RT Daily Blog

Extended Review - Beyond Repair By Charlotte Stein

BY Elisa Verna, JUNE 12, 2014 | PERMALINK

The cover of Beyond Repair by Charlotte SteinThe novella "Beyond Repair" was my first story by Charlotte Stein, and up until maybe halfway through the book, I had a lot of mixed feelings about it. The premise wasn’t entirely appealing to me — the heroine finds a sexy movie star passed out on her floor? Really? But since I’ve suspended my disbelief for dragons, vampires and shifters, fine, ok, Alice wakes up to a movie star passed out in her home. Let’s do this.

20-year-old Alice wakes up to find A-list celebrity Holden Stark has pulled a Robert Downey Jr. all over her living room floor. At first, I was frustrated that there wasn’t much of a context. She manages to drag him to the bathroom and wake him up, but never once does Alice say “Um, what the hell are you doing here? How did this happen?” or do something sensible like call an ambulance. She thinks about doing all of the normal things one would do in this situation, but she never actually does because “awkward” doesn’t even begin to describe Alice — she’s severely agoraphobic.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Excerpt Break: The Troublemaker Next Door By Marie Harte

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 12, 2014 | PERMALINK

Ready for an excerpt break? Today we have a scene from Marie Harte's latest steamy contemp, The Troublemaker Next Door. The story earned our rare Gold rating, with reviewer B. Nakia Garner claiming the book has an "amazing storyline filled with strong-willed characters and a reluctant love affair." Heroine Maddie is set on keeping her fling with neighbor Flynn casual, and her hesitance to get serious might cool off their steamy affair before it even has the chance to turn serious. In this scene, Maddie gets to know Flynn's family. Enjoy!

"We’re not momma’s boys, but we love her. We have a tight family. It helped a lot when Lea passed. Mike’s wife,” he explained in a low voice. “When a tragedy like that hits, it hurts everyone. But we stepped in and took care of Colin and Mike, made sure they had time to grieve. And us too. We loved her; she was family. But you know, the cooking, cleaning, all that stuff. My mom and dad were really there for Mike and Colin, you know?”


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

The 100 Recap: Episode 1.13 - "We Are Grounders, Part 2"

BY DJ DeSmyter, JUNE 12, 2014 | PERMALINK

Bellamy and Clarke prepare to march off.

source

We begin the highly anticipated finale with Clarke cauterizing Raven’s gunshot wound while Bellamy and Finn butt heads. Even after Clarke tells him she and the others need him, Bellamy’s still gung ho on staying behind. Finally, he relents and goes with them. Watching the remaining 82 delinquents march off into the forest is a bit melodramatic, but it’s the CW, so…

Their exodus is halted when one of the campers gets an axe blade lodged into his face. Frantic and freaked, they all retreat back to the camp and argue about what to do next. Octavia and Finn want to fight their way through the Grounder scouts, but Clarke doesn’t think that’s a stellar idea and gives into Bellamy’s wish to stay and fight. Octavia, Jasper and a few others leave to do some recon.

Bellamy, Clarke and Raven go through their remaining weapons and battle plans. Clarke makes the startling realization that they can use the remaining rocket jets in the dropship create an explosion.

source


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, TV Recap, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cheaper By The Dozen - This Week's Hot E-Book Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 12, 2014 | PERMALINK

What do you do when the growing number of new reads causes your wallet to shrink uncomfortably? Shop the e-book deals, of course! In this column we highlight some of our favorite book buys that will cost you less than a medium-sized coffee. All prices listed are accurate at the time of this blog's posting.

Historical Romance

Virtuosoby Grace Burrowes

Buy It On Amazon For $2.99 >>

 

Contemporary Romance

Cowboy Justice by Melissa Cutler

Buy It On Amazon For $2.51 >>

Buy it On B&N For $2.99 >>

 

Young Adult

Born of Illusion by Teri Brown

Buy It On Amazon For $1.99 >>

         


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cover Chat: A Darker Shade of Magic by V.E. Schwab

BY DJ DeSmyter, JUNE 11, 2014 | PERMALINK

Let’s have a little cover chat, shall we? Last month, sci-fi/fantasy author V.E. Schwab — known in the YA world as Victoria Schwab — revealed the stunning cover for her upcoming adult fantasy novel, A Darker Shade of Magic, an exciting first book in a series about parallel universes, magic and treachery. Before we get up close and personal with the cover, let’s take a look at the book’s official summary:

Kell is one of the last Travelers — magicians with a rare, coveted ability to travel between parallel universes — as such, he can choose where he lands.

There’s Grey London, dirty and boring, without any magic, ruled by a mad King George. Then there’s Red London, where life and magic are revered, and the Maresh Dynasty presides over a flourishing empire. White London, ruled by whoever has murdered their way to the throne — a place where people fight to control magic, and the magic fights back, draining the city to its very bones. And once upon a time, there was Black London ... but no one speaks of that now.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Science Fiction
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Call of the Sea: Kat Rosenfield Fields Our Burning Questions

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 11, 2014 | PERMALINK

Kat Rosenfield's Inland is one of those books you can't put down and when you finish you immediately want to re-read it. With beautiful writing and a complex premise, we wanted to know more about the story's origins and themes. So we took our questions straight to the source and today, Kat sheds some light on her eerie new novel.

Inland is such a striking and thought-provoking novel. What was the initial inspiration for the novel, and how did the story grow and change while writing it?

At the very beginning, the idea for Inland was sort of a thought experiment. This was a few years ago, when the big thing in YA was supernatural romance, which is like a foreign country to me — it's not at all where my natural inclinations are as a writer. So I'd already accepted that I would never be able to capitalize on this particular trend, but at the same time, I really wondered if there were some way to take that sort of subject matter and make it interesting to me, if there were a way through it to a story that I wanted to tell.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Hump Day Excerpt - Crave By Sierra Cartwright

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 11, 2014 | PERMALINK

It's finally Hump Day! Are you ready for another smutty excerpt? Positive reviews for Sierra Cartwright's Crave have been floating around the web, and after we heard about what a great time she had at RT this year (Her first RT!), we decided a scene from Crave would be perfect for this week. Crave is a second chance BDSM romance, and in this scene heroine Sarah and hero Reece are getting ready to go out to dinner. Let's just say Sarah has a very interesting "getting ready" routine. Enjoy!

A photo of Sierra Cartwright at RT Convention 2014 

Sierra Cartwright at Mardi Gras World during this year's RT Booklovers Convention


The cover of Crave by Sierra Cartwright“Please,” she said. “Fuck my ass with the plug, Reece.”

He took hold of the base and pulled out the glass. She grunted, and he slid it back in, using a bit of force to get the fattest part past her sphincter.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Very Short Reviews Of Difficult Books

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 11, 2014 | PERMALINK

Ah, classic literary fiction. It can be so wonderful, but at times dense, leaving us wishing for a guide to lead us through the venerable prose. Enter: Italian artist and writer Francesco D'Isa, who reviews the classics in a candid, tongue-in-cheek (and very short) way. We're happy to bring his column, "Very Short Reviews of Difficult Books," to English language readers! Check back here every Wednesday for three new reviews from Francesco.

***

The 120 Days of Sodom by the Marquis de Sade

A collection of the most wicked and detailed sexual perversions of the history of literature, justified because “Nature makes vice nicer than virtue." A  must-read with ascetic consequences: after 300 pages of sex, sex and more sex, no one wants sex anymore.

Plot: Every sexual act you can find Internet porn, plus some things that are not there (really).
Rating: 80 out of 100

Pornography by Witold Gombrowicz


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Lori Wilde's Small Town Romance Ebook Sale

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 10, 2014 | PERMALINK

Not only are Kristen Ashley's books on sale this week, so are many of Lori Wilde's! Avon has put several of the author's small town romances on e-sale for $1.99 each. Don't miss out! We've linked to which retailers have which titles on sale, it's not the same across the board. Happy reading!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

The Appeal Of Anna Todd's After + The Best 1D Fanfic Ever

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 10, 2014 | PERMALINK

The cover of Anna Todd's After

With the sale of Anna Todd's Wattpad megahit After — a Harry Styles fanfiction that blew up — to Simon & Schuster, we had to ask ourselves why this particular fanfic was appealing to publishers. Traditional publishers purchasing fanfiction for publication is nothing new, but with so many fanfics being written, what makes After so special? We decided to ask One Direction megafan (protip: 1D fans are called "Directioners") Christin Gest to tell us why After was a hit, and to lead us down the rabbit hole of One Direction fanfiction.

Anna Todd, a twenty-five-year-old Directioner, has just made many One Direction fan dreams a reality. Ms. Todd has managed to score a six-figure book deal for her popular series After. After is published on Wattpad, which is a popular site where all things fanfiction, or just plain fiction, are published.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST