RT Daily Blog

Post A Review for a Chance To Win a 2011 RT BOOKLOVERS CONVENTION Registration

BY admin, JUNE 11, 2010 | PERMALINK

On your mark, get set, post your own review!

On each of our book reviews, you can tell us (and your fellow readers) exactly what you think of the books you have read. Now is the time to let everyone know your opinion about your favorite (or not so favorite) stories. With over 40,000 reviews on the RT BOOK REVIEWS site, the possibilities to share are almost endless.

Now until August 1st, each time you review a book you will be entered to win a free registration to the 2011 RT BOOKLOVERS Convention in L.A. The more reviews you post, the more chances you have to win. We will randomly choose one lucky winner to receive the free convention registration.

Not registered as a visitor? No problem! Click here to sign up for an RT site login. Its free and easy.

Already have a login? You are ready to post. Use the advanced book search for help finding the titles you would like to review.

Official Contest Rules >>

Let us know what books you are reviewing - comment below and keep us informed!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Convention, E-Book, Erotica, Inspirational, Mainstream, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, Romance, Science Fiction, Young Adult
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cindy Spencer Pape Sees The Possibilites Of Her City

BY admin, JUNE 09, 2010 | PERMALINK
 

On June 7th, Harlequin launched their new e-book arm, Carina Press. Cindy Spencer Pape's Motor City Fae is one of the new e-books from Carina Press. We gave it a *WEB EXCLUSIVE REVIEW* and asked Pape for an insider's look at her fantasy series. Pape shares how she knew Motor City Fae could have easily been titled "Detroit: Fae City" ...

When people think about settings for romance, Detroit is one of the last cities to come to mind. My hometown has a rough reputation, and much of it is earned. When I was dreaming up my Urban Arcana series of paranormal romances, though, I never thought twice about using Detroit as the home for elves, witches, werewolves and more. So why is the Motor City such a perfect backdrop?

 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Science Fiction
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Robin Hobb On The Importance Of Being A Friend

BY admin, JUNE 04, 2010 | PERMALINK

Fantasy author Robin Hobb discusses what makes a story a keeper  ...


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Science Fiction
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Nnedi Okorafor And The Story That Demanded To Be Told

BY admin, JUNE 02, 2010 | PERMALINK

Author Nnedi Okorafor discusses the way this novel grabbed her imagination and refused to let go...

 

So, I’ve written this novel titled Who Fears Death. A woman named Onyesonwu (which means "Who Fears Death" in the Nigerian language of Igbo) materialized in my head and she started telling me a most incredible story. Any writer who hears a good story will write it down. I’m no different.

When I consider Who Fears Death, I realize this woman’s voice rose from an unheard collective voice shouting at me from the “Dark Continent”. That is why I feel this post-apocalyptic science fiction/fantasy/magical realist novel is as much a piece of African Literature as Chinua Achebe’s Things Fall Apart.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Science Fiction
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

The Apocalypse Is Coming (To Fiction That Is)

BY admin, MAY 27, 2010 | PERMALINK

In a world overwhelmed by environmental disasters, terrorism, and corrupt government regimes, it is interesting that readers would turn to dystopian and post-apocalyptic fiction for their escape. However, more and more readers are doing just this. On Wednesday morning at BEA, four authors took on the topic of dystopian fiction and how they write about the breakdown of society. 

Authors Allyson Condie, Sigrid Nunez, Lesley Hauge, and Adam Dunn


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Science Fiction
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

L.J. MCDONALD ON CREATING THE WORLD OF THE SYLPHS

BY admin, MAY 21, 2010 | PERMALINK

Author L.J. McDonald gives a behind the scenes look at the world building she's becoming known for.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Science Fiction
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

ANN AGUIRRE AND CARRIE LOFTY TEAM UP TO CREATE NIGHTFALL

BY admin, MAY 18, 2010 | PERMALINK

Authors Ann Aguirre and Carrie Lofty team up as Ellen Connor to create the Dark Age Dawning series.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, Romance, Science Fiction
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

LORI HANDELAND GETS MOVIE MADNESS WHEN IT IS TIME TO TITLE HER BOOKS! - WITH GIVEAWAY

BY admin, MAY 06, 2010 | PERMALINK

Author Lori Handeland ponders "what's in a name?" and talks about the cinematic inspiration for her titles. And make sure to check out the GIVEAWAY after the blog for a chance to win a signed copy of Chaos Bites!

One of the things I'm often asked about my urban fantasy series, The Phoenix Chronicles, is how I come up with the titles.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, Science Fiction
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

SCI-FI FOR FEMMES AT THE RT BOOKLOVERS CONVENTION 2010 GUEST BLOG: ANN AGUIRRE

BY admin, MAY 04, 2010 | PERMALINK

Author Ann Aguirre wraps up Wednesday's "SF For Femmes" panel at the convention. She captained the panel that also included author Colby Hodge aka Cindy Holby, Stacey Klemstein aka Stacey Kade, and agent Lucienne Diver from the Knight Agency.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Convention, Science Fiction
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

HAVING A BLAST AT THE INTERGALACTIC BAR & GRILLE PARTY - RT BOOKLOVERS CONVENTION 2010

BY admin, MAY 01, 2010 | PERMALINK

The Intergalactic Bar & Grille Reader Party on Wednesday was out of this world.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Convention, Science Fiction
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST