RT Daily Blog

Allison Brennan on Her New Series and the Changing Face of Publishing

BY Faygie Levy, MARCH 27, 2014 | PERMALINK

In the mood for a good mystery? (We almost always are.) Well, Allison Brennan’s launching a new series this week with Notorious. It’s the story of Maxine Revere, in-your-face TV investigative journalist, and the long ago murder of her best friend. We caught up with Allison to hear more about her writing life, and her thoughts on publishing as a whole.

***

Your books are so full of twists and turns, how do you continue to keep your writing fresh?

The cover of Notorious

Thank you! I'm glad you think I’m still fresh, because that’s always a struggle. I want every book to be better than the last, and that pressure can sometimes stifle my creativity. For example, many of my earlier books were serial killer books, and in the Lucy series I tried to change it up a bit. I haven’t had a true serial killer since Kiss Me, Kill Me (2011, Ballantine), and even that book wasn’t a traditional serial killer. I’m actually thinking of going back to that with an upcoming Lucy book because I haven’t done it for awhile.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cheaper By The Dozen - This Week's Hot Ebook Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 27, 2014 | PERMALINK

What do you do when the growing number of new reads causes your wallet to shrink uncomfortably? Shop the e-book deals, of course! In this column we highlight some of our favorite book buys that will cost you less than a medium-sized coffee. All prices listed are accurate at the time of this blog's posting.

Historical Romance

Everlasting Enchantment by Kathryne Kennedy

Buy It On Amazon For $2.99 >>

Buy It On B&N For $2.99 >>

 

Contemporary Romance

The Bride Wore Chocolate by Shirley Jump

Buy It On Amazon For $0.99 >>

 

Young Adult

The Lying Game by Sara Shepard

Buy It On Amazon For $1.99 >>

     


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

RWA Announces The 2014 RITA Award Finalists

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 26, 2014 | PERMALINK

Today Romance Writers of America announced the 2014 RITA Award finalists — a fantastic selection of romance authors and titles. We’re pleased to bring you a colorful visual of all the 2014 RITA awards finalists. The winners will be announced at the end of July, at the RWA Annual Conference in San Antonio.

***

Nominated for Best First Book:


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

From Page to Screen: Upcoming Film and TV Adaptations

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 26, 2014 | PERMALINK

Spring is the perfect time to breathe new life into some of our favorite things. So what better season than to talk about exciting upcoming screen adaptations of our favorite books? We've rounded up all the latest announcements and this month, there's a little something for everyone! So get your popcorn ready and enjoy the show!

***

The Goldfinch Takes Flight

Donna Tartt’s The Goldfinch has quickly won over critics and readers alike. But will it win over TV audiences? We sure think so! The rights for a limited TV series have been optioned to producer Nina Jacobson, who is most known for her work on The Hunger Games films. Be sure to tell us in the comments who you’d choose to be on the show!

Coben’s Missing You Finds a New Audience


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Hump Day Excerpt: Teach Me A Lesson By Jasmine Haynes

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 26, 2014 | PERMALINK

Hump day is here! And you know what that means? We're one day closer to the weekend! We're warming up with a sexy excerpt from Jasmine Haynes' upcoming erotic romance, Teach Me A Lesson, available April 1. Good girl Charlotte Moore, a part-time guidance counselor and part-time sex therapist, realizes she's got a lot to learn from her boss, Principal Lance Hutton. This scene gives a whole new meaning to "after school activities." Enjoy!

Charlotte Moore’s smile was pure Cleopatra when she saw Marc Antony for the first time. And it made Lance hard.

He needed to take control. Or he’d lose it completely. He strolled down the length of the side aisle to her seat in the back. “I trust your students didn’t completely demoralize you and make you sit in the corner.”


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Eloisa James Gives Five Tips For Surviving Your First Conference Presentation

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 26, 2014 | PERMALINK

You probably already love Eloisa James for her awesome, fun historical romances — her latest, RT Top Pick! Three Weeks with Lady X, is out this week — but did you also know she’s amazing at presenting conference workshops? It’s true! Your RT Web Team are unabashed fans. As the RT Convention and our time in NOLA quickly approaches, we asked Eloisa for some tips for all you first-time presenters prepping your workshops now. Take it away, Eloisa!

The cover of Three Weeks with lady X

Writers are famously solitary by nature, but these days, even the most hermit-like of authors must force herself out of the cave. Authors need a platform, a presence on the internet and at conferences. Giving a presentation can be frightening, but with the right preparation, it can also be lots of fun and result in a burst of enthusiastic readers. Here are my five tips for acing your workshop.

1. Figure out what you know.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Convention, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

2014 RT Convention Preview: Social Sunday

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 26, 2014 | PERMALINK

Sunday is the last day of the RT Convention, and we plan on having fun til the very last second! Our Sunday Social events are laid back, fun activities full of insights that will serve as the perfect way to end our week-long New Orleans extravaganza. We already gave you a sneak peek at Sunday's SOS America Military Salute in our  post, and today we’ve got the down low on the rest of Sunday’s events! Take a look:

Pin the Kilt on the Highlander

When: Sunday, May 18 from 11:15 am - 12:45 pm

Where: 2nd Floor, Gallery 2

What: There’s no denying that a kilt makes a man infinitely sexier. So join Scottish romance authors Eliza Knight, Terry Spear and Mary Wine (aka Dawn Ryder) for an afternoon of fun, games, prizes and all things kilt!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Convention
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Very Short Reviews Of Difficult Books

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 26, 2014 | PERMALINK

Ah, classic literary fiction. It can be so wonderful, but at times dense, leaving us wishing for a guide to lead us through the venerable prose. Enter: Italian artist and writer Francesco D'Isa, who reviews the classics in a candid, tongue-in-cheek (and very short) way. We're happy to bring his column, "Very Short Reviews of Difficult Books," to English language readers! Check back here every Wednesday for three new reviews from Francesco.

***

Solaris by Stanislaw Lem

It’s not a science fiction story but a philosophical and religious allegory: an imperfect man living an imperfect love through an imperfect god. Deep, touching and above all not boring like both movies.

Plot: A scientist tries to study a planet while the planet tries to study the scientist.

Rating: 94 out of 100.

Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy

The best soap opera of all time: a romantic story that feels almost real. You will try and read it in one shot and when it comes to an ends you'll get the feeling that life is just a bunch of details here and there.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mainstream
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

We Take a Roman Holiday with Ruthie Knox: The Finale

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 25, 2014 | PERMALINK

Well, dear readers. It's finally here. The finale to contemporary romance star Ruthie Knox's serialization, Roman Holiday. We'll be honest, the three-month break between halves was tough. (We recapped the first half, starting here.) As romance fans, we want our HEA, and we want it now. Having to wait several months, while we read a bunch of other great books, made us forget why we loved Ashley, why we wanted Roman to come out of his shell. But we're happy to report that once the second half of Roman Holiday gets rolling (pun intended, and also, it's being released in one big chunk, so no more waiting, yay!), it's a really lovely, wonderful romance. How much did we like it? Let us count the ways!

The Cover of Roman Holiday: The Adventure Continues

***


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Inside the Soul: Rachel Vincent Reflects on Her Soul Screamers Series And Giveaway

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 25, 2014 | PERMALINK

With the release of the fourth and final Soul Screamers compilation volume, which graces shelves today, Rachel Vincent is officially finishing this chapter of her writing career. Readers have stuck by Kaylee, the series's fiery heroine, through thick and thin, and we're sure it's just as hard for them to say goodbye as it is for Rachel. We recently asked Rachel to reflect on her time writing the series and what readers can look forward to next. And be sure to stay tuned at the end for a special giveaway! Rachel, take it away!

With the publication of the final Volume 4 compilation next week, the Soul Screamers series will officially be drawing to a close after four and a half years, seven novels and six novellas/short stories. My Soul To Take was my first foray into the young adult side of publishing. Soul Screamers represents the most I’ve ever written in a single series and the longest I’ve ever spent in a fictional world, so for me, this the end of an era. Saying goodbye to the characters is difficult, but I’m feeling both nostalgic and optimistic.

The cover of Soul Screamers: Volume Four


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
22COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST