "lovely English rose." Then he kisses her hand, and wastes no time calling Scotland "blasted turf."


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, TV Recap, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Witches of East End Recap 2.9 — "Smells Like King Spirit"

BY Elissa Petruzzi, SEPTEMBER 15, 2014 | PERMALINK

Holy schnikey, witches! Quite an episode! What an ending! In hindsight, I should have known something was up because they sent Jenna Dewan-Tatum on a press tour this week, talking up the show. But I’ve been watching soaps for a long time, so I wasn’t so sure I believed the commercials about “the most shocking episode ever” and that I wouldn’t believe the last two minutes. But I was shocked and I couldn’t believe the last two minutes.


Just remember, we’re all in this together.
source

Ready? Onward!

Ingrid is ignoring Dash’s calls, and the warlock is not happy about it. He’s boozing and smashing stuff in the attic when he comes upon some old letters and journals, containing pictures of old Ingrid from the satanic cult days.

Okay, you guys, this is pretty squick worthy (worse than tentacle man, if you can believe it), so let’s try and get through this together. Freddy’s still carving up his blindfolded girlfriend, who’s oblivious thanks to the “numbing cream” he used. There’s blood all over the bed. It’s terrible. Freddy raises the knife up high … but he can’t do it.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, TV Recap, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Exclusive Cover Reveal: A Christmas Hope by Stacy Henrie

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 15, 2014 | PERMALINK

If you're someone who would listen to holiday music year-round if you could, today's reveal is for you! Stacy Henrie first enchanted us with July's Hope at Dawn, the first book in her inspirational historical romance series set during World War I, and today, we're revealing the cover for "A Christmas Hope", an upcoming novella in the same series that releases in December, right before the full-length sequel, Hope Rising. Let's take a look:

Drum roll, please!

...

...

Ta da!

Whatever lip color that is, we want it. Here's what Stacy had to say about the cover:

"I think the cover for 'A Christmas Hope' wonderfully captures the heroine with her poised and beautiful demeanor, as well as the feel of the time period. Christmas 1918 was especially poignant since the Great War had just ended the month before, and yet, there were so many people — soldiers and citizens alike — who were struggling in the aftermath of the war and needing to find hope again. A hope that just might be found in the anticipation and beauty of the holiday."


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Inspirational
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Inside The Issue: November 2014

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 15, 2014 | PERMALINK

The November issue of RT BOOK REVIEWS will be in stores soon and available digitally this week! Here are some of the stories you can look forward to reading …

First, Jill Shalvis tells us about closing out her beloved Lucky Harbor series. Then, Lori Wilde tours the real-life town that inspired her Texas-set love stories. Plus, Carly Phillips is going solo with her self-published Dare family books. Next, Brenda Novak dives into a grisly part of English history. And don't miss Maya Banks share details on her new book, Keep Me Safe. Eager for RT Con 2015? We give you a peek at what the Dallas pre-convention tours have in store for attendees. 

There's all this and more between the pages of the November 2014 issue of RT BOOK REVIEWS. You can also SUBSCRIBE NOW to our print and digital versions. Until then, here's a look at the November issue's Table of Contents!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Forewords — The Books Before the Buzz

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 15, 2014 | PERMALINK

 With our column, Forewords, we let readers know the latest book news about some of the web team's most-anticipated upcoming releases across the genres — just as the projects are announced!

DEBUT AUTHORS

Young Adult - In A Shadow Bright and Burning, Jessica Cluess weaves an enthralling tale about teen girl who’s chosen as the first female sorcerer to help save the empire, but enemies and dark secrets threaten her success. Set in a Victorian world with magic, this is sure to be a riveting read! Release: Fall 2016.

Young Adult - Valerie Tejeda is ready to cast a spell over readers with Hollywood Witch Hunter, which stars a coven of witches who stay young by sacrificing the rich and beautiful women of Southern California. But a band of witch hunters are determined to stop them.

RETURNING SERIES


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Weekly Web Wrap-Up: 9/12/2014

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 12, 2014 | PERMALINK

Did you spend your whole week Stranded with the Rancher?

Here's what you missed on the RT site!

***

CONTEMPORARY ROMANCE: Say hello to debut author Claudia Connor! Hi, Claudia! >>

EROTICA: Read this week's hot Hump Day Excerpt! Turn Up the Heat >>

MYSTERY: Five thrilling mysteries are on sale! Load Your E-Reader Today >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Friday Giveaway: Fall Romance Bundle

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 12, 2014 | PERMALINK

The Fall season hasn't officially begun, but many of us are experiencing cooler weather, turning leaves and the urge to curl up with a blanket and a great book. To help usher in the new season, we're giving away a bundle of exciting Fall releases that are sure to keep you occupied for the months to come!

Using the widget below, enter to win one of five print sets of our Fall bundle, which includes: Once Haunted, Twice Shy by H.P. Mallory, Into Darkness by J.T. Geissinger, A Matter of Grave Concern by Brenda Novak (technically a historical and not paranormal, but there's body snatching!) and Her Lone Wolf by Paige Tyler. This giveaway is open to readers in the U.S. and Canada, and will conclude next Friday. Good luck and happy reading!

a Rafflecopter giveaway


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
26COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST