RT Daily Blog

Three Questions For Author Mira Grant

BY Elisa Verna, DECEMBER 04, 2012 | PERMALINK

Mira Grant, the pseudonym for Urban Fantasy author Seanan McGuire, released the final book in her Newsflesh trilogy, Blackout, this year, which earned a 2012 RT Readers' Choice Awards nomination. The trilogy follows two young blogger journalists as they dig to uncover the conspiracy that caused a zombie-like plague twenty years prior. We we're curious to hear the author's thoughts on the series now that it's come to a close and what readers can expect next. 

***

Your June release, Blackout, was nominated for a 2012 RT Readers' Choice Award for Best Science Fiction Novel, congrats! Now that your Newsflesh trilogy has ended, which book was the most fun to write?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, Science Fiction
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cover Chat: Neil Gaiman's The Ocean At The End Of The Lane

BY Janine Johnston, NOVEMBER 28, 2012 | PERMALINK

Next year Neil Gaiman will be releasing his highly anticipated first full-length adult story since his 2007's Anansi Boys. For those who haven’t been keeping count, that’s eight long years. Gaiman fans can expect The Ocean at the End of the Lane to hit shelves June 18, 2013, and although the story clocks in at a mere 192 pages, putting it in novella territory, I predict it will be a complete and satisfying read.

If you’ve never opened up a Gaiman book or graphic novel before (maybe you have American Gods marked as “Want to Read” on Goodreads, or a friend has been bugging you for ages to borrow their collection of Sandman comics … ), know this: A Gaiman story will often involve a young protagonist, non-human characters and is often split between two distinct worlds. Gaiman pens fun, unique characters and his stories are adventures that aren’t held back by the weight of said characters, who typically rise up to take center stage. If I had to sum up your average Gaiman story (that statement in itself is kind of an oxymoron, but I digress …) in one word, it would be hopeful. They are truly stories that will resonate with readers emotionally.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Science Fiction
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

November Science Fiction And Fantasy Overview

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 16, 2012 | PERMALINK

This month, science fiction and fantasy readers can expect releases from fan favorite authors, as well as some new faces and top rated reads. Today we're playing tour guide and pointing out some November hotspots of the genres. First up, we feature a new story from a fantasy author who continues her highly praised trilogy. Next, we spotlight an author’s first YA sci fi novel. After that, we turn our focus to a new anthology filled with one author’s outstanding short stories. And finally, we hear from a debut sci fi romance author and feature one of our favorite fantasy writing teams.

A FANTASY TOP PICK


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Science Fiction
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Heroines At Work In Sci-Fi Romance

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 09, 2012 | PERMALINK

Author and genre blogger Heather Massey is here today to share with readers how sci fi romance differs from other subgenres of romance in a big way when it comes to the heroine's occupation. These leading ladies aren't the proper socialites you find in some historical stories or the everyday gals you meet in contemporary romances. From engineers to computer experts, ship pilots and beyond, Massey tells us how these professions shape the heroines of some of her favorite sci fi romances.

Here’s a word association challenge for you. If you were to identify the factors that define a romance heroine, which ones come immediately to mind? Social status? Virginity? Selflessness? Attractiveness? Capacity for love and forgiveness?

There are probably as many answers as there are heroines, but if you’re venturing into science fiction romance territory, these heroines are frequently defined in significant ways by their occupations. Each romance subgenre promises heroines with a variety of skills and traits, but one day I got to thinking about just how much sci-fi romance heroines are shaped by their occupations.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, Science Fiction
4COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

More Of RT's 2012 Award Nominees - Science Fiction / Fantasy

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 05, 2012 | PERMALINK

This week RT BOOK REVIEWS is revealing our nominees for 2012 Reviewers' Choice Awards. (We have already listed our Historical Romance picks here and Young Adult nominees here, with other genres including Paranormal, Mystery, Contemporary Romance and more to come later this week.) But right now, we are focused on bringing some futuristic fantasy fiction fun to your shelves as we share our picks for the best Science Fiction and Fantasy novels of the year. Readers can click on the book covers below to learn more about the book including the RT review, summary and rating.

***

 

Nominated for Science Fiction Novel


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Science Fiction
10COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

A Peek Inside Lunch With Author Jasper Fforde - With Giveaway!

BY Elisa Verna, OCTOBER 24, 2012 | PERMALINK

Yesterday I had the pleasure of joining other media professionals, booksellers, bloggers, librarians and publishing professionals from Houghton Mifflin Harcourt to celebrate the release of author Jasper Fforde's first YA release, The Last Dragonslayer. Set in the magical land of Kazam, the story follows 15-year-old Jennifer Strange, who runs an employment agency for magicians. But magic is becoming scarce, which means bad business for Jennifer. And when she discovers the world's last dragon is destined to die, Jennifer must do whatever she can to save it — or it means big changes for Kazam.

Attendees had the pleasure of enjoying a lovely, intimate lunch in Manhattan with the charming author, who shared his thoughts about YA, his next release in the Chronicles of Kazam series, some film adaptation news, as well as what he thinks about Fifty Shades of Grey.

Ready to dig in to The Last Dragonslayer


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Science Fiction, Young Adult
8COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

5 Habits of Highly Successful Sci Fi Romance Couples

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 11, 2012 | PERMALINK

Fighting aliens, conquering new planets, commanding ships and flying through the galaxy are all in a hard day's work for many sci fi romance heroes and heroines. But how do the men and women of sci fi romance find time for relationships amidst all the space trekking and futuristic adventure? Author and genre blogger Heather Massey is here today to share 5 ways sci fi romance couples make it work:

Nurturing a romance can be tough even during the best of times. But what about when aliens are attacking Earth to steal all of our natural resources? How can a couple even begin to plan a date? Or imagine the challenges of executing a simple “getting to know you” conversation when an evil galactic empire is bent on the destruction and domination of one’s whole entire world!

Evil mega corporations don’t make it any easier with their Big Brother control issues and life-threatening products. Those types of workaholic villains can put a serious dent in a couple’s ability to carve out some “we time.”

Yet science fiction romance couples always achieve a Happily Ever After or Happily For Now no matter what the obstacles. How do they accomplish such a nigh impossible goal? What’s their secret?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, Science Fiction
8COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Spoiled: Leanna Renee Hieber On Her Upcoming Fantasy Series

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 04, 2012 | PERMALINK

Spoiled shares a look at the books you can't wait to read, long before they hit stores. Today author Leanna Renee Hieber gives RT readers a peek inside her just-announced series from Tor. Discover what inspired this historically set "Gaslamp Fantasy" series and when readers can expect to get their hands on the first Eterna Files story!

***

You have just signed a 3 book deal for a new series with the working title the Eterna Files. These new books are being called "Gaslamp Fantasy." For those unfamiliar with the term, what exactly is this subgenre all about?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Science Fiction
6COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

October Science Fiction And Fantasy Overview

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 03, 2012 | PERMALINK

This month, science fiction and fantasy readers can expect releases from fan favorite authors, as well as some new faces and top rated reads. Today we're playing tour guide and pointing out some October hot spots of the genre. First up, we feature a fresh story from a bestselling author that continues his highly praised trilogy. Next, we spotlight a fantasy tale that will leave you swooning. After that, we turn our focus to a brand new sci fi adventure with a kick-butt heroine. And finally, we hear from a debut author about how he made the move from academia to writing genre fiction.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Science Fiction
18COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

5 Questions For Author Richard E. Gropp On His Debut Novel Bad Glass

BY Elisa Verna, SEPTEMBER 25, 2012 | PERMALINK

As a reader, finding new, talented authors can often feel like striking gold, which is precisely how I felt when I finished new author Richard E. Gropp's Bad Glass. Gropp's debut is a rare single-title speculative fiction/horror story about an amateur photographer, Dean, looking to make it big when he decides to break into the quarantined city of Spokane. The area has been plagued with a mysterious disease that's causing unusual changes in the town's residents and Dean is determined to document it, even if it means questioning his sanity. I was curious to learn more about Gropp and the story behind Bad Glass, so I went straight to the author for answers.

***

Bad Glass, your debut novel, won Del Rey’s 2011 Suvudu Writing Contest. Could you tell us a little bit about that experience and what it was like going from an unpublished writer to a debut author? 
 


Read More>>

Tags: Science Fiction
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST