RT Daily Blog

January Science Fiction And Fantasy Overview

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 15, 2013 | PERMALINK

This month, science fiction and fantasy readers can expect some great new releases from a variety of authors. Today we're playing tour guide and pointing out some out of this world literary hotspots.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Science Fiction
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

How Gail Z. Martin Dreamed Up The End Of The World

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 08, 2013 | PERMALINK

Fantasy author Gail Z. Martin kicks off her new Ascendant Kings Saga with Ice Forged, which hits shelves today! The series starter tells the story of Lord Blaine McFadden, a young man charged with killing his violent father in order to protect his brother and sister. Blaine is subsequently sent to the frigid edge of the world, Edgeland, as punishment. After making a home for himself there, Blaine is called back to his home country of Donderath when a war breaks out and several supernatural incidents occur. With many fantasy novels set in large, immersive worlds, we're always curious to know how authors plan the start of a fantasy series. Today Martin shares how she built up — and tore down — her universe in Ice Forged.

A blank page is always daunting, no matter how much opportunity it presents.

I don't know if it ever stops being scary when you start writing a brand new book in a new world with new characters, but if it does, I haven't gotten to that point yet.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Science Fiction
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Lucky 13: Our Most Anticipated Science Fiction And Fantasy Books Coming in 2013

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 04, 2013 | PERMALINK

With a new year comes resolutions, new beginnings and best of all ... new books! This month we'll be sharing thirteen titles across the genres we're looking forward to in 2013, continuing with science fiction and fantasy releases! So just in case your TBR list wasn't already a mile long, here are a dozen (plus one!) sci fi and fantasy titles we're anticipating in 2013:


 

The Mad Scientist's Guide to World Domination edited by John Joseph Adams

Releases February 2013

This anthology is packed with out-of-this-world stories from fan favorite authors including Seanan McGuire, Harry Turtledove, Naomi Novik, Mary Robinette Kowal, Marjorie M. Liu and more. Praised as " ... hilarious, heartbreaking and wonderfully wacky ... " by RT editor Regina Small, who gave the book a Top Pick! rating, we have no doubt that this stellar collection is the perfect way to kick off 2013.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Science Fiction
22COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

December Science Fiction And Fantasy Overview

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 12, 2012 | PERMALINK

This month, science fiction and fantasy readers can expect new releases from a variety of authors, just in time for the holidays. Today we're playing tour guide and pointing out some December hotspots of the genres. We've selected four releases — from space opera to epic fantasy — and offer an overview of the stories, plus some important tidbits of wisdom that readers should know before diving in.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Science Fiction
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Three Questions For Author Mira Grant

BY Elisa Verna, DECEMBER 04, 2012 | PERMALINK

Mira Grant, the pseudonym for Urban Fantasy author Seanan McGuire, released the final book in her Newsflesh trilogy, Blackout, this year, which earned a 2012 RT Readers' Choice Awards nomination. The trilogy follows two young blogger journalists as they dig to uncover the conspiracy that caused a zombie-like plague twenty years prior. We we're curious to hear the author's thoughts on the series now that it's come to a close and what readers can expect next. 

***

Your June release, Blackout, was nominated for a 2012 RT Readers' Choice Award for Best Science Fiction Novel, congrats! Now that your Newsflesh trilogy has ended, which book was the most fun to write?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, Science Fiction
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cover Chat: Neil Gaiman's The Ocean At The End Of The Lane

BY Janine Johnston, NOVEMBER 28, 2012 | PERMALINK

Next year Neil Gaiman will be releasing his highly anticipated first full-length adult story since his 2007's Anansi Boys. For those who haven’t been keeping count, that’s eight long years. Gaiman fans can expect The Ocean at the End of the Lane to hit shelves June 18, 2013, and although the story clocks in at a mere 192 pages, putting it in novella territory, I predict it will be a complete and satisfying read.

If you’ve never opened up a Gaiman book or graphic novel before (maybe you have American Gods marked as “Want to Read” on Goodreads, or a friend has been bugging you for ages to borrow their collection of Sandman comics … ), know this: A Gaiman story will often involve a young protagonist, non-human characters and is often split between two distinct worlds. Gaiman pens fun, unique characters and his stories are adventures that aren’t held back by the weight of said characters, who typically rise up to take center stage. If I had to sum up your average Gaiman story (that statement in itself is kind of an oxymoron, but I digress …) in one word, it would be hopeful. They are truly stories that will resonate with readers emotionally.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Science Fiction
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

November Science Fiction And Fantasy Overview

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 16, 2012 | PERMALINK

This month, science fiction and fantasy readers can expect releases from fan favorite authors, as well as some new faces and top rated reads. Today we're playing tour guide and pointing out some November hotspots of the genres. First up, we feature a new story from a fantasy author who continues her highly praised trilogy. Next, we spotlight an author’s first YA sci fi novel. After that, we turn our focus to a new anthology filled with one author’s outstanding short stories. And finally, we hear from a debut sci fi romance author and feature one of our favorite fantasy writing teams.

A FANTASY TOP PICK


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Science Fiction
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Heroines At Work In Sci-Fi Romance

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 09, 2012 | PERMALINK

Author and genre blogger Heather Massey is here today to share with readers how sci fi romance differs from other subgenres of romance in a big way when it comes to the heroine's occupation. These leading ladies aren't the proper socialites you find in some historical stories or the everyday gals you meet in contemporary romances. From engineers to computer experts, ship pilots and beyond, Massey tells us how these professions shape the heroines of some of her favorite sci fi romances.

Here’s a word association challenge for you. If you were to identify the factors that define a romance heroine, which ones come immediately to mind? Social status? Virginity? Selflessness? Attractiveness? Capacity for love and forgiveness?

There are probably as many answers as there are heroines, but if you’re venturing into science fiction romance territory, these heroines are frequently defined in significant ways by their occupations. Each romance subgenre promises heroines with a variety of skills and traits, but one day I got to thinking about just how much sci-fi romance heroines are shaped by their occupations.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, Science Fiction
4COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

More Of RT's 2012 Award Nominees - Science Fiction / Fantasy

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 05, 2012 | PERMALINK

This week RT BOOK REVIEWS is revealing our nominees for 2012 Reviewers' Choice Awards. (We have already listed our Historical Romance picks here and Young Adult nominees here, with other genres including Paranormal, Mystery, Contemporary Romance and more to come later this week.) But right now, we are focused on bringing some futuristic fantasy fiction fun to your shelves as we share our picks for the best Science Fiction and Fantasy novels of the year. Readers can click on the book covers below to learn more about the book including the RT review, summary and rating.

***

 

Nominated for Science Fiction Novel


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Science Fiction
10COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

A Peek Inside Lunch With Author Jasper Fforde - With Giveaway!

BY Elisa Verna, OCTOBER 24, 2012 | PERMALINK

Yesterday I had the pleasure of joining other media professionals, booksellers, bloggers, librarians and publishing professionals from Houghton Mifflin Harcourt to celebrate the release of author Jasper Fforde's first YA release, The Last Dragonslayer. Set in the magical land of Kazam, the story follows 15-year-old Jennifer Strange, who runs an employment agency for magicians. But magic is becoming scarce, which means bad business for Jennifer. And when she discovers the world's last dragon is destined to die, Jennifer must do whatever she can to save it — or it means big changes for Kazam.

Attendees had the pleasure of enjoying a lovely, intimate lunch in Manhattan with the charming author, who shared his thoughts about YA, his next release in the Chronicles of Kazam series, some film adaptation news, as well as what he thinks about Fifty Shades of Grey.

Ready to dig in to The Last Dragonslayer


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Science Fiction, Young Adult
8COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST