RT Daily Blog

An All-Access Pass To The 15th Century Venice Of Jon Courtenay Grimwood's The Fallen Blade

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 07, 2011 | PERMALINK

Fantasy author Jon Courtenay Grimwood takes readers behind the scenes of his new novel, The Fallen Blade, which is an RT Top Pick! RT reviewer S.L. Rosania says readers "can really feel and smell" the author's 15th century Venice, brought to life with dangerous intrigue, dark secrets and all sorts of things that go bump in the night. 

So how do you pin down a love story between a living girl and a boy who isn't quite sure what he is other than not entirely normal? Then throw in werewolves and witches, introduce the first vampire in Europe, and try to make it feel as real as possible? For me the answer was simple! Set the story in Venice, and set it during the 15th Century, when the city was at its corrupt and glittering best.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Science Fiction
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Meet Nico Rosso A Rising Star In Science Fiction Romance

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 04, 2011 | PERMALINK

We love to discover new authors, and were thrilled when RT Reviewer Dawn Crowne reported that she'd found a winner in the debut author Nico Rosso. Dawn praised Rosso's action packed novella and promises that sci-fi and romance fans will not want to miss "Taken To The Limit." Want to learn more about Nico Rosso and his writing? Look no further than this author interview with RT's Morgan Doremus.

Morgan Doremus: You have said that the great thing about sci-fi romance is the possibilities. “We can be the rescuer and the rescued, the fighter and the philosopher.” Do you consider yourself any of these things? All of them? 

Nico Rosso: I do think that there are all of these elements in me. Writing each of these archetypes makes me search them out inside, then use what I know to try to make them real on the page.

MD: Can you tell us a bit about your new novella "Taken To The Limit". What was the evolution of the story's plot?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance, Science Fiction
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Author Interview: Peter V. Brett

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 31, 2011 | PERMALINK

Fantasy author Peter V. Brett's new novella, "Brayan's Gold", has just been released. In this in-depth author interview Brett reveals the backstory to his Demon Cycle series with RT Web Editor Morgan Doremus. Discover how the series was affected by the 9/11 terror attacks, what drives the series and get a special look at several of the main characters in the series!

Peter V. Brett introduces his Demon Cycle Series

Peter V. Brett talks about the "human" side of his stories  >>

Peter V. Brett on the artwork for his "Brayan's Gold" novella >>

More From The RT BOOK REVIEWS Video Channel >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Science Fiction
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Science Fiction Icon L.E. Modesitt Jr. Is Coming To This Year's RT Convention

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 27, 2011 | PERMALINK

We are thrilled to announce that best-selling author L.E. Modesitt Jr. is attending the 2011 RT BOOKLOVERS CONVENTION!

This multi-award winning author has won fans for his works of science fiction and fantasy. Now those attending the convention will have the chance to hear him speak on the science fiction genre panel, Creating Out Of This World Science Fiction.

The author will also be signing books at the Saturday bookfair which is open to the public. Fans who are coming just for the bookfair should bring their treasured copies of his books and he will autograph them. All attendees will also be able to purchase Modesitt Jr.'s latest books at the bookfair.

Finally on Sunday, conventioneers will enjoy a more intimate chance to meet the author during our Social Sunday sessions, where he will be participating at the author speed meeting event

More about the authors attending this year's convention >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Science Fiction
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Lawrence Watt-Evans Is Inspired By...

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 05, 2011 | PERMALINK

Fantasy author Lawrence Watt-Evans transports readers to a world in which the struggle between magic and law has forced a good man to become an outlaw hero. Now the author shares the events that inspired him to create his own version of this classic literary figure. 

My recent novel, Above His Proper Station, is the second half of the story that began a year earlier in A Young Man Without Magic, and that story was the result of several conversations I had with myself and my editor, the late Brian Thomsen, back in 2007. I had just finished a trilogy called the Annals of the Chosen that turned out to be much less fun to write than I’d expected – which doesn’t mean it wasn’t fun to read, of course, but I didn’t much enjoy writing it. I wanted my next project to be very different, and to be something I would enjoy writing.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Science Fiction
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Check out the Giant Science Fiction Romance Giveaway at The Galaxy Express!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 21, 2010 | PERMALINK

We love the science fiction romance website The Galaxy Express, run by Heather Massey. So we were thrilled to learn that this year the site is currently hosting its second annual giant book giveaway for the holidays! Here's Heather with all the details:

Starting December 20, The Galaxy Express is hosting the second annual SFR Holiday Blitz. This event features a huge giveaway of over 50 science fiction romance books. Thirty three authors and fifteen bloggers have joined forces to give the gift of intergalactic adventure and romance to readers around the globe.

Sample prizes include books by Linnea Sinclair, Sherrilyn Kenyon, Pauline B. Jones, Nalini Singh, Ella Drake, Anitra Lynn McLeod, and Susan Grant.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance, Science Fiction
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview: John Scalzi

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 13, 2010 | PERMALINK

Author John Scalzi is as well known for his Internet presence as he is for his intelligent and accessible science fiction. He has been actively blogging at Whatever for over ten years, creating content that is ranges from the serious to the lighthearted. Now Scalzi goes behind the scenes of his blog in this interview with RT's Senior Editor and Reviews Coordinator Stephanie Klose. He chats about his blogging practices, the book that some of his posts have been turned into, Your Hate Mail Will Be Gradedand a few of the popular features that keep readers coming back day after day.

John Scalzi Will Grade Your Hate Mail >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Science Fiction
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

An Amazing E-Vent With Marjorie Liu and C.L. Wilson - With Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 01, 2010 | PERMALINK

Authors Marjorie Liu and C.L. Wilson are adding a special touch of magic to their new novels, In the Dark of Dreams and Crown of Crystal Flame, which release this week. These authors are not only hosting a joint book signing at Joseph-Beth in Cincinnati, they are streaming the event live so that fans around the globe can participate!

We love Liu for her quirky characters, fast paced action and memorable romances. Senior Reviewer Jill M. Smith has nominated In the Dark of Dreams for a 2010 Reviewers' Choice Award. She calls the latest Dirk & Steele adventure, "A terrific concoction filled with choice amounts of danger, passion and betrayal!"

Wilson, a fan favorite, is known for her richly detailed worlds full of adventure and fantasy. Her latest novel concludes the Tairen Song series. Not only did Crown of Crystal Flame receive an RT Top Pick! it was also nominated for RT's November Seal of Excellence.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, Romance, Science Fiction
20COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

3,2,1 ... Free Download

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 19, 2010 | PERMALINK

While we are not all sporting jet-packs and have robotic maids to do our bidding, Starbucks and sci-fi author Greg Bear are working together to make our world a little bit more futuristic. The coffeehouse giant has teamed up with the author to provide fans with a free e-copy of Bear's new novel, Hull Zero Three

Hull Zero Three marks the author's return to his deep space roots and the tale finds both the futuristic hero, Sanjay, and his ship in grave danger.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Science Fiction
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Author Interview With Beth Bernobich

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 25, 2010 | PERMALINK

Debut author Beth Bernobich talks about her fantasy series starter, Passion Play. The story follows teenage heroine Ilse, as she flees home and discovers that the world is a wild and dangerous place. Learn about Bernobich's inspiration for Ilse's strength, how the novel's hero evolved from a minor character and take a peek at the upcoming novels set in this magic-infused world.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Science Fiction
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST