RT Daily Blog

Weekly Web Wrap-Up: 4/18/14

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 18, 2014 | PERMALINK

Did you spend the whole week wanting to catch The Husband Show?

Here's what you missed on the RT website:

***

Check out the latest RT Convention fashion tips from our editors!

Elisa's Picks

Tricia's Picks

Regina's Picks

***


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Extended Review — Hard Time By Cara McKenna

BY Elisa Verna, APRIL 18, 2014 | PERMALINK

The cover of Hard Time by Cara McKenna - beefcake alert!When I read the blurb for Hard Time by Cara McKenna I thought to myself: this book will either be completely amazing or an absolute train wreck. Luckily for me, it was the former. Told in first person, the story follows young public librarian Annie Goodhouse, who recently graduated with her MLS and has taken a position as an outreach librarian for a medium-security correctional facility, where she finds herself attracted to inmate Eric Collier. With such sensitive subject matter, which could have been handled carelessly, you can see why I thought this book might be a disaster. But McKenna does not sensationalize prison or the relationships male inmates can have with women on the outside. What impressed me most about this novel is how the author approached the subject matter so skillfully.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Friday Free for All: Charlaine Harris and Mo Hayder Mysteries

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 18, 2014 | PERMALINK

It's Friday! We made it! <Internet high five> Want to start your weekend off right? Why not enter to win one of two spooky mysteries, sure to keep you up late into the night? First up is RT Top Pick! GOLD awardee, Mo Hayder's Wolf, a tale of interwoven plotlines involving a family taken hostage, a cold case and an injured dog discovered with the message "help us" tucked in his collar. Spooked already? We're right there with you, RT editor Tricia was definitely scared when reading this thriller.

Or if you're in Sookie withdrawal, why not consider giving Charlaine Harris's new series a try, starting with Midnight Crossroad? You can discover the spooky small town of Midnight, Texas, along with its newest resident, Internet psychic webmaster Manfred Bernardo. 

Enter below to win a copy of both of these hardcover mysteries. (U.S. residents only, please.) And have the best of weekends, we hope you had fun hanging out with us this week, we sure appreciate you stopping by! Much love, Your RT Web Team.

 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Tweethearts: Tweets We Loved This Week

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 18, 2014 | PERMALINK

The Internet is full of hilarious gems and memorable words of wisdom from the masses. Authors, readers and publishers on Twitter are no exception and continuously put smiles on the faces of Twitter users daily in 140 characters or less. We've started compiling our favorite Tweets. 

This week we dedicate Tweethearts to everyone who says that authors are "just like us."   


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

2014 RT Convention Outfits: Regina's Picks

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 17, 2014 | PERMALINK

The RT Booklovers Convention is only a few short weeks away! Which means if you're planning on attending the full week of books, babes (yes, we mean you) and shenanigans, you've got some packing to do. With a full schedule of panels, workshops, events — and, of course, parties — one outfit a day may not cut it. So bust out those extra large suitcases, because the RT staff is bringing you their dream outfits for the themed evening events and nighttime parties. Today, take a look at RT Senior Editor/Reviews Coordinator Regina Small's outfits.

 

Pirates, Scalawags & More


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Convention
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Trailer Chat: If I Stay

BY DJ DeSmyter, APRIL 17, 2014 | PERMALINK

Let’s talk about the recently released trailer for If I Stay, shall we? This big screen adaptation of Gayle Forman’s stunning YA novel of the same name doesn’t land in theatres until August 22 (yes, this August! squee!), but this trailer sure gives eager readers plenty to ease the wait. Though, in my case, the wait has just gotten infinitely more unbearable! Let’s take a look at some of my favorite moments:

Music -  Right off the bat, the trailer establishes the importance of music in the story. Mia’s a gifted cellist and Adam’s the lead singer/guitarist in a rising rock band. As a pianist/songwriter, I immediately connected with the music aspects of the story when I first read the book. I’m glad to see they’re placing sufficient emphasis on Mia and Adam’s talents. Yay for music!

If I Stay gif

Adam - I’m usually so picky about which actors get to play my book boyfriends, but this time around I was pleased with Jamie Blackley’s casting from the start. I mean, look at him! His Adam is confident, charming and utterly adorable. And look, he has swagger.

If I Stay gif


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Self-Pub Like A Pro: Freelance Editing

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 17, 2014 | PERMALINK

Self-publishing is a brave new world, a sometimes confusing one for authors trying to navigate its many possible avenues. But as always, your RT Web Team is here to help with our monthly column, Self-Pub Like a Pro. This month we're tackling the ever-important process of editing. A big complaint readers often have is that self-published books aren’t edited, polished — or sometimes even spell checked. So how to avoid these pitfalls? Hiring a freelance editor could be the answer. To tell us more, today we’ve got longtime freelance editor Bev Katz Rosenbaum to give us the scoop.

***

How do you become a freelance editor?

A

I hold Specialist Certification in English Language and Literature from the University of Toronto (which is a fancy way of saying I have an Honors English degree), and I have also taken courses in substantive editing and copy editing from the Freelance Editors Association of Canada (now called the Editors Association of Canada). Immediately after graduating from university, I landed an editorial assistant position at Harlequin, and worked my way up to an editing position from there.


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog, E-Book
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

The 100 Recap: Episode 1.5 - "Twilight's Last Gleaming"

BY DJ DeSmyter, APRIL 17, 2014 | PERMALINK

Canoodling!

source

Clarke and Finn are canoodling after their little love session in the bomb shelter. Clarke reassures Finn that their night together was special while he jokes about wanting his first Earth sex. Is it a joke, though? After all, his girlfriend is hurtling through space right now to reunite with him.

On the Ark, the Chancellor visits Abby in her cell. She wants to know if Raven made it to Earth, but he wants to talk about how the Ark is dying faster than they predicted and Kane’s population reduction plan has been approved. Abby’s not too pleased, but the Chancellor’s not in the mood to listen to reason.

Meanwhile, Raven enters Earth’s atmosphere and so far hasn’t blown up. Yay!

As Clarke and Finn get all kissy again, Clarke spots a shooting star and Finn tells her all about how you make wishes on them. They quickly realize it’s not a star — and so do the others, including a shirtless Bellamy. Again, shirtless Bellamy.

Abby’s been given temporary freedom in order to attend to the dying people’s needs. She’s still determined to find out if Raven made it or not. Speaking of, we cut to Raven, who’s landed on Earth and is unconscious and bleeding. In the background, we hear the Ark trying to make contact.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, TV Recap, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Exclusive, Super Advanced Excerpt — and Giveaway!: Keri Arthur's Fireborn

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 17, 2014 | PERMALINK

In our minds, the only thing that's better than an excerpt is a super advanced excerpt of a book we're dying to read! So today we're excited to share with you a lengthy snippet from Keri Arthur's upcoming series starter, Fireborn, which won't be hitting stores until July

Fireborn is the story of Emberley, a phoenix who can take human form — and foresee death. In this action-packed excerpt Emberley is once again trying to cheat death, but there are always consquences. Ready to read? Let's get to it! Just be sure to check out the bottom of the post for our awesome giveaway.

The cover of Fireborn by Keri Arthur

All of us dream.

Some of us even have pleasant dreams.

My dreams might have been few and far between, but they were never, ever pleasant. But worse than that, they always came true.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
9COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cheaper By The Dozen - This Week's Hot E-Book Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 17, 2014 | PERMALINK

What do you do when the growing number of new reads causes your wallet to shrink uncomfortably? Shop the e-book deals, of course! In this column we highlight some of our favorite book buys that will cost you less than a medium-sized coffee. All prices listed are accurate at the time of this blog's posting.

Historical Fiction

The Other Queen by Philippa Gregory

Buy It On Amazon For $2.99 >>

Buy It On B&N For $2.99 >>

 

Contemporary Romance

Jagged by Kristen Ashley

Buy It On Amazon For $0.99 >>

Buy It On B&N For $0.99 >>

 

Young Adult

Sweet Evil by Wendy Higgins

Buy It On Amazon For $1.99 >>

Buy It On B&N For $1.99 >>

         


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST