RT Daily Blog

Why Will McIntosh Is One Of The Most Underrated Science Fiction Writers - Plus An Excerpt From Defenders

BY Elisa Verna, MARCH 24, 2014 | PERMALINK

Everyone has their favorite tropes and plot devices. In romancelandia we call this "romance cat nip," but readers of all genres have certain elements that will make them pick up a book no matter what. When it comes to sci fi, many of Will McIntosh's stories contain everything I look for in a SF novel, and I'm honestly surprised his work isn't more highly regarded. His upcoming May release, Defenders, just about blew me away. I wanted to email him and ask, "Did you write this story just for me? Be honest, Mr. McIntosh." Of course he didn't, but the book contained nearly every element on my Perfect Sci Fi Novel checklist.

***

1. It was accessible.

Let's be real here, I understand science on a basic 10th-grade biology level, at most. I'm not going to be upset if your fictional science isn't completely perfect. In fact, I probably won't even notice. I feel like a lot of SF/F readers get hung up on the plausibility of science and magic in their stories, and rightfully so, but I'm already going into a SF/F book suspending my disbelief, so chances are I'll accept whatever science an author throws at me, proven that they've actually worked through all of it before crafting their story.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Science Fiction
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

The 100 Recap: Episode 1.1 - "Pilot"

BY DJ DeSmyter, MARCH 20, 2014 | PERMALINK

We open on our main girl, Clarke, as she’s busy drawing and delivering a rather poetic voiceover, telling us how a nuclear apocalypse pretty much decimated Earth ninety-seven years ago. But don’t worry, there were twelve space stations, including one known as the Ark, with survivors! Woot woot! Turns out, though, the Ark isn’t exactly Happyville. Any crime is an offense, and Clarke is — you guessed it, a criminal! When guards come to get her, she learns she’s one of the 100 who are going to “the ground” — Earth. And then a guard drugs her and we’re treated to the nifty title logo.

The Ark, aka Our Future Home

source

Clarke wakes and finds herself on a space shuttle with her fellow prisoners. And then Isaiah Washington pops up on screen as the Chancellor and gives the 100 a little explanation of what’s going on. Clarke and her sort of friend Wells, who’s the Chancellor’s son, try to keep everyone in check, but the lack of gravity is too appealing. Outside, the shuttle is nearing Earth and those who aren’t strapped in their seats have a bit of a, well, rough landing. Houston, we have a problem! All communication with the 100 has been cut off.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, TV Recap, Science Fiction, Young Adult
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

The King of Horror Returns: Stephen King Announces New Novel Revival

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 13, 2014 | PERMALINK

Legendary and renowned author Stephen King has officially announced his return to the literary scene following last fall's Doctor Sleep. On November 11, 2014, eager fans can pick up Revival, a new and dark read sure to please readers across the board. Set in a New England town, the arrival of a mysterious and alluring minister and his wife stirs up secret obsessions, family tragedies and unexpected bonds. To read the full synopsis and announcement, visit King's official website here.

Alright, King fans, let the countdown begin!

Image courtesy of John Robinson via flickr.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller, Science Fiction
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

On Space Travel and Nomads: Line & Orbit's Lisa Soem and Sunny Moraine

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 06, 2014 | PERMALINK

Listen, we love a good space adventure. There’s something so exciting and foreign about floating amongst the stars. So our interest was piqued when we heard of Lisa Soem and Sunny Moraine’s RT Top Pick! Line and Orbit. It’s the story of what happens when Adam is cast out of his genetically perfect society. Space nomad Lochlan rescues Adam and the two develop feelings for each other amidst the space travel and intrigue. Sounds so good, right?! We made Lisa and Sunny sit down and tell us everything.

***

It's interesting that while your story is a male/male romance, it's a mild one, with no heavy sex scenes. Tell us more.


Read More>>

Tags: Futuristic, RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, Science Fiction
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Mars Rising: Pierce Brown On The Planet Of Passionate Fury

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 03, 2014 | PERMALINK

A book's setting is as unique as its characters, and often becomes a character of its own. In Red Rising, Pierce Brown puts a new spin on Mars and makes it more than the red planet we crave to understand. With such a unique and interesting location, we thought we'd ask Pierce what readers can expect to see and how the setting affects the book's characters. So without further ado, take it away, Pierce!

Mars is the planet of rage, of passionate fury. Since the gods of Greece and Rome, the red planet has been associated with the deadlier aspect of humanity’s carnal nature. Authors like Edgar Rice Burroughs, Isaac Asimov and Kim Stanley Robinson (among dozens of others) have set stories there, inspired by its craggy gulches and barren wastelands. But my Mars is a bit different from theirs.


Read More>>

Tags: General Science Fiction, RT Daily Blog, Science Fiction
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Extended Review: Fighting Kat By PJ Schnyder

BY Trent Hart, JANUARY 08, 2014 | PERMALINK

I first met PJ Schnyder in Kansas City at the RT Convention in 2013 while she was on a panel. As a person she is fabulous, funny, and engaging; all qualities that made me intrigued about her writing. I put her on my “To Be Read List”, but had many others to get through first. Finally I had time to pick up her London Undead series. I devoured both Bite Me and Sing for the Dead. The latter earned a spot on my Picks of 2013 List!

While waiting for the next book in that series, I decided to give her Sci-Fi Romance series, The Triton Experiment, a go. Typically I am not a big fan of Sci-Fi, but I had continually heard great things about it. Suffice to say, I’m a reformed believer in the genre! PJ finds the perfect balance of concepts that make the book futuristic, but not leaving me scratching my head at unfamiliar concepts.

The first entry is a novella, Hunting Kat, and it hooked me in from the start. Being so short, I was left begging for more. Fortunately I was able to obtain an ARC of the first full book, Fighting Kat, which releases this coming Monday. Before I get into the meat of the book, my recommendation is you need to get on this series stat!

The book picks up a few months from where Hunting Kat left off. Mercenary-for-hire Kat, and Lt. Rygard have continued their “casual” liaison, a relationship that neither has expected to develop. Her crew is en route to support his, when trouble strikes, he and his unit now missing. She’s immediately on the hunt for her man, her cat-like nature in full force.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Science Fiction
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Book Hankerings: Our Most Anticipated Science Fiction & Fantasy Coming In 2014

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 06, 2014 | PERMALINK

Happy New Year, readers! The best thing about the new year, in our humble opinions anyway, is all the new books to look forward to! We don’t know about you, but there are an awful lot of books we’re hankering for in 2014. In the hopes that you’ll join us in obsessing, over the next week we’ll be listing our most anticipated books of 2014, by genre. Today, we continue with SF/F!


 

The Fool's Assassin by Robin Hobb

Releases April 2014

Back in 1996 Robin Hobb released a book called Assassin's Apprentice, which kicked off her popular Farseer trilogy. If you're a fan of epic fantasy, you probably know the series, and you're probably anxious for the last chapter in Fitz's story. In true epic fantasy fashion, this last chapter is in fact three books — starting with The Fool's Assassin in April!

 

     


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Science Fiction
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner's 5 Need-To-Know Tips for Surviving on a Spaceship

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 12, 2013 | PERMALINK

Traveling on a spaceship can be fraught with many dangers, whether you’re headed for a black hole or under attack from intergalactic space pirates. Luckily for you, Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner have done the research for you and put it all into their RT Top Pick! rated These Broken Stars. And today, they’ve laid out their top tips in handy-dandy list form. Print it out and stick it in your purse next to your towel, that way next time you’re flying to Alpha Centauri, you'll be prepared!

***

5. Always read the safety card instructions. In the event that your ship malfunctions (or gets torn out of inter-dimensional space) it’s handy to know exactly what escape pod you’re meant to be in. Particularly in ships with more than a few thousand passengers, the ensuing panic following an “Abandon Ship” order is often worse than the crash itself!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Science Fiction, Young Adult
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

2013 RT Awards Nominees Celebration: Best Fantasy Novel

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 27, 2013 | PERMALINK

Every year, the review staff at RT Book Reviews reads and rates more than three thousand books. And when each year draws to a close, we pick the best of the bunch for our readers to enjoy — the Reviewers’ Choice Awards. For the next few weeks, leading up to Thanksgiving, we’re going to be celebrating the nominations for many of these awards, across genres. We hope you’ll join us in congratulating all these wonderful authors, and, hey, if you find a great new book to read, all the better! Today, we'll be taking a look at the nominees for Best Fantasy Novel!

 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Science Fiction
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Where No Woman Has Gone Before (Except They Totally Have): Ann Leckie & Rachel Bach On Gender & The Science Fiction Community

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 16, 2013 | PERMALINK

With plenty of recent discussion about diversity in SFF, we were thrilled to see two female authors, Ann Leckie and Rachel Bach, with science fiction titles out this fall. Not only that, but they're both space operas featuring heroines who put it all on the line. We invited both authors to discuss with us what they think of the overhwelmingly male genre, and how they've come to make a place for themselves and other women in the science fiction community.

    


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Science Fiction
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST